Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Mid March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CrazyDogLady 2 reviews from this member

 Just got home from four beautiful days at Gill Head Farm. The site is easy to find from the motorway and well signposted; even for novice towers like us! As you drive up it is clear where to go depending if you're in a tent or van and there is space to park close to reception. I paid with a delightful young gentleman who was very charming. The site owners are lovely and very helpful without being overbearing; as it is a working farm they aren't always immediately available but seem to be on site pretty much constantly and there is a contact telephone number in case of difficulties.

I had called earlier in the day and was told to go straight up to the caravan field, as we went out of season there was ample space to choose from. The pitches in the caravan field were predominantly hard standing with a couple of grass pitches. All had hook up and some had water points as well, although we didn't pick one of those. There is a large children's play structure with swings, slides, climbing wall bit etc and a couple of trampolines. These are next to a large communal area for campers to eat and hang out in, with an undercover barbecue area and some washing up facilities. We didn't use the hang out room but the washing up sinks have very hot water and good pressure. There is a toilet block with two toilet cubicles and three showers, plus a large cubicle with toilet, sink and shower in the ladies; I'm told the gents had two toilet cubicles, one urinal & four shower cubicles. Again, water is hot and good pressure, the button is a little short time-wise to me but it might be because I was enjoying it ☺

Our only very minor niggle was that the lighting over the chemical disposal wasn't great, which made an unforeseen toilet emptying trip in the dark a little more risky than we'd like, but as long as you're more sensible than we are and empty in daylight hours it's all good!

All in all a top class site that we are already planning a return trip to! If you go make sure you ask for directions to the hidden field, it is well worth the short walk, and say hi to Tigger the dog! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whistling jean 10 reviews from this member

 We came with our daughter and family, who were in a tent. We were greeted in a very friendly manner and assisted to find a dry pitch for them adjacent to a hard standing in the caravan field. We were delighted with the facilities, particularly the splendid trampolines which our grandchildren aged 2 to 10 all enjoyed. The playground was a great focus for them. They made new friends and had a great time. The log cabin has good wifi and we were glad to retreat there on a morning of poor weather. The facilities were kept very clean and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere. Electric hook up was 1, a real bargain. A site well worth returning to. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hayleyd67 1 review from this member

 This is our second year using this camp site, and again we were not disappointed. This time we came mob handed, 5 adults, 4 teenagers and 2 dogs, all in 3 tents. We stayed in the bottom field which is very close to the waterfall and pool which the younger of our our group thoroughly enjoyed swimming in. The facilities are top notch, clean showers etc and hot water. The patrons were very helpful, providing breakfast buns on request and special fish and chip nights twice a week. The campsite is close to Keswick which offers unlimited options for eating out and entertainment, but it is also close to major roads to make access to other parts of the Lakes easy. Highly recommend camping in this area at this campsite. We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitwaller79 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site with 2 under 5s over bank holiday weekend.

Site nicely set up with a small shop at reception. Friendly welcome on arrival and advised on local area and site.

Facilities were clean and well maintained.

Play area very good for kids 3 years up with swings, slides, climbing frames and 2 trampolines. One bad point is lack of baby swing.

Wifi signal is good and strong around the facilities but dropped to no signal about 30 foot away.

Best thing about this site though has to be the access being about a mile from the a66 but there is a bit of road noise to put up with.

All in all a decent site and one id use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crossleyh 2 reviews from this member

 Visited Gill Head on the Aug Bank Hol weekend after ringing around all our usual haunts last minute and failing to get anywhere. Always a bit wary when someone has availability when other's don't. However, very pleasantly surprised on arrival. Handily situated between Pooley Bridge and Keswick, you approach through the farm. As a party of 3 adults, and 4 kids in a large tent we asked the lady at Reception for advice on where to pitch. She kindly walked me round the site and we decided to settle on a pitch with EHU directly in front of the children's amazing adventure play area. That was the last we saw of them. Result!

The site was pleasantly busy without being packed. Behind the playground was a large barn with comfy sofas, TV, microwave, fridge etc and lots of undercover seating for those rainy days - very handy. The play area had two enormous trampolines (one enclosed, one not). The large one was reported for being broken and the farmer and wife turned up promptly to fix it, which was re-assuring. We also had a problem with flying ants on the top of the tent and the owner lent us her spray - she also gave us milk from her own supply from home when they ran out, so complaints of miserable staff seem a bit harsh.

There are two fields for camping - the caravan field where we were allowed to pitch, or the camping field. The latter had the best views over Blencathra. We also took the kids down to the secret field with stream and waterfall to catch tiddlers. If you're after romance, or like wild camping, this is the place for you (will need to pee in a bush though, as a long trek to the loos!). Altogether, very pleased with our find and will definitely be returning 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rivvy 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights on this site with a group of friends.

On checking in we were told to camp where we wanted.

There are a couple of camping fields with a track running through.

Although we have had a spell of relatively dry weather, the ground was very wet and boggy with water oozing out of the ground as you walked across it. This is perhaps as a result of the very wet summer.

The site was quiet, so we managed to seek out a drier patch. If it had been busy, then we may have had no option but to camp on the very wet bits. As the ground was so soft, cars could not really be parked next to tents.

The toilet block is fairly modern and very clean.

The site shop sells the very bare essentials.

At only 7. 50 per person per night and no additional charge for cars etc, the site represents good value for money.

The nearest pub to the site is the Troutbeck Inn. The beer was OK but the food was a bit pricey at around 15. 00 for a standard main course. They also stop serving at 11. 00pm sharp.

On the whole, this is a reasonably priced site in a good location.

Would I return? Probably not, as I have stayed on other sites in the area that I would prefer to return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Betty2 1 review from this member

 Just back from a lovely five days camping at gill head. The campsite is a great location for exploring the northern lakes. We camped in the first field on left upon entering the campsite area. Close to showers, toilets and children's playground.

My children had a fabulous time at the playground. The office staff were helpful when required and the shop has bare essentials. The sportsman pub has great food - only just over 1. 5 miles away.

Showers and toilets were not spotlessly clean but certainly acceptable. Laid back atmosphere at campsite. I would definitely camp here again.

A communal fridge would be handy. There is a freezer and kettles and microwave and tv in wooden hut shelter. Also a washing machine and dryer in dishwashing room.

Recommended, 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dwal 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a camping pod as part of a group of families with young children in pods and tents for a weekend.

Gillhead Farm was perfect for what we were looking for. We stayed in the two pods in the tourer field as tents could pitched beside them.

There was a fantastic play area and couple of trampolines right beside us which was fantastic as the children could go off and play where we could still keep an eye on them.

There was also a large indoor barn type area with a fridge, freezer, kettle, tables and chairs which we found very useful. Took our stoves up there to cook under cover when there was a bit of rain.

The toilet and shower facilities were fine. We did think the toilets could have been a little cleaner. My experienced camping friends tell me they have been to much worse however we have also seen better and just looked as if they could be a bit more thorough.

A really enjoyable weekend and we would happily return to this site again.  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 1956terryl 12 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fantastic week at Gill Head Farm. The location was excellent for touring the area, and the facilities were very good. We went with family ranging from 6 to 63 and all enjoyed our stay.

The owners were very helpful, they gave us copies of bus timetables and also loaned us an extension cable for hook up. We were in a touring caravan, the rest of the family were in two tents.

The Grandchildren enjoyed the play area and used the facilities every day.

The shower block was fine and was kept clean throughout the day. We went to two local pubs, the Troutbeck and the Sportsman, both had good food but for families, the Sportsman is probably the best option.

The Sportsman is about 1. 5 miles away, it's a nice walk and there is a good selection. We will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jesspekjon 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 7 night stay at Gill Head Farm, really enjoyed it. Its a great working farm with great staff and facilities. There's a little shop for your bits and bobs and there's plenty for the children with a big climbing frame and a couple of trampolines.

There's some good walks to try out, and a couple of pubs not too far away, the closest one being the Troutbeck inn hotel, its was nice but as you would imagine with an hotel its a little on the pricey side.

Me and my wife enjoyed a walk to the sportsman inn, it's about 1. 5 miles away but is worth the walk as it offers excellent meals at good prices and is just a great pub all round.

Back to the campsite, We found the toilets to be kept clean, even when a groud of school kids came the staff seemed to keep on top of things. We asked staff about the walks and other activities, they were only too happy to help.

The only downside I can think of is that when camping on the tent field you could hear the main road, so maybe take some ear plugs.

Overall I will return to this great site. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement