Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site
Greenacres
Nether Booth
Edale , Peak District
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZH
Tel: 01433 670375
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yummymum 1 review from this member

 Like the others we stayed here when everywhere else was fully booked.

Stayed one night and was gutted to leave in the morning. The views were gorgeous. Its situated between two peaks in a valley and you cant see any other buildings / villages apart from the farm house and farm (obv). Was great to get away from it all for a bit.

The owners were very friendly and my 2 year old even got to bottle feed a lamb that was being kept in their garden.

The train line wasnt a problem. Trains passed regulary but were so quick we didnt really notice them. Only two carriges long and finished about 10:30 to begin again about 9 the next morning.

Facilities were basic but if you dont mind that then its fine. Had to pay for shower but wasnt there long enough to need to use it.

Overall it was a great nights stay and we have tried to book again since (was fully booked. Blooming bank holidays!). Would recommend.

Ps. Great base for exploring the peak district. Not far from bakewell, castleton and loads of great pubs! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenton_1 1 review from this member

 We found this campsite by accident could not find the one we booked so stayed here. We stayed for 5 nights in the larger of the Fields the views are amazing. Slight problem was the train line running day and night but for the cost of staying it wasn't a big problem.

There's plenty of walks around, one of which leads you to the local village with 2 pubs, cafes, post office, visitors center. Train station leading to Manchester, Sheffield and local towns like Hope and Cheap. We popped to Hope and got a train back to Edale from Hope was too tired to walk and only cost 2.20 and took 5 mins.

The site owners were very helpful and prices were reasonable. We stayed for 5 nights at 15 and shower tokens were 50p. The facilities were basic but fine for the amount of people who stay. I think there was about 7 when we were there. We stayed without a car but found everything we needed around us even if it was a walk. The views, animals and friendly locals made it pleasant. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Captain Hook 1 review from this member

 Good points
* Basic Campsite which is reasonably quiet.

There is a railway line right next to the site but it's a low speed line so it didn't make too much noise and the trains seem to stop after about 9pm anyway.

* Probably never going to have to book

Bad Points
* Price - 9 for 1 person in a 2 man tent
* No Hot Water except the shower which needs tokens (that fee might have been acceptable if the shower was include
* Facilities were quite run down

Given the facilities provided and the state of them, I think 3.50 would have been a fair price. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melindab 1 review from this member

 Bad points
*They told us 3.50 per person on the phone, but changed this to 5 when we arrived. This is without seeing the size of our tent.
*The site is bordered by a train line and a frequently used road.
*The shower requires tokens and there are no other hot water sources or private areas for washing (ladies is in full view of passers by)

Good points
*The ground was fairly soft.
*The shower was fully tiled and there was a seat.
*Good view of Lose Hill and sheep.
*The farmers friendly dog was allowed to run around in the camping field unattended and wasn't too insistent on eating our sausages.
*You probably wouldn't ever have to book. We rang 5 sites before this that were all fully booked over this bank holiday. Not much interest in this one though, plenty of space. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Edale Camper 1 review from this member

 Camped here last weekend - as it was one of the few campsites with space over the busy Bank Holiday Weekend.

Facilities are basic but were cleaned regularly. A new shower has just been installed.

Site is on a bit of a slope but we managed to find enough flat ground to pitch our Vango 6-man.

The walks out of the area are amazing. We took two trips up back tor and made it along to Lose Hill for the amazing views.

The site owner was really really friendly and helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barnum 1 review from this member

 Nice simple site in really beautiful location. Only a very basic toilet and shower block, but warm showers. Always a friendly atmosphere when I've been. Right next to the railway track, so can be noisy but also adds to the charm; and that view of the Mam Tor-Lose Hill ridge is amazing. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lockywheels 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for 3 nights over August bank holiday weekend. Had a great time & would recommend Greenacres to campers that don't mind very basic facilities- this is not the place for those who like luxuries! Only 1 shower for ladies & one for men. The cost of a shower is 1 for 5 mins & the shower was lovely & warm. The toilets & shower are built in an old barn & are very simple- there was only 1 toilet with a working light! Only a bit of effort would be needed to make the facilities much more inviting.

The views from the site are spectacular- it is in a valley with some great walks nearby. One big negative was the closeness of this site to the railway line- we pitched our tent only a few meters from the train track! This caused a few laughs & a few sleepless nights -the trains are regular- even through the night! There are plenty of pitches further away from the trainline so I would recommend you try & bag one of those!

Its only a couple of miles walk to Edale centre where there are 2 great pubs- the Rambler & the Old Nags Head. There is no shop near to the campsite so make sure you are well prepared! 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Chrisnwhite 1 review from this member

 A great, but basic campsite. Great view across the Edale valley and plenty of space. The facilities are basic to say the least - rough and ready toilets and cold water only for washing up. However... the showers are 5* hotel standard (!) although you have to pay 1 for 5 minutes use of them! It's run by a friendly and helpful retired man who'll tell you the correct route to the pub - which only takes 15 minutes across the fields. It's worth pointing out the surrounding area is very short of shops with just a few convenience stores, so if you're after anything other than the very basics - bring them with you (or go to Sheffield).  


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Honey Bear 1 review from this member

 We didnt turn up until gone 9pm. No problem about getting a pitch. Could choose where we wanted. Didnt pay until the morning as the owners had gone home for the night. Facillities were ample. Plenty of bins to dispose of rubbish and all in all excellent value for money!
Highly recommended! 


Reviewer: Windywolves 1 review from this member

 August 2004
My son and I stayed here for 3 nights. The views are fantastic and there is plenty of room to pitch your tent, but beware of the train running throughout the night if you are pitched by the railway which can be quite noisy. The owners seemed very friendly and helpful. If having a wash there is no hot water so take a kettle of boiled water with you, but for the price I can't complain. I would return again but would camp in the smaller field half way as this is the furthest point from the railway and the road which was like a race track at times by the locals. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement