Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Rhyd Ddu > Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms Reviews

Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms
Snowdon Base Camp
At The Foot Of Snowdon
Rhyd Ddu
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 6TL
Tel: 01766 890321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gpnavi30771tar 1 review from this member

8/10 score for me. Book in at cwellyn arms pub 10 each. Nice flat ground pitch where you want. But hard under grass take big hammer for pegs.

Large site no noise. Good toilets and showers. Smells a bit eggy near toilets.

We camped in next fields by lake. Then walked back to pub for few pints and nice meal in beer garden watching Snowdon opposite talking about the walk up it next day.

All in all good weekend 😃
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Living-the-dream 2 reviews from this member

You have to check in at the pub first (1 mile south). Especially if you want firewood. Apparently the warden regularly checks you're using their wood but I didn't see him after dark.

They do provide these fantastic fire pits as well.

The site is very pleasant with a stream along the edge.

No vehicle access to the grass but its not far to walk if you're tenting and they have barrows. It started getting a bit boggy in heavy rain but did drain away after a while.

The amenities block was very nice with four large warm flowing showers. Loo's were clean and a spacious washing area at the rear. There is another block with washers and dryers but out of order. Warden said they were buying new ones.

The pub is 10/15 minutes down the road with good beer and others said the food was great.

Some great walks nearby with the Nantle ridge and Beddgelert Forest and 2 or 3 routes up Snowdon. T

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheelsy 29 reviews from this member

Stayed here whilst supervising a DofE group. You can't park your car next to your tent but the fields are quite narrow so it isn't a big problem. We noticed that a couple of the fields were a bit waterlogged so pick your pitch carefully.

The toilet/shower block was clean and tidy. Showers were the push button type (never understood why campsite owners think we can't be trusted to operate a tap) but you got a decent amount of time between pushes.

Each shower had a couple of hooks and caddies for putting your bottles in, which saves putting things down on the floor. A nice touch was the provision of a changing room style bench with coat hooks in the centre of the block.

There were two places for washing up, each with a few sinks and the areas were again clean and tidy.

The only problems with the site were the midges (the river running down the side of the site probably encouraged these) and the fact that its quite a trek back down the road to the pub.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KodaOnTour 2 reviews from this member

First camping trip to Wales. Easy check in in the pub over a well earned pint after a 6 hour drive ! Campsite about half a mile down road from pub with absolutely fantastic views of snowdon and the valleys.

Total peace and quiet. Toilet and washing facilities were very good and kept very clean. Great wood burning braziers/bbqs although wood must be bought from pub.

The only downside was that we were there right on midge season and ended up getting bitten to bits ! Best camping trip we've had and would deffo return !

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wirral Camper 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic location and lovely shower/toilet block. However, the over bearing owner patrols the campsite, into the late evening.

Making sure you've paid, and that your only burning wood you have bought from them.

3 or 4 times we were 'checked on' You are effectively being treated like children.

Oh and most of the trolleys for moving your gear, are broken.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mitzi16 13 reviews from this member

Glorious site, almost tempted to revert to canvas just to experience the fabulous lakeside tent-only pitches!

We sited our motorhome, as pre-arranged, on a perfectly level spot in the car-park and filled a jerry can at the nearby utility block to fill our tank with enough water for a couple of days (the fabulous shower block and washing-up sinks meant we needed very little water in the van).

Great walk up Y Garn and we plan to return to climb Snowdon from this side.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

Visited in early September so the site was nice and quiet but I imagine the facilities could get a bit stretched at busy times. The showers are a bit tatty and would benefit for a bit of TLC

This is really a tent only site although we were ok with the motorhome in the carpark, but again if the site had been busy there is a good chance you could get blocked in- cars are not allowed on the field so everybody has to park in the parking area.

An important point worth noting for campervan/motorhome visitors- there are NO water standpipes so you cant fill up your on board tanks. Neither is there a CDP.

On the whole a nice site in a great location but EXPENSIVE at 20/night without EHU

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naich 17 reviews from this member

This is the most spectacular site we have ever been to. Tucked into a valley directly beneath Snowdon, the stunning views extend all around the site. On one side you have the mountain (on a clear day you can see the cafe at the top and the mountain railway), on the other the woods and at the far end of the site is the beautiful lake Llyn Cwellyn, over which you can watch the sunset. The Ffestiniog Railway passes nearby and you can often see the trains chuffing past.

The site is split into two fields, one has a babbling stream running next to it, the other is next to the Lake. Between the fields is one of the car parks, the toilet block and laundry block. The other car park is near the gated entrance. There were plenty of trolleys available to carry your stuff from the car park, and they all looked in pretty good repair. Fire pits are dotted around the site, if it stops raining long enough to light one up.

We pitched in the non-lake field, next to the stream so we could hear it murmuring away all night. That is, when the sound wasn't drowned out by the rain pounding away at the tent. That part of the site is on a very slight slope and well drained, with the ground sogginess disappearing within an hour or two of the rain stopping. Nearer the lake, things got a bit more squishy and there are boggy bits. It rains a lot there, but the site is fairly well protected from the wind, unless it comes straight up the valley.

The toilet/shower block is modern and heated, which was very welcome. It was clean and well stocked during the week, but started to feel the strain of the extra campers when it got busy at the weekend. By the time we left on Saturday morning it was getting a bit scungey, with the toilet paper and soap starting to run out. The showers were good and hot but the water tended to run all over the floor. There is a laundry room with two tumble driers, which is very good for drying out soggy clothes. There are plenty of washing up sinks but no freezer for ice packs, which would have been helpful. However, it was pretty nippy when we were there, so it wasn't difficult to keep things cold.

There are plenty of things to do in the area. On rainy days we visited Penrhyn Castle, the Anglesey Sea Zoo and the impressive Slate Museum in Llanberis. Of course, there is Snowdon to climb up and we chose to go up the Llanberis Path. As well as the stunning views, you can see the camp site from the top and it's quite fun to try to see your tent. There are also various railways to take trips on. If you need camping supplies there is a decent shop in Beddgelert. If you fancy a curry, chinese or fish and chips, there are take aways in Penygroes, a 15 minute drive away down the awesome but scary 'Road of Death', as we called it - the B4418 from Rhyd-Ddu.

There are a few down sides to this site. Due to the general dampness of the area, there are midges galore, especially when it stops raining, so bring lots of Deet. It does get a bit boggy in places, so pick your pitch carefully. We stayed from Monday to Saturday and while it was nice and roomy during the week, it got very busy at the weekend. The car parks filled up, overflowed, and it ended up with cars taking up every spare inch of road space. It wasn't noisy at night, thanks to the no music policy, but there was definitely a bustling air to the place.

But these are only minor problems. We loved staying here and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoofer 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here with our 2 boys, 7 and 10. We loved this site. Stunning views of the mountains, including Snowdon. Our tent was pitched in the first field, by the stream. Every so often a steam train would wind it's way along the mountain opposite. We had the odd sheep pop in for a visit, the forests were great for a walk, and the the sunset over the lake is beautiful. The toilet and shower block is fantastic, with lovely hot showers. We had plenty of nice, dry wood for the fire pit too. It was jam packed on the Friday (we could tell due to the amount of cars) but there was still plenty of room for everyone's tents. Everyone pretty much kept to the rules regarding music and noise. We bumped into our neighbours going up the Llanberis pass route on Snowdon, who showed us our campsite down below. We had a fair bit of rain, so wellies were very helpful. There is a camping shop in nearby Beddgelert, where we were able to buy wellies and a waterproof coat. We visited the Slate Museum, Sea Zoo, Penrhyn Castle and Plas Newynnd. We had a fantastic 5 nights and will definitely be back. Just with more Deet to combat the midges!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anon854hd 4 reviews from this member

This was an amazing campsite!

The facilities are lovely, plenty of toilets and showers, really clean and modern and best of all they had underfloor heating so were warm and lovely with no dank cold corners!

Lots of lovely little attention to detail was spent, such as attaching wheels to one end of the picnic table so you can easily move them to where you want, and the fire sleds were brilliant.

The site itself is level and next to a lovely stream with amazing views of mount Snowdon itself, as well as lovely hills all around. Easy to get to most of the places we wanted to visit and we saw bus stops on the main road very close to the turning for the site so it seems getting around by public transport might have been possible.

The campsite is a little further from the pub than we expected (we thought having a campsite next to a pub would be great in April so if it was a cold and rainy night we could warm up in the pub all evening and then within minutes be tucked up warm in bed. In reality its at least a 5-10 minute walk so if it were rainy and cold you'd be wet and cold by the time you got back, but the distance does mean the site was incredibly peaceful (plus it turned out to be dry when we went so the short walk wasn't a problem).

Owners were helpful and friendly and easy to find if we needed them.

Overall, a wonderful place, we'd definitely visit again and recommend to friends

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Rhyd Ddu      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4090 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!