Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Arrochar > Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays Reviews

Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays
Ardgartan
Arrochar
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G83 7AR
Tel: 0845 130 8223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Log Cabins Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

 This site is in a perfect setting. We took our little dingy and had a great time. Lovely walk over Cat Crag Loop and the Lochside.

Facilities are well kept by the excellent wardens

Not a lot of hassle with midges as still early in season. Hoping to visit again in September, can't wait! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swissfamily 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived expecting a tranquil away from it all camping holiday - how wrong we were!

Very clean facilities, friendly staff, impressive new reception. But it was a building site! Many of our fellow campers were builders.

Really disappointed that we had no idea before we arrived that extensive building work was going on. Access to the beach was severely restricted meaning you could only walk towards the road.

I'm sure once the log cabin project is complete and the Range Rover set arrive the whole ambiance will change - it will have to or they wont come back.

Also no children's playground. So with restricted site and beach access due to building works meant there was not a lot for children to do. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pegless 7 reviews from this member

 I decided to use this campsite as my testing ground for taking my three children camping without my husband around. In the end, he came with us to help pitch the tent, stayed for a meal and then left us to it. I'm glad he did, because while I'm more than capable of pitching the tent on my own usually, the ground underneath our tent was very, very stony. Several broken pegs later we did manage to get the tent up but it wasn't the usual 25 minute job, and I doubt I'd have managed on my own.

The site is fairly spacious though so perhaps I'd have had better luck in a different location. As to location, well you couldn't really ask for much more. The site was nestled at the edge of Loch Long and the veiws were fantastic. My children spent most of their weekend fishing for crabs in Loch Long; instant entertainment, although they also enjoyed the play area.

I thought the shower blocks/loos were perfectly adequate; certainly very clean, if a little on the jaded side, but it seems they were due for a refurb. I'm planning on returning to the site again this summer so we'll see.

The staff were very helpful at all times, and if you've forgotten your Avon SSS, they have it in plentiful supply in the shop. The rest of the stock in the shop is fairly basic.

We were only there for three nights and I'd taken sufficient supplies that we didn't need to venture out and find a supermarket. I think you'd need one though if you were planning on a longer stay, for a start the camp shop isn't licensed. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ulen 5 reviews from this member

 Just come back after a great weekend despite rain and midges. The site is nice. The grass was a bit waterlogged but we were helped to choose the best spot. ~The views were great, the kids loved fishing and sailing in the dingy. There was a play park but it was a bit wet as it was bark which was waterlogged and really too muddy for kids to play in, but with the site right on the loch who needed the park. Toilets and other facilities were clean and good, but could do with an upgrade which they are getting this November. Wasn't that easy to find out about local activities, such as walks etc., no free maps of walks as now they charge for leaflets. The staff at the site were pleasant but were all new to the site this season. Will Definitely go back as it is a very good site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GREENGAIRS 5 reviews from this member

 Nice wee site. Beautiful views over Loch Long.Quiet and peaceful. Midges not too bad.Avon SSS really does work. Arrochar is nice. The Village Inn is excellent. Ben Arthur,s Bothy is a dump. Village too far to walk in the soggy weather. Good that the park is due a refurb as the toilets/shower rooms are a bit tired and the chemical waste facilities inadequate. Worth putting up with it for the setting though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drainso 1 review from this member

 Lovely Site, great location. Majority of tent pitches have fab views out over the Loch. Loch has shingle Beach with shallow water, great for the kids. Plenty of people out fishing from the lochside, not sure if they caught much! Site closing in Nov for refurb, to include toilet blocks, but they are fine, clean and plenty of hot water. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Famous Grouse 7 reviews from this member

 Having read through the previous reviews, it looks as if comments are being made on both Ardgartan sites on this one link.

We booked into the Ardgartan site from Sat 7th June to Thursday 19th June - the one that is situated behind the Ardgartan Visitors Centre, along a dreadful forest road full of potholes and very few passing places.

The site at the end of the road is on a fantastic spot - right on the loch side. This site slopes, so blocks and ramps are a good idea.

We were not impressed with the toilet facilities. There are no locks that require a key number, as mentioned in one of the previous reviews. Bearing in mind that we had campers on the site with us, there were only 2 showers for the whole site - one in each of the toilets. You never shower alone here - expect to be joined by hundreds of midges - but it was heated which was very welcome at 7 in the morning. The toilets themselves were kept very clean, as was the site, so 5 stars to the Wardens who were very nice and helpful.

There was logging going on in the forest behind us, and the large transporter trucks used the same entry road, passing the site to get to their location. The noise was like a passing train which was a shame.

However, the midges were so bad we had to do as the others did - buy midge bags to put over our head and make a dash for the shower/loos through the swarms. We even bought one for the dog! We heard that there were porpoises and seals in the loch, but we could not get out to see them and felt as if we were prisoners in the van. In the end we had cut our visit short and leave on the 12th as the midges were eating my husband alive.

We would love to go back as we could not explore the area because of the midges - but it would be in Spring or October when the little devils have stopped breeding! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kittymieow 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Toilets clean and spacious. Staff very friendly and shop is stocked quite well. Fantastic views over the hills, the weather was fab too.
Midgies were a bit of a pain but then they always find me!lovely walks throught the forest and a playarea for the kids. Quiet, peaceful site, highly reccomend. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judithandpeter 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site, stayed there 3 nights. Absolutley fabulous views from every angle, pitchs are spacious, management are very friendly and a well stocked shop.
Walks from site are excellent and about a half hour walk to village pubs. Toilets are clean but only one problem which is very minor, toilet roll holders not good and ended up with little bits of paper all over the floor, but other than that had a great weekend and red hot weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blueeye 3 reviews from this member

 Had a wonderful week here in Ardgartan. Must say Forest holidays have done a great job. It is a wonderful peaceful area that was only spoiled one night by a noisy family who were told to leave the next morning, well done to the staff for that.
Will definitely go again. But as with all Campsites near Lochs make sure you wear dark clothes as midges will attack you. Also I can now swear that Avon O so soft should be applied to the skin daily as this helps. Can't wait to get back there. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arrochar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3993 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement