Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doone Valley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Doone Valley Campsite > Reviews

Doone Valley Campsite
Glebe House, Oare
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6NU
Tel: 01598 741267  or  07866 005529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Petean 1 review from this member

 We loved this campsite! The location on a flat field beside river and surrounded by hills was just perfect.

Carol, the owner, was super helpful and brought round logs each evening if needed.

It is a lovely place to start walks from and is really near the sea for walking on the coast path.

We needed to use the ford with our caravan but thankfully it was quite shallow.

Our dog particularly loved swimming for sticks in the river!

We’ll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Asdu21 3 reviews from this member

 Nice campsite and loved the location, toilets/showers/dish washing area cleaned twice a day and stocked up.

The owner nice enough to lend us a lighter as we forgot one. However, be aware of the following:

1. A hidden cost for charging your electronic devices (no socket available to use by the camping guests, but there is one in a locked room - you will not be told to pay until you actually charged something)

2. Per the website, prices for adults/children are per night; if you camp with dogs be aware that the owner charges per dog per night - contradictory to what the website states

3. Noisy pagan campsite next door 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Smoake 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful spot, so peaceful and unspoiled.

I was lucky to visit at a very quiet time (one other couple only) and had a magical evening with the full moon and stars, campfire and the river running by just a few feet away. It was pretty cold but the sound of water lulled me to sleep.

Good clean facilities on site too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ruthah 1 review from this member

 Fabulous riverside campsite in beautiful unspoilt surroundings where simple facilities are clean and absolutely adequate.

Warm welcome from very helpful reception staff in the useful small shop with basic supplies.

Fabulous fresh croissants in the morning, an unexpected bonus! Great hiking circuits from the campsite over some of the most scenic parts of Exmoor.

Great to arrive back to the campsite afterwards where we were allowed to have an open fire/barbecue.

No light pollution allows fantastic star gazing. Great campsite! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wellman 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, clean toilets and showers, nice to be able to have a camp fire, big sack of logs £4. 5.

The days we were there were quite breezy in the evening through the valley a windbreak would be a good idea.

Extremely narrow roads to the site, definitely wouldn’t attempt with a caravan. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Brianalfred 12 reviews from this member

 Carol's campsite is terrific, a step up from basic but still with the basic feel. Beautifully hot showers (free) and spotless facilities - showers, loos wash basins and wash-up facilities all regularly cleaned and checked.

The site has no discernible slope anywhere, there are picnic tables dotted about all over and a good number of camp-fire spots. You can camp right by the river if you wish - beautiful! Carol is always happy to help. She'll reserve a field or area for a large group if she can - the stone circle field is particularly self contained.

For covid19 Carol keeps us all well spaced and anti-bac sprays/gels in all useful locations.

There are lots of good local walks out of the site - no need to drive anywhere if you don't want to. (The river walk towards Brendon is especially lovely (if a bit muddy) - access across the road bridge and down the Rectory farm lane, by the river for a good half mile then rises on the valley side. The walk to the medieval village is also lovely)

Some areas are reserved for games but otherwise there aren't any swings etc.

There are a few down-sides - as far as I can make out there is only one water point - at the wash-up area - so a long walk from the other end of the site and showers could do with some more hooks but that's about it. Oh yes - not that Carol can do anything about it - but the sun dips below the valley side an hour or more before sunset and the valley seems to get quite chilly (esp May 2021!) - but the camp-fire points are useful.

All for £10pppn, extra for EHUs. Not bad. I'm quite likely to go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Wor Joe 4 reviews from this member

 Having booked, our pitch was labelled for us. No reception, just drive in and pitch. Plenty of room.

Facilities all OK and are cleaned 3 times per day.

There is an 'events'field hosting rallies and parties; generally people were well behaved - though whoever filled the washing up sink with disgusting leftover food should be ashamed of themselves - but naturally young people sit around campfires talking until the small hours, and their children play loudly from 6am onwards, so I would say it's not the place for older people wanting absolute peace and quiet.

Getting in and out involves single track roads and very steep ascents and descents, so not ideal for large rigs or caravans.

Overall we enjoyed it and the surrounding area is stunningly beautiful. Worth a punt. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adnamabrown 2 reviews from this member

 Love this site. No need to book, just turn up, but recommended to get there early (no arrival or departure times). Good price, facilities basic but lovely and clean. Stream is lovely for the kids to paddle in, camp fires allowed too, which is always a bonus. Owner Carole is very friendly, and recognised my mum from previous trips. Like so much, we're going back for another weekend in Mid August.

My family have been visiting this site for many years, and I first took my children/husband in July 2015, when we did a big family camp. We have visited with them again each year since. This will be the first year we have done 2 visits. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShadowC 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with flat pitches and the ability to have a camp fire. The site was well maintained and the facilities, (toilets, showers and washing up area) were clean. During my visit the site manager dealt with a rowdy bunch quickly and effectively and the noise soon ceased. Bravo!

There are no shops for supplies, just a gift shop and a pub / cafe so bring your supplies with you. I loved the lack of phone signal, if you need to talk to someone you have to walk up the wooded hill behind the site.

I liked the idea of a children's field, the dog walking field, and they had clearly separated off a youth group camp in a field of their own which was a really good plan.

The river runs right beside the camp which is lovely, but do expect there to be a lot of flies (camp fire helps with this). I didn't go in the water by the site but did get a lovely walk along side the river where I found pools deep enough for adults to take a dip in if they were so inclined.

I fully intend to make this camp site a regular haunt. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayfamily 4 reviews from this member

 Small site at the end of a long and narrow country road. Nice flat pitching with plenty of room and you can pitch right up to the river bank although there is only one block of toilets/showers so if you go down the far end, you will have quite a walk back.

Booking isn't required, just pitch and the lady comes round and takes the money - you can also buy logs from her at a reasonable rate.

The showers and toilets are basic but adequate and were pretty clean.

There is ZERO mobile reception in the valley - fine for getting away but frustrating if you need to meet other people or you get lost :-)

Our children had great fun playing in/around the river which is quite shallow in a lot of places and really only getting to 2-3ft deep at the points we saw.

We were up obscenely late (almost dawn!) as were a few other groups, sat around a campfire with friends chatting and the river as background music, it was a brilliant weekend.

There are no shops around, the shop that used to be by the ford is now a little Inn so make sure you have everything before arriving. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Doone Valley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doone Valley Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Doone Valley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement