Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doone Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Doone Valley Campsite > Reviews

Doone Valley Campsite
Glebe House, Oare
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NU
Tel: 01598 741267  or  07866 005529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sapphie 3 reviews from this member

 The perfect place for families to enjoy. We took our granddaughters camping for their first time here having visited many times with our children when they were younger. We had a brilliant time, a stream to paddle in, camp fires in the evening to cook marshmallows over and clean toileting facilities. We enjoyed peace and quiet as we pitched at the far end of the field as we did not want to disturb other campers if the little one woke in the night, as it happened they slept until 9am as we had worn them out the day before.

There is no shop close by for essentials (the nearby cafe sells bread I think but not much else)so you need to plan your provisions well, there is no mobile signal either which means you can really get away from everything. The scenery is spectacular and plenty of walks from the campsite along the valley or up on to Exmoor. Closest town with reasonable shops is either Minehead or Barnstaple both of which are a 20+ min drive away.

Love the site but it does get busy in the school holidays. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smithstrio 2 reviews from this member

 Went with friends plus children and dogs, amazing time, kids loved playing in the stream that borders and the site - if you can get a pitch right by it go for it although it seems the most popular so if your going for a weekend get there as early as you can we pulled in on Friday morning and I expect in the school holidays its heaving.

Also no pitch layout so you have to watch how close others try to pitch to you

Can have camp fires which was fab and we took some marsh mellows yummy. There was also a picnic bench which was a blessing as we only had 1 camping table between us all.

Toilets and showers a bit basic but clean tidy and hot water

Go prepared to walk otherwise you'll miss the scenery which is fantastic There are woods opposite where we took the kids and dogs to wear them out and collect some more wood plenty just lying on the ground.

We didn't use the café but menu looked good.

As others have said owners seem laid back but they do find you at some point. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxkin 4 reviews from this member

 Camped here back in April and managed to get good, though slightly drizzly weather! It's the third or fourth time we've been having originally found it by chance around 6 years ago. We usually pop down just for a night but are gearing ourselves up for longer now the kids are older because it is such a beautiful spot.

Situated in a somewhat sheltered valley with a tea room around the corner (a tad on pricey side, but I understand it's good) and stables over the road (yet to try). The ground is nice and flat, if a little stoney but there are plenty of good sized firepits with logs for sale, if needed. They come round with logs twice a day though at nonspecific times, so you may have to wait.

The kids always enjoy themselves around the field or river, never had to take anything other than sleep toys! VERY quite except for the sounds of sheep or lambs.

Prices do seem to have gone up drastically in the last two years, paying £18. 00 this time (£12 for two adults and £3 per child), whereas it used to be £5 per tent per night! Logs are £5 per bag, with kindling and you do get a good amount. Shower and toilet facilities are basic and generally clean and the wash up area has hot water and a tap for drinking water, which is really helpful.

We've always enjoyed it here, sun or rain, and will continue to go back, in spite of the price hike. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Duzz 2 reviews from this member

 We came to stay here for a week as a group of 16 (4 separate units), we hired a field for a week (£90 per night, which worked out at £22. 50 per couple) as it was the only way we could get a booking, although our family had the electric hook-up, after some lighthearted haggling we managed to get this included within the £90 for the field. If there's a big group of you going, this could work out really good value as I reckon you could fit at least 20 tents into the field we were in.

The location is truly beautiful, the stream is great for the kids, we loved listening to the sheep and cows, this is a very relaxing site, you're surrounded on all sides by hills so you do lose the sun quite early but that is when the campfires come into their own! We had some roaring ones and came equipped with our own wood, although you can buy it from the owner. Beware the annoying midges in the early evening, bring some insect repellent with you.

Toilets are ok (4 of them) toilet roll kept well stocked. Two showers, not brilliant, sometimes warm, sometimes a tad hot but with the stunning scenery & location you can look past that!

We sampled the cafe just outside the campsite, £6. 50 for cod and chips, £6 for a pizza, very nice food & good portions.

Lots to do in the surrounding area, Lynmouth/Lynton are 15 minutes drive away, Minehead about half an hour, Combe Martin around 3/4 of an hour. The Valley of the Rocks is a must-do, good walking / scrambling, superb views, lots of goats & a great teashop to finish! However, there's so many different walks locally that you don't have to use your car at all if you don't want to.

We had such a relaxing time here, no phone signal unless you go up to the top of the hill, but we liked that!

All in all, this is a super but basic site in a stunning location-and that's what counts! We're planning on going back next year :) 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike Jackson 9 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 5 nights on this site in glorious sunshine. The site is beautifully positioned and is enhanced by the East Lyn river flowing through it, needless to say most campers preferred to pitch next to it.

£19 per night was very reasonable for two adults and two children, the only facilities offered were toilets, showers and washing up sinks, all with free hot water, and an undercover sitting area which would have been handy if it had rained. There were many fire pits so you can build your own camp fire with your own wood or you can buy it from the site owner.

There is a cafe and gift shop next door but the nearest pub is two miles away which can be reached on a very narrow road - not recommended!

The Doone Valley is delightful and has classic Exmoor features such as small hamlets / villages, picnic sites, the river and the church at Oare. Supplies were plentiful in Lynton which is about 4 miles away.

We had only one negative - lots of biting midges in the evening but once we had lit the fire they seemed to go elsewhere. The river could be a hazard to young children but on balance it offered loads to more savvy children, ours loved it.

We would visit this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lemonsherbert 2 reviews from this member

 Just had five nights here and was very pleased. Good flat camping ground in beautiful spot. Showers and other facilities good and kept clean and toilet roll well stocked! Only two showers per sex so might get a bit busy at peak times but I never had a problem.

There is no permenant warden on site so you just set up and the warden comes around a couple of times a day to collect pitch fees and do the cleaning. They are pretty laid back so don't worry about going off out again without having seen anyone, they'll catch up with you at some point. Cost £6 per adult per night plus £1 a night for the dog (sorry didn't make a note of kids prices as n/a for me!) so reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linz906 2 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous location. We have just spent five nights at this campsite through the August Bank holiday weekend, and yes it did get busy. Our only complaint is that the shower/washing up facilities, weren't adequate for that amount of people. But hey ho we didn't have to wait that long.

We were very lucky with the weather although pitching our sizeable tent in the pouring rain on Thursday evening wasn't great. All was resolved on Friday with blazing sunshine.

The campsite owner was a very nice lady who was very laid back, and very helpful. We had a great campfire, under a clear blue sky, and were lucky to see a firework display going off in the next valley.

It was a great place for children to play.

A couple of further gripes although not down to the campsite, was some people who decamped and left a load of rubbish around their firepit, and a dog owner who thinks that because they're camping, they don't have to clear up after their dog ! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mdjones 1 review from this member

 We just had a lovely stay at this beautiful site. The surrounding area is absolutely gorgeous. The site is very basic, but has all you need for a brilliant camping trip. The toilet/shower block is a short walk, even if you're at the furthest end of the camping field.

The toilets were clean and adequate enough for our stay. The tea room next door, The Buttery, does brilliant food

We had excellent fires all 3 of the nights we were there, which added to the experience. If I remember correctly we paid £10 for 2 bags of logs and a bag of kindling. The charging system is reasonable for the camping too, £5 per person per night. However if the owner believe you have a larger tent then you pay £2 extra

Overall this campsite provided us with a lovely holiday and I would definitely return 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greg123 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site two weeks before the kids broke up for the School Holiday's thinking that, hopefully, this time it would not be heaving. We have stayed here several time over the past 2 years, and each time we have been it has been rammed.

The site itself has many attractions; campfires, good toilet / shower block / plenty of hot water / location is fantastic etc, but unfortunately the owner seems to cram in so many tents it can become a completely different experience to the one you are inevitably looking for.

In my opinion this site would be one of the best sites in the West Country if the owners would limit the tents on the site, to the 40 pitches they advertise are available. We counted nearly double that amount which means you are literally camping on top of one another.

Moans out of the way, anyone who knows the Doone Valley will be familiar with the fantastic walking and views it has to offer. The site makes a great base for sorties into Exmoor or indeed to the coast. We found a fantastic place for lunch called the Hunters Inn, on the coastal road, just past Lynton, which catered brilliantly for Children.

If you are lucky enough to bag a pitch near the river (which is more like a stream), you can have a campfire. I would advise to bring your own wood if you have room as the logs that are sold on site are expensive and burn very quickly.

The Shower Block is large and has an abundance of hot water. There is no soap at the sinks which is a tiny detail but important nonetheless.

The bottom fields can get very boggy when it rains, so be careful, if you do find you have the option of picking a pitch down there.

Would I recommend this site?.Not in peak season. If you are lucky enough to get on the site and the density of tents to be as advertised or less, then you will have a good stay. In my opinion, Doone Valley Campsite has the potential to be one of the best sites around, but only if the owner addresses these fundamental points. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bagpussruth 6 reviews from this member

 Again another excellent stay on this campsite reviewed previously. We came down for the Lynton / Lynmouth Festival which is about a 15 min drive away. Excellent base for the festival.

Last year we had a bit of a problem with noise but this year it wasn't a problem at all, seemed quite a bit quieter than the the previous year in fact. Prices seemed to have changed slightly - still five pounds per person, but it's now 7 pounds per person if you aren't sharing a tent.

Nice hot water in showers, campsite owner sells wood and comes to collect the fees daily - you simply pitch up when you arrive. Some excellent walks from the campsite into the Brendan hills and beyond. Seemed to be lots of horse riding going on - two stables nearby - which seems an ideal way to explore the area.

Nice shallow river for the kids to play in with plenty of rope swings set up. Also small fish in the river which kept my little one entertained trying to catch them in her net.

Gets quite cold in the valley at night so don't forget extra blankets! 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Doone Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doone Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Doone Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement