Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Arrochar > Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays Reviews

Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays
Ardgartan
Arrochar
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G83 7AR
Tel: 0845 130 8223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Log Cabins Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LaughingGravy 6 reviews from this member

 Whilst I chose this site based on the reviews here, I was personally very disappointed.

As people have said, the setting of the site on Loch Long is stunningly beautiful, but I was unfortunate enough to pick a warm June Saturday when everybody and their dog had decided to descend on the site.

I chose what I thought would be a quiet spot, but sadly the campers kept coming in until the area was crammed with tents and vehicles.

Last of all the tents to arrive was a group of four lads, who (in their own words, as spoken to another camper, if paraphrased slightly) had 'got fed up with going oot on the toon every Saturday and had decided to go camping for a change'.

After spending an age putting their tent up (next to me, naturally), they then proceeded to get plastered, argue amongst themselves and sing along to their radio until 4.30 in the morning. Not nice when you have to be up and about at 5.30 to get on the road again. Nor I suspect was it pleasant for the families with small kids.

Fair play to the one guy amongst them who kept telling the others to be quiet, but his ears did fall on deaf ears somewhat. Another camper also shouted and outraged 'please be quiet, you chaps!', though not in those exact words, or using that same polite tone. The couple on the other side of me actually packed up their tent and went elsewhere at about 4 in the morning- I guess they must have slept in their van somewhere, as the gates are shut until 7am- though when I left at quarter to, I went between the posts on my motorbike- handy as I had to make that early start.

All of that said, judging by the other reviews here, I think I was unfortunate. An overcrowded Saturday. The toilet and shower block wasn't too clever either, though again, that may have been because of the sheer numbers of people on site, and I've certainly seen a lot worse.

Keep an eye on the reviews here, and judge for yourself whether this was a one off, or a general downturn. It would be a shame if this site did go bad, as it truly is in a beautiful location. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knk12345 4 reviews from this member

 I have just come back from spending 2 nights in the campsite.
It is very spacious.
The people who run the sight are helpful. The site is right on the banks of Loch Long, and the views are stunning. The site has a little shop and a launderette.
In the main shower block there was a row of about 9 toilets and 2 showers, however there is also another small shower bloke with a further 6 toilets and 2 showers. The toilets blocks have a key code to get in. The campsite was great and really recommended, however the toilets could do with a refurbishment.
 
All in all a nice site. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brandobiker 2 reviews from this member

 I have camped at this site many times since the '70's and find it an excellent site , quite luxurious to someone used to wild camping and a good base for climbing the local mountains such as the Cobbler. It has hot/cold water, toilet block, washing machine , indoor area, shop. All in all a great site that I will continue to use.
 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzanne_999 2 reviews from this member

 This was out first proper trip out camping with the children. The views were beautiful, the people running it were very friendly and helpful. I thought the toilets were fine. They reminded me of an old school block where everything is in line and had a smell of carbolic cleanliness about it. They were very clean and had plenty of hot water as did the area for dish washing. There was a laundry facility as well which gets locked at night for peace and quiet.

There was an area for children to play which my children thoroughly enjoyed. Luckily the time of year we went we did not encounter any blood sucking midges!

The pitch area was spacious. Bit of a dodgy road to join when leaving the site though. Apart from that we had a fantastic experience and wouldn't hesitate to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

 Ite a spacious site right next to Loch Long, with magnificent views across the Loch. The toilets were OK. There were an unbelievable amount of midges in them, but I guess that’s the consequence of going in July!. There were only 2 showers, which although I thought seemed very limited for a site which boasts 200 pitches actually never posed a problem and there was plenty of warm hot water. There is a walk that starts directly at the entrance to the campsite which leads to a walk which you could make as short or as long as you like, leading to the Ardgartan Tourist Information centre. There are limited shops nearby, 5 minutes down the road (in a car) and a garage in the same area. Nearest supermarket is in Helensborough (about 15 – 20 mins away). This was a pleasant site, although is situated next to a road so you can hear the traffic, but this wasn’t a major problem, would definitely visit again, worth it for the amazing views! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kemcp_uk 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned after an overnight stay. The view is great and there are lots of pitches to choose from. The site is in a good position for seeing Inveraray and the surrounding areas. Unfortunately the washing and toilet facilities are below standard. In fact, the showers seemed to be little more than midge traps! 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Steve+Ali 20 reviews from this member

 Wonderful, peaceful site, situated on the picturesque banks of Loch Long.
We had a premier pitch, with the best view of the loch. The onsite shop has everything, at a price. The toilet and shower facilities are adequate, but could do with updating and locking! While we were there the block was flooded every day by children playing about with water and tissue.

The children's play area was adequate with bark chippings in a raised bed, but needs some drainage, as it becomes a quagmire when it has rained and the stains from the bark dont come out!

A lovely site on the whole, but beware the midges and jellyfish! 


Reviewer: Ladyfidi 14 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just come back from a weekend stay. Joined friends who have visited the site before and now we know why. It is lovely. Thankfully no midges were about. We had an inflateable dingy with us which was a blast for the kids amongst us. Some of them not too young!!! Facilities were good and kept spotless and the shop was perfect. Don't expect to pop out to the local for a pint. It took some of our group 40 mins to walk it and only one taxi locally so it's quite an effort if you have to go both ways!! 


Reviewer: Tomc73 12 reviews from this member

 April 2004
We have visited this site 4 times in 3 years as it is one of the best situated campsites I have been on or have seen photos of. The Cobbler looks down on you from his last , with cloud and mist swirling around him , and all round you it seems, Loch Long ebbs and flows. The site is very well kept and the shop is always full of the things you are looking for - midgie repellent/incense sticks/net hats ! , make no mistake , if you visit in summer you are going to get bitten ! , but asides that , the toilet blocks are clean with very hot water , they are code locked for your peace of mind , the staff from the Forestry Comm are friendly and helpful, and just one look at the scenery will make you want to return again and again. 


Reviewer: Highgateuk 21 reviews from this member

 July 2004
We really enjoyed our stay here, although they told us the site was full, there seemed to be plenty of room for everyone. The facilities were good, not the best I've seen but plenty of hot water and clean. A good fishing, walking and cycling area, also a good touring base, just watch out how you leave the campsite exit as it is a fast road you go onto. We also had a good pub meal in Arrochar, overlooking the loch, recommended. We will be returning!! 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arrochar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1018 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement