Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Arrochar > Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays Reviews

Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays
Ardgartan
Arrochar
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G83 7AR
Tel: 0845 130 8223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Log Cabins Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jakki54 5 reviews from this member

 Site in beautiful location overlooking loch long surrounded by mountains. Showers and toilets kept immaculate throughout our 2 week stay.

However approach road and on site road potholed and in places dangerous. The approach road has large deep potholes which cant be avoided. There are no warning signs in place, and extreme caution is required.

We were lead to understand further development to the cabin site is imminent and the roads will not be repaired until this is completed.

Reception and warden staff friendly, helpful and came to our rescue in the recent hurricane! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CaltonMonument 6 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site twice in the last month. It is very handy for Glasgow and offers fishing possibilities within walking distance, which are the main attractions. The staff are very helpful indeed, and do police the campsite rules. The facilities are excellent, I think there is even a small cafe and the shop is well stocked.

Drawbacks include, as mentioned elsewhere, noise from the road but this is worst from motorbikes roaring up the rest and be thankful, and not really after dark. I also find the site a little crowded when it is full, as the pitches seem closer together than other sites.

We recently took the opportunity to take part in the guided canoeing activities which the site organises and that was probably the highlight of the weekend. I should add that Ardgartan mountain bike trails are a stone's throw away and although the information point for the Argyll forest is now closed, there are maps on display and the trails are very well signed. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Countrygear 7 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this site. I felt it was a bit untidy with the grass needing cut and the hard standings are very weedy. The tents were pitched in a sort of free for all on any available bit of grass behind the vans.

We returned from hill walking to find a family had set up a couple of tents about 10ft from the back of the van. Thankfully they weren't noisy!

The toilet and shower block was good but definitely not enough to go round and my wife said there was always a wait in the ladies. There weren't many water and grey waste points either. I only found two.

Overall this site is in a lovely location, quiet and friendly but could be so much better. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tenement 2 reviews from this member

 First time camping whilst not at a festival!

Was easy enough to find and first impressions of the site are fantastic, we walked in to the reception and we were greeted by a very friendly Carole (everyone else seemed very friendly too!)

The layout is kinda like an E with the spine part of the E being the loch front and if you imagined the E shape being the roads and the space around it being pitches. Caravans are mostly around arms of the E whilst as a tent we pitched on the strip of grass between the road (the spine of the E) and the front of the loch which was beautiful if not rather midgeyful. It might be more than one E maybe two on top of each other if you get what I mean.

We paid 36 for 2 nights for 2 people which I guess was sort of steep but considering the state of the facilities (toilets, showers, washing up area, laundry) I feel that it was worth while!

Loads of people were swimming in the loch and I'm gutted I didn't have a wee boat or swimming wear!

I am not a child but it is very child friendly :)

I also learnt that an airbed doesn't mean you can survive with just blankets and no sleeping bag. It got cold! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: B.sutcliffe1@ntlwor 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week on this overpriced site.

On entering the site, which is situated in beautiful surroundings, you have to avoid the numerous deep potholes in the main drive.

When checking in we were told that this is a Forest site and as such things were much left to nature. I think this comment was a feeble excuse to absolve responsibility for the terrain, which after rain was somewhat like a swamp in places. The hard standings were untidy, unkempt, and full of plantain. The tracks around the site are rough ground, no tarmac. You have to pitch within two coloured posts, the next two posts are the demarcation between pitches which ignores the 20ft rule.

If you have a canopy or awning you must park your car in front of your unit on the track side, which I felt was quite vulnerable to collisions from young children cycling around the site.

Be aware that the midges in this area are rife. We were almost confined to our caravan in the evenings with flyscreens in place and the mosquito coils burning. Nothing much else seems to deter them!

The toilet block was of acceptable quality, but always seemed to be wet through, even after the hour closed for cleaning from 11 to 12 am.

Considering the fees charged there should be more spent on the access ways and improved drainage.

If you are prepared to accept the above issues then the scenery around is worth the visit, and that is free. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowkg 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here earlier this year and loved it. Ww have two small children who loved the park and the loch. We bought fishing nets for them to 'catch' crabs in.

You are not allocated pitches so its a bit of a free for all and some of the ground was very wet. It was also quite bumpy and stoney in places. Overall grounds were in need of tlc. It had just rained about four weeks though.

The toilet block is immaculate. Even the boys were happy to shower!

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Amazing shop and cafe for respite from the cold/midges. Both of which were bad You can order fresh bakery produce for the morning which is lovely.

We never ventured off site because we were there to chill and it is so lovely sitting looking at the view. Good for walking/cycling/fishing.

One draw back is the price.

I would def recommend this site 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crapple 30 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay here for 2 nights but in fact only stayed one because the weather was bad and we'd had enough of Scottish weather! Having stayed on another Forest Holidays site we knew about finding our own pitch (no pitch reservation), but I found the system rather confusing, there are different coloured posts and I got it wrong, so when the wardens were doing their evening inspection they knocked on our door to tell us we were pitched between the wrong colour posts - apparently you are supposed to pitch between 2 posts of the same colour. I suggested they might simply say that, and they agreed that was a good simple way of understanding the pitches (can't believe they hadn't thought of that themselves!).

Anyway, this site is in a beautiful location, right by a loch, really lovely. The dogs had a good run on the lochside, which was ideal. All the pitches have electric hook ups and our pitch was quite level. The toilet/shower block was immaculately clean and shower was really good. The only negative I could find was that I couldn't find a dog waste bin anywhere on site.

There was a bit of distant traffic noise from the road, but as we were in a motor home it didn't disturb us at all.

We would definitely be happy to stay on this site again, should we decided to risk the Scottish weather again! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie1 2 reviews from this member

 This site is well kept, toilet showers etc, staff all very helpful and scenery priceless. Having said that it isn't priceless, in fact pricey sums it up. Just short of 40 pound for a two man tent for two nights!

It's a good 3 mile walk into Arrocher so if you fancy a pint in the Ben Arthur be prepared for the walk back or take the bike. I'd stay on the pavement though as the 'boy racers' like that road.

Arrocher itself looked a bit run down although it was the week before Easter so season hadn't really started yet. Ben Arthur; decent bar, nice lounge because of view, ok food. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keltie 2 reviews from this member

 The site is on a stunning location right on Loch long, but very pricey for a tent with an extra car; 23.50 a night that's with no electric just a piece of grass. The pitches aren't allocated so you can go anywhere. There are pitches right overlooking the loch but on a slope so weren't any good. We pitched on another area of grass. Had a lot of rain and many tents were completely water logged.

There are quite a lot of rules; don't pitch within 3 meters of another tents guy ropes. Don't park on the grass, the gate to the park is shut from 10pm - 8am so you can't get out. The toilet block is closed from 11-12 which was really inconvenient as there is only 3 showers for the whole site and it's right on the time when you would want to go.

There was lot's of midges when we went in August so you'd need a insect repellent to keep them at bay.

This site is also a caravan and camping club site so you pay a charge if you're not a member. I wasn't impressed with how the grounds were kept. It was quite untidy where you actually pitch, for a club site. Very bumpy grass pitches and uneven pot holed tracks round the site. On the plus side there is a shop and cafe. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beaky2511 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip with our new tents and we were not disappointed even with torrential rain and killer midgies. The wardens were approachable and informative and the site was in a beautiful location. We had a 3, 6, and 15 year old with us and they all enjoyed the site. The wee ones enjoyed the play park and fishing/playing at the loch and we all went on a lovely cycle together. We brought our bikes and seat but there was bike, rods etc to hire. There is organised wildlife ranger activities in the morning and evening which we heard were good but we didn't do this due to weather. The pitches were fine and the noise was minimal from the road the main noise was birds singing which was lovely. The toilets and shower blocks were clean and the wash up area sheltered. Well stocked shop and we had bought lovely hot chocolates and had our own sandwiches in the cafe. Only an hour and a bit from Glasgow overall a great site with plenty to do for all ages. Take midgie repellant and head nets ! 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arrochar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2323 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement