Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Rhyd Ddu > Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms Reviews

Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms
Snowdon Base Camp
At The Foot Of Snowdon
Rhyd Ddu
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 6TL
Tel: 01766 890321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Painter man 1 review from this member

Really surprised to find the campsite nearly a mile away from the pub but with lager happily tucked in van I proceeded down the road.

At first glance of the site it looked a bit grubby, toilet block although being 'cleaned' at the time had an array of insects and cobwebs that a spray of a hose pipe wouldn't have gone a miss.

I pitched up on a Friday lunchtime but by Saturday night the lower field was getting filled.

The car park is away from the field so be aware of air beds that need to be pumped up by car pump.

Overall the view will win you over and as I camped in prime spot by the lake ( see my pics Vango Beta 350 review) it ended up being a beautiful weekend apart from the mud filled, basic facilities.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CM1969 1 review from this member

A 'Dads & Lads' weekend in my friends tent. Mount Snowdon directed location of campsite only other req's were a toilet and that open fires were allowed.

The campsite could do with a clear sign as it's not that near the pub and as it's set back off the road a bit but when you pay for the stay in the pub you are given a map to find it.

Once there you choose where you want to pitch and get on with it (pitches not marked). The site itself has two fields split by the car park which also locates the facilities in one newly built building, everything was was clean fully working and in good order, although whether there would be sufficient for a full site in summer I doubt.

The Friday & Saturday saw blistering sunshine to the extent that the boys went swimming in the lake at the site (it's amazing what you can get teenagers to do for the right bribe!).

The fires are in raised pits which was brilliant and there was plenty around as well as benches to sit on - wood purchased from the pub.

We didn't eat at the pub but saw dinners being served and to be honest didn't rate the dinners as value for money, certainly wouldn't have kept our two boys full for long. The pub was not walk able for us, the website gives the impression that it is just around the corner but it ain't!

There is obviously some drainage issues with the site. There is a marsh area and the surrounding lake / river do their bit so when it rained on Sunday the ground 'bogged up' very quickly - the owners have built a wooden walkway which allows access to your pitch and there are plenty of trolleys so no major prob's and in any case what do you expect from a campsite in Wales obviously surrounded by water in mid September?

The site was spotlessly clean and perfectly situated for our Snowdon mission which was completed on the Saturday. The views were breathtaking and only a short drive saw some shops including the pub.

There are no man made facilities for children but ours did fine with mother nature and we had no problems that needed fixing just paid for pitch and wood.

Overall a brilliant weekend, I would recommend the site and will be going back myself so I hope this helps.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rubydogboxer 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent campsite. Do not be put off by any negative reviews. The views are great and access to Snowdon is straight from the site. There are only three toilets / showers: the campsite was full when we were there and any queue for the toilets soon died down after 0900. Nearly all the pitches have braziers and bench / table sets.

The local pub is a 20 minute walk from the campsite and served excellent food on the nights we were there. They is also a great range of real ales, constantly changed and updated.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozzzie 2 reviews from this member

Good points - This site has stunning views. There is a lake, a stream and views of the mountains. The showers were free. There were fire pits to sit and dream and get warm by.
Bad points - The pub as measured by our car trip was 0.9 of a mile from the camp car park. When we arrived there were thousands of midges so take plenty of spray. That said the second night they did not appear.

There were only three showers (one of which for disabled), two proper loos and 2 portaloos. The showers were a bit muddy. I did not use the laundry so cannot comment. However when we left there were in excess of 60 tents and the majority had at least two people in and many more than 2. I therefore think that a few more facilities are called for.
The pub is very average and boasts Camra Pub of the year 2000 and I don't think they have done anything to it since then. Food was ok but the atmosphere was non existent. We paid £48 for three nights for two of us.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Funkyduck 5 reviews from this member

There couldn't be a better location for a campsite, outstanding views across a lake and close to Beddgelert, some beautiful places to visit.

I have visited this site 4 times, and on each occasion had a different experience, from a great weekend, to leaving early because of water logging, and another time having to knock on the Cwellyn Arms door at 3am complaining about noise from a fellow campsite user.

Some road tracks have now been put in place, but be warned, if it rains, you will have a heck of a time getting out!

It is a big site, comprising of two large fields but in peak season it gets very full, and lots of kids who give you no peace at all. The facilities are ok, clean enough but not amazing, but camping is all about roughing it right?

You can have camp fires, and dogs are welcome and can roam around off the lead which is great (I mean if kids can.)

I will certainly go back, because of where it is and I love the location and landscape. One word of advice. Take some ear plugs or you might have a restless night as it can be a bit noisy when it is busy.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew Wynne 4 reviews from this member

I won't be staying at this site again. Its in a brilliant location and its suited me fine for a trek up the Rhyd Ddu path to Snowdon, the Nantle Ridge and more recently a magnificent scramble up Craig y Bera.

The £8.00 tent fee is all very well but then you are expected to buy your firewood from him too. On a cramped site that is prone to waterlogging, this isn't good value. I like the more basic camp-sites but begrudge being ripped off. The pub food is good but as has been mentioned in other reviews, it's overpriced.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adrianw 3 reviews from this member

This site is in a spectacular location, with the lake at one end, Snowdon at the other and a stream running along one edge. It is a long narrow site - space for tents wide - sandwiched between the access road and the stream. There is a second field closer to the lake, which was closed when we were there.

The site's location also gives rise to a problem - some of the water that flows from the mountain range into the lake goes through the ground. When we were there it was muddy, but no worse than other sites in the rain.

Watch out for the midges at dusk - the fire pits were very popular.

Apparently when the water level in the lake rises it overflows into the lower field, which has a slight dip in, with the inevitable flooding. The owner is attempting to make the lake sides higher. He's also installed a boardwalk in the lower field - it's a landmark that you can see clearly from the top of Snowdon.

Anyway there were quite a lot of us crammed into the top field. Parking was on the entrance road and in the car park between the two fields near the toilet block. Parking on the entrance road needs the same skills as in inner cities. Glad other people did though, because it meant there was space in the car park. Might be a bit fraught with both fields open.

There are two toilets, a couple of portaloos and two showers plus a combined shower/disable toilet. The toilets/showers are mixed. As at many sites, the provision of mop would make the world of difference to the showers and the toilets are home to the usual array of insect and arachnid life. No hairdryers. Outside were washing up/wash basins. There was a laundry, I didn't go in. Surprisingly with so many people and so few facilities there were few queues.

The owner's pub is up the road, not a long walk but far enough to be very much not on site. Again it is nice enough, but £3 for a pint of coke and £10 for a burger and chips with no salad whatsoever is a bit steep. Down the road in Beddgellert there is a choice of good places to eat.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RacheyB 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic location - surrounded by hills & of course Snowdon. Right by stream & lake.

Fairly isolated, and a good 10mins walk to Cwellyn Arms.

Showers/toilet facilities were excellent. Even a laundry room, with hairdryer (I think there was a cost of 50p for this).

A real wet weekend & our party had planned to eat at the pub Friday & Saturday.

Cwellyn Arms is a rip off. The beer prices were more than I pay in a bar in Manchester.

The food menu is trying a bit too hard for what I would expect campers/walkers would actually want.

The cheapest thing on the menu was burger & chips - £8.95 - and the burger was simply bread bun & a burger, and half cooked chips.

Mushroom risotto was made with shitake mushrooms & came in at around £11 - fairly small portion.

Saturday night we decided to drive into Beddgelert & found a cafe doing really good value for money pizzas - http://www.Glaslynices.Co.Uk/index.Html

I'd certainly go back to this campsite, but I'd take own food to cook or drive into Beddgelert for food.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hailtryfan 6 reviews from this member

This site is fairly basic but the views across the lake and mountains are fabulous. There are a number of excellent walks starting nearby and it makes a good place to base yourself for exploring Snowdon.

I spent a weekend here in very changeable weather with what seemed like gale force winds flattening several tents and rain turning the site rather boggy.

There are plenty of fire pits for people to use although the site owner insists that you buy the wood from him. The showers and loos are new but one of the toilets was overflowing when we were there. There is also a laundry room which is well appointed.

The pub is between 10 and 15 minutes away on foot and is comfortable and friendly but not anything to get excited about. Can't remember any shops near the pub but we had food so didn't require one.

Overall I liked this site mostly because of the location but it was also reasonably priced and spacious.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bedgar 9 reviews from this member

I had no idea of what to expect - mainly because previous reviews seemed either total fans of the place or fully disgruntled. So I will try and summarise the main points as I saw it.To help you decide whether you would be a fan or not
 
On the plus side - the site is small and in a beautiful location, with mountains towering above and many walks starting nearby. There is a  river along one edge running to a large lake at the end. Fires are allowed by the lake and some fire-pits provided for the other area. Showers and wash facilities were all relatively modern and reasonably clean.
 
On the down side - the pub is a long walk away, short car ride away but looked fairly shabby / tired inside, certainly nothing special and food menu did look pricey for this part of the world. It was not a big issue for us (we're happy drinking/cooking around a fire) but if you're relying on the pub as a key part of your trip then it was not great.
 
The site is prone to flooding and yes it did flood while we were there (but also drained fairly quickly after), so pick your spot carefully and go for the higher points. I must say that the owner did come and see if everyone was OK when he heard that it had flooded.
 
Overall the owner seemed busy and maybe a bit disorganised but I didn't find him rude (as some reviews have mentioned).
 
For me the positives outweighed the negatives - good basic camping with lovely views.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Rhyd Ddu      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3516 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020