Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site
Greenacres
Nether Booth
Edale , Peak District
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZH
Tel: 01433 670375
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osborne 1 review from this member

 Really nice camping field with a very short walk from toilets / showers, which were found to be clean and working. Although the facilities are basic we found them sufficient and fit for use. Token cost 50 pence for showers which last for 5 mins.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

My boys played football, tennis, etc without any problems even the owners son joined in. My boys can be loud at times but we had no complaints.

All in all a great little campsite with beautiful views, about 3 mile walk to Edale village where 2 pubs are and a 2 minute drive to Hope & Castleton.

Good value for money, great campsite for simple relaxing get away. Just pray for sunshine 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laurains 2 reviews from this member

 A very basic site in a beautiful quiet setting. Only a few electric hook up points, otherwise we could pitch where we wanted. Stunting views south to Losehill and Mam Tor. Lots of birds around. Easy access to footpaths and the Pennine Way.
Hope Well Dressing was on at the time and that was very interesting. There are stables next door offering pony trekking. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dingovirgin 1 review from this member

 I like this site, small and uncomplicated (just like me). The facilities are all I need on a weekend away and the train line at the bottom of the field doesn't bother me. The trains seem no louder than the cars on the road.

The location is close enough to edale to walk to the pub, but far enough away to maintain some tranquillity.

The problem I do have with the site is that the owner no longer allows dogs (as I found out at my last visit)

The only reason I could find for the dog ban is that the owner has 3 dogs and likes them to have the run of the site. Sadly after staying here for a number of years, I shall not be visiting this site any more.

So in summary, if you have no dogs, and don't require site shops, clubs and shiny things then this is the place for you! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adam - Coventry 2 reviews from this member

 Booked in for three nights as Greenacres was the only site available in the area. That worried us - but with no need.

Stunning location, basic but more than adequate facilities (shower better than home). Train track at bottom of the site but not really a problem.

Also - my car had a flat battery and the owner of the site could not have been more helpful, allowing me to phone the AA from his office and also offering to charge the battery for me.

Will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julietbec 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite last year and had a great time. The facilities were basic but fine. You had to buy a token for the shower, but it was very nice, plenty hot enough and gave you a whole 5 minutes. There were 3 of us and we all managed to get straight in the showers when we wanted to.

The view was great. It was just a short walk into Edale or a quick drive to the nearest village where there were some nice pubs.

We have stayed at other campsites in this area, but found this one to be the best value for money and the nicest overall, and we will definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizak 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the campsite during the Bank Holiday weekend. We were two families with children. The campsite was a basic campsite with separate toilet block and shower for men/ladies. The shower was run on a token costing 50p. Whilst I was unhappy at discovering there was only one shower and the campsite was full, I think overall it worked very well. The token system ensures that the use of the shower is limited. There was never more than one person in the queue if you were unlucky, most of the time it was empty. There was potwashing facilities too. The owners were very friendly and ensured the facilities were cleaned daily. There is a train track running alongside the campsite which runs through the night during the week and stops mid/late evening at the weekends. It depends on where you camp on the site as to how noisy it would be. Overall, I would recommend the campsite. It has fantastic views too. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linda Morley 1 review from this member

 This was our 2nd stay at the campsite.

Facilities were basic but perfectly acceptable, although I believe ladies fair better than gents.

The views from the site are very good, there are riding stables next door.

We had 3 teenage boys with us, who enjoyed using their bikes to explore the surrounding area.

Castleton is very good for pubs, and little coffee shops. We ate at the George which was very nice.

EHU are available, although pre-booking for these may be best (ther are 5 in all)

All in all we had a very nice relaxing weekend and we hope to return soon 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KARI MARY 1 review from this member

 Great site situated a couple of miles outside the heart of Edale village.Absolutely stunning views from the campsite. Quiet location, train line not a problem at all, and did not appear to run over night. Very family orientated site. Dogs allowed providing they are on a lead but the owner of the site seemed very unapproving of dogs, despite his own running freely around the site! Toilet and shower facilities basic but adequate.  


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cottonali 1 review from this member

 We went to Edale on Bank Holiday weekend, having not booked anywhere, so were lucky to find a pitch at this campsite. Luckily we got there before the crowds - don't be fooled, they squeezed about a lot of tents into two small fields!

Overall, this was an adequate site. The toilet block was basic but functional - always had toilet paper, clean, hot water from the tap. The shower was good, but get there before 8am if you want it hot - my husband had a freezing cold shower at 9am! The pot washing sink had completely cold water.

There were a few issues with this campsite. It was quite expensive for what it was - 11/night for a 3-man tent. Given that it had a busy, noisy train line running at the bottom of the field and you had to pay 50p for the shower, 11 is a little dear.

There are signs everywhere stating that there should be no noise after 10.30pm - however, this was NOT the case. There were large groups of loutish people, drinking, hollering and belching all through the day and late into the night.

Despite this, there are plenty of good walks and interesting things to do in this area. Our favourite pub was the Cheshire Cheese Inn at Hope (not to be confused with Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn, Castleton). It was a beautiful picturesque pub with good local ale and excellent food.

Also good was the Ladybower reservoir nr Bamford. Plenty of good walks and beautiful scenery around here.

I wonder if the problems we had at this campsite were to due to the mad rush of Bank Holiday weekend. It may be cheaper and quieter at other times of the year? 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neilandrich 2 reviews from this member

 We booked into this campsite after trying to get a booking in many others in the area that were all full. I have to say that the site was fantastic, the views, and the location were great. The facilitites on site were basic, but very authentic and suited us down to the ground. This is a REAL campsite! We would go back here as there were great views, walks and local amenities, which was good as we had a dog with us who wanted to be walked for miles and miles. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5914 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement