Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Rhyd Ddu > Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms Reviews

Snowdon Valley Camping Cwellyn Arms
Snowdon Base Camp
At The Foot Of Snowdon
Rhyd Ddu
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 6TL
Tel: 01766 890321
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Blueeye 3 reviews from this member

Not happy about this site at all. Took our money straight away knowing the place was like a bog. (It was tipping down to be fair) Had to go back and exchange for a bunkhouse for the night which was o.k.

Found a hard-standing site not five minutes down the road the next morning which was lovely in woods and a lot more friendly orientated and not run like a business.

Others might have a better time there but this is the only time I have had a bad site in 25 years of camping.

Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thejollycamper 1 review from this member

Fantastic scenery and the ideal place if you enjoy hill walking. The pub that runs the campsite is a bit of a trek and is extremely expensive (it cost me nearly 15 pounds for four drinks) however if you are a real ale person then you'll like it. Also I would recommend checking the weather before you choose this campsite as it is very prone to flooding. Other than that a good place with adequate toilet and shower facilities and a bunkhouse for the less adventurous

Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grifter 1 review from this member

A group of four of us stayed here. We were pretty pleased by all but one factor. This site has a major drainage problem.We were there on a fairly busy weekend and there was almost no dry sites to pitch the tents.
The rain was not even that heavy but it managed to put about 70% of the site under an inch or more of water. This also lead to a few cars becoming stranded as they simply couldn't get a grip in the water logged ground.

Otherwise.I would have to say a brilliant site.

One factor is that I wouldn't have stayed a second night but for the fact the site allows campfires. I personally will not stay at a site that doesn't allow campfires.

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roseoakhill 3 reviews from this member

Site - the site itself has to be the most beautiful location I have ever stayed in. To get out of your tent in the morning to the view of Snowdon on one side and the lake on the other is fantastic, it would take your breath away. However as said before the site doesnt drain well, so caught in a wet week you will have problems with water, which in turn causes problems with the access to the site, pitching and walking around in general. Advantages are though to the site that you can park up next to your tent, bbq are aloud on the ground and log fires also.

Facilities - very limited but thats what we wanted, two showers and two loos in the block and various portable loos around the site. rather dirty but showers were certainly very good as to water temp and power no probs at all.

Overwiew - perhaps not a campsite for families who want modern amenities or activites on site, however for proper campers we can not complain. It will always live in my memory of the day we walked snowdon and came back site by the lake with some very friendly ducks and relaxed. As I said in the beginning the situation alone is what makes this campsite. It was very quite when we went in september so going off for the day walking was slightly worrying because of leaving the car on site with nobody else there and nothing overlooking the camp site if anyone was to try to steal anything.

Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pclark 1 review from this member

Stayed here last weekend. The site itself is beautiful with a great view across the lake and down a valley. Unfortunately for us it rained the whole weekend and although the ground did get a bit waterlogged it was bearable. A new car park means we had no problem with the car. A new bunk house is nearing completion and once finished it'll probably be the best in the park. Free hot water and power showers - a real treat. Just down the road is the Cwellyn Arms which has a couple of open fires and a wide selection of well kept beers. The food's pretty good and Graham the landlord is very friendly.

Reviewer: Martin Masters 1 review from this member

June 2005
We arrived first weekend in June after 3 days of rain and the site was waterlogged, managed to get the car stuck as did virtually everyone else, the site does not drain very well. Be prepared for the midges as we both got eaten alive, so take a good repellant.
The open fires seem like a good idea and I'm sure they keep the midges at bay but in reality they reduce the amount of available area to pitch your tent as there is no restriction on where you light a fire. When the site is waterlogged this is a problem!!!

The pub is 3/4 mile away and took 13 minutes to walk, has an excellent selection of real ales. However, it is really expensive, nearly £9 for 2 1/2 pints !!!! and the food is nothing to write home about.
On a good note it is in a superb location and ideally placed to walk either the Snowdon Ranger or Rhyd ddu paths.

Reviewer: Mushinski 11 reviews from this member

March 2004
My boyfriend & I camped here at Easter, as soon as we felt we could face the weather in our tent. (Tent only site).

Great site for walks, both Snowdon & plenty of less strenuous ones in nearby Beddgelert Forest (good for kids - take a picnic, theres some hidden seating areas off the main paths, keep your eye out!). You can buy some good walks from the craft shop in Beddgelert about 10 minutes away by car.

The pub which owns the site is apx 1 mile away. Open fires & good service.

Site allows campfires, always a plus. (no wood provided).

Shower block is very small, expect queues.

Reviewer: Jean Ware 3 reviews from this member

August 2004
My husband found this site on the web and booked it straight away, the biggest pull - tents only. The site was lovely, views spectacular and contrary to other reviews the owners very friendly. The pub is a little bit of a walk away but the last bus to Caernafon will bring you back at closing time. It is a little pricey but the food is nice enough. The toilet block does need a little bit of an update but it's a walkers site and most are happy with the basics.
You are allowed to have open fires which is always nice to see but remember your wood. The nearest shop is about 15 mins away so take the essentials with you. They could do with a small playpark for children. We will definitely be going back and recommending it to friends.

Reviewer: Tom.Doust 2 reviews from this member

whitsun 1/2 term 2004
Superb location. If you point your tent in the right direction you have stunning view of Snowdon.

If you want to walk up Snowdon its about half way between the start of the Snowdon Ranger path and the Rhyd Ddu path - can go up one and down the other.

Facilities are basic but clean and in reasonable condition. 2 toilets + two showers might be inadequate if the site were full but were fine while we were there.

Pub nearby (owns the site - you register with them) does very good food / beer. Food is a bit pricey but then there isn't anywhere else for 5 miles in any direction. There's a Londis supermarket open 7am to 10pm 15 mins drive on outskirts of Caernarfon.

Lake on one edge of field, stream on other means midges can be a bit of a problem, but that was the only negative part of the stay. Its not all the time anyway. Will definately go again.

Reviewer: JODIEC 4 reviews from this member

Easter 2004
Beautiful location, bit busy and they squashed in a few too many campers (although it was Easter Bank Holiday), but as most were proper walkers the site was very quiet by day.
When the cloud cleared we could see the summit of Snowdon from the tent !!
Loads of walks from the site, which was good not having to travel by car to the start point. Bit disappointed by the pub - ( mainly because I hate places with laminated menu's). The best thing of all is you're allowed to have campfires, and it was much more fun to sit with a beer round a roaring campfire under the stars than sit in a busy pub, (might be advisable to take some wood).
Showers and toilets were muddier than anywhere I've ever been, but had they been cleaned they'd have been brilliant. Maybe they are cleaner when it's less busy. All in all a brilliant site and we will return ~!

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Rhyd Ddu      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3614 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020