Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strawberry Wood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Strawberry Wood Caravan Park
Home Farm Farm Lane
Lower Withington
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK11 9DU
Tel: 01477 571407
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The Drings 7 reviews from this member

Very friendly and informative lady owner.

Lovely site, set amongst the trees. Great pitches, you choose where you want to go.

Toilets and showers spotless.

Great Views of Jodrell Bank.

Fantastic fishing lake, delightful cows in the field next to the lake.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blinkie 9 reviews from this member

We were told that we could turn up mid morning on site which certainly is a pleasant change. We only live 20 miles away but fancied a weekend away. Hazel and Paul were there and Hazel pointed out a suitable pitch. The site is tranquil and the sound of the wildlife is superb. It was a Bank Holiday and there were plenty of children but it wasn't noisy. The site is totally under trees and if it hadn't been a warm weekend it would have been too cold to sit out. I noticed on previous reviews that open fires are allowed but there are notices everywhere saying 'No Fires'. The toilets are very clean and kept that way. The temperature of the shower was difficult to control and I only once managed to have a comfortable shower. The features listed for the site say 'Disabled' facilities. We are both disabled and would have appreciated an accessible washroom but managed with what was available. We went for walks and fishing. In summary the site is very good - would we go again, probably not.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CricketBev 1 review from this member

As you turn off the main road and turn into the lane that you need to get to the site, you wonder whether you are in the right place. The signage is a little faded and the a lane a little bumpy (not smooth but taken slowly and you'll be just fine), through a field of cows and over a couple of cattle grids and round a couple of small bends, through the trees and you are greeted with a caravan site under the canopy of trees. As you drive around the site, there are pitches, all numbered and hardstanding. Not all pitches have the electric hook up in, but once you have parked up it does not take long to find the pitch with the electric hook up stand in (usually 3 points, these too are numbered for the different pitches). (A long cable might be handy)

The site is literally situated under trees, which is not an ideal place for sun worshippers, but if you're like us, and come on holiday to explore then its an ideal base. The middle bit of the wood also acts as a ideal place to anchor a dog tie out and a place for children to play. The trees are fairly spaced apart so you are able to see where the children are most of the time. Like most sites you're welcome to have a bbq as long as its off the ground.

We stayed here 3 nights and on the first night, the lady who deals with your pitch fee, knocked on the door politely and was very pleasant. You barely see the owners, but they do come round twice a day to make sure that the facilities are clean and tidy. If there's a problem during the day or night, there is a information booth that is full of useful information (nearest doctors/hospital/their homes address and telephone number etc, as well as leaflets from local attraction). This can be found near the toilets, which is conveniently located on the way into the site.

The facilities are what you would expect from a caravan site, in both the female and male toilets there are 3 toilets and 2 showers. These are cleaned and maintained twice a day. The showers take a little while to work out how to use (we personally didn't find this a problem). The showers are on a on the demand heating system and keep hot. The toilets always have a fresh supply of toilet roll. The only downside to the ladies toilet is that there are no sanitary disposal bins.

There are no children's play areas, but not sure where this would go unless they situated it within the middle trees. This does not effect children's imaginations. Besides most children prefer to watch TV, which for our kids was not happening as we do not have a TV in the caravan at present, so they either played swing ball or coloured in pictures.

The pitches are all hard standing and some are slightly bigger than others, meaning that if you get a smaller pitch, you may not be able to erect an awning and have the car alongside. (Need hard standing pegs if you want to erect an awning too). There are 25 pitches in total.

All in all its a very tranquil site and if you are lucky enough to get the pitches that get the most sunlight (13/14 I think) then you will also get a brilliant view of the one of the Jodrell Bank telescopes.

Would we stay here again, I think we would, the pitch fee at 18 including hook up a day is reasonable for this time of year. There seems to be no official times to leave or come. If they have guests who I presume come back time after time, they have reserved boards on the requested pitches. The owners are very nice and although the site is located under the trees, the weather for the first couple of nights was warm and kept warm. The 3rd night, it rained all night so it turned cold and wet. The ground does get puddles, but that's the great British weather for you.

When we first got here, my initial thought was how tranquil it was, that thought hasn't changed. Even with the rain.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsPazzer 3 reviews from this member

We picked up our new to us tourer on Saturday and wanted to pop away for a few days to get used to all the workings!

It was a bit of a last minute thing and some of the other sites we tried were a minimum of 3 nights as it was bank holiday.

This site did not require this and had a pitch available for us.

We were told to arrive and find a pitch that was not taken or had a reserved sign on it.

I think we got one of the last 2 pitches available and were really happy with our pitch (Number 20)

This is a lovely site to go to for a totally relaxing time away.

On the site there is the toilet and shower block, a shelter with information on with leaflets on local attractions and a fishing lake, although we didn't actually walk around there.

Paul was very helpful and actually couldn't do enough for us.

Although we only live 20 minutes away, we will be back for sure!

Highly recommended site for a nice quiet, relaxing stay!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clever 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights in August and found it to a be a basic but nice and quiet site. As the name of the site suggests all the pitches are in the woods, so don't expect much sunshine around your pitch. The owners are not on-site but they came round everyday and seemed to be very friendly and helpful.

We used the site as a base for exploring Cheshire. We had a day at Tatton Park and a day at Chester Zoo. The Zoo is quite expensive, but it was very nice and was a full day out. We didn't go around Jodrell Bank, but you can see the telescope from the site and it looks rather impressive.

All in all a basic site with no shop, but a great place to get away from everything, or to use as a base for exploring the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan-King 1 review from this member

We stopped here for 5 nights in August 2014. We chose the site as it was very near Jodrell Bank, somewhere we were going to visit.

The site, as others have pointed out, is under a canopy of mature trees, whilst some sunlight does get through it's not much. Rain, on the other hand does! And it did in droves one night. However, the ground where the kid was playing was surprisingly bone dry! There were some muddy areas but it wasn't Glastonbury!

The pitch we were on was huge, and there were others that were smaller, but the site is well spaced out so it didn't feel like you were living on top of your neighbours.

The facilities are basic and a bit dated, and there was an issue with hot water one morning, but that was put right in a matter of minutes after a call to the owners. The block was clean and functional.

So, what did we get up to? Well we did go to Jodrell Bank, literally within site of the park, but you will need to drive there, even if it is just 5 minutes. We drove for 30 minutes to get us to the Metrolink Park and Ride for a visit to Manchester and the MOSI museum. We did have a day of doing nothing and Mrs CK and the kid mooched around the site and had a walk around a pond that was in the next field. Our final day was spent at Stockley Farm Park, again just a 30 minute drive from the site.

My advice, for the best view, try and get pitches 13 or 14. You can see the Lovell Radio Telescope, and it looks fantastic when the sun goes down.

If we were to do something in the area we would certainly go back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pmc03 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here 2 weeks ago for a weekend break. We really liked the fact it was such a nice peaceful and set under a heavy canopy of trees although the drawback is this completely blocks out the sun as its so shaded and the ground was quite muddy.

The owners where very friendly and laid back and the facilities were basic but very clean. More than adequate for a site of its size.

We would definitely recommend but take your willies especially if its been wet recently.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SandWool 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. Situated amongst the woods. Booked for three nights but left a day early as the weather was very wet which led to a lot of mud! Toilets and showers were good with hot water and a nice personnel touch of liquid soap and a towel to use. Pitches were well spaced out amongst the trees and most were separated with trees and bushes. Lots of wildlife. Couldn't walk around the fishing lake as there was so many puddles and mud! May go back again but during a nice spell of weather when the pitches are a lot drier.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silkpilot 5 reviews from this member

A firm favourite with family and friends. Excellent well maintained toilet blocks, information on local attractions. Excellent value for money. Plenty of shops, pubs etc within a very short drive.

The children only ever came back to the van for food and to go to bed! They made loads of friends and played out in the woods all day! They didn't miss telly or the computer once! The dog loved the site as well!

Hazel and Paul make everyone welcome and always have time for a chat. By the way there are plenty of fish in the lake!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tictag 3 reviews from this member

My first ever outing! And I spent a very rewarding few days at the Strawberry Wood Caravan Park. The site is fab, set in a mature wood and offering a calm and secluded setting. The facilities are basic and clean (toilets & shower block, refuse disposal, glass recycling, sanitary disposal and drinking water outlet). Hazel was friendly and chatty, as were the other caravanners could not have been more helpful to a newbie!

I spent three hours figuring out how to erect my awning (straight off a carry-on film) and worked out what all the buttons do in my four-day old caravan! Once I settled and begun to relax, sitting with a nice cup of tea watching squirrels busy themselves, the sun dance through the trees, you are comforted by a blanket of woodland noises. Highly recommended.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!