Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Rhyd Ddu > Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms Reviews

Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms
Snowdon Base Camp
At The Foot Of Snowdon
Rhyd Ddu
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 6TL
Tel: 01766 890321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anon854hd 4 reviews from this member

This was an amazing campsite!

The facilities are lovely, plenty of toilets and showers, really clean and modern and best of all they had underfloor heating so were warm and lovely with no dank cold corners!

Lots of lovely little attention to detail was spent, such as attaching wheels to one end of the picnic table so you can easily move them to where you want, and the fire sleds were brilliant.

The site itself is level and next to a lovely stream with amazing views of mount Snowdon itself, as well as lovely hills all around. Easy to get to most of the places we wanted to visit and we saw bus stops on the main road very close to the turning for the site so it seems getting around by public transport might have been possible.

The campsite is a little further from the pub than we expected (we thought having a campsite next to a pub would be great in April so if it was a cold and rainy night we could warm up in the pub all evening and then within minutes be tucked up warm in bed. In reality its at least a 5-10 minute walk so if it were rainy and cold you'd be wet and cold by the time you got back, but the distance does mean the site was incredibly peaceful (plus it turned out to be dry when we went so the short walk wasn't a problem).

Owners were helpful and friendly and easy to find if we needed them.

Overall, a wonderful place, we'd definitely visit again and recommend to friends

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamesb8345 1 review from this member

A very nice campsite with new clean shower and toilet block with external pot wash.

Due to their no music rule, the site is very peaceful set in Beddgelert Forest with stunning views of Snowdonia National Park and views down the valley to Caernarfon.

There is very little in Rhyd-Ddu so bring everything you need, though there is a Morrisons in Caernarfon a small drive from the site, We did not use the pub as they know that they have got the monopoly and the prices were more than we could afford. On the other hand the Ty Mawr Tea Rooms just a little walk up from the pub is very reasonably priced and well worth trying their Dutch Pancakes.

There are many walking Routes that can be taken from this camp site from well marked beginner/tourist paths to very quiet less trodden routes for the hardened walker.

The only negative points to make were:

During our stay it was very wet and the camp site was not very well drained so the ground become very water logged and subsequently very muddy.

-Also -

They have a eco reed bed that purifies the waste water from the Shower block and pot wash, which is a nice idea however did smell when the wind was in the wrong direction.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Miss Rigby 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is in lovely surroundings, with a newly built toilet block. It appears to be kept to a high standard (toilets clean, grass cut etc).

There are a couple of things which let this campsite down. First of all you can't park next to your tent but they provide 'trolleys', out of about 6 of these trolleys 1 or 2 were usable. The rest were missing wheels or completely damaged. For 9 per person, per night they could fix these. If you are a family it is going to take a lot of trips to get your stuff to your pitch.

Another thing is there is a severe lack of trust, the owner of the campsite came round to our tent to 'check we've paid' (I. E, making sure we're not doing anything naughty) 4 times in one day. Which I feel is very extreme.

The campsite is really nice but you get the impression they are all about making money (we had to pay for a 2 year old). The bags of logs you *have* to buy from them are 4 for not very much wood and god help you if you buy from somewhere else or pick a stray piece of wood off the floor. Off with your head! (Buy the wood for 2. 30 from the petrol station and hide it in your tent!)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sallyd 1 review from this member

This is an excellent camp site in a beautiful setting - it is about 10-15 minutes walk from the pub but it is secluded and immaculately maintained. The new shower /washing block facilities are spotless although I can imagine that when the site is busy the standard cannot be the same.

We were in a group of 4 - 2 in a van, 2 in a tent. It is necessary to park the campervan at the side of the camping area. We just pitched the tent nearby. Although we did not use them, there are moveable tables/benches and fire containers all over the site.

We arrived at the pub about 10. 00 pm so missed out on food - they stop serving 8. 00 - 9. 00pm depending. We ate there one night after climbing Snowdon and it was delicious (if a little pricey and smallish helpings for those who've been physically active all day).

Suggestions to the owners:

- add a couple of benches in the washing blocks

- provide information for refuse/recycling

- provide a few filling/economic 'extras' to the pub menu

We would definitely return if visiting that part of Snowdon.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Whoopsadaisy 1 review from this member

What a fabulous location! Stopped off at the pub to collect a friend and pay for our stay. Arrived at the site about 8. 30 on Friday evening to find we were the only ones on site. Perfect!

Nice chap came along to open up the shower block, which was lovely and clean and the water was lovely and warm. Much needed!

There is a charge of 50p to use the hair dryer / sockets in the shower block, which I didn't mind paying, but was surprised when I found out how long the 50p lasted, about 1 minute, not long enough for even the shortest / finest hair to get dry So 1.50 later I still had damp hair.

That being said, will definitely return before the month is out (just prepared with more 50p's!). The walk down to the lake on the Boardwalk is beautiful in the evening, look out for the crocs!

Lovely short walk through the woods to the local pub too. A brill site for basic campers who like the little luxury of flushing toilets and warm showers!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chillipepper71 1 review from this member

My partner has been staying on this campsite for a few years & introduced me to it just after we met in July 2010 & I have stayed here with him on numerous occasions ever since.

The location is superb, right on the shores of Llyn Cwellyn. The site is well maintained & since the new shower block opened last June, the facilities are great. There are plenty of fire pits & picnic benches provided but make sure you buy the logs for the fire pits from the pub & not from anywhere else or you will face the wrath of Graham!

There are no set pitches on Cwellyn, my favourite place to pitch is the bottom field in the right corner just where the river opens out into the lake, only drawback is its the farthest from the toilet block! It does get very boggy in wet weather & occasionally the field floods so no camping at all.

The pub is very cosy & the meals are nice although quite overpriced! It does get very busy at times too so no seats. We have only eaten there once, its cheaper to buy booze & cook on the fire, nicer views too!

Lovely site & we are planning on going back several times this year. Oh & don't forget the midge spray - there are loads!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heidspide 1 review from this member

Had a great weekend at this campsite - it is in the most stunning location I have ever stayed in.

Most campers are climbing Snowdon - we did a round trip all on foot going up the Ranger path, down the Rhyd Ddu path and back to the campsite via the pub. It was 9 miles all round which we did over a leisurely 7. 5 hours.

We ate in the pub which was nearly wonderful (if expensive) except for all our meals arriving without vegetables (apparently you have to order them separately which at 2. 50 each was not great, on top of an expensive meal). We couldn't believe the chef had served such drab coloured meals - even the kids meals didn't have peas or baked beans.

Campsite wasn't especially cheap - my 12 year old classed as an adult so worked out at 28 per night for our family of 4 which is the most we have paid for camping, and didn't even get hookup with that. But lovely not having to use the car all weekend. Able to pre-book over the phone, gave first night as deposit.

Recommend getting a bag of logs per night (4 each, they include some kindling) - the fire pits are brill, more than enough to go round, and fend off the midges.

We camped right by lake - lovely, no waterlogging (even though lots of rain one night); only downside was that it was furthest from toilet block and carpark. On balance I would camp in the same location again.

New toilet block stunning, lovely free showers. Hairdryers available for 50p, also electric socket in there for 50p - but not sure how long you have got.

Lovely campsite, but think I would only come again if I climbed Snowdon.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mylzez 2 reviews from this member

Impressive campsite on side of lake, but which is 0. 7 miles from pub along narrowish road - as booked from a pub campsite website, we felt very mislead - i. E. It is not a pub campsite! Facilities at the campsite were clean and newly built but a bit whiffy!

Be wary of midges (there were thousands of them when we were there)

As well as odd pub opening hours and odd meal time hours - the chef goes when the landlord feels like it, and the pub closed at 9:50 in the evening as apparently wasn't worth staying open just for the two of us! We were not impressed.

Also noted this appeared in Ride Magazine (Motorcycling magazine) as an excellent site - I could not agree with the view (as motorcyclists) and wonder if it was at a midge free time of year when the owner was more friendly, which would not have been difficult.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilbailey 5 reviews from this member

I stumbled on this site when I popped into the Cwellyn Arms for a well earned pint after a day on Snowdon.

The site is about half a mile down the valley from the pub and is spectacularly located at one end of Llynn Cwellyn with marvellous views of Snowdon and the surounding mountain scenery.

It is on the Sherpa bus routes so if you fancy a day or two without driving, transport is not an issue. It is also very close to the Welsh Highland Railway (station at Rhydd Ddu) which is a great day out if you're cream-crackered after too much mountain walking.

The site has two fields for tents (the ownwer is not a fan of caravans!) and hardstanding areas for car parking. Cars are not allowed onto the fields but tents and luggage can easily be transported from car to pitch by using the fat-wheeled trolleys provided for the purpose. Keeping the cars off the fields prevents the ground being cut up in wet weather and gives the place a more relaxed ambience.

There is an extensive boardwalk giving access to lakeside and forest walks- a nice way to limber in the morning. For a more energetic outing the Rhydd Ddu and Snowdon Ranger paths to Snowdon's summit are both within a mile or so of the site.

When I visited the finishing touches were being made to a new facilities block. The block was open for use and the showers, toilets and pot washing areas were all excellent- among the most luxurious I have found on any site.

When I visited there was a fair bit of rain and this meant there were a few puddled patches on the site. Generally though the fields seemed pretty well drained and I had no problems. There were plenty of picnic table-benches and sturdy raised fire pits on site but also plenty of midges, so be sure to take your extra strength repellent along.

The pub (Cwellyn Arms) had a relaxed atmosphere with log fires, separate restaurant area, an extensive choice of excellent real ales and friendly staff. I ate at the pub on only one occasion but found the menu quite extensive and imaginative. Although not particularly cheap, the food I had was excellent and I would certainly eat there again.

All in all my experience of staying at this site was extremely enjoyable and I am looking forward to returning sometime soon

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: -I+L- 1 review from this member

This site doesn't seem to have changed much since the last posts.

Its location is perfect for walking up Snowdon and the views are great when the weather allows. If however it rains the site comes completely water logged.Still. Suspect this will always be the one fault of the site. It does however make it easy to get the tent pegs in!

The pub is about a 15min walk away, with good ale and okay food. The food is expensive for what you get but after walking up Snowdon it was nice not to have to cook.

Facilities are basic and minimal (2 loos, 2 showers, 1 wet room), however saying this we never had to wait. There does appear to be two more blocks being built.?

I would recommend this campsite. The location is spectacular and the campfires are a winner, my advice would be to make sure your tent and shoes are waterproof.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Rhyd Ddu      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2108 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020