Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doone Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Doone Valley Campsite > Reviews

Doone Valley Campsite
Glebe House, Oare
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NU
Tel: 01598 741267  or  07866 005529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanvoy23 1 review from this member

 We visited the Doone Valley campsite for the first time in May 2007 and we will definitely be returning. The scenery is stunning, the facilities are great, and the owners are lovely. The showers and toilets were generally clean and accessible, and the hot showers were wonderful! The Buttery shop is worth a visit and we would recommend their pizzas and butter biscuits! We enjoyed building campfires, essential in the valley which can get quite cold later in the day, also great fun. The villages of Lynton and Lynmouth are quite close and are really beautiful. I had the best fish and chips of my life on the esplanade at Lynmouth! We found the small hamlets and villages we came upon just as beautiful as the more established places. We didn't know this place even existed, but we will return time and again and we're already telling everyone we know about it. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elenitsa 3 reviews from this member

 First time camping in 20 years and what a site to choose! Pitched alongside the river first thing in the morning (while one of the Shetlands was still snoring!), had a great log fire at night (£4 a bag), perfectly adequate and wonderfully clean toilets and showers (free and hot!) and access to the most delicious spring water! Good washing up facilities. And all for £4 per adult. Exmoor is glorious, although my legs are still aching from our yomps and we had an Indian summer weekend. Absolute perfection - can't wait to go back in April! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keswick 5 reviews from this member

 We had intended to visit Cloud Farm but when we got there (it was August) there were no flat pitches available. It was also very expensive.
 
We had passed this site and thought why not give it a go as the field was flat and there were a few spaces available.
 
It was very good value. Campfires allowed and wood sold (brought around by Carol on her quad bike) . Clean shower block and although only two showers, I only ever waited behind one person in a queue. The showers were free as well.
 
Will return, if it remains good value. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellyns 2 reviews from this member

 Wow, what an amazing campsite. Pitch where you like, plenty of space, river running through it for kid's to paddle and swim, and open fire's in the evening. Ideal for anyone who likes a more traditional camping experience, but with a few home comforts thrown in!
Campsite owner very friendly, delivering logs on her quad bike, and showers / toilets kept nice and clean. Teashop next to campsite which sells bread and milk, as well as being licensed so you can have a drink lunchtime or evening.
Nearby another campsite has a shop where you can buy a good selection of food wine and non-food stuff. There is a small gift shop next to teashop where you can buy maps of the local area. We bought one and explored the Doone valley walk, following the river part of the way, which is lovely and deep for adult swimming in places as well as a perfect place to have picnic's.
Only drawback is that being in a valley it is very cold in the evenings, so you need to take plenty of warm bedding and jumpers to wear while sitting round your open fire. If being slightly chilly is not a problem to you then I cannot think of one other reason why you would not want to visit such a lovely unspoilt campsite.
Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Blountvw 8 reviews from this member

 A lovely relaxed site.  Fires are allowed and you can camp right by the river.  Fabulous.  Very informal with no fixed pitches.  There are picnic tables here and there which is useful too.  Washing-up facilities good.  There are two showers in the ladies, which were fine - hot and free as I recall.  At one stage there was a group of Duke-of-Edinburgh students on site though and we could have done with a few more showers then as there was a bit of a wait.  We had a very relaxing a peaceful few days here.  Would recommend it.  The other thing to recommend this site is the price.  I think we paid £6 per night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildcamper 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site 7 times now and just thing it's the best one we've ever been to. The situation is superb, the laid back approach very refreshing and the facilities are all you need and are clean. Stunning walks on the doorstep, log fires at night and some of the starriest, clear skies you will ever see. The perfect place to get away from it all, helped along by Carol Burge who runs it in a friendly, quietly efficient way. Heaven! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amloughrey 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite. The toilet and shower facilities were very clean and there was a lovely licensed tea-shop within easy walking distance. It was a definite plus being able to have a log fire at the site and have an opportunity to toast marshmallows.

Doone Valley Campsite was a short car drive away from the Valley of the Rocks, which was truly breathtaking. The exceptional scenery and glorious weather completed a very relaxing weekend.

I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surfgurl 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent campsite. This was my second trip here and we are planning another for next year. I was part of a large group and we had rented the field over the other side of the stream which meant we had lots of room for all the kids to play and plenty of space for all our tents and equipment.

The local area is lovely, there are plenty of walks. You may want to get an OS map so you can follow the footpaths. The site is on Exmoor so it's possible to get lost very easily. Lynton and Lynmouth are the nearest places for shops (and the helpful chemist for the medical emergency we had last year!) The site is close enough to Minehead and Porlock for days out there too. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: PeterBex 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site in a deep valley with riverside camping, log fires and free - hot! - showers. Spacious and CLEAN toilet block. Drinking water is drawn from a spring. The farmer, Mrs Burge, brings logs around every evening - £3.50/bag.

Watch the weather drift over the moorland tops, buzzards soaring and on a clear night the biggest starscape you will ever see. This is a perfect location for an easy, stress free, affordable holiday. Clearly marked tracks from the site will take you high onto the moors, along deeply wooded river valleys or onto the South West Coastal Path, via the visitors centre at County Gate. Licensed bar, cakes and ice cream at the Buttery in the hamlet of Malmsmead, two minutes away. Fantastic holiday - thank you Mrs Burge - we will be back next year. 


Reviewer: Benfield90 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Doone Valley Campsite is in a wonderful, peaceful location. Situated alongside a river that is fenced off at most points so you need not panic each time the kids are running around outside. The toilets and showers are kept lovely and clean. There is no mobile signal there so you really are away from it all. The owner can be heard every now and then, driving around on her quad bike. She is lovely and very cheerful. Plenty of space for pitches, but not too big a site, so it is not overcrowded. We will return. 5 stars.  


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Doone Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doone Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Doone Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2094 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement