Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park
Blackford
(lake District)
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4EA
Tel: 01228 674611
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Leedyson 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived late, and the owner wasn't around, so we found an empty pitch and signed-in at reception.

Site is great, can't say anything bad about it. Late in the season so the site was reasonably quiet. Hard-standings for Campervans & caravans. Separate field for tents.

The toilet block was absolutely spotless ! (and quite warm to boot)

Re-cycling area on site, so in the morning, I could get rid of my empties from the night before.

Noticed the site was mostly middle-age folks, very quiet, felt guilty about the noise when my Eberspacher heating burst into life - probably not the most child-friendly place.

Only 5 minutes from the M6, so a great stopping off point for trips across the border. Will definitely use this again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ValJim 8 reviews from this member

 Well signposted to site, pleasing grounds on entry, friendly and pleasant owners, clean in all areas, including showers, toilets, and grounds. One of the best weekends we have had so far, so peaceful and relaxing. Tents are accommodated in a separate field from caravans and motorhomes. Recycling bins are provided for those of us who look to take care of our land. If your looking to explore the Lakes this is an ideal base, and get yourself into Scotland, but come back for more relaxing to your base. Highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 51 reviews from this member

 I stayed one night here on a cycle tour round Cumbria. Apparently lots of cyclists doing Lands End to John O'Groats stop here.

The tent field is nice and flat with good grass. The toilets on the tent field are in a sort of portacabin but that was fine by me, and there was a useful washing-up area with lovely hot water. More facilities in the main caravan field had showers and were actually rather nicer but more of a walk.

There was quite a lot of road noise from the two A-roads nearby, but with earplugs in I was fine. It was the most expensive site I stayed in on the trip (by just 80p!) but it was in the right place at the right time.

The campsite owner was helpful and friendly and did a couple of tours round driving a golf buggy, waving at us rather regally!

Carlisle is worth visiting, I was really surprised about how nice it was. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

 This site is in the perfect location for a stopover when travelling up/down the M6. The owner takes great care over the condition of the grass and it was a pleasure to sit outside. Very handy for Carlisle and surrounding area. The site is not very child friendly and children would become bored very quickly as there is nothing for them to do. Dogs are welcome but must be exercised off site, which was not a problem at all. The shower block was perhaps a bit dated but was always kept clean. Only suggestion I would make would be to have a bucket and mop so that everyone can clean the shower floor when finished. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jimmybignuts 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site.

We use this site as a staging point for our trips to England from our home in central Scotland. The site has a great location near the border and only a few minutes from the motorway cut off.

There is a supermarket about 10 minutes drive from the site if you get the munches.

The site is split into tourers (where we stayed) and tents. The touring section has two type of pitch. Hard standing and grass which all appeared to have electric hookup.

Clean quiet and friendly the owner has good local knowledge. I can't fault this site at all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bapwich 8 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent campsite if you are planning a stopover in Carlisle whilst travelling from Nth to Sth or vice-versa. It is less than a five minute drive from the M6 so ideal for what we wanted. We stayed here for one night on two occasions, both on the way to and from Scotland.

Facilities were basic but very well kept; camspite was very clean and the ground was excellent for putting up your tent. The camping area we were in was fairly sheltered from the wind too.

Not sure about the local area, but if you need somewhere to stay on a long-haul drive, this is it. It's also a bargain, and much better value for money than most other campsites I have ever stayed at. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manowar 4 reviews from this member

 Family of 4 staying for one night in a Zenobia6 tent. (2 adults and 2 kids age 8 + 4)

Reasons why.

An Immaculate, well maintained, quiet(albeit for a little road noise), nicely laid out & easy to find from the A7 main road.

Reasons why not.

Not child friendly, although this may be a reason why to some visitors.

Tent area was a little overcrowded on our particular visit.

Beware of campers hogging the wooden benches! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeanettey 1 review from this member

 We have been going back to this campsite for the last 2 years and really love it. It is spotless including the showers and toilets, the only thing we will be requesting on our next visit in July is that we need a duck board to stand on when you have finished showering.

We find Murray and Barbara very pleasant and helpful also their son. Can't wait till July when we go back 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chapman -Jones 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a one-night stopover on our way up to Scotland.

The site was easy to find, just off the motorway, and was clean and tidy. The shower block looked a bit uninspiring and basic but was warm and clean inside. The showers were spacious and there was a vanity area with mirror and socket for hairdryer / straighteners in the ladies.

We caught a bus from the main road into Carlisle, think they come every 20-30 minutes or so. Carlisle is ok to wander around for a couple of hours - same shops as anywhere else really. Bus stopped right in the centre of town. Only problem was that on our return journey, it didn't stop near the campsite (no bus stop on the other side of the road, beware) and carried on for miles to the next town. Busy road with no pavement so there was no question of walking back. Fortunately we had bought a family rovercard (cheapest option) so in the next town, we crossed the road and caught the next bus back, after waiting in a nearby pub for 30 minutes! All quite an adventure but could have been a nightmare.

Would recommend this site for a stopover but would not stop any longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kizzydog 6 reviews from this member

 We are new to camping and this was our first trip,but our 3rd site in the week.Nice welcome on arrival,super tidy site,spotless toilet's,Owner's very polite and helpful.Also near to bus stop for Carlisle,bus every 1/2 hr[cleanest bus we ever went on}This is a very quiet site,a few statics on site,resident's very friendly.If your after a nice quiet break, this is the place to be 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dandy Dinmont Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement