Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park Reviews

Craigtoun Meadows Holiday Park
Mount Melville
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 8PQ
Tel: 01334 475959
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 57
Open: 15/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 34 reviews from this member

We were on an allocated patio pitch and the small shed was very useful. Unfortunately quite shady pitch so lost the sun at about 4pm-pitch 52- if we go again would definitely request a pitch that gets the evening sun.

Too far to walk into st andrews for us so got the bus- hourly at 57 mins past the hour-kept to time and picked up from madras college in the town at 12 mins past.

Tourist Information very good. Advised on best route to Edinburgh-drive to Leuchars station and get train.

Caravan Park very green-gravel pitches fully serviced-different sizes-immaculate grounds-2 small play parks in touring areas but huge one with a zip line marked on map in one of the static areas.

Showers variable-some clean, some not depending on last person in! Some people just haven't got the hang of using a squeegee!. BUT n some of them, water from the next shower comes in under the wall dividers, trial and error, eventually discovered one that was Ok. One of my pet hates. Would have no hesitation using this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Irvine45 68 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a long weekend.

I would agree that the pitches are well spaced out but most are on a slight incline. Unfortunately my motor mover doesn't do hills so a lot of pushing required, as the pitch was tight, so unable to use the car to do the pushing!

The staff don't help.

The showers were very spacious and generally clean but in the toilets grass was everywhere. Once the cleaners had been the floors were left wet (slip hazard, I thought)

It is a good 2 mile walk into St Andrews downhill.

All in all would I recommend this site - Hmm! It was OK and 4nites for the price of 3. Is worthy of another look.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jingleman 3 reviews from this member

Love this site, has an excellent touring area and the most brilliant toilet block ever!

We had a patio pitch which means you get a great wee wooden hut with patio furniture - best idea ever.

Lovely staff, great location, great value. We will be be back again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 29 reviews from this member

We have just had three lovely nights here. The camp is well laid out and the washrooms are kept spotless.

There is a clubhouse with food served daily on site also.

We walked into st Andrews or you can catch a bus outside the gates.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs mcd 1 review from this member

Stayed here several times in campervan. A really good site which sits next to Craigtoun Park where you could spend a full day - weather permitting with plenty to occupy families.

Also a park within walking distance of site with enough to entertain youngsters. The site itself is very well maintained.

The toilets are kept spotless and not only showers available but baths as well. Not far from St Andrews which is a busy town with great shops, swimming pool, cinema etc and of course golf courses.

Only downside on site is the restaurant (wouldn't recommend) which is franchised - all frozen food and a bit of a hit and a miss as to what is actually available from menu but the town itself has a fantastic range of eating places catering for all tastes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMD01 6 reviews from this member

Pitches are a good size, however I agree with other comments on the distance to the water and drain points. I couldn't stretch to either, but was able to relocate to another pitch which was fine.

Went to the restaurant for an evening meal which was lovely. Sad to say that for a Saturday night in August the restaurant was very quiet. Hopefully they will get more trade or it could end up not being viable.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We asked to stay on later before we headed back home. There is a charge of 2. 50 to do this which I don't object to paying, but I don't understand the need for it.

Our grandsons were with us on this visit, so Craigtoun Country park was well worth a visit, as was the play park on site.

We will be back probably on our own to have an adult weekend visiting the sights of St Andrews.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emmomcm 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic stay at this beautiful site. We stayed with kids 6 and 3 years. They loved the little play parks in the touring area and could play here safely. Roads were flat and great for skating, cycling, scooting etc. Drivers were generally slow but some people driving through the touring area from the chalets drove too fast in my opinion.

Pitches were fab. We had a standard pitch with loafs of space. Unfortunately the grey water point in our fully serviced pitch was too far away for our pipe to reach. Must buy a longer one! Loads of space between caravans. Lovely and quiet.

Toilet block was great but needed a better hand drier. Large play park was a bit of a trek away. Why don't the owners open the gate at the end of the chalets so that we could walk through via the shortest route? Don't they want us disturbing the chalet guests? They are happy for chalet guests to drive through the touring area! But kids loved the big play park too, loads to keep them amused.

Signs said no dogs allowed on the park but this didn't seem to be enforced. Someone walked their dogs past our caravan as soon as we arrived and their dog proceeded to relieve itself next to our jockey wheel. The owner picked it up but I found this totally unacceptable given the rules. Others had left their dogs at home. These dogs were frequently walked through the tourer area everyday, even over the kids play area. Are chalet/ static owners allowed to bring dogs?

We used the restaurant on site for a delicious and reasonable breakfast. We had great weather so didn't need to use the games room but it would be handy on a rainy day. The site was well protected with trees and not too windy. Overall the park is wonderful, near to all the fun of St. Andrews, close to supermarket and Craigtoun Country Park was totally wonderful for a sunny day our with little ones, train, tractor rides, bouncy castles, trampolines, playpark, easter egg hunt, flying fox slide, bikes and trikes etc.

I would thoroughly recommend Craigtoun Meadows and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 181 reviews from this member

Were here 14 years ago, when we were last between dogs - the only pets on site are with owners of the many statics and lodges.

Site took tents then, pity that stopped (just one or two allowed, according to the leaflet). A high standard site, this is reflected in the relatively high price (25 to 29 pn).

Clean toilets, unisex showers and baths, well-tended grounds, popular noisy play areas, a restaurant, widely spaced big hardstands each with water tap and drain, MH service bay with a water pipe used by parents to hose down children's bikes.

It seems to be a good site for families (Craigtoun Country Park next door has lots for children too). Plenty to do in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jo+h 8 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Craigton Meadows, we always enjoy our stay the staff are very friendly and helpful. We can thoroughly recommend a visit to the on site restaurant, we have had evening meals and breakfast at the weekend both were excellent. The lemon and lime cheese cake was amazing.

The toilet block was very clean and although the site was full we never had to queue for a shower. The play facilities were very good and the over all feel of the site is relaxed and informal, which is enhanced by the lovely landscaping.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick 4 reviews from this member

We had a fantastic time at this well kept site.

Took a Patio pitch which had a small shed and patio area with table and chairs which was great as we stored bikes etc in shed and it kept awning tidy. Next to toilet/showers which were the best we have come across. Two baths if need be, and excellent spacious showers. Toilets and showers kept very clean.

Kids enjoyed the numerous play park options all within walking distance. St Andrews 5 mins away and Morrissons supermarket 10 mins. Craigtoun Meadow country park is a 4 min drive and well worth a visit.

On site is a small restaurant which we didn't try, games room which was handy and a table tennis option which we used a lot!

Overall a fantastic site, great for families and loads to do nearby.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019