Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park
Blackford
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4EA
Tel: 01228 674611
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

 Another wonderful site. We were in the tent field - which was flat with a few picnic benches. It is so refreshing to have a toilet block in the same field. Toilets and showers were beautifully clean, plenty of hot water available.

The site is surrounded by trees so sheltered and plenty of birds to watch whilst cooking up a breakfast. The only negative is that there is a busy road nearby so traffic noise could be an issue however it did not bother us! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 An absolute little gem. Great location just off the motorway and only a few miles from Carlisle. Stayed here before and loved it, on this occasion there were around a dozen units on site and therefore nice and quiet. The facilities were always lovely and clean although maybe a little mature, just like me. There are two small toilet/washing up blocks, a couple of showers, recycling and electric hook-ups. Both the caravanning and camping sites are kept immaculately tidy. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. All in all a great little site, will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentadventurer 4 reviews from this member

 Small but perfectly formed. Great location, easy access to nearby Gretna and Carlisle. There is an A-road nearby but you only notice the biggest lorries. And the sheep make up for that! The tent field has sheep one side, cows the second and a horse on the third. As others have said there are only a couple of sinks/showers so can imagine there being a wait when full but we didn't have a problem. The showers are excellent lots of hot water and no timer! Children are allowed but no ball games /bikes /shouting etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 37 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights to break our journey returning from the Isle of Mull.

Great little site and a warm welcome on arrival - we were quickly shown onto a (grass) pitch although there is a section of gravelled hardstandings for motorhomes and caravans that presumably want it. EHU was 16 amp and we paid 18 a night. As other reviewers have said the grass is like a lawn in that it's immaculately kept, as are the grounds.

I think there was a Ladies and Men's toilet in the separate tent area and there is a main washblock in the caravan/motorhome area. The washblock was very clean with 5 toilets and 2 showers (free) in the Ladies. Showers had adjustable temperature and no push button! There was also a 'proper' hairdryer which was free to use although I didn't use it.

We fitted in a trip to Birdoswald/Hadrian's Wall on the 2nd day which was about a 30 min drive from the site.

Access to the site is easy - about 1. 5 miles off the M6 at J44.

The site is a credit to its owners and we would have no hesitation in staying again when visiting Mull/Scotland.

P. S. I've not marked on Child Friendliness as we don't have them! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Danield 4 reviews from this member

 Good tidy little site and very handy stop over site right off motorway. Just stopped overnight on way to Manchester. Nice welcome by the owner very friendly & pointed out amenities. Small basic clean campsite. Think would be long wait for showers if site were full. Cheap & good value for money would use again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philjudy168 2 reviews from this member

 Well we have used this web site lots over the past few years and find the reviews helpful. Finally now registered to upload reviews to help others. Our stay at Dandy Dinmont was very enjoyable, nice clean well kept site, shower / toilet block very clean with lots of free hot water, owners very friendly, we have three dogs and went on some excellent walks with them, walking the dogs whilst on site meant taking them on the country road outside, we walked at about 19:30 for about 1 mile then turned around and came home and didn't see a car in all that time. The wifi was free so I am sat here writing this review enjoying our last night on the site, we always try to stay at different sites as a rule but would come back to this site if not. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scutts 1 review from this member

 A lovely campsite and the owners were very friendly. The ground is superbly maintained. The toilets and the shower block were spotlessly clean and free to use, the pot washing station had ample hot water and space. Brilliant recycling facilities, and rubbish area. The shops and pub were a little further than we thought, and there were some noise from a nearby main road, but this didn't spoil our stay, and we will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JTLM 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night on my cycling club's annual tour. The site and facilities were immaculate and the only drawback for us was the lack of a pub nearby - after 60+ miles carrying camping kit we were ready for a pint.

The showers hot and powerful and roomy enough not to get everything wet. The mini launderette was a bonus and enabled me to tumble dry some washing. The portacabin loos and washing-up facilities for the small camping area were also very good.

The site itself was nice and quiet but there is some road noise from the nearby A7.

Will definitely consider staying here again if I'm in the area either with a tent or with the caravan. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Msf1970 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night en route to Scotland. It is a nice site with good clean facilities, a friendly welcome and a choice of grass or hard standing pitches with EHU.

Plenty of hot water, laundry facilities etc.

The location is great too just a couple of miles off the M6 north of Carlisle.

This site is really only for adults, there are no children's facilities on site.  


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike Morgan 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as a last minute decision to break up our journey from Scotland. What a great choice it was, delightful little site with spotlessly clean shower block. The owner are very helpful and very welcoming. Site is perfect for overnight stay just off motorway and a few miles from Carlisle we even managed to squeeze in a visit to Hadrians Wall. It is an adult orientated site but very accommodating as we have 2 young daughters, no problems providing they don't run around the site on bikes etc. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6227 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement