Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park Reviews

Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Mount Melville
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8PQ
Tel: 01334 475959
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 57
Open: 15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rhsc01 7 reviews from this member

 What a great site. This is the best I have been to yet. But I guess that depends on wether or not you have kids.

There are 2 small play parks which have the usuall swings and round abouts and only minutes away there is a big park with zip lines, climbing frames, basketball hoop, football pitch, tennis court, golf practis net and so much more. My kids had so much fun.

The site was clean and the people nice and friendly. I had a problem with the pitch which was sorted striaght away.

I will definitely be returning to this site again and use it as my weekend retreat with the family as it is only just over an hour away.

The one thing that would make this site 100% perfect is if it was within walking distance of a beach.

And there's always a but. It is probably just because of the time of year but the farmers in the fields near by must have those devises that sound like shot guns to scare the crows away, because they start at around 07:00 in the morning and continue throughout the day. (not too loud, just enough to wake me up) 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: THERESA KERR 10 reviews from this member

 When booking we mentioned that we have a motorhome and tow a small car on trailer. They accommodated us with a very long gravelled patio pitch and there was loads of room. The 'patio pitch' includes a small wooden hut containing a patio table / chairs & also includes electricity. There is also electricity hook up & water tap.

There are small grass areas between each pitch and when we were there, small cherry blossom trees in full bloom and daffodils everywhere. It really did look very nice and is well kept.

The toilet block is in the centre of the tourers area and contains an abundance of showers, 2 baths, several toilets,some of which contain sinks and mirrors. The facilities were cleaned to a high standard. As well as the reception area there is a small shop (order your daily paper) and a restaurant serving breakfast,lunch & evening meals. We had breakfast there one morning and for £4.50 it was good value. Large fried breakfast and pot of tea / coffee.

The site is about a five minute drive from the centre of St.Andrews however if you want to take the bus there is a bus stop right outside the site entrance. St.Andrews is a great place for shopping and there are also numerous other things to see and do.

Also, should mention this site is very child friendly. Two play areas in the centre of the tourers site so parents can keep an eye on them. However no dogs allowed on the site.

We will definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C5boy95 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and have to say it was excellent. The toilet facilities were clean and well maintained and the showers were very good. The site has a games room which is also very good and has two pool tables when we were here the site was full but it didn't feel like it as the pitches are nicely spaced out and not too close the patio pitches are very good.
The only thing I would say would be that 11 oclock is quite early to be off and perhaps this could be extended by an hour to give more time to relax. All in all a very good site and we will be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RosanRay 9 reviews from this member

 Great site. Well-run, with excellent facilities. (Particularly liked the availability of a bath.) We were greeted warmly at Reception, booked in speedily and efficiently, and given all the information we needed.
The pitches are spacious (and we didn't have a 'patio' pitch), with really pleasant outlook in every direction. Very convenient for St Andrews, which is a 'must visit'. We would certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grumpyman 27 reviews from this member

 I booked this site back in February to provide a base to visit St Andrews and we stayed for 3 nights. The site is of a a very high standard with immaculate toilet and showers facilities. The touring area is well designed with immaculate grounds. When we were there there were only four or five other campers.

There are 3 grades of pitches small, large and large with a storage shed provided.I booked a large but feel I was conned into a small pitch as my Van just fitted onto the gravel. I was also informed on booking that there was a cycle track to St Andrews some 1.5 miles away. On arrival no cycle track and St Andrews more like 3 miles away. There is a bus service opposite the main gates but check the times they are most infrequent, we having to wait 2 hours to get one back.

We overcame our problems by taking our Motorhome into St Andrews each morning where there are loads of parking places right next to the golf and beach, what a wonderful place and well worth a visit. There is also a Morrissons some 1.5 miles from the site.

Apart from the pitch you should know the showers are available to both sexes and for some strange reason the cleaners (all males) clean at 0830?. The Restaurant on site advertises breakfast but had a sign in the window open at 4.30pm?. Obviously the owners have never owned a Motorhome as the waste water point requires a reverse into the area avoiding the overhanging tree. Anyway would visit again but be prepared to travel off site and watch those showers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Panther-lynne 7 reviews from this member

 Overnight break at this campsite. Showers very clean, small but fine play area, good little games room which suited the kids. Visited St Andrews aquarium and Craigtoun park - both good days out. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Halfpint78 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site! Very clean, well maintained, helpful staff and onsite restaurant. The play park is right next to camping area which is very handy. My 4 year old son made friends before the tent was pitched and we had a great stay.

Would highly recommend the Criagtoun Country Park just along the road. We spent nearly the whole day there and thoroughly enjoyed it. The beach is lovely and the aquarium is brilliant for rainy days.

Will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jpairdrie 2 reviews from this member

 As this was our first time away in our newly purchased caravan (myself my wife and our 2 year old son), we were a bit nervous, we had tried to book other sites in the area but they were full. Craigtoun Meadows was perfect for our needs, the shower / toilet block was spotless and the fact we could bath our son was a real bonus, the pitches are well spaced and the place is very well looked after.

We will definitely go back as the facilities and the amenities for our son were great, swing park, death slide and games room . the site is within a 2 mins drive of the centre of St Andrews and the historic and awsome Old Course and helped make our first adventure in caravaning a highly pleasurable and memorable one for all the right reasons.
We took time to visit other sites in the area and they were not a patch on this one, so we were glad they were full and thankful we managed to get into Craigtoun. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gailio 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent, superb, fantastic - what more can I say! Toilets, showers, bath - all immaculate - really enjoyed having a bath for a change. Well laid out, privacy maintained. Staff helpful and nice restaurant on site. Will visit again. St Andrews itself is a beautiful town - historic and peaceful. Aquarium worth a visit - See the seals Laurel and Hardy.
 


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pudsey37 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely†campsite read all the reviews and every one is spot on!

Clean Spotless toilets and shower Blocks

Grounds are well maintained and every one is very help full.

Not more I can add great for the kids and a pleasure to go there will be going there again!

† 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4602 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement