Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park Reviews

Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Mount Melville
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8PQ
Tel: 01334 475959
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 57
Open: 15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           15/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GMD01 6 reviews from this member

 Pitches are a good size, however I agree with other comments on the distance to the water and drain points. I couldn't stretch to either, but was able to relocate to another pitch which was fine.

Went to the restaurant for an evening meal which was lovely. Sad to say that for a Saturday night in August the restaurant was very quiet. Hopefully they will get more trade or it could end up not being viable.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We asked to stay on later before we headed back home. There is a charge of 2. 50 to do this which I don't object to paying, but I don't understand the need for it.

Our grandsons were with us on this visit, so Craigtoun Country park was well worth a visit, as was the play park on site.

We will be back probably on our own to have an adult weekend visiting the sights of St Andrews. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emmomcm 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic stay at this beautiful site. We stayed with kids 6 and 3 years. They loved the little play parks in the touring area and could play here safely. Roads were flat and great for skating, cycling, scooting etc. Drivers were generally slow but some people driving through the touring area from the chalets drove too fast in my opinion.

Pitches were fab. We had a standard pitch with loafs of space. Unfortunately the grey water point in our fully serviced pitch was too far away for our pipe to reach. Must buy a longer one! Loads of space between caravans. Lovely and quiet.

Toilet block was great but needed a better hand drier. Large play park was a bit of a trek away. Why don't the owners open the gate at the end of the chalets so that we could walk through via the shortest route? Don't they want us disturbing the chalet guests? They are happy for chalet guests to drive through the touring area! But kids loved the big play park too, loads to keep them amused.

Signs said no dogs allowed on the park but this didn't seem to be enforced. Someone walked their dogs past our caravan as soon as we arrived and their dog proceeded to relieve itself next to our jockey wheel. The owner picked it up but I found this totally unacceptable given the rules. Others had left their dogs at home. These dogs were frequently walked through the tourer area everyday, even over the kids play area. Are chalet/ static owners allowed to bring dogs?

We used the restaurant on site for a delicious and reasonable breakfast. We had great weather so didn't need to use the games room but it would be handy on a rainy day. The site was well protected with trees and not too windy. Overall the park is wonderful, near to all the fun of St. Andrews, close to supermarket and Craigtoun Country Park was totally wonderful for a sunny day our with little ones, train, tractor rides, bouncy castles, trampolines, playpark, easter egg hunt, flying fox slide, bikes and trikes etc.

I would thoroughly recommend Craigtoun Meadows and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 192 reviews from this member

 Were here 14 years ago, when we were last between dogs - the only pets on site are with owners of the many statics and lodges.

Site took tents then, pity that stopped (just one or two allowed, according to the leaflet). A high standard site, this is reflected in the relatively high price (25 to 29 pn).

Clean toilets, unisex showers and baths, well-tended grounds, popular noisy play areas, a restaurant, widely spaced big hardstands each with water tap and drain, MH service bay with a water pipe used by parents to hose down children's bikes.

It seems to be a good site for families (Craigtoun Country Park next door has lots for children too). Plenty to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jo+h 8 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to Craigton Meadows, we always enjoy our stay the staff are very friendly and helpful. We can thoroughly recommend a visit to the on site restaurant, we have had evening meals and breakfast at the weekend both were excellent. The lemon and lime cheese cake was amazing.

The toilet block was very clean and although the site was full we never had to queue for a shower. The play facilities were very good and the over all feel of the site is relaxed and informal, which is enhanced by the lovely landscaping. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baldrick 4 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic time at this well kept site.

Took a Patio pitch which had a small shed and patio area with table and chairs which was great as we stored bikes etc in shed and it kept awning tidy. Next to toilet/showers which were the best we have come across. Two baths if need be, and excellent spacious showers. Toilets and showers kept very clean.

Kids enjoyed the numerous play park options all within walking distance. St Andrews 5 mins away and Morrissons supermarket 10 mins. Craigtoun Meadow country park is a 4 min drive and well worth a visit.

On site is a small restaurant which we didn't try, games room which was handy and a table tennis option which we used a lot!

Overall a fantastic site, great for families and loads to do nearby. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hartcaravan 4 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from craigtoun meadows site near st andrews. Was here for 4 days. Nice big pitches. Clean toilet block.

Great park for kids and fine and quiet even though it was bank holiday weekend.

Staff friendly and did all they can to help you. Will definitely come back and a bonus its only 40 minutes from home, fantastic.

Easy access to st andrews and all local facilities.

Craigtoun park next door to site for walks and letting kids run about 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheeprider79 14 reviews from this member

 I pitched up here for 3 nights, the site is kept very neat and tidy and it's very quiet.

The is a few small play parks around which keeps the kids entertained but most important for the rainy days there is an indoor games room with air hockey, pool table and some amusement machines.

Showers blocks are fine, pitches are a good size although it can be a tight squeeze to reverse into your pitch if someone is opposite you.

On another note I had to pay when you book, you can't pay on arrival.

All in all I would go back as it is a very good site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deejayburnout 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed her with the wife and kids for 3 night and we had a brilliant time.

The facilities are brilliant, nice and clean and well maintained. Big enough to handle a busy site. Has baby changing area and baths and plenty showers. Building is central heated as well.

The staff we friendly and helpful and always had a smile.

Camping area was pretty flat and not lumpy. There were no stones but areas were a bit waterlogged after some heavy rain. Camping are was actually the grass next to a a pitch for trailers so elec. Hookup available and water at every pitch

Close to St Andrews so shops and food are close by.

Unfortunately no shop on site but does have a restaurant at at night.

Good for the kids as has a baby changing area and playpark.

Overall a good stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nbutlin 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site. Large pitches for caravan, awning and car. Hardstanding but able to use plastic pegs on awning. With own water tap and hook up. Nice walks in the park. Lovely play areas for children in various areas Toilet block kept very clean. With showers baths and baby changing facilities.

Bin area and chemical waste area kept spotless.

Also do patio pitches which have a small patio and shed. Ideal if you have bikes etc.

Would have like to have a wee shop to be able to buy rolls ect but Morrisons only 5 min drive away.

Would definitely recommend and would go back. Staff very friendly, peaceful area though 5mins from St Andrews town itself. With lovely beach and rock pools for the kids to rummage in.  


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LinGeo 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from the Easter weekend staying at this site. Pitch size was huge so plenty of space for our car and awning.

Really nice facilities for children with nice walks around the campsite. Play area near the caravans for younger children and another large play area on site for all ages.

Toilets and showers very clean and we never had to queue in the morning for a shower, despite the site being full.

Only criticism would be that the on site restaurant does not offer take away food and it would be nice if they could perhaps offer a couple of dishes on a take-away basis.

Other than that, great site and would highly recommend. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement