Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strawberry Wood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Strawberry Wood Caravan Park
Home Farm Farm Lane
Lower Withington
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK11 9DU
Tel: 01477 571407
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gilly16 12 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this site as convenient for visiting friends. Nice quiet site under trees. Very shaded because of trees, so didn't see much sun even when it was out. Toilet and shower facilities were pretty good, plenty of hot water and very good showers. Could do with more hard core on the road and pitches as it became very muddy and full of puddles when it rained hard. Jodrell Bank very close, very interesting well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rodstiger 4 reviews from this member

This site has some quite notable plusses and minuses. It is remarkably quiet and tranquil, and the walk around the small lake is quite nice. The walk into Lower Withington is a short one and the pub is very nice. The toilet block is kept in a clean and tidy state, and the shower is OK, but I had problems getting it hot, although my wife assures me that the female shower was lovely, maybe it was just me?

There is no shop nearby, but it is only a short drive into Holmes Chapel.

The pitches themselves are actually within the wood and have overhanging trees which drop all their sap over your set-up, so tents and awnings get very sticky. Also the ground is extremely hard, and ordinary pegs are useless.

If you are seeking a bit of sunshine, you won't get any due to the dense foliage.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pocoyo 8 reviews from this member

We used this campsite for one night only to test out our new campervan. It's in a lovely location and has a laid back feel. The toilet block facilities were clean and adequate for the size of the site. The nearby pond would be a big hit with fishing fans.

The only negatives are that even on a sunny day it is quite dark due to the shade of the trees although on a hot day it would also be cooler.

We will definitely visit this site again.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lyndonzoe 2 reviews from this member

What a surprise this lovely secluded site was, great for an ideal few days stop off. As this was my first time with a caravan I found access was great with each pitch having plenty of space for the caravan large awning and car .
Showers were spotlessly clean and in great condition. I have 2 young children who found plenty to do in the woods around us. Cant wait to revisit but will only stay for a couple of nights.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANGIE WILLIAMS 4 reviews from this member

Great little site . Quite convenient for stopping of on way up to Scotland as its not far off the motorway. Lovely and quiet and very private pitches. Owners very friendly.

Would stay again but only for short stay in summer as no sun through the trees !

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ericcooke 1 review from this member

We have just spent 3 nights at strawberry wood park and found it a very peaceful place to stay. The pitches have plenty of space and are very dry despite lots of rain for the first day and night.
The showers,toilets and sink areas are very clean and well maintained. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Macclesfield (which is only a short drive away) offers just about all you could need for supplies etc and you are surrounded by villages that all have good pubs and eating places. We look forward to our next trip.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: B4aer 3 reviews from this member

This was our first time out with our Motor-home. The site is set in woodland and although we were told to park up and report to the owner we could not find them. However when the owner did eventually arrive she was very helpful,the showers were cleaned on a regular basis and plenty of information leaflets on the area. You definitely need transport as no shops are close at hand. It would have been nice to have been able to buy produce from the farm. Nice garden/nursery close by with very reasonable prices. Do not make the same mistake we did by thinking Jodrel Bank was close as it looks about 2 fields away, it is a very long walk on the main road and quite a dangerous as there are no footpaths. All in all a small fairly well run site. Would consider another visit.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ol bluey 5 reviews from this member

We only stayed one night as a stopover so can't comment on any longer.

The site itself is a cracking setting in woodland, however the facilities are in drastic need of some refurbishment, really wouldn't have fancied staying any longer than we did.
The dogs thoroughly enjoyed it there with a nice walk around.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Abstrusedali 1 review from this member

My partner and I both loved this site. We visited on a scorching hot day in June and were very pleased by the wooded setting of the site, because its natural shade kept us both cool. The owners are very friendly and the showers and toilets are very clean and comfortable.
Nice pub down the road serves good food. All in all very pleased with the site and its amenities.

Reviewer: Mamf 3 reviews from this member

July 2005
We stayed here for 1 night. It is, as its name suggests in a wood, a very beautiful setting (slightly Blair witch!) which is quite dense, it was a really hot and sunny day when we stayed but, it wasn't until we went for a walk we realised this, as the trees do shade you some what! Would be great if you didn't like the sun or had dogs!.
The showers and loos are clean and free.
Thre is a lovley little lake for fishing 3 per day, for people on the site and 5 for others, its a lovley early evening walk.
The site owners are helpful and friendly.
Dont be put off by some of the seasonal pitched vans, they are green and filthy! because of the trees, as was our van and car and kids, when we left. There are no shops in nearby, however, Holmes chapel and Macclesfield are only a short drive away, and have supermarkets, post offices etc.
Overall a lovely hide away, would go again.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019