Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strawberry Wood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Strawberry Wood Caravan Park
Home Farm Farm Lane
Lower Withington
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK11 9DU
Tel: 01477 571407
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

Just back from an overnighter at this site (to test out new to us van) Lovely little site which is in a wood! The pitches are separated by trees which gives a feeling of seclusion and peace. Washroom facilities excellent, nice and clean. No play equipment on site but who needs that when you are in a wood. Our 8 yr old found 2 friends within minutes of arriving and spent rest of our time there playing in the woods!

Owners very friendly and happy to stop for a chat. This site is less than 10 miles away from us so already know area well but there is lots around including Jodrell Bank. Lovely sunset over it last night.

No shop on site but plenty within 5 miles. 17 for pitch with EHU

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xl250alan 4 reviews from this member

Great little site set in the woods which meant you seemed to be totally private. The owners were very friendly and helpful and although they don't live on the site they pop around a couple of times per day. The toilet blocks were basic but very clean. The showers were good with plenty of hot water. Fantastic value at 17 per night with EHU and it didn't matter how many people stayed over. Plenty of nice places to visit within easy driving distance and there were information leaflets on site to chose from. Would recommend the site to anyone looking for a bit of peace.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BANJOJACK 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here as a stop over travelling from Somerset to the lake district. What a smashing site. As previous reviews have said great owners, very nice secluded pitches within the woods

Toilets and showers adequate & clean, owner called round in the morning to collect the pitch fees& have a natter. If its a bit of peace & quiet your after this site is for you. It might not be a great site for extra long caravans or very large motorhomes if your not that confident. If we were in staying in the area again we would stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DOUGC66 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on this lovely quiet site over the weekend just to iron out a few wrinkles on our camper before going further afield and it was great.

The site as suggested in the name is literally inside a wood surrounded by rhododendron bushes which give a remarkable air of privacy to the very large pitches well drained cinder pitches.

The owners were great and on hand but not constantly looking over your shoulder and when there was an issue with the site electric it was resolved within 10 minutes.

Toilet blocks were clean and fresh and the showers had better pressure than mine at home. But unfortunately no pot washing facilities.

The site was really friendly with a mix of seasonal and tourers and with plenty of open space between the vans but no grass areas for kids to play on. But the ones that were there seemed to enjoy the wood for what it was. It gave a kind of hushed tone to everything.

All in all a very pleasant site ideal for a stopover spot or as some have already done a great bolt hole for a seasonal pitch in the heart of the Cheshire countryside.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boltonpingu 1 review from this member

As we are new to touring we wanted a peaceful site to practice putting up awning, setting up caravan etc. Strawberry wood is a little haven, it was so peaceful, the shower block and toilets were spotless, and lovely and warm, even though the site is not manned the owner came round a few times a day, and she is only a phone call away or a short walk to farm, plenty info and leaflets on site, we loved it so much as did our two little dogs, this will definitely become a regular destination, cannot wait to go back, I would recommend strawberry wood to anyone wanting some peace and quiet, a1site. As we did not take any children I did not add any stars, but I think children would really enjoy the woods.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gillbee 8 reviews from this member

This camping weekend was a return to nature trip for us. When you arrive you drive down a track on the edge of a field and then you enter the woods where the caravan site is situated. When we found a pitch and got settled it was fantastic, not sure what it would have been like if it was raining. The owners were very nice people and there to help, the toilet block were very clean and the showers were great. We will be visiting this site again in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morrms 13 reviews from this member

Visited the site over May Day holiday. I'll do the one and only bad point first and that was although you could choose a pitch when you got there, there was only 2 remaining as the other free ones had all been reserved which I didn't understand as when we asked the owners they were not forthcoming in saying you could reserve a pitch although we had paid in full prior to arriving.

Now on to the good points and it's where to start, the owners are extremely friendly and relaxed and check on the site daily, the toilet block is fantastic, the site itself albeit full over the weekend you would never know due to the spacing between the pitches. It is extremely safe for the children to play. We could even have a small open fire (just like scout camp) marshmallows and rich tea biscuits - extremely relaxing. There are many places to visit around the area. I do not want to sing the sites praises too much as we may not get in again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kg72 1 review from this member

Fantastic little site! We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The site was full but was still peaceful. The facilities are more than adequate and are kept clean by the owners who are very friendly and helpful. Our children had a great time playing in the woods and enjoyed toasted marshmallows around a campfire one evening. They say it's one of the best sites they've been to! We visited Alderley Edge and Tatton Park, both of which are within a short drive of the site. If you're looking for a peaceful and relaxing site I would certainly recommend this one. We are already planning our next visit!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nands 20 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic caravan site. It is located in a copse of woodland in the middle of a farmer's field. Access is via a track through a field of cows which have a tendency to stand in the way! They move on eventually when they feel like it!

The pitches all have EHU and are arranged in a loop through the wood. We had a pitch on the edge with views across the fields. The shower block is great with 3 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies. Hazel the owner cleans them on a daily basis.

The site is very laid back. The site fees were not inflated for the bank holiday and we could stay as long as we liked on the day we left. The owner visits the site on her bike several times each day. Camp fires are allowed and children were happily scouring the area for dry wood.

The site is close to Jodrell Bank. We also visited Tatton Park (sbout a 20 min drive) and Alderley Edge (10 min). Our boys loved having lunch outside a cafe in Alderley Edge watching the very expensive cars going by. There is a well stocked leaflet display on the campsite for other places to visit.

All in all we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kashurst 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from a two nights at the site and it will be a site we will be using again.

Like others thought we'd gone wrong somewhere when the sat-nav turned us into a field inhabited with cows, but carried on along the track and eventually came into the lovely little wood.

Booked by email and was told by Hazel the owner to choose a pitch when we got there and she would be around sometime during our stay to collect the pitch fee.

The owner comes round two or three times a day

Facilities are really good.

Level hard standing pitches actually in the woods and all with hook ups.

Toilets are kept really clean, hot water, hand wash and towels.

Showers (2 in the mens & 2 in the ladies)are really powerful and they are free.

A really easy going site, arrive and leave when you want and no long list of rules.

Jodrell Bank and Alderley Edge(if you like walking)are only a short distance away.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019