Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Arrochar > Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays Reviews

Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays
Ardgartan
Arrochar
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G83 7AR
Tel: 0845 130 8223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Log Cabins Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Siza_1976 1 review from this member

 Stunning Scenery, the loch is a stones throw away and is ideal for walks and nature trails, biking.

Is a bit close to the main road, but is a well kept and clean site, although maybe a little bit cramped.

The toilets are immaculate, and even when the site was inundated with swarms of midge the toilets were promptly cleaned up and ready for use.

We did find that the staff initially were not very helpful and were very concerned that our friends had parked on the grass to unload there vehicle, and told me that I could not take my car inside, despite having paid for the car,and insisted that one of the other cars from our neighbours must be brought outside before I would be allowed to enter the site with my car to unload and erect our tent, we were a little surprised by this, but didn't think to much of it. However only a few minutes later as we started to unload the car and erect the tent, we were greeted by a staff member instructing that the tent must be the required statutory distance from neighbouring tents.

While we were erecting the tent another staff member was communicating to somebody via a radio and telling them loudly while looking in our direction the car type and location of the vehicle 'parked on the grass', we were only there for a few minutes to unload the car, anyway after unloading we removed the car to the car park as we were told not to park on the grass, and only a few spaces were pointed out where we could park, however they were occupied. Hmmm not so good.

We parked outside in the small car park, as did some of our friends, and on a number of occasions we found tickets under the windscreens stating that the cars were parked there without authorisation and that the owner must contact the office.

We were also approached on the two consecutive nights we stayed and told to keep noise down, we were not loud and had children sleeping with us, although the regular visitors who were our neighbours were ok to party into the wee small hours, not that we were bothered, but it seemed a bit excessive and a bit on the strict side.

On a positive note the shop is very well stocked, with pretty much most things you would need, lots of overly priced midge repellent and head nets which were definitely needed early in the morning and late afternoon onwards.

Fishing rod hire and bike hire was reasonable and the play park for the kids was ok.

It is a really nice site in a beautiful location. Well worth a look. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirstysav 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for May Half Term with two boys aged 5 and 8. Picked because of its loch side location and proximity to Loch Lomond & Stirling. Dealt with efficiently on arrival, very busy site due to also being Scottish school holiday but quietened down after Monday.

Good points: Lovely loch side location, clean, warm showers & toilets, well stocked shop, facility to freeze iceblocks nice walks from the site.

Bad points: lots of road noise from the busy A82, some pitches looked like they were a bit of grass in a car park!

Our pitch was at the entrance to the site which had a decent view of the loch and was reasonably flat the draw back to the nice grassy pitch was the road noise. Probably won't visit this site again as prefer somewhere a bit more secluded but will definitely visit the area, beautiful scenery and lovely walks, plenty to do for children of all ages.

Have given location a 5 due to the closeness of the road not the actual location if Ardgartan. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rmoocoo 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site on Saturday and Sunday night in a motorhome, but this is a review of the camping facilities too.

Friendly staff greeted us and we were given a choice of pitch.

We had a pitch with electric hook up which was level, had a reasonably unobstructed view. I donít think the more expensive pitches with picnic benches are worth the upgrade. Yes you get the loch view from your front window (rather than the side) but you are near the park distribution road so may get a bit more traffic / people movement and people can still pitch a tent in front of you to obstruct the view anyway.

Facilities warm and clean, but as others have said some of the showers are very quick to switch off - 6 seconds was the quickest, 30 seconds the longest.

Shop well stocked and reasonable, coffee shop very nice.

Lodges are complete now and sit on their own at one of the park and look superb inside and out.

We are normally campers so with a view to future tent use checked out the tent pitches and despite the good review in Camping magazine found them a bit wanting to be honest.

They are generally flat but look full of humps, hollows, stones and look very likely to become muddy. The shore side pitches are at the top of a slope / are sloping and will suit only smaller tents.

I think the best of the tent field has been taken by the new lodges. To counter this loss of area in the busy periodís campers will be asked to pitch between the rows of touring caravans. Bit too close for my liking.

The relatively close proximity of this site to Glasgow would mean it will get very busy. As my next visit would be as a camper I am unlikely to return during busy period and would stick to Spring / Autumn visits.

Be warned bring plenty of cash as the local village has only 1 cash machine in the petrol station and it was out of order during our visit. Meaning if you needed cash its a long long trip to find the next one.

So in summary nice site, nice facilities, friendly staff, great outdoor fun locally but tent pitches currently not to everyoneís taste. 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dsmillie432 6 reviews from this member

 Although it is advertised as open all year, it was clearly not 'in-season' as the reception was only open for two hours in the morning, and two hours in the afternoon. The washblock, while nice and clean with good facilities, was rather lacking in the heating department. Couple that with the constant need to press the button on the shower to keep the water flowing did detract from the experience.

The managers had apparently only took over the site a couple of days before, so we could not really blame them, but the advertising blurb about the coffee shop and fresh produce being available did not live up to expectations.

Luckily we had a fully stocked fridge/freezer from our stop in Melrose, so did not need to much from the local shops.

The pitch was a 'select' pitch, which basically meant a nice view, and a picnic table ( unused due to sleet and rain ), but the nice view was negated by a long walk to the water/waste facilities.

Hopefully the new managers will get sorted and make their mark on the place. Until then I'll withhold judgement. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronballantyne 1 review from this member

 WE arrived on Friday Evening just after 5 pm. Went in to the reception area, very clean, nice wee shop to plus lots of happy faces to greet you.

Was shown where to pitch the tent.

Settled down for a nice quiet night playing cards and a few glass of wine.

The camp site has a few cabins now. We are looking at trying them out in Jan

The campsite is only a short drive from Glasgow, but you are in a lovely quiet area where time doesn't matter.

We stayed till the Monday. We will be back

Great coffee in the wee shop where you can sit in the Glass area and watch the world go by  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

 Went here for our wedding anniversary weekend and to try out our new tent (without Electric hook up as its not provided for tents in this site). We arrived and were delighted with the welcome from the very friendly and informative staff. We were told to choose a pitch and this is where the only problem of our stay was. The pitches were either very exposed and at the brow of a steep hill down into the loch, or in the grass areas between the rows of Caravans. The park had been quite waterlogged (Scottish summers!), so there wasn't much choice of pitch. We did eventually find a decent pitch with adequate shelter due to the caravans surrounding us - but not too close so as to bother us in any way.

The facilities are as expected in a forest holidays park - fantastic and very clean. The coffee shop is comfy and the shop is very well stocked. The only thing I don't like about this park is that I found out whilst there that the former tent area is now avenues of wooden lodges. This isn't a reason not to visit though, as its still a fantastic site and in an absolutely great location for visiting the western highlands and also the Glasgow area. The weather when we were there was wet,wet,wet.

I would love to visit this site on a nice Dry day, as I think this would be the ideal time to see this site in all its glory. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 185 reviews from this member

 Seeing a previous review on the construction, it remains a work in progress (but no machinery on site) at the motorhome section we were put in, which was very muddy. Can't complain - the CCC site nearby wouldn't take us due to their grass pitch being too soft after all the rain. Staff here very friendly and helpful. CCC members get a discount.

Clean bright new toilet block, plenty of loos, some sinks in cubicles if you need the privacy, free showers. Very good shop; I think they bake their own bread. An attractive sunroom coffee bar. Dog walk to the rocky shore and a stream for dog swims. Self catering chalets are finished and very appealing indeed. No midges, though the Midge eaters were not running. The summer had been very dry, and that doesn't suit them. The tents looked very crowded together. We noticed folk moving picnic tables to their own tent, so I'd watch for that if you've paid the premium for the best pitches which have the tables. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johanisk 2 reviews from this member

 Just back after a glorious weekend at this site. We took our dog and 20 month old daughter along and they both seemed to love it. Pretty strict about keeping dogs on leashes but there's a great forest walk nearby and the beach to let her loose on.

The facilities were absolutely spotless and the staff were all really friendly and helpful.

We got a pretty good pitch as we got there on Friday lunchtime but when we left on Saturday afternoon it seemed to be getting pretty crowded. I guess because the site is so close to Glasgow it's unavoidable, but I do like to have a bit more space when I'm camping, rather than another tent right on your doorstep - especially if you've got a toddler running around.

The midgies made an appearance in the evening and then first thing in the morning and then disappeared but repellant is a must.

The beach is great - small stones but easy to walk on with nice slopes down into the water. A few bits of rubbish on the beach though. We were going to camp near the water but all the pitches there seemed to be on a slope.

Would maybe go back although would probably aim for midweek to avoid the overcrowding. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycamper83 1 review from this member

 We (My partner, greyhound and myself) stayed one night here earlier this year.

The reception / shop was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. They sell a great selection of hot drinks, soup and savouries as well as all the usual sweets and essentials youd expect. Great on a cold and wet night.

Great views across the water to Arrochar (a 5min drive away) with a petrol station, pubs and shop, although we chose to stay on site and use the stove. Unfortunately there was also some building works going on, building some chalets at the far end of the site, spoiling the view. Noone was actually working on it while we were there so no noise (apart from the music from a nearby tent)

Only 4 other tents pitched on the spacious ground while we were there, though id imagine it fills up pretty quickly in the summer.

We enjoyed a walk up the Cobbler during the day (one of the best looking mountains around, even if its not a Munro).

Managed to survive the horrendous weather overnight unlike the neighbours with the loud music who abandoned to their car.

The toilet facilities were excellent, look like they have been refurbished and live up to the standard set by the reception.

All in all a great site, though we did find it a little bit on the expensive side. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ladyfidi 14 reviews from this member

 We are regular visitors to this site and following the refurbishments we thought we would get in early (the first weekend it re-opened) to see how it had improved.

Bank holiday weekend so we expected it to be busy but when we arrived we found the site still a construction site. All of what used to be the camping field was fenced off and wooden chalets were being erected. The caravan pitches are now designated by small posts and with an awning on you can just about squeeze onto your pitch but you are very close to your neighbours. The construction went on over the weekend and you could hear reversing machinery first thing in the morning waiting to go on site. Over the day the noise was not intrusive but the view to the loch is now very limited.
The tents when we were there had to pitch in the middle of the caravans on what was really a bog. Yeah the weather was awful and drainage work had apparently been carried out on the area but it was pretty ineffective if you ask me.

There is now a new reception area with small cafe/shop but they are expensive. There is also a cycle hire which was just getting put together when we were there. The staff as always were very friendly and helpful. The toilets were clean and bright. The Kids play area hadn't been installed but it didn't matter to us on this occasion as all our kids wanted to do was mess about by the water.

We were very disappointed that there was no mention of the construction on either the forest holidays website or when we called to make our booking. The chalets will obviously bring in the big money so maybe the campers will be put to the bottom of the priorities? We have had many happy times here and I hope this was just an unfortunate weekend to have gone and I am sure we will be back but it has put us off slightly. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arrochar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement