Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park
Blackford
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4EA
Tel: 01228 674611
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Efrog 4 reviews from this member

Clean & tidy site, setting was maybe not quite the rural idyll as described, we found it to be quite noisy late on with people playing football till late, ok for an overnight stop not sure we would go back

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mink 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site thanks Patrick for making us welcome. Showers and toilets clean with nice hot water big field for dog walks, No park but grass area for kids to play, small camp fires allowed if grass is looked after. And they have there own George Clooney look alike. (PATRICK) THANK YOU FOR THE beer we will be back soon Mc Bryde family.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whiskywhiskymac 10 reviews from this member

I camped here a number of years ago and it was delightful; now it appears to have changed hands and the focus is on parkhomes, campervans and caravans. It is not really a campsite any more.

The tent area is flat and the facilities are simple but clean, HOWEVER there are some caravans on this field with ‘semi-permanent’ residents (who look pretty permanent) who were very noisy at night. They really spoil the venue.

I am afraid I cannot recommend this site for camping, nor will I be returning.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 490 reviews from this member

We used the site as a base for the Carlisle fireshow.

It's well located on a regular bus route in and out of the city.

The site caters for a mixture of tourers and statics and facilities are very well maintained.

Useful site for Carlisle.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Potherb123 5 reviews from this member

Just spent 4 nights on this site on our return from scotland, what a friendly welcome we received. The site was lovely, well maintained, quiet, very spacious pitches for vans on hardstanding and grass. The shower/toilet block was super, even had a hairdryer for the ladies to use (free of charge) and as much hot water as you require, very useful to have a launderette too, saved on washing when I got home. Convenient location for Carlise and touring Hardians Wall, the Lakes etc. Bus into Carlisle every half hour from a few yards away. Would highly recommend, very close to the M6 motorway for convenience of travelling. Will definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kenhas505 1 review from this member

Had 3 nights there with grandchildren whilst they were doing a project on Hadrian wall. ,

Very clean and tidy site. Excellent showers and toilets, abundant supply of hot water. Bus stop just outside into Carlisle about every half hour. Patrick very friendly and helpful. , will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wull92 3 reviews from this member

Having just bought a new Pennine Pathfinder in Preston we stopped here for one night en route home. Patrick, AKA George Clooney! Who owns the site was a pleasure to meet. Charming, funny and down to earth. Nothing was any trouble for him and he regularly does the rounds of the site stopping for a chat with everyone. It's a nice touch and made us feel very welcome, so much so we stayed on for another two days. The site itself was very well maintained, toilets were immaculate as were all the other facilities. Only 5 minutes from ASDA and Aldi and just 5 miles to Gretna outlet or Carlisle. We will definitely be back for the odd visit. Well done Patrick.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rikkirobo 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a couple of nights at Dandy Dinmont, site is level, kept very clean and is easily reached from the main road the A7. - there is noise from the traffic, although that was not a problem for us. The site is close to a major supermarket and close to Carlisle, the castle is worth a visit if you haven't been.

We were on the 'tent field' which has electric hook-ups, a small toilet block, 2 toilet cubicles and two sinks in the ladies, and a covered outdoor dish-washing area. There are also picnic benches available for use on the field.

Children were able to play safely on the field, but taking a walk off site was a bit tricky due to the traffic and lack of pavements.

Marked 'site facilities' down as there was no hot water in the toilet block on either of the days we were on site, but might have been in the second block, on the caravan field.

Overall, I'm pleased we found the site, easily reached by the English and Scottish sides of the family and we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MrsBob 2 reviews from this member

I think this site may have changed hands since the last review in September 2015. Stopped here for the night on the way back from Scotland. Facilities were clean and tidy. Was surprised at cost though - I was asked to pay £25, even though their website showed (and still does at the time of writing this review) the cost of a pitch with hookup as £20. Too tired to argue, but I'll not use the site when we next head north. Shame as it was handy for M6.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

Another wonderful site. We were in the tent field - which was flat with a few picnic benches. It is so refreshing to have a toilet block in the same field. Toilets and showers were beautifully clean, plenty of hot water available.

The site is surrounded by trees so sheltered and plenty of birds to watch whilst cooking up a breakfast. The only negative is that there is a busy road nearby so traffic noise could be an issue however it did not bother us!

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


202 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!