Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doone Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Doone Valley Campsite > Reviews

Doone Valley Campsite
Glebe House, Oare
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NU
Tel: 01598 741267  or  07866 005529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxkin 4 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic stay at this picturesque campsite with our two young children (2 and 6). The fields are nicely level and there is plenty of room to pitch and have a great campfire.

The wash / toilet facilities are simple and clean with running hot water. The local tea room is very nice with great food and a bar. There are also stables nearby but unfortunately we haven't had a chance to try that yet, however we are sure to return again for such a lovely camping experience and maybe have a go at that too! Highly recommended for families of all ages. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LouiseRowe 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful campsite. We visited here at the beginning of the summer holidays - and yes it was a bit wet but when you are pitched in such a lovely valley it didn't seem to matter.

Had great fun playing in the river which didn't pose a safety issue (for our 2 and 4 year old).

Toilet block well cared for and cleaned twice a day.

Excellent area for mountain biking and walking.

The Buttery (Shop/cafe/bar)next door was very useful for milk and bread. Also does nice pizzas! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scoutkim3870 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights at this site. It's a really lovely location: quite isolated and tranquil but with a teashop / licensed bar / off sales next door open til about 7pm. The nearest pub or supermarket seems to be 4/5 miles away.
Despite all the recent rain it was not muddy at all and is flat. No advanced bookings. There is a lively river running along the edge with fire circles next to it. Fires are also permitted along the opposite edge of the field. Dogs are allowed and are supposed to be on leads.
There is a notice near the gate about the 'pattern' in which tents and cars should be positioned and mentioning an extra charge of 4 if space is 'wasted'. However when you arrive in a car the sign is not really visible so we put up our tent before reading it. Basically you are asked to choose a fire circle and pitch your tent behind it but not too far back, then put your car behind it so that there is a large corridor left down the middle of the site and people can also pitch either side of you if the camp is busy, which it was not when we were there.
The owner sells wood when she comes round but there is no pressure; you can bring your own. The charging system is 5 per adult per night in a small tent. There is a 2 per night supplement for a large tent or an extra vehicle.
The toilets and showers are clean but they are also used by the people in the group camping fields so there can be a wait. There is a public toilet block just outside the gate and this was also clean and well-maintained so could be used as a back-up but only has cold water.
There are two washing up sinks on the site with hot water. There were quite a few flying insects so an insect repellent would be a good thing to bring with you. All in all we thought it was a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Biggreenvan 1 review from this member

 Preferring basic free-camping we think this site is fantastic and have visited often, basic clean showers and hot water on tap. - as close to wild camping as we get these days. The site owner seems to appreciate that children need to splash about in streams and behave a little feral at times which is refreshing.

Following the river upstream until the path turns SW up onto the moor proper is one of the most beautiful walks in the area. We have taken tents and walked this way, continuing across the moor to Simnsbath to the forest inn for fab food and decent ale, pitched the tent down the road and taken a leisurely stroll back to malmesmead the next day - thoroughly recommended!

It is possible to walk to the pub in Brendon and back from the site if you don't have too much of a skinful and have very good legs.

The only note of caution to add to all this praise concerns the potential for flooding during prolonged downpours. We had three days of torrential rain there this year and found ourselves taking down the awning in two feet of water at three am.

The only part of the field affected is the ten metres of field by the riverbank where the streams converge, approx two thirds of the way down the field. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bagpussruth 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed her for 4 nights over the Lynton/Lynmouth weekend. First night the site was relatively empty, festival nights it was busier but did not feel crowded.

The setting of the site was amazing - in a really pretty valley right next to a babbling river. Campfires are allowed so we had a firepit & a campfire during our stay. Missed the lady when she came round with her logs, so mainly used our own, buying an extra bag of kindling from a camping shop in Lynton.

We paid 5 each (for two of us in a small 4 man tent). Lady came round each morning to collect the money. Toilets were clean, showers and sink water hot (showers were like swimming pool showers where you have to push the button in to use).

The site is quite remote so you would need a car to explore the area fully. Lots of walks starting from the campsite though (would recommend taking as OS map of the area so you can explore fully). If you walk up the hill at dusk by the woods you can watch loads of bats flying about.

In summary one of the nicest sites I've stayed on in terms of setting. The only small point I'd make was that the farmhouse which the site belonged to appeared to be a way away so any issues late into the evening had to be dealt with between the campers. We had some noise during our stay, but this ceased when we asked them to keep the noise down & on the last night a group of youngish kids threw a load of toilet paper around.

Despite these issues will still hopefully come back to stay on the site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garrysmith 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for three nights in August, it was a bit damp (mostly low cloud mist in the mornings and evenings) but is surrounded by beautiful sheep speckled hills. We pitched our three tents right next to the stream, my ten year old son paddled safely in the water which is clear with fast running (cold) water - it was a perfect setting, with a crackling campfire to keep us warm as night fell.

If you're looking for a family-friendly campsite then Doone Valley is perfect - we will definitely be back for more! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colne48 3 reviews from this member

 We defected to this campsite from Cloud Farm where we'd had an incredible time but were finding it a little expensive. 10 at Doone Valley seemed reasonable so we pulled up and set up camp - all very relaxed which was nice, the owner comes around in the evening to collect money.

The stream was good - the kids obviously enjoyed it. Fires were allowed but the owner disapproved as we bought our own firewood - not hers!

Toilet block was servicable but very wet and dirty by the time everyone had swum in the river and showered. The washing up area was facing the campsite which meant people were standing round talking until late in the night.

The local shops were nice and it is a very beautiful area.

Overall, we felt it had a slightly neglected feel and did not stay another night. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne9 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Doone Valley - returned after a great time last year - nightmare end to the holiday this year. Too overcrowded, not enough showers/toilets for the number of tents/caravans - says 30 pitches but at least double this if not more.

Lovely setting - great walks - peaceful until spoilt by large groups of loud, foul mouthed people keeping everyone awake until 4 am 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarecrossland 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site perfect location plenty of pitches alongside the stream. The surrounding area is beautiful great for walking. The campsite also leaves you to yourselves except to drop of wood for your fire. Only slight hitch was we could not find a pub within walking distance in evening which we desperately needed in the torrential rain, although there was a lovely cafe that sold alcohol until 6pm. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Winni 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, good flat pitch next to a big stream which gurgled away soothingly night and day. Some good shelter from wind and sun at the top half of the site, no escape from the rain on our trip though! The ground drained pretty well with minimal mud despite the conditions. Showers and toilets are okay and reasonably clean. Firewood was lousy though, tiny chunks of mildewy very old wood! Buy elsewhere. Otherwise recommend wholeheartedly, whether you're adults looking for a chilled out rural site, or with kids who might like the swing over, and swimming in the, stream! 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Doone Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doone Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Doone Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement