Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Arrochar > Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays Reviews

Argyll Cabins Forest Holidays
Ardgartan
Arrochar
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G83 7AR
Tel: 0845 130 8223
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Log Cabins Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

This site is no longer taking bookings for touring or camping pitches.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane3821 1 review from this member

A fabulous location, perfect for walks and cycling. The Manager was warm and welcoming and gave us lots of local information regarding walks etc. The facilities were excellent, whoever is responsible for cleaning the toilet blocks etc deserves a medal, they were scrupulously clean and a pleasure to use and lovely and warm on a cold day.

After reading the other reviews I would like to address some of their comments:

Yes you can occasionally hear a train on the hill but it does not cause a problem in any way in fact it adds to the atmosphere of the place.

Yes the toilet block is closed for cleaning, that's why they are so clean and surely by 11am you would be up and out !

Yes you can hear the road slightly but this does not cause a problem at all.

I would highly recommend 'The Village Inn' in Arrocour the food was amazing !

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AdeEnglish 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour of this region of Scotland. Despite being the high of the summer holidays the site did not feel cramped though occupancy was reasonably high.

The location is great for Loch Long. I woke most mornings to watch the sunrise and it is beautiful. Next time we, the family, will spend more time exploring the forest paths (injury prevent us this time).

The shower and toilet blocks are a little dated but are nice and clean with excellent showers.

On site highlights:-

A) The views - Stunning

Keep an eye out for the trains on the other side of the Loch.

B) The peace - Oh so quiet

C) The cafe - Nice drinks and snacks, though expect coffee shop rather than greasy spoon prices.

Off site highlights:-

A) Scenery - Easy access to all the local attractions

Negatives:-

A) The shower and toilet blocks are a little dated but are nice and clean with excellent showers.

B) The priority seems to be the cabins with the campsite second. I hope the campers aren't forgotten.

C) Midges - It's Scotland!

Overall - a lovely scenic site

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: TallClaire 1 review from this member

An idyllic location, right next to Loch Long. We saw seals, gannets (and heard of dolphins and pilot whales). Peaceful and beautiful. Our children spent many happy hours playing by the loch. The facilities were excellent (toilets, showers, washing up, laundry) and extremely well maintained. The staff were very helpful and the small shop well stocked and reasonably priced.

Our only criticism was that the gravel hardstandings for campervans / motorhomes are very hard and we found it extremely difficult to put our small tent up next to our van. I'd recommend large sturdy tentpegs and a very good mallet.

Excellent area for walking, fishing, canoeing, peace and quiet and getting away from it all. And if you want a bit of urban culture it's only 40 mins to Glasgow.

We'll be back!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harrytheharris 2 reviews from this member

I'm backing the previous review. We used to stay here as our first Scotland stop when touring and camping. Must have stayed 3 or 4 times.

It's changed a lot. New buildings, including a pizza cafe, which was a sore point - when we arrived, we asked about times and they said they closed at 8pm. So we figured (correctly) that we should be there by 7pm, and after putting up the tent and unpacking, we were there at 6. 50pm - to find the couple in front of us being told that they had stopped taking pizza orders for the evening as they were so busy! Though 'busy' turned out to mean that there were two pizzas in the oven, and two waiting. This news was delivered stroppily and with no apology or acknowledgement of the difficulties this presented.

We were given a choice of sloping, untidy pitches. We chose the flattest, which was untidy (for example, I picked up four used plasters!) and still sloped enough for us be sliding down the tent all night.

The utility block, while well-provisioned, was on a keycode lock! For a rural site this seemed a bit ridiculous - none of the other sites we visited felt the need.

The most serious problem was the water. It wasn't suitable for drinking! Yet the only signs to this effect were on the front desk (we were served away from this so never went near it) and by the washing up area (we didn't cook so didn't use this either). No warnings by the actual, you know, cold water taps! Not in the loos either.

We used to look forward to this site, it's in a fantastic location and used to be really friendly. I'm afraid only the first of these is now true, certainly if you're camping.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Humber 5 reviews from this member

Whats happened to this site, campers are being squeezed out, there are only about a dozen tent pitches left on the site. The pitches are terrible, they are on a slope, very small and untidy, and you can not get a electric hook up if you are in a tent. The whole site looks grubby, and its expensive. Toilets are clean but locking them for a hour per day is just one of the crazy rules in this park ( editor's note - how else are they going to clean them!) Most of the staff are tip top, and this used to be a fantastic busy site but it has slipped. I think Forest Holidays have got to get it sorted and fast.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elaineja65 5 reviews from this member

Camped here for 2 nights with a group of 3 other families. Small site with mainly pitches for caravans and motorhomes. Tent pitches were along the edge of the loch which made for stunning views but meant that they were sloped down towards the beach.

Just had to pin our chairs down to stop from tipping over when sitting relaxing. Site facilities were ok, small shop, cafe ad clean toilet block.

No playpark but kids loved playing on the beach, spending hours catching crabs and throwing stones. Plenty of walks in the area.

Road was a bit noisy at night and early morning but didn't really keep us awake.

Site wardens are very strict with the rules but suppose they are only doing their job.

Expensive at 63 for 2 nights for tent, 2 adults and 2 children compared to other sites, but was a bank holiday. Why are prices higher on a bank holiday?!

All in all a lovely small site which I would definitely return to as a stop off.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireFlorence 1 review from this member

We visited this site for a weeks walking. Really cannot fault the campsite. The staff were very friendly and would go out of their way to help with anything they could. The cafe was brilliant.

After a long day walking when you are fit to drop you can sit down and have a coffee and a snack.

The road is a wee bit noisy and the train trundling past at night too but after a days walking this does not bother you.

We did think the grass looked like it needed tidied up a bit and possibly tidied up in front of the lodges.

It had beautiful walks nearby and the views were amazing. The situation is brilliant for the area.

Facilities were immaculate. Great for children.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kaatje 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this side for 5 nights.

On arrival we checked in and found our pitch very untidy. Nails on the ground, so watch your tyres.

Also the wardens were not very friendly. Our dog was loose for 1 minute and they started shouting at us. Why not come over and speak with us.

The pitches are very small.

The toilet block was not very clean.

For our dog it was very good. Great walks in the woods.

From the campsite you can make very nice trips and you can have nice views over the loch.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jetpipejohn 1 review from this member

We visited this site 24-27th May 2012, Having been here some 7yrs previous.

On arrival the staff were helpful and friendly, The toilet blocks have certainly improved and are now an excellent standard, and maintained well.

The negatives- A folding caravan would be to your advantage, sideways, the pitches are ridiculously small, if an awning is erected, there will be no room for for your vehicle.

Local small shops stocking most groceries, A local pub/restaurant, a good selection of meals available.

A good site for a base for visiting local areas, thereby not spending much time on the tiny pitches.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019