Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park
Blackford
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4EA
Tel: 01228 674611
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbiedivacat 10 reviews from this member

 Just had another lovely week at Dandy Dinmont. We have stayed here several times before and were not disappointed again this time. The site is always immaculately cared for and I noted that the toilet/ shower block had been painted and given a bit of a facelift. The showers are free and lovely and clean and hot !

We always use the site as a base to visit places in the Lakes and enjoyed a day shopping in Carlisle this time. There are supermarkets only a few miles from the site which offer every thing you might need. We used Tripadvisor to find an Indian Restaurant and had a lovely meal at The Viceroy in Carlisle about 4 miles away.

We will be back again ! 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KathP29 22 reviews from this member

 We just had an overnight stay here enroute to Scotland. It was very convenient to the main road. We did not arrive until late around 9pm but this was arranged with the owners. We expected to arrive later and the owners kindly offered to wait up for us.

The site was very neat and tidy. Shower and toilet block basic but very clean.

Not sure if there were any easy dog walks as I just walked our dog up the entrance lane for convenience due to us travelling.

We would use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnknight1 1 review from this member

 Visited this site over the jubilee weekend, we've only just got the caravan, and were struggling to find a site.

So glad we did find Dandy Dinmont! Barbara and Murray were lovely, scooting around on their little golf buggy checking everyone was ok. Spotted Barbara handing out carbon monoxide safety leaflets to all those with awnings,

Site was impeccably clean, great facilities and grass and flower beds beautifully kept. We had a grass pitch, but it is actually better described as a lawn! Really quiet location, and plenty of space. The tent area was lovely and we're thinking of inviting some of our tenting friends to join us for a weekend one day.

Great location for exploring Hadrians wall and Carlisle. We visited Gretna, and the border city steam fair which happened to be on that weekend. This is a great stopping off point for Scotland.

The only downside is there aren't really any pubs within walking distance for evening meals, although there are a few within a 10 minute drive, and Carlisle centre of course. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycampers-r-we 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Dandy Dinmont Caravan and Camping Park a few times, when on our way up to Scotland.

We think its a lovely little site. The owners, a mature couple are very friendly and helpful. The pitches are a good size and the toilet/shower block, though old looking from the outside is modern, clean and well maintained on the inside.

Dandy Dinmont is a quiet, small site. One field is for tents only. One caravans.

There are no restaurants, shops, clubs etc on the site but it isn't too far from a large new supermarket.

In the brochure/ leaflet guests are invited to walk around the owners beautiful garden.

I can't remember whether there was a playground as we didn't have any children with us each time we visited. Prospective campers would have to check the site's information on line or brochure.

Dandy Dinmont is a small, quiet site with a peaceful 'Olde Wordle' feel to it.

We will more than likely stay there again, and I would recommend it if you want a peaceful alternative to the larger family orientated sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nath + Manda 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st main camping trip & were very pleased with our choice the owners of the site were very friendly. The tent field was very flat.

On the tent field there was the toilet cabin with outside pot washing facilities but in the main camping area which was less then a 2 minute walk away was the main toilet block with showers all the facilities on the site were very clean & there was plenty of hot water.

I would recommend this site to anyone who is visiting the area as it was very close to Carlisle & easy to find also the site had a very nice atmosphere 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobertWigan 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights, well worth the money. Very clean toilets and washing up area. Lots of hot water day and night with very clean and tidy showers. Simple to find from Jct 44 on M6.

A great site if you wish to relax and enjoy Carlisle. There are many tourers parking up for the night as this is an ideal location for overnight stays when you are heading North to Scotland.

Carlisle is only 10 mins away by car and I do recommend going to the market in the centre of town.

The town has great Cafes and shops which cater for all tastes, well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: B.sutcliffe1@ntlwor 9 reviews from this member

 Used this site for two nights northbound to Scotland, and again 2 nights on our return home.

An excellent site, well kept and spotlessly clean, and excellent value.

Around two edges of the caravan pitches are some lovely bungalows permanently occupied whos residents seem to take much pride in their properties with beautifully kept plots full of lovely flowers making our stay feel very comfortable and pleasant.

The site is very well situated for travellers to Scotland and for touring Hadrians Wall country.

Just off the motorway makes it easily accessible but just far enough away so as not to be disturbed by too much traffic noise.

A Morrisons supermarket not too far away gives access to supplies and a reasonably priced fuel station before you enter the costly highlands.

Cannot recommend this sight highly enough and will be using it again when in the north. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Christmasdonkey 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on the way up to Scotland and was very impressed. It's really close to J44 on the M6 and very easy to find.

The owner is very helpful and the site itself well maintained and spotlessly clean.

The toilets and showers were great with endless supplies of hot water. There was a separate field for tents and all pitches were lovely and grassy. There are static holiday homes all around the site but the residents seemed very relaxed and friendly. This site offers excellent value for money and is handy for visiting the North Lakes as well as Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcamp 2 reviews from this member

 We first come across this site about seven years ago. And we have now been there four times. Its a lovely quiet clean site, with plenty toilets, wash basins and showers.

Each time we have been there seems to be something else added, and this time it was electric hookup for the tenting area.

The couple that own and run the site are very nice folk and are very helpful too.

We normally stay here for a week which gives us plenty of time to explore The City of Carlisle of which is 5 mins away.

The tent area is reasonably flat and has been underlayed for water drainage. Although we stay for the week, its ideal for hikers and cyclists to.

We never noticed any play area for children. The ones that were there brought there own entertainment. Our first night there each time we have been, getting to sleep we found a problem as the noise from the nearby 'A' road and motorway does carry. By the 2nd night you get used to it.

We are definitely looking forward to our fifth visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sophie2507 1 review from this member

 This was our first site on our maiden voyage( first time caravanners) and we were delighted with our choice. Clean (spotless) quiet and friendly. As writing this just deciding when to return. Handy for Carlisle (lovely city). Golf course (I like) Houghton Hall garden centre (wife likes) and lovely surrounding countryside. All in all it turned out to be a great first time caravan experience. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement