Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park Reviews

Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Mount Melville
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8PQ
Tel: 01334 475959
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 57
Open: 15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LunaarX 2 reviews from this member

 Good Points: It was a really good holiday park, the toilets were never closed and were always clean. The showers are mixed and also always open and clean(and pretty big!) and they also have two full sized baths, which again were always open and always very clean!

There is a small children's playground next to the toilet block and a much bigger one about a minute or so away (still part of the campsite) with swings, a see-saw, slides, football goals, basketball net, putting practice, a flying fox and much more.

It is just a short drive (or walk or cycle) to Craigtoun Country Park where there is lots to do and a great day out.

They have 2 game rooms, the first one has two pool tables, a dance machine, air hockey, a game called aliens, a claw machine and some other things and has a change machine for 1 and 2 coins. The second one is smaller and has a claw machine, a football game, one of the football thingys where you move the players and some other things.

There is a table tennis/ping pong table outside(but in good condition) and is only 50p an hour and the ball and racket things are provided.

There are a lot of other good things but then I would have to many things!

Bad points:

Nothing really! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site. All the pitches are hard standing with lots of grassy space in between. You will need a large pitch if you have an awning and the patio pitches looked great.

Each pitch had its own water tap and waste water drain beside your electric hook up. The site was fully booked when we were there but did not feel crowded.

There were a couple of small play areas but within a 2 min walk (within the grounds)there was a large park with a flying fox, football goals, play equipment, tennis nets and putting area, a fantastic area for kids too let off steam without annoying the neighbours!

The toilet and shower facilities were never closed and always spotless. There were also a couple of bathrooms. Again although site was busy facilities were never busy.

We ate at the on site restaurant which only opens for a couple of hours in the evening, food was good, reasonably priced and service was friendly.

There is no bus service now but we used our bikes to cycle to St Andrews and Craigtoun Park.

After using the main road for two days we found a woodland walk (Boase Woods) on the last night as a nicer way of travelling into town (35 min walk or 10 min cycle).

We enjoyed cycling around the golf course and Craigtoun Park is worth a visit.

St Andrews is a lovely place to explore.

I agree as mentioned we did miss a small shop on site but would not let that put me off.

Will definitely return and will recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kekaitch 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip of the year and found it an excellent little site. Lots of room between the pitches and large grass area in the middle for children to play.

Shower block large and clean with baths available, which my 9 year old son loved. Small games room which was popular at night when a little cooler. Close to St Andrews and the beach.

Only down point was the lack of a little shop to get milk etc. Would certainly go back to the site for a short break again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimmn 13 reviews from this member

 Beautifully kept campsite.

We had a fully serviced patio pitch which consisted of red chipped bays on a grassy surround and came with a small hut at the rear containing a table and four chairs as well as a 13A socket inside and a small paved area outside.

Recycling facilities for glass, paper and plastics are located at the front entrance to the site.

Toilet facilities were modern and clean. Cubicles contained wc, washbasin, mirror and shaver point as well as ample coathooks and even a shelf!

Very handy for St Andrews and next door to Craigtoun Park.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellay 3 reviews from this member

 2 adults 3 children

Just returned from a weekend in Craigtoun Meadows caravan park. It is a great site with good sized pitches, we had a patio pitch that had a lockable hut included which was great for storage.

The facilities for kids were good, a few little play areas dotted around the middle of the touring area and a very large play area within a couple of minutes walk. The games room was popular with older children.

There isn't a shop which is disappointing, it's always handy to have a wee shop for the milk and rolls in the morning. There is a cafe/ restaurant but we didn't try that so can't comment on the quality of that.

The toilets block was large and very clean, however there was a nasty smell in there at all times, more so in the showers area than in the toilets, the drains must be a problem. There were two full sized baths which were great for washing the kids, easier than using the showers.

St Andrews is close by and has plenty to do for families and Craigtoun park is next to the site. It is also well placed for exploring the lovely villages of the East Neuk of Fife. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Bairn 4 reviews from this member

 First time visitors here and enjoyed its location to St.Andrews. We booked the super pitch with patio set, shed and small patio area but unfortunately never got the weather to use it.
Bus stop outside site and takes you to bus station in 10 minutes costs 1.90 each. We were in a party of 4 adults so it worked out cheaper getting a taxi cost max 6 including tip.
The amenities on site were very good everything clean and well kept. The pitches all hard standing were smaller in comparison to say caravan club pitches with a twin axle van swallowing most of the pitch your car would be parked on grass.
But overall a good site in a lovely area of Scotland, would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garbitash 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a long weekend.

Good points:

The toilet/shower facilities are very good and clean. They even have a bath.

The touring pitches are gravel and well enough spaced out for some privacy.

There is a shop and cafe/restaurant. Both open sporadically, but you are not really relying on these, are you?

There are good play areas for kids. Not an issue for us.

Bad points:

The standard pitch is only the width of your caravan. The approach to your caravan door may be a patch of mud at best, or a complete bog at worst. The whole site does not drain very well. We asked to move, but found other standard pitches were just as bad.

Whilst only a few hundred metres from the outskirts of St Andrews, it is 2-3 mile hike to the centre where the shops, cathedral, beach, golf, etc is. There is a bus every hour or so, but it would be stiff walk there and back if you only had a motorhome, for instance.

Neither of these points the site can do much about though and it would not put me off going back to this site though. Its clean, tidy, well run, not overbearing and worth the money. I would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AR123 2 reviews from this member

 Having stayed at this park twice this year we will certainly be back. 2 smaller play park on site and within a 5 minute walk a fantastic park with lots of swings, flying fox and climbing frames.

Lots of kids on this park which is great for us having 2 kids.

Toilet blocks are clean, however most of this park is grass therefore when its wet all the grass is trailed into the toilet block. Also there are 2 baths within the block.

Having a super pitch was great.

All in all a lovely site 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nadger63 1 review from this member

 Just thought we would let everyone know our delight at such a wonderful find. Site was absolutely smashing,super,great. Well kept grounds and spacious pitches made for a great stay.

Kids (2@13yrs) loved the play area,loads of toys inc Flying Fox zipwire, whilst we played tennis,almost, and ping pong, pool, etc. Helped with good weather but with so much to do in the area it wouldn't have mattered what the weather did.

Facilities plentiful and no long waits even though site was packed.

Only 2 slight negatives, 1 facilities block needs updating and less bleach.

2. Bar needs to be open for longer and lacks atmosphere.

If you stay here, Saint Andrews is only 5mins by car and steeped in history. You must visit Crail for the harbour and walks, and you must go to Tentsmuir reserve, approx 7miles but beautiful beaches, dunes, sea, forest, either take plenty to do or do nothing, with picnic/barbie cost 1 to park all day and you wont be disappointed.

We are returning next year to finish what we started. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 This was a sheltered, well kept, beautiful site. It was like a big garden. It is extremely family friendly with a park at each touring area, safe and enclosed. There is also a very large, well thought out park with `flying fox` and games area. Showers, washrooms and baths all very clean. Craigtoun park nearby had boats and a small train but we worry that it is going down-hill a bit. It is now council run and wasn't a particularly friendly place. (staff) The aquarium in St Andrews was excellent with a soft play and activity room which really gave our kids a little break. St Andrews has great cafes and bars and shops and more. A really nice place. The castle was worth a visit too. Steep drops to the sea and underground passages. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement