Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ad Astra Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Benllech > Ad Astra Caravan Park Reviews

Ad Astra Caravan Park
Llangefni Road
Brynteg
Benllech
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL78 7JH
Tel: 01248 853283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jackienandyc 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here, although the weather was not great it did not detract from what is a fine, quiet, family site. The reception we received on arrival was excellent and they were only too pleased to assist in any way they could.

The toilet facilities we found to be fine and were cleaned regularly.

This site offers a simple relaxed break, and you can keep an eye on the children (as they all play in the centre of the field)from your tent with wine in hand!

We would definitely recommend this to other families with children up to early teens.

(Jackie says 'the Anglesy Chocolate Shop is a must for mums when visiting the island!) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mo.ross 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a lovely 3 night stay at Ad Astra. Very lucky with the weather only rained on Sunday as we were ready to leave. The site is spot on, very well kept. Clean toilets and showers lots of hot water. The push button showers might annoy some people but we weren't botherd. The owners were really nice friendly and helpful people, as was Trevor who was in the caravan behind us. Lovely people.

If your looking for a base to travel the site is great. If your the kind of people who come away and don't move, just want to relax its fine for that too. If you want lively, noisy with entertainment don't come its not for you, but just right for us. There is a pub down the lane 10 to 15 min walk. We never bothered after a day sight seeing, beach combing and crabing we just wanted something to eat a hot shower and chill out with a bottle of wine.

Asda not far away turn right at the gate about ten minutes, also a market on saturdays. Went to Rhosneiger had a fab day came back with a load of fresh mackrel for just a donation to the R.N.L.I. Just had them for tea tonight, excellent. I would certainly recomend this camp site for being exactly what it is, FRIENDLY, CLEAN AND TIDY, and DECENT PEOPLE. (No rowdy trouble makers, just nice family types there for a break) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill and sid 18 reviews from this member

 First impressions were that Ad Astra was a little too pristine for our taste. Nevertheless, it offers a friendly welcome and the atmosphere is relaxed and quiet. The is plenty of space for kids to play safely. Ad Astra ticks all the boxes as a well managed site; toilets are clean, plenty of hot water and no queues for showers, level pitches etc.

Although Ad Astra is well situated for seeing the island, it is a little too far out to see much of note by foot and you couldn't really walk into Benlech due to the distance and busy road. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The mitchells 10 reviews from this member

 Had a week of wonderful weather at the end of July, Me the wife and Three kids (4.6 and 12). As previously mentioned facilities are always clean if a little dated, nice quite location, directions on the website are spot on if like me you still don't have a Sat Nav.
Washing up facilities were inside the launderette, ideal if wet weather. Having read the previous comments and being rather sad and time on my hands,the toilets were 300 yards from the furthest tent pitch. Kids had all the field to play in, which they did. Group rounders at night etc.
Recommend crabbing at Beaumaris Pier and and a good alternative beach is Newborough, it costs 3 to get into the forest drive, but parking is free and the dunes are wonderful looking out to Snowdonia, take drinks and food though if going for the day as there is nowhere to buy things once your in.
If I was to be picky the showers are free but the push button can get annoying you need to keep pushing it in. Overall I would give it a 9.5 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs does camping 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two nights at this site and we were very pleased with everything.

The tent field is fairly flat with all of the tents on well marked pitches around the perimeter of the field. The water is in the middle. There was plenty of room for kids to play around.

The owners are very friendly and helpful as were people on the site - didn't meet anyone rude at all and there was no noise late in the evening.

Toilets and showers (which are free) were spotless and seemed to be cleaned regularly.

Highly recommended site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josie66 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, clean and very peaceful with good size pitches. Pleasant owner made sure everything was ok, toilet facilities always clean and tidy.
Nice beach in benllech, supermarket 10 mins drive away.
Stayed for 4 nights through wind and rain but still enjoyed it . 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnreynolds 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this site, satyed 3 nights in total and didn't want to leave even though there were really strong winds.

We stayed on the immediate field as you drive into the site on your right. This is the only field for tents and all pitches are on the perimeter of the field.

Water provision etc is based in the middle of the field but as other reveiws state it is a bit of a trek to the toilets but we didn't mind this at all.

The toilets are very clean although a little dated but better than having new facilites which are constantly dirty which I have seen on other sites!

We walked to the pub down the road (approx 10 min walk)and the children were really looking forward to walking back with the headlamps on but it was too light!. Instead we walked across fields , saw lots of rabbits and was really good fun.

Loads of places to visit nearby and all worth a visit. Will definitely be returning at some point in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janbo25 17 reviews from this member

 Booked this site for over the Bank Holiday weekend and was overall very impressed. First off we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful owners who couldn't do enough to help you.

Because we arrived there early in the afternoon we had the pick of our pitches and decided to choose the corner pitches and we also got a wooden picnic bench as well, which was a nice little extra. The pitch sizes were a very good size, they not cram you in at all, apparently they have 24 pitches for tents but only ever book for 20 all with electric so you would never feel hemmed in. What we also liked about the pitches is that they are all perimeter pitches so the children have the whole of the centre field to play without you having to worry etc, we even managed to get a game of rounders going.

The toilets were quite a trek although during the day that wasn't a problem, they was although fairly basic but most importantly to us was they were clean and everytime you went in they smelt clean to.

The location of the site is good to within walking distance of a pub serving food and also just a short way from the centre of Benllech and plenty of things there including a nice beach. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Delboy5465 20 reviews from this member

 Just managed one night on the camping field ,had to abandon holiday due to high winds. The camping field was out in the open so no shelter from the constant wind and fear of our camper being wrecked. The site was easy to find following the sat nav. Toilets were adequate but were a bit of a trek especially in the middle of the night. It seems strange that most site owners tend to put tents etc furthest away from these facilities and people with caravans who already have toilets inside their units closest . Cost was 16 per night. We had a lot of trouble trying to get a refund from the lady in reception who kept stating that it said in leaflets no refunds etc etc but we pointed out we had never been sent any literature and she was adamant that we would only receive a credit note. Luckily another camper came into reception and she quickly gave us the remaining money. This site would be ok in Summer and ideally suited to children who are younger than 10 years 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tents-toocold 1 review from this member

 Extremely well-maintained, small site, secluded, down a 300m drive from the road between Benllech and Llangefni. Tourers visit the centre of the site, which has residential vans around three sides, and long-term tourers on the fourth side. The proprietrix was friendly and helpful, and the resident 'staff' maintained the ablutions facilities perfectly. No dog-walking field as such, but the drive verges suit, as long as you collect the dump immediately. There is a large triangular camping field alongside the drive, and this has mains sockets all round the perimeter. A little traffic noise from the road, but not intrusive. Anglesey is a nice place to visit, with lots to explore, good beach and cliff walks, not too big to get around, and all the facilities you'd want. There's a selection of small shops in Benllech, but a large ASDA and COOP in Llangefni, just 10 minutes drive from the site. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ad Astra Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ad Astra Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ad Astra Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Benllech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1442 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement