Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park
Blackford
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4EA
Tel: 01228 674611
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ecosse 6 reviews from this member

 We heading towards another campsite but decided to have a look at this one. I'm glad we did. It is a very clean, tidy and friendly campsite. We were told we could park on hardstanding or grass and chose the grass area. Toilets and showers were immaculate and stayed that way for the 3 days we were there. Excellent base for the area. There is a bit of road noise but not bad. We didn't have kids with us so can't rate child friendliness. We will certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbiedivacat 10 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a weekend on this lovely site and will definitely be back. We found it by chance when we could not get on a 'club site' and decided to go away at the last minute. The site is small but has to be the best kept site we have ever been on. I agree with other visitors, that you can hear the road, but it really isn't significant. The caravan area is separate from the tent area and both have their own toilet and shower block which was absolutely spotless.

We used the site to go to Rhegged,Penrith and Keswick which are about 30 mins and 45 mins away. We also went to the Houghton Hall Garden Centre which is quite close and for those of you who like that kind of thing it is worth a visit.

We didn't go to any local pubs or eat out as we were only there for two nights and had taken supplies with us, but the site was so nice we enjoyed just sitting out.

The owners were very helpful and keen to check that things were ok for us.

I've only given 8/10 for child friendliness as I'm not sure I saw a play area but we are child free these days so I may have missed it. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lobsterpot 2 reviews from this member

 Went to this site Bank Holiday weekend. The owners met us as we arrived and took us to our pitch and give us any advise we needed.

Toilet block was immaculate at all times. Two showers and plenty of toilets.

Lovely level pitches on Grass or Hard standing.

Little information area in reception and they have a recycle area too.

No rush to get rid of us on day of departure we just left when we were ready.

There is a pub about 10 mins walk away and nearest town 5 mins drive. Carlisle is only 10 mins and Gretna Green is worth a visit too.

We only stayed a couple of nights just relaxing.

A very peaceful and relaxing stay.

The site is well looked after.

We will be returning as soon as we can.

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrews72 5 reviews from this member

 Went to this site for 1st time on the 1st may bank holiday, warden met us as we arrived and was very nice, showed us where toilet / shower block and laundry room were and told us we could pitch our tent where we wanted on the tent field.

The tent field was very flat and well kept. There was a portacabin containing 2 toilets & 2 sinks for women, same in mens plus 2 urinals and a shaver point. As toilets are my worry at campsites let me assure you these were some of the best I've seen, they were always spotless, with loo roll and handsoap and plenty of air freshners. The block containing the showers were equally spotless and included plug sockets.

The site is near a road so there was road noise but we didn't notice it after a while. Nearest shop was in Longtown 4 miles away (nice chippy and pizza shop). will definitely be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Polly1950 11 reviews from this member

 What a lovely reception from the owners I was informed how to pitch (hardstanding) lovely site. Very accommodating Really good grass area for caravans. Really good tent area all grass kept short

2 showers never had to wait for one.

What can I say lovely site for a few days stay

Bus service was good 5 minutes from site visit Carlisle in one direction Gretna, Annan, Dumprhies the other direction 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tom61uk 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in Easter this year, well signposted along the Galashiels rd just off M6 J44. Warm welcome from site owners on arrival. Pitched on flat well maintained grass, near E/H & water supply. Toilet blocks were cleaned daily, plenty Free hot water / showers , lovely quiet site, 10 mins to carlisle city centre. Supermarket 5 min drive away,camping shop nearby. We have stayed on this site 5 times during the past 3 years. Would recommend this site for stop-over & short break away. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nessmanuk 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site both going north and again on way home.  Reception very welcoming and showed us exactly where to pitch.  Facilities very clean and tidy.  Not very child friendly insofar as no ball games and no cycling allowed but in many ways this is a positive advantage.
 
Will be staying here again as very good stopping off point. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Papillon90 2 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely, well kept site right in the heart of Blackford. Our first real impression was of the wardens themselves who came out to meet us as we drove in.
 
The wardens home doubled as an office and this housed tourist information leaflets in abundance. The wardens actually assisted us in choosing some of these, aware that we had a young family and took a great deal of time telling us about places to visit that they were sure the children would love. We were then directed to our pitch and the warden guided us in and offered any assistance. He was okay though. We've been doing this for around 20 years!
 
The site basically consists of two fields; one for tourers and the other for tents. Both have their own toilet and shower block facilities. Whilst we cannot vouch for the block in the tent field, ours was immaculate with plenty of hot water and everything required within such a facility. There is no reason to presume that the other block would not have been the same. There is a little laundry room containing a washing machine and tumble drier. The owner wardens take you on trust to place the required fees for each in a little box left in the laundry room.
 
We were pitched on a grassy area (which was lush!) that is centred in the middle of the little one way road around the site. Down two sides, the site has static caravans and to the other there are hard standings for tourers.
 
Our journey had been through torrential rain and it was no better when we arrived. Initially we began to wish we'd booked hardstanding! Whilst it was a bit wet, once the rain did eventually stop, the ground seemed to drain pretty quickly, no doubt assisted by the strong winds (more noticeable once we attempted to put the awning up!) and although we expected to spend the weekend in boggy conditions, surprisingly the  ground was pretty good. (Awning never did go up that night, owing to high winds and essential awning parts that got left behind, despite 20 years to have known better! Still. Gave all the neighbours a good laugh!)
 
The site is essentially surrounded by farmland and our girls were thrilled to watch all the baby lambs close up just over the fence.
 
There is no shop on site, though there is an Asda supermarket not too far away. Luckily for us, there is a little caravan sales and shop just a couple of minutes drive out of Blackford where we were able to purchase our missing bits and put the awning up the morning after our arrival!
 
Carlisle and Gretna are both a stones throw from the site and we had a fabulous full day out in both locations.
 
There are plenty more visitor attractions within easy reach of the site and we even ventured down to Ullswater, which was well worth the visit. With so much still to see and do, and such a wonderful site in a picturesque location with truly super owner wardens, we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Idm67005 2 reviews from this member

 We wanted a weekend in Carlisle and this site seemed to be very good and close to the city but far enough away to be nice and quiet.
We weren't disappointed the people who ran the site were very friendly and explained everything to us, There's no shop on site but a bit of forward planning or a stop off at a local supermarket soon solves that! Both Asda (The nearest) and Morrisons within a few minutes and Tesco a few miles away.

We couldn't have chosen a more wet weekend to go, before our arrival they had had 2 thunderstorms and it was raining when we arrived and pitched our tent, The ground was boggy with all the water but not bad enough not to walk on it, luckily enough it got a bit muddy but nothing serious.

The facilities were all ok, Showers were available and the toilets in the camping field were of a porta cabin style but perfectly functional.

The main A7 road is nearby and a bit of noise was heard but it didn't detract from the site as a whole.The site is well sign posted from the main road.

All in all an enjoyable visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindjemp 28 reviews from this member

 Lovely nice small basic site - tent field really small but nice and sheltered. Loos are portacabins with 2 sinks and 2 loos in the ladies - 1 pot washing sink outside under cover (really hot water which is great) Main loos are in the touring bit next door - very clean and showers are a proper room not just a cupboard with a shower curtain!
Beautifully kept grass - whole site has a lovely feel. No swings or anything for kids though. Traffic background noise all the time though as the A7 runs right next to it and is very busy. There is an hourly bus service to Carlisle or Gretna (and Dumfries) just down the road which is ideal if like us you have driven quite a way and want a rest (Carlisle is only 3 miles away)
Bargain at £8 per night for our 3 man tent
 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement