Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site
Greenacres
Nether Booth
Edale , Peak District
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZH
Tel: 01433 670375
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moljosh 6 reviews from this member

 The site was easily found but arriving via Edale and not Hope as a very narrow bridge which could have caused problems. Grass on site was very long and needed a cut, as did hedges and edges.

Toilet block is new but was in need of cleaning, no loo paper in ladies for several days and facilities were only cleaned once in the 6 days we were there. A pallet was being used as a step which could have caused problems for small children. It was requested that dogs be kept on a lead but site dog was loose and caused problems. We explored the area but would not return to this site. Fortunately the site was very quiet or the facilities would have been inadequate. Pubs in Edale and Hope were excellent and dog friendly. Trains ran during the night and were quite noisy 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbaggio 13 reviews from this member

 Location = Beautiful scenery around the campsite. Plenty of walks to choose from. Approx 30 mins walk to Edale Village. Only slight drawback is that its next to the railway line. No real disturbance during the night but if your at the campsite during the day you will hear the odd train passing through.

Facilities = Very nice shower/toilet block. Only negative thing to say on this is that during busy periods it would have been useful to have 2 showers rooms for each men and women.

Overall = Lovely campsite that's on a slight slope but this is expected in the area. Good size so not to populated with other tentts/caravans Lovely, friendly owners. Great walks. Gorgeous weather over the weekend was an added bonus. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shanesnell 15 reviews from this member

 Awesome scenery, as others have said, 360 degree views of beauty. The site itself is a couple of fields on a farm next to a railway line. The fields are gently sloping. When we visited the grass was quite long, but I'd rather that than cut grass everywhere. The ground drains well. The new toilet block is nice, but on our visit both the ladies and gents were flooded. I'm not sure if the shower drain was blocked or it was a design fault, but shower water was everywhere. We survived without hook up, as they only have a few and they were already taken. But who needs electric when you have those views! Trains didn't bother me as I'm a train geek. This site is perfect for tents and small caravans/motorhomes, but I'm not sure I'd be wanting to take a large unit on due to tight access into the driveway and past the farmhouse and toilet block. We will be back, the location is fantastic, proper camping, no commercialism! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pjaz 5 reviews from this member

 Ended up here following a last minute decision to camp out the Sunday night, and they managed to squeeze us in. First visit and I think we'll be back. The toilets and shower are in use but the building they are in isn't complete. There are 2 cubicles, 2 urinals and 1 shower in the mens. The washing up area is indoor between the toilets, plenty of hot water.

It's a fantastic vista from the site - 360 degree view of the surrounding fells and a clear sky and full moon provided an amazing backdrop for my middle of the night toilet trip. The only issue, and it seemed a one off, was the farm dogs barking all night. Others who had stayed all weekend said the 2 previous nights had been quiet. No playground, but children, including mine, just played cricket etc in the available space. The railway line is next to the site but the trains go by quickly. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camper_cruz 23 reviews from this member

 Second visit to the site, 7 years apart. New toilet/shower block has been built and was almost finished. Site is still in the most ideal situation, being away from the crowds in the village but close enough to walk there via the off road field paths and farm tracks (about 20 mins). The owner was very friendly too even though he made out, in jest, that he was almost as grumpy as the campsite owner in the village (who is a notorious grump) but he's not really. At 10 a night for a camper it's a steal these days 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swanny47 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights while touring on bike, quite a basic site but never the less OK.

Owners were welcoming and helpful. Toilets and showers were basic but very adequate. A great base for walkers with fantastic views. Restaurant pub and shops about a mile away so take your provisions with you, about a 3 mile trek to blue john river caves and cavern, well worth the trip.

Not very much here for kids to do so take something with you for them to do as boredom soon sets in. I would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Potsticks 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic scenery. Worth putting up with the trains passing. Toilet blocks were not cleaned and ladies ran out of toilet roll. 3 sinks. Two with no hot water, one with but that one had no plug. Shower didn't get warm. Go with plenty of wet wipes! Would actually go back despite this, as it was not taken over by noisy groups even at Bank holiday weekend, and there was plenty of space. Local pubs a mile or so away sold good beer and food. Probably need acar for nearest shop. Walking good from site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Countrywalker 1 review from this member

 This campsite has fabulous views and it is nice and spacious. It is spread over two fields so there is plenty of room between tents. You park next to your tent. The railway track is right next to the campsite however it is not too busy during the week or at weekends. It is a perfect location for walking in the Edale valley as it is away from the main village. It is not too far from the pub which is about one mile from the site.

There is only one shower in each block but as this is a quiet site it does not cause a problem. There is a sink outside to wash dishes however it does not have hot water.

The site fields seemed clean however the main problem is the hygiene of the facilities. We stayed for four days and over this period the toilets, the shower or the washing up area were not cleaned. It is a shame as this has put us off returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swest 7 reviews from this member

 This is the first time I have personally chosen a campsite for our family to visit (me, husband and 5 yr old daughter), and my husband has told me I made a very good choice. I have to agree!

We came on a weekend and stayed for one night at a cost of 10. The campsite included two fields which were both large and pretty flat. We were in the second field and part of it does 'dip,' but otherwise it was fine with only a slight slope.

There was plenty of room between pitches so we did not feel crowded at all. There was also plenty of room for children to play in the field. We happened to share the field with a large group who had about 10-14 children with them, and even so, there was still plenty of room for them all to run around.

The scenery is absolutely amazing! There are trees bordering the road, which do a great job of blocking out noise. But no trees blocking the views of the magnificent giant hills.

There were no issues with noise from campers during quiet hours and most campers were couples. There is a train track which is inaccessible (we lost our frisbee to it) and although the trains run fairly often, they are so fast and small (mostly passenger trains) that it is the equivalent of car noise. I think the last train ran around 10:30pm or 11:00pm, but again, even with pitching at the narrow end of the field, close to the tracks, the noise was not disturbing in the least and I would not let that put you off.

I did not use the shower, but it does take tokens that you have to get from the office - so plan for that. There were 3 or 4 toilets with plenty of loo roll - no problems there. The washing up sinks are outside, uncovered, so if it were raining that would be a little inconvenient. However, we were lucky enough to have a brilliantly sunny and warm weekend.

The farm is right next to some horse stables that offer pony trekking. This is one of the reasons I chose this site, because my daughter loves horses. We did do a half-hour farm ride on the ponies at a very reasonable price, but with some booking and riding experience under your belt, you can also take the ponies out of the farm for all day if you wish.

The campsite is close to Castleton, which we stopped by on our way home. There is plenty to do there.

We loved this campsite and plan to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buble 2 reviews from this member

 I visit this site very often at weekends with my partner for a quick getaway. The owner is always accommodating. The charges are fair. The site has a shower room, toilet block, chemical waste disposal point and pot washing area. All basic but adequate.

The thing I like about here most is that there is always a nice atmosphere. Its very laid back and no gangs of loud noisy people. Most people here are walkers / cyclists / couples and kids.

The views around the site are beautiful. If you like walks there are many lovely ones all around. A short drive to Hope and there are shops which sell most essentials, a garage, pub etc. or go the other direction to Edale for a couple of nice pubs, a cafe and shop.

The only thing missing to make this a perfect site would be a play area for the children.. Otherwise I love this place and plan to visit many more times in the future. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greenacres Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement