Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site
Greenacres
Nether Booth
Edale , Peak District
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZH
Tel: 01433 670375
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sally genet 1 review from this member

 This campsite is about 2km from Edale/Grindsbrook with an off road footpath that takes you straight to the Nag's Head in Grindsbrook.

It is ideally placed for walking to Mam Tor or up onto the Kinder plateau. The site itself is 3 small fields and you pitch wherever there is space.

The views are fantastic (weather permitting!)

There are 2 toilets and 1 shower each for male/female and a washing up sink, so only just enough when busy, however, for a walking weekend this site was perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iperboreano 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed three nights in a tent, adult and two children. Site is beautifully situated, and the view is fabulous all day long. Slight downside is being sandwiched between road and rail (to be fair, the children loved trainspotting), so don't expect bucolic peace and quiet.

There used to be free range chickens, now there's a free range Great Dane instead, a harmless and friendly girl, but her droppings are rather unwelcome.

Very friendly ponies in field alongside, which the children loved feeding grass, however their manure has been spread all around the campsite edges for some reason.

Fantastic modern toilet and shower block (just need to fix the cold water taps).

There is no recycling on site, so if you are a fan of recycling you will need to take your bottles, plastic et c. Home with you.

Judging by the skip on site, not many do, everything goes in mixed. :-( Staff are all friendly and helpful, they could do with a proper freezer though for guests' ice/cool blocks.

Close to several footpaths leading up to the hills or Edale village. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bicko207 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this campsite me and my better half and 2 spaniels. Excellent all round.

Being keen walkers we are no strangers to the peak district (we walk here most weekends ) but to wake up here was fantastic, quick coffee, boots on and off for a 10 mile hike, then excellent pub lunch 20 minute walk from campsite.

Showers and toilets very clean. We enjoyed it that much we have booked to go again this weekend.

No better recommendation than that, roll on friday 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ready63 2 reviews from this member

 Dropped my son, daughter and 2 of there friends off and helped set up camp. The site is small and no hook up but plenty of room to pitch the tent and park alongside.

Stunning location and views and the trainline at the back didn't spoil this. The toilets are good as is the shower room (only 2 showers) but for the price you cant complain.

I picked them all up again after 3 days and they had a great time and deff recommend this site. So we will be coming back but this time I'm joining them :-) 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DeeCon 5 reviews from this member

 Very unhappy with this site, We were informed that there were 'No issues' with the site after the heavy rain fall. We were charged 25 including hook up, the hook up was up a hill (so not level) and with all the rain we had had we struggled to get to the top to access the 1 post with 4 electric points on.

The grass was too long and when the other 3 units arrived to use the electric point we were like sardines in a tin.

There is a train track at the bottom of the site but the noise is not too bad. The owners dog was left to wander the site and had no trouble defecating around the pitches. Again not happy about the dog mess and the dog was a large breed so big poos. The fresh water hose was just left in the dirt no place to hook it off the floor

Is it worth the money - no 15 max fits

Toilets were ok.

Positive - stunning views 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JaneMattD 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend stay at Greenacres and really loved it. We also brought some newbie campers with us and they really enjoyed it as well so I think that says it all! The staff were really friendly in the office and the scenery is just great.

It's about a 25 minute walk along the road to Edale - we didn't have any food at the pubs but we did go to the Ramblers Inn after a long walk for a beer and that was great, dog-friendly too.

We don't have kids but everywhere was really child-friendly and it was great seeing them enjoying the outdoors. Also lots of dogs so something to keep in mind if (for some crazy reason) you're not a dog person.

The owners also let their Great Dane wander about so this is something to keep in mind if you have an unfriendly dog as well, our collie loved her though!

You are next to a railway line but personally we barely even noticed it - we were out all day though but by the evening only a few went by when we were sitting outside and didn't hear any at night. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campinglord 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this place as we fancied a change from our usual Hope valley side of the mountains camping and found the following.

On arrival we had a little look and then we went into the office and paid for 3 nights upfront.

We couldn't find a spot on any of the other sites nearby in the vale of edale, fully booked up - this site however was basically empty, it looked nice enough and the people were really chatty and friendly but something immediately didn't seem altogether right, where was there only us and two other tents when the other sites were packed?

I would say that with a few more people there, and nice weather, we would have had a nice time, but its rained for 3 days and we havent had more than 3 hours sleep either night because of the trains and constant sheep cries, which due to lambing is constant so were cold, tired and fed up

Pros:

- Friendly staff.
- nice views (really REALLY nice views)
- Hot shower.
- Reasonably priced.

Cons:

- If the weather is bad and you're not driving, your stuck! its in the middle of nowhere, the nearest village is Edale which is a good 45 - 60 mins walk across fields and there is absolutely nothing there when you get there. Couple of pubs etc, bank holiday so rammed with backpacks and angry staff - the nearest shop or civilization is castleton, which on foot is right across the mountains - it took us a good 3. 5 hours to walk there as the crow flies, on the roads is takes a good 20 mins at least the short route.

- Theres one shower cubicle per block, the gents was under 2 inches of muddy water when I went in, turned out the shower outlet was blocked with mud and grass so I spent a good 20 mins unblocking it for them - lucky we were the only ones on the site or showers would be a nightmare with one shower if there was a full site.

- Poo Seriously, lots of it, not sure if its reindeer or sheep, but our tent, boots and anything that touched the grass is covered in wet poo. Because of th weather, obviously we tried to get into the tent without walking in with boots on, but everything smelled like poo the whole time.

Theres also a great big dog there which is friendly but obviously leaves big poos on the field, we would have said something but there was no one around most of the time. These are really big dollops and I have to say I think its really disgusting.

- Train noise. Have to say, it really did bother us, woke up every time one went past, all night long and we were near the top of the field.

Summary

If you're looking for an out of the way site with reasonable facilities, and you have a car then this is the place for you.

Make sure you have sunny weather and dry ground and be prepared for some monster walks to get anywhere.

If you are on foot, its raining or the weather looks dicey, maybe avoid. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a pleasant stay here for a weekend. Site is fairly level though hook up for motor homes etc is only one 4 point plug in top corner of second field. Means all caravans or motor homes have to pitch in one spot. Lots of molehills too. It was quiet when we visited as the expected D of E group didn't arrive. The train track is at the bottom of the field but I was surprised that it didn't disturb me overnight. Might be different if you are in a tent!

The toilets/ showers were clean and modern but only one shower in each of ladies/gents so imagine there could be queues if it is busy. Didn't seem to be any heating so room was cold but plenty of free hot water. Washing up area contains one sink. Site is two medium size fields though owner says he doesn't overbook to ensure it is never packed out. Notice says to check in at house on arrival but no answer. Eventually someone came out of office round the corner. Had booked with friends who arrived later and we got charged more than they did so check price when you book. There is a friendly Great Dane roaming around that belongs to the owners. Didn't faze us as we are dog owners but might do if you are scared of dogs. We made sure to keep ours on a lead as per site rules.

Easy level walk to Rambler Inn in Edale, about 30 mins. We even walked back in the dark using headtorches without falling over! Super views all around 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Polo-mint 1 review from this member

 I can't fault this site in any way.

Upon arrival the owners were friendly and said we could pitch anywhere in the first field. I personally much prefer this rather than being told where to pitch.

We pitched up at the bottom of the field adjacent the railway track. The passing trains didn't bother us in the slightest. The noise literally lasts less than 10 seconds. Either the trains stopped at night or didn't wake us up. I assume there was some early morning trains but these didn't wake us.

The site is in an excellent location with lovely views. We walked to Edale which took less than 30 minutes. There are 2 pubs here which are muddy boot and dog friendly.

The toilets and showers were clean and modern.

Overall this is definitely one of the better sites we've stayed at and is great value. We will probably revisit the site in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Acuss01 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights with our kids. Here is our summary:

PROS

- Beautiful views of Mam Tor

- Small campsite

- Can arrive late as owner on site

- Modern toilet block

CONS

- Adjacent to busy railway line (freight trains during night)

- Sloping field, no flat pitches

- Sheep poo all over camping field

- Only one shower cubicle 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5866 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement