Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site
Greenacres
Nether Booth
Edale , Peak District
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZH
Tel: 01433 670375
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Polo-mint 1 review from this member

 I can't fault this site in any way.

Upon arrival the owners were friendly and said we could pitch anywhere in the first field. I personally much prefer this rather than being told where to pitch.

We pitched up at the bottom of the field adjacent the railway track. The passing trains didn't bother us in the slightest. The noise literally lasts less than 10 seconds. Either the trains stopped at night or didn't wake us up. I assume there was some early morning trains but these didn't wake us.

The site is in an excellent location with lovely views. We walked to Edale which took less than 30 minutes. There are 2 pubs here which are muddy boot and dog friendly.

The toilets and showers were clean and modern.

Overall this is definitely one of the better sites we've stayed at and is great value. We will probably revisit the site in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Acuss01 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights with our kids. Here is our summary:

PROS

- Beautiful views of Mam Tor

- Small campsite

- Can arrive late as owner on site

- Modern toilet block

CONS

- Adjacent to busy railway line (freight trains during night)

- Sloping field, no flat pitches

- Sheep poo all over camping field

- Only one shower cubicle 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GingerL 1 review from this member

 Lovely basic campsite, well worth a stay if you like a simple field set up.

The toilets where clean, the shower looked clean although I didn't use it so can't comment further. With hot water for the pans I couldn't ask for more.

The camp site is situated in a valley so be aware that mobile reception was a bit hit and miss. For me the noise from the train wasn't really an issue as it wasn't all night. It was nice that the dog camped for free and there's a handy public footpath opposite the site for the first/last walk of the day.

Due to rain we had couple of meals out, fish and chips in near by Bradwell (15mins by car). And a meal at the Ye Olde Nags Head in Castleton.

All things considered we will camp here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trixidixi 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Greenacres Campsite over the bank holiday weekend. On arrival, we checked in at the house and we're informed that the site only accepted cash. Not usually a problem, but as they had mentioned they ran a business we assumed they would take card - not sure if the owner had a very dry sense of humour (he offered to shoot us if we used the wrong bins or stole bricks from his wall) but felt a bit uncomfortable asking if we could pay the next day. Apparently it does state cash only on the website, so be warned!

The location of the site was amazing, beautiful views of mamtor and the ridge with walks straight from the site. The facilities were adequate, not sure how busy the showers would be on a busy weekend as there is only one for each sex, but they worked well enough. We found no issues with the hygiene as others have stated but we mostly used the facilities in our caravan.

As other people have mentioned, there are noise issues with the trains, but it's livable.

The main issue we had, which would stop us returning, is that the back field that we were in was covered in sheep poo. And I mean COVERED! We had two small children with us and it was not possible to let our toddler play as she ended up with poo all over her. It stinks and stained her cloths. It's really sad as it ruined what could have been a lovely site in an amazing location. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasminelewis 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site in a lovely location. The village is not far from this site, where there is a pub and plenty to look round.

Really great site for children, nice and quiet (no noise after half 10) and lots of space for them to play.

Great value and some excellent views, will recommend and will be back again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slap7 2 reviews from this member

 Wow! Great site set in a beautiful location just outside the village itself. Despite the weather for two days the views from the site onto Losehill were fabulous. The site owners were incredibly friendly, as were the sheep that were close by, great for the kids. The reindeer were superb, too!

The site was no noise post 1030 pm which was great, especially with two kids.

Toilet facilities were incredibly clean, modern close to the site as was the chemical disposal area.

The price was very reasonable, making the site very good value for money. The walk into the village takes 15 minutes and you end up right next to the nags head pub, which is well worth the short trek.

Thanks for a fab stay 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Emma Broadbent 8 reviews from this member

 This site is in a stunning location - Hope Valley is really beautiful, also quiet and peaceful. If you are walkers like us the site is in a fantastic location - you can do long walks through Edale, Mam Tor, Kinder Scout etc etc straight from the campsite. It wasn't a problem for us as we were there before the season started and so had the place to ourselves, but there is only one female and one male shower which I imagine might be a problem when the site is busy. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melbourne12 4 reviews from this member

 We came here for 3 nights at the beginning of August for the Spoonfest event in Edale, one and a half miles away. We were very glad that we chose Greenacres, which was much less crowded than other sites nearer the festival.

It was easy to find a peaceful and nearly flat pitch. The view of Nam Tor from our tent was just breathtaking. As others have said, the railway line is close by, but the trains are mostly short commuter units and don't make much noise. They certainly didn't bother us!

The new toilet block is excellent and kept very clean. There's only one shower per side. The hot water is included in the price of the pitch, though.

Oh, and the wifi is useful if you want to blog about your experiences each day.

All in all, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kitch123 1 review from this member

 Upon arrival was not booked in even though we emailed booking request and received conformation 6 weeks prior to going. Then tried to charge double the tariff as stated on web site (this has now been rectified on website). The lady did however check the website and gave us that tariff. The grass however was too long, needed cutting. The toilet and shower facilities are less than adequate for the size of the site. 1 shower, 2 toilets. Must have had well over 30 units on site. The shower drain was blocked leaving water covering the whole of the toilet floor leaving you to stand in other peoples dirty water. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jadekr 1 review from this member

 My partner and I stayed here along with our two dogs for two nights. The campsite was easy to find and we received a friendly welcome upon arrival.

The campsite is fairly basic and we were told to pitch our tent anywhere we liked. The grass could have done with a cut to make it easier to pitch. There is a small washing up area in between the shower block. There were two toilets and one large shower cubicle. We felt that the site needed at least another shower as we had to wait until after 11am to shower and queuing is near impossible as the area is too small. One of the ladies toilets ran out of toilet roll on the Saturday afternoon and wasn't replaced until late the following morning. On a plus side, the blocks were very clean and the showers have a temperature control.

The main downside for me was the field location. On the one side is the train track which has trains going past every 20mins into the night. On the other is the road and we were woken up by the sound of cars and shouting cyclists on Saturday morning. We did however enjoy the sound of the sheep on the hill opposite and the view if the hills is very good.

For the price of 6 per person per night and no charge for the dogs, it was value for money. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement