Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ad Astra Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Benllech > Ad Astra Caravan Park Reviews

Ad Astra Caravan Park
Llangefni Road
Brynteg
Benllech
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL78 7JH
Tel: 01248 853283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Armleywhite 13 reviews from this member

 Beautifully quiet site that we keep returning to time and time again. Well maintained and always has the highest standards. Toilet block is amazingly clean, tidy and modern. Kept clean at all times. Site is very quiet and if you have active kids, they may be bored. The road out of the site, the B5110 is fairly quiet but vehicles do travel very fast on there so walking to the local can be a bit scary.

Only negative, if that's what you'd call it is that there is only one Elsan point and that is in the touring field and can be a pain if your cassettes are full ;)

Site is owned by a lovely couple who are always welcoming. Short drive from beautiful beach of Benllech. However, there are so many others only a short drive away.

If you like peaceful chilled out sites then this is most definitely for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jinxster 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site, with peaceful surroundings. Toilet block is a bit of a walk from the tent pitches which isn't great when you need to go in the middle of the night! Spotlessly clean throughout, the owners cut the grass as soon as a pitch was vacated and the toilet/shower block and dish washing facilities were thoroughly cleaned at least twice a day!

Large tent pitches under mature trees giving extra shelter from the rain and a great space in the middle of the tent field for children to play in. Owners very friendly and helpful. We initially booked for two nights but ended up staying for three!

Beach at Benllech is gorgeous and the chip shop up the side of the petrol station amazing. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tl5863 8 reviews from this member

 What can I say. Another fantastic stay at this site, you can not fault it. The owner and her husband are so friendly and helpful. No rush to vacate your pitch. Excellent shower room and well kept grounds. This site is worth a visit we go every whit.

The California pub just down the road does nice meals and you are not far from from llangefni where there is an asda, lidl, iceland, aldi and various shops, everything you need just a short journey from the site.

The camping field is great for children to play as no units are allowed in the middle of the field, this is so the children can play. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ginge123 3 reviews from this member

 Really great site. We dropped in on spec and were met by a very friendly lady on reception. We chose our own pitch and were told we could stay as long as we liked the next day. Which makes a pleasant change to some very commercialised sites. The toilets and dish washing was immaculate. The camping field was really pleasant and managed that special feel of true camping but with that extra touch of luxury. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keanonwuk 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend at this gem of a site. You reach the site via a narrow road but it is in good condition. On entering Ad Astra the re-cycling area is at the gate on the left whilst the main tent area is just past that on the right but you are required to park up alongside this field then walk to the reception which is at the bottom of the road when you first arrive ok if the weather is good but a bit of a walk if raining (as it was for us).

The field (main tent area) was slightly sloping not a problem if you cater for it. There are EHUs around the edge of the field with a drinking water point and fire buckets in the centre. It appears that children are allowed to play in this area also. There are trees and hedgerows around the perimeter which gives shelter from the elements. There is a grey water and chemical point on the left as you enter the field.

The amenities block is very clean and looks to be new with two showers each for male and female (one is a disabled), three toilet cubicles (again one for disabled), two urinals (the gents) two wash basins with a nice to see hair dryer. There is also a launderette with two sinks for washing up. There was plenty of hot water at all times. The showers are free and are of the push button type. The site caters for tents, tourers and statics. It would appear that there has been problems with respect to static campers using these facilities when they have their own in the units but we did not have to queue at any time (ok we were the only tent on the field for most of our stay). If I do have a niggle it is with respect to the placement of the facilities which are a fair walk from the tent field in the middle of the static caravans.

The owners are really friendly and helpful and obviously enjoy what they do. There are plenty of leaflets in reception and not too many rules pinned up. Just a point for dog owners (it didn't affect us) but dogs are required to be on a lead at all times, having said that we saw a couple with a large Alsatian type dog on the tent field without a lead although they didn't stay long.

We really liked the site, it is quiet, clean and within easy reach for shopping, pubs and even a chip shop. We shall definitely re-visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vikiash 2 reviews from this member

 We love this site as a family we have been returning for a couple of years now and even introduced many friends to the site, the owners are are very friendly and helpful, the site is so tidy and clean you can tell they really take pride in what they do. As a small site it is perfect for a relaxing break and the kids love the space they have to play.

The facilities are amazingly clean all the the time and never had any problems with hot water or EHU or anything, there really are no cons when it comes to this site only pros.

Anglesey itself has to be my favourite place ever anyway so at this site you are central to travel anywhere on the island 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sharrrocks26 2 reviews from this member

 A great site with very friendly owners. The toilets and showers were spotless, as was the dish washing area which also had a washing machine and tumble dryer.

Although a little out of the way for walking, it is only a few minutes drive to the beaches and there is a great pub within walking distance.

There are plenty of electric hook-ups and although we were travelling as a couple with a dog, there seemed plenty of children who could play in the tent field.

Will certainly be returning! Our dog Jess loved it! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antsdad 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a weekend visit to Ad Astra we found the site to be friendly and not too big, perfect for a quiet relaxing stay.

The layout of the field is ideal for keeping an eye on the kids, giving them lots of space to play without disturbing other site users.

The toilet and shower block is situated approx 100m from where we were camped. These facilities were spotlessly clean and well maintained and we didn't have to queue for the shower.

The site doesn't have a shop but is close to Benellech 5 min drive or Llangeffni, 10 mins, which has a large Asda and other shops.

We would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Connolly1 10 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 4 nights at this site, may 28th till 31st,what can I say, absolutely great site. Camping field is one big field with hookups all around the outside, hedges all around the field. Plenty of open space in the middle of the field. Most of the pitches are level and very spacious. Toilet blocks are very modern and very clean, also washup area too. There is a washer and dryer along with iron etc available to use inside the washup section. Owners very friendly and helpful, site is well maintained by them. Site was full most of the time but not really any problems using showers etc

5 miles down the road is Asda, Aldi, Home Bargins etc in Llangefni, and site is 2 miles from Benllech. Chippy next to petrol station is well recommended, massive queue so that tells you something. Local spar and co -op in Benllech, and the beach is great too. The only thing I can fault this site on is there is no dog walking area as such, but still found somewhere to take the dog. All in all would we go back - we sure would (but don't tell everyone you know about this site lol) 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dicko4 11 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site this is. Couldn't ask for more out of a camping trip. The owners are extremely friendly,

The site is immaculate and the facilities are the cleanest we have ever had the pleasure to use. We have been to some very nice sites but Ad Astra has got to be the top of the list!

The showers are free and there is also a free hairdryer in the ladies toilets. There are 2 sinks for washing the dishes and a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and ironing board if you need them.

As the weather was sunny and warm, we used the freezer in the reception area to keep re-freezing our ice blocks.

The camping field is quite large and although the site has set pitches, we were given the choice of where we wanted to camp. Our friends camped on the pitch next to us and we both had ample room as the pitches are larger than average.

It wasn't busy during our 4 night stay but even when the site is full the owner doesn't allow anyone to camp in the centre of the field as this area is for the children to play.

The site is well placed and made a great base for us as we visited different parts of the island.

In the words of the children (2 x 15yr olds & 2 x 10 yr olds)'It was the best camping trip ever!' We will definitely go back again. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ad Astra Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ad Astra Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ad Astra Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Benllech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1446 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement