Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strawberry Wood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Strawberry Wood Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Strawberry Wood Caravan Park
Home Farm Farm Lane
Lower Withington
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonbyrne 4 reviews from this member

 First tip, pitch 13 has the best view!

We visited for one night as a test run in our new Folding Camper. After many years of tent camping this was the first time we had stayed somewhere geared for caravans over tents. 20 per night including hookup, it felt a little expensive but not overly.

Whilst we where on site there where only two other visitors plus two seasonal vans that look occupied, the other vans where empty.

The tree canopy is dense so you will not see much sun if that bothers you.

Pros:-

There is no set arrival or packup time, this is great and a refreshing change.

The lady who runs the site leaves you to your own devices, but popped round to collect money and check everything was ok.

The setting is beautiful.

Negatives:-

There some very tired looking seasonal type caravans pitched up, they really spoil the look of the site.

Lots of no fire signs, which makes sense being in the woods but one of the seasonal vans where having a nice big fire and the owners left them to it.

The access road is a track and quite narrow, it would be nice if the hedges where cut back a bit more.

Its not ideal for younger children at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 14 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and informative lady owner.

Lovely site, set amongst the trees. Great pitches, you choose where you want to go.

Toilets and showers spotless.

Great Views of Jodrell Bank.

Fantastic fishing lake, delightful cows in the field next to the lake. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 We were told that we could turn up mid morning on site which certainly is a pleasant change. We only live 20 miles away but fancied a weekend away. Hazel and Paul were there and Hazel pointed out a suitable pitch. The site is tranquil and the sound of the wildlife is superb. It was a Bank Holiday and there were plenty of children but it wasn't noisy. The site is totally under trees and if it hadn't been a warm weekend it would have been too cold to sit out. I noticed on previous reviews that open fires are allowed but there are notices everywhere saying 'No Fires'. The toilets are very clean and kept that way. The temperature of the shower was difficult to control and I only once managed to have a comfortable shower. The features listed for the site say 'Disabled' facilities. We are both disabled and would have appreciated an accessible washroom but managed with what was available. We went for walks and fishing. In summary the site is very good - would we go again, probably not. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CricketBev 1 review from this member

 As you turn off the main road and turn into the lane that you need to get to the site, you wonder whether you are in the right place. The signage is a little faded and the a lane a little bumpy (not smooth but taken slowly and you'll be just fine), through a field of cows and over a couple of cattle grids and round a couple of small bends, through the trees and you are greeted with a caravan site under the canopy of trees. As you drive around the site, there are pitches, all numbered and hardstanding. Not all pitches have the electric hook up in, but once you have parked up it does not take long to find the pitch with the electric hook up stand in (usually 3 points, these too are numbered for the different pitches). (A long cable might be handy)

The site is literally situated under trees, which is not an ideal place for sun worshippers, but if you're like us, and come on holiday to explore then its an ideal base. The middle bit of the wood also acts as a ideal place to anchor a dog tie out and a place for children to play. The trees are fairly spaced apart so you are able to see where the children are most of the time. Like most sites you're welcome to have a bbq as long as its off the ground.

We stayed here 3 nights and on the first night, the lady who deals with your pitch fee, knocked on the door politely and was very pleasant. You barely see the owners, but they do come round twice a day to make sure that the facilities are clean and tidy. If there's a problem during the day or night, there is a information booth that is full of useful information (nearest doctors/hospital/their homes address and telephone number etc, as well as leaflets from local attraction). This can be found near the toilets, which is conveniently located on the way into the site.

The facilities are what you would expect from a caravan site, in both the female and male toilets there are 3 toilets and 2 showers. These are cleaned and maintained twice a day. The showers take a little while to work out how to use (we personally didn't find this a problem). The showers are on a on the demand heating system and keep hot. The toilets always have a fresh supply of toilet roll. The only downside to the ladies toilet is that there are no sanitary disposal bins.

There are no children's play areas, but not sure where this would go unless they situated it within the middle trees. This does not effect children's imaginations. Besides most children prefer to watch TV, which for our kids was not happening as we do not have a TV in the caravan at present, so they either played swing ball or coloured in pictures.

The pitches are all hard standing and some are slightly bigger than others, meaning that if you get a smaller pitch, you may not be able to erect an awning and have the car alongside. (Need hard standing pegs if you want to erect an awning too). There are 25 pitches in total.

All in all its a very tranquil site and if you are lucky enough to get the pitches that get the most sunlight (13/14 I think) then you will also get a brilliant view of the one of the Jodrell Bank telescopes.

Would we stay here again, I think we would, the pitch fee at 18 including hook up a day is reasonable for this time of year. There seems to be no official times to leave or come. If they have guests who I presume come back time after time, they have reserved boards on the requested pitches. The owners are very nice and although the site is located under the trees, the weather for the first couple of nights was warm and kept warm. The 3rd night, it rained all night so it turned cold and wet. The ground does get puddles, but that's the great British weather for you.

When we first got here, my initial thought was how tranquil it was, that thought hasn't changed. Even with the rain. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsPazzer 3 reviews from this member

 We picked up our new to us tourer on Saturday and wanted to pop away for a few days to get used to all the workings!

It was a bit of a last minute thing and some of the other sites we tried were a minimum of 3 nights as it was bank holiday.

This site did not require this and had a pitch available for us.

We were told to arrive and find a pitch that was not taken or had a reserved sign on it.

I think we got one of the last 2 pitches available and were really happy with our pitch (Number 20)

This is a lovely site to go to for a totally relaxing time away.

On the site there is the toilet and shower block, a shelter with information on with leaflets on local attractions and a fishing lake, although we didn't actually walk around there.

Paul was very helpful and actually couldn't do enough for us.

Although we only live 20 minutes away, we will be back for sure!

Highly recommended site for a nice quiet, relaxing stay! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clever 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights in August and found it to a be a basic but nice and quiet site. As the name of the site suggests all the pitches are in the woods, so don't expect much sunshine around your pitch. The owners are not on-site but they came round everyday and seemed to be very friendly and helpful.

We used the site as a base for exploring Cheshire. We had a day at Tatton Park and a day at Chester Zoo. The Zoo is quite expensive, but it was very nice and was a full day out. We didn't go around Jodrell Bank, but you can see the telescope from the site and it looks rather impressive.

All in all a basic site with no shop, but a great place to get away from everything, or to use as a base for exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan-King 1 review from this member

 We stopped here for 5 nights in August 2014. We chose the site as it was very near Jodrell Bank, somewhere we were going to visit.

The site, as others have pointed out, is under a canopy of mature trees, whilst some sunlight does get through it's not much. Rain, on the other hand does! And it did in droves one night. However, the ground where the kid was playing was surprisingly bone dry! There were some muddy areas but it wasn't Glastonbury!

The pitch we were on was huge, and there were others that were smaller, but the site is well spaced out so it didn't feel like you were living on top of your neighbours.

The facilities are basic and a bit dated, and there was an issue with hot water one morning, but that was put right in a matter of minutes after a call to the owners. The block was clean and functional.

So, what did we get up to? Well we did go to Jodrell Bank, literally within site of the park, but you will need to drive there, even if it is just 5 minutes. We drove for 30 minutes to get us to the Metrolink Park and Ride for a visit to Manchester and the MOSI museum. We did have a day of doing nothing and Mrs CK and the kid mooched around the site and had a walk around a pond that was in the next field. Our final day was spent at Stockley Farm Park, again just a 30 minute drive from the site.

My advice, for the best view, try and get pitches 13 or 14. You can see the Lovell Radio Telescope, and it looks fantastic when the sun goes down.

If we were to do something in the area we would certainly go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pmc03 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 2 weeks ago for a weekend break. We really liked the fact it was such a nice peaceful and set under a heavy canopy of trees although the drawback is this completely blocks out the sun as its so shaded and the ground was quite muddy.

The owners where very friendly and laid back and the facilities were basic but very clean. More than adequate for a site of its size.

We would definitely recommend but take your willies especially if its been wet recently. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SandWool 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. Situated amongst the woods. Booked for three nights but left a day early as the weather was very wet which led to a lot of mud! Toilets and showers were good with hot water and a nice personnel touch of liquid soap and a towel to use. Pitches were well spaced out amongst the trees and most were separated with trees and bushes. Lots of wildlife. Couldn't walk around the fishing lake as there was so many puddles and mud! May go back again but during a nice spell of weather when the pitches are a lot drier. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement