Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 10/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location about 20 mins drive from Keswick with gorgeous views towards Blencathra.

Facilities were spotless, social distancing encouraged with hot showers available.

The main camping field was on a slope with some EHU points available. These were not ‘uniformed’ pitches and you could pitch where you wanted to/where your lead would reach. The grass was quite long and the field was really boggy everywhere (which probably explains the long grass as it would have been very difficult to keep on top of with the ground being saturated).

Super child friendly with trampolines and a small play area provided.

I did feel the site was expensive.

There were hens and peacocks wandering freely keeping us regularly entertained!

Despite the waterlogged and expensive pitches we would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sixoclockclub 2 reviews from this member

 The toilets where thoroughly cleaned twice a day and sanitizers all around, it felt very covid safe,

The pitches are on a slope so you will need blocks on most of them and they could do with being a little wider as the car needs to go on.

The grass if you have a awning up the grass area ended up very wet also some of them are only wide enough for just your van or motorhome. Close to all areas of northern lakes from A66.

Big negative the grass area in centre of caravan pitches is heaving with tents at weekend making it feel very hemmed in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Becsja 1 review from this member

 Lovely family friendly campsite with stunning scenery surrounding. Kids loved the play area and trampoline. There is a stream nearby the kids can paddle in.

The owners had thought of everything freezers outside to put your cool packs in, sinks for washing up, dust pan and brushes should you need them etc.

There a pub 10 minutes walk (with little legs) down a country road. Ullswater lake and Aira force waterfall fall is 10 minutes drive. Showers were open (although the women’s was a little in the hot side for kids).

There is a great farm shop 2 minutes away in the main road selling fresh veg and has a meat counter.

We would definitely recommend this campsite 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miriam 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with easy access to A66 and Keswick or Ullswater.

Good, clean facilities.

Beautiful views of the fells around.

Would definitely stay there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cjeager 13 reviews from this member

 Maybe it's me but every time I go near anything remotely lake-like it seems to pour with rain. Same again this year though not as bad as last year.

Check-in was easy. I selected an electric pitch in the caravan field, which was good. Close to all amenities and a bit quieter (apart from the kiddies playground) than the tent field because half the seasonal vans seemed to be empty. The weather was iffy - drizzle and fog and then sunny days as well. There's lots to do locally so no worries. Round of Buttermere in the rain, Keswick, Carlisle etc.

The pitches are surprisingly flat considering the location. I managed to sleep without rolling down a slope. Always a plus. Reception always helpful and seemed to be always open which was also a plus.

The petrol station up on the A66 roundabout at Rheged sells great food (a bit pricy though) and breakfast baps and proper coffee which was ideal for the early start I planned on my way home. Having it start to rain just as I was packing up rather slowed things down but saved me trying to pack the tent away properly.

It's a good location on a main road so easy to get to and from. The pub down the road serves decent food and drink and is within 15 minutes stroll.

Turning right onto the A66 can be a bit of a pain but patience is a virtue and there will, eventually, be a break in the traffic but it's probably easier with a bit of oomph. I wouldn't want to be towing anything large.

That said it's a great place and I am planning another visit in 2019. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellevueace 8 reviews from this member

 I booked a couple of nights camping at Gill Head, the site is in a beautiful location with stunning views.

The check in was very fast and the girl on reception very friendly. You can pitch up where you want, there are no marked pitches so you can be rather close to your neighbour.

There is a sign indicating quiet times from 22:00 to 08:00 most people adhere to this but I had people in two pods behind me with shouting kids and the radio on till gone midnight, that's not the fault of the site just inconsiderate people, having said that the close proximity of pitches does make it hard not to hear the slightest noise from adjoining pitches.

The washing up area is very clean and has everything you need, of the two sinks only one had hot water. The toilet block was very clean and modern.

The grass was long and could have done with cutting, the site is a bit isolated but there is a pub about a 15 minute walk away.

The A66 is very close but there is no problem as regards to traffic noise, if you don't fancy cooking breakfast it can be pre ordered the night before for collection. Fish and Chips available Tuesday and Friday.

Would be better in quieter times ie out of school holidays. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weeks316 1 review from this member

 We stayed 2 nights at Gillhead farm site and would highly recommend this site.

We received a warm friendly welcome and this set the tone for a very nice stay.

The site was busy but there was still plenty of spaces available. We were told that we should go to the back field which would give us a great view of the hills and scenery. The views were in deed lovely, and we really enjoyed our fire as the sun went down.

The site is well managed and the facilities are first class. The toilets are cleaned regularly and the water is hot.

There is a large kids play area, and a tv room with couches and more toilets next door.

We actually had car trouble one morning and the manager was really helpful, and actually drove us into the near by village.

I will definitely visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Baby2017 1 review from this member

 After booking with woucher for glamping pod 2 weeks previous it was a fantastic last minute find. The camping pods are jus great roomy and stil have that camping feel. Mattresses supplied were very comfy. The whole campsite was fantastic. Layout great staff great animals wandering around. Access to other areas within easy reach.

Its that great going again in July 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cjeager 13 reviews from this member

 I have no idea how they manage to keep the toilets, showers and communal areas clean and supplied - but they did! Just back from a very soggy/muddy four days at Gill Head. After what seems to have been two weeks of almost continuous rain the whole site was very, very wet. Parking was only allowed on hard standings and in designated parking places - not by your tent. This was an attempt to stop getting the ground churned up. It worked out OK though some of the parking was a bit tight. Choice of pitch left to individual preference, which in my case meant least boggy since I hadn't booked an electric pitch and could choose.

The play area was extremely popular, even in the rain. Kids on there until dark every night I was there. As I said, showers and toilets were clean, the occasional bit of grass or mud got tracked in but was swiftly dealt with. The communal area was warm and comfortable with decent wifi. Good facilities all round really.

Location was excellent. Very easy to find. About equally distant from Keswick and Penrith, close to the A66. There was some traffic noise but not a lot, it was easy to ignore. I had planned to do a bit of walking but apart from a low level walk round Derwent Water (a word of advice, go round with the lake to your left - you get the boring bit over at the start when you are fresh not at the end when it's an almighty drag) was foiled by the weather - I quite like to be able to see where I am going.

Keswick is a nice town with lots of independent shops half of them seem to be outdoors ones so if you forget anything you'll find it there. Dozens of places within an easy drive for low level and indoor activities if the weather isn't great. The 'Puzzling Place' in Keswick was fascinating (though some people feel a bit nauseated by some exhibits) and seemed to keep kids and adults entertained. Obviously the weather dictates activity. There are loads of places offering outdoor activities and even an ice climbing wall.

I am told the breakfast buns and fish and chips are good. Lots of people hired fire pits from the site shop. They have milk in 'proper' old-fashioned glass bottles!

Despite the boggy/soggy site it was good. I am already planning another visit next year - hopefully in better/less wet weather. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 89 reviews from this member

 We had booked this Site via their website a couple of days before arriving. In the event, the caravan/motorhome section had plenty of spaces and there were still gaps in the camping field, even with DoE parties passing through. We were told to choose our own space on arrival and found call the hard standings to have plenty of room. Views are a bit limited by the surrounding trees but this Site is well located for getting out and about. We climbed Blencathra, with thanks to the owners for lending a map, and used the local bus which stops about a mile away on the A66 and runs from Penrith to the coast via Keswick.

Facilities are very good, plenty of showers, washbasins and dishwashing areas as well as a communal area. With a full on play area, including trampolines, this would also be a great place for children. Wifi signal, free, was good too. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement