Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doone Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Doone Valley Campsite > Reviews

Doone Valley Campsite
Glebe House, Oare
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NU
Tel: 01598 741267  or  07866 005529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HYPE 3 reviews from this member

 Having researched many campsites in many areas we chose Doone Valley as from previous reviews it sounded exactly what we (one family new to camping, one family previous experience(s) of camping and my family used to it) wanted - no entertainment and just the basics.

The site itself was flat, in very pleasant surroundings with a shallow river for paddling (younger kids) / swinging into (if you are older) although the noise of the rivers mini waterfall at night seemed very noisy - bear this in mind if you have a weaker bladder or take ear-plugs!

The shower/toilet block (ladies side) was okay - 2 warm showers, 4 loos but the floor did get a little damp and slippy at the end of the day. The washing up area is around the side of the block - only 2 sinks though, so sometimes a queue.

Not all the dogs were kept on leads and there were a few 'deposits' on site - not good especially for kids and people wandering around without shoes!

Another thing to bear in mind is a potential under-occupancy charge. I was charged extra for having a large tent (coleman bi-space 5 person supposedly) when there were 3 of us sleeping in there, Myself (adult rate), one 7 year old (child rate) and one large 4 year old (free). My friends next door who had a larger three 'pod' 8 man tent with 4 sleeping but only three paying (2 ads, 1 Child and 1 under 5) were not charged extra - I know it only cost me £10 per night but it does seem unfair particularly for 1 parent families.

There is a shop at nearby cloud hill farm campsite and 'The Buttery' next to campsite neither of which we tried but we did venture to Lynmouth / Lynton and Porlock on the few days we were there, both have Costcutter supermarkets, are not far away and Lynton / Lynmouth (including Watersmeet) are very quaint and pretty. My family also ventured to Lee Bay, which has a pebbly/boulder beach with a very small amount of black sand, via the Toll road (£1 charge) and via Valley of Rocks - a lovely discovery and drive although steep downhill at times.

Due to some horrible weather we ate at 'The Blue Ball Inn' food ok and large portions but did have to wait a long time for it probably because there were 5 adults and 7 kids in our party!

On the whole we did have a lovely few days away in a very pretty part of the country - the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves, totally enjoyed the freedom and even helped with the washing up! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JuliaV 1 review from this member

 Loved this campsite! We only stayed sat-thurs but it was super! Great walks, weather not too bad but can get chilly in the evening. Having a log fire kept away any biting insects and was ideal excuse for toasting marshmallows. The Buttery is good for cream teas and pizza even if it is a bit expensive. Great meals at the Stag hunter (?) pub in Brendon and they don't mind if you have a dog with you.

The showers were clean and warm as long as the people using them in front of you didn't take all day. The loos were also clean. We like campsites that are just that, campsites! no clubhouse or the like, so this was perfect. The drive down from the main road is a bit scary first time and always grateful when there wasn't anything coming the other way. Will most def be back before too long. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whiting4 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights and had a great holiday.

Its in a beautiful area with lovely views. You really feel as if you're getting away from it all.

The facilities are a little tired but do the job fine.

What really makes this campsite special is the little stream that run alongside the right hand side of the main field. The kids can play in it (and grown-ups too). Its also really lovely to be able to have a real camp fire.

The owner comes round every morning and evening on her quad bike to see to your needs.

Lynton and Lynmouth are close by. We visited the dinosaur parks which the kids love.

In summary, my husband adores this campsite and would love to go back. For me, the toilets and showers were a little basic. If they were updated / extended then it would be just perfect! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fabdogs 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite twice for a few days at a time, mainly because of its fabulous position in the valley, with great walks straight from the site.
As dog owners without children we try to go away mid week out of holiday time and for us personally we would not like to go in the holiday period as this would spoil what is an idyllic place. Even so there were a few children on site and they did tend to play till late by the river making a lot of noise.
The site facilities are basic but adequate for short stays, some of the pitches by the river do not get as much sun as others and can get quite cold at night, but the campfires are a nice idea. The homemade pizzas from the tearooms are excellent and most welcome after a long days walks. I would return to this site again for short breaks. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pheel 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived on the Saturday morning and stayed for just one night, but really wish I could of stayed longer as it’s a great site in a lovely area. If you like walking or riding this is definitely the place for you.

The main field was quite busy, the busiest side was over by the river. There were other smaller fields that were empty but they were reserved for school trips. The ground is fairly flat and soft with the added advantage that you are allowed campfires. You can order wood off the woman who comes around on her quad to collect your money (£5 pppn), but if like me your not there in the morning to put your order in then you have to go off and find your own wood.

Toilets and washing up area are o.k, but at peak times I did see a queue for the washing up area. A few things slightly bothered me about the mens loo’s, - A) the showers were o.k, but a little tired looking B) there was only 1 light in the middle of the whole room which wasn’t that bright C) the windows in the cubicles were clear glass??!.Not frosted.

There is a nice bar/shop located about a minutes walk down the road…. But it shuts at 8pm. The villages of Lynton and Lymouth are close by in a car.

There were quite a few dogs on the site and most (but not all) owners kept them under control. Due to the site being a Valley it can get very windy, the hills act as a wind tunnel. Over all I would love to return to the site and would recommend it to any one. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevray 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent 9 days here and wish I was still there what a fantastic site, everything you need to hand and the showers are free.
£5.00 a night for adults and £3 for kids.
Carol the owner is a lovely lady and very friendly even freezing our ice blocks for nothing. The kids loved the river with the swing and the bridge by the buttery, what lovely friendly people and the pizzas are good. You can even have a field to yourself if you are part of a large group, the views are to die for and if you like walking it is the ideal base. The only thing I would say is the logs arent very good that you can buy on site, you dont get many for your money but if thats all I've got to moan about. I can live with it. Hope to go again soon as we've all got withdraw symptons. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deb + gerry 1 review from this member

 We've stayed at the site many times over the last few years & have enjoyed every single stay. Carole (site owner) is very friendly and punctual with her log deliveries, she keeps the site and it's facilites spotless.
Great walks in the valley, amongst the fields of sheep, along the rivers and passed the waterfalls, the surrounding area is breathtaking and the local people are all very friendly too.
The Buttery (local tearooms) is run by Gill & Bob both wonderful people who provide refreshments all day and a superb afternoon tea, the pizzas they make in the evenings are a great take away to have back at your tent in front of your real log fire.
As it's also a licensed bar a cool pint of Amstels is worth travelling here all the way from Wales for. This place is heaven on earth, and we can't wait for the season to begin again. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike Testar 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, well signposted and easy to find. Not too large and in September when we went there was ample space and no need to book. Shower & toilet facilities clean. With it's valley location it certainly goes cold so camp fires are a must. Bags of wood are £4.50 delivered from the owner in the evening. There is a cafe, 'The Buttery', located by the site entrance, where you can get drinks, snacks and cream teas 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne9 18 reviews from this member

 Arrived weekend before Bank Holiday. Weather not brilliant, heavy downpour Monday but then glorious sunshine. The site is lovely, stream alongside, lovely countryside to go walking in. Carol comes round morning and night on her quad to collect the money and also to collect/deliver ice packs which are frozen for free, her little dog stands on the back. Only downside was the fact only two showers in the ladies which by the Bank Holiday weekend you had to queue but people are generally quick.  My boyfriend and I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, most people camping were very friendly, can't wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmartin 3 reviews from this member

 I almost don't want to tell anyone about this site, it is such a lovely place. We had a marvellous week in Exmoor. The facilities are fine, very good value for money and a lovely spot. Like other reviewers, we headed for Cloud Farm first,which was full and very noisy, and we were very pleased with this alternative. With two boys, it was the perfect haven- log fires and hours of fun in the idyllic stream. Exmoor is gorgeous- don't miss view at top of Porlock Hill and holiday resorts are close by. The boys hada aday's surfing tuition in Woolacoombe and we did some horse riding across Exmoor (there are stables a short drive away from the site)Only downside was the fact that, being in a valley, evenings were spent in shadow- fires warmed us up! 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Doone Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doone Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Doone Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4707 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement