Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 10/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pondie78 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay here.

Lovely quiet site with excellent clean facilities and kids play area.

Well situated for access to Northern fells and lakes 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ailsab 2 reviews from this member

 Gill Head Farm is a site we will stay at again. This was our second visit and there is much to like about it.

Caravans and campers are separated on their own pitches, well apart from each other, the communal facilities are clean, the showers are free,

Access to the site is straight forward and on leaving, when we met other vehicles on the access road, they reversed to let us get past. Very helpful, as reversing with a caravan is not my greatest skill.

The children's facilities, the caged trampoline and the large grassed area, were being used up to about 10pm, and the site was quiet at night.

A very positive experience, despite the awful Cumbrian weather on this occasion. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location about 20 mins drive from Keswick with gorgeous views towards Blencathra.

Facilities were spotless, social distancing encouraged with hot showers available.

The main camping field was on a slope with some EHU points available. These were not ‘uniformed’ pitches and you could pitch where you wanted to/where your lead would reach. The grass was quite long and the field was really boggy everywhere (which probably explains the long grass as it would have been very difficult to keep on top of with the ground being saturated).

Super child friendly with trampolines and a small play area provided.

I did feel the site was expensive.

There were hens and peacocks wandering freely keeping us regularly entertained!

Despite the waterlogged and expensive pitches we would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sixoclockclub 2 reviews from this member

 The toilets where thoroughly cleaned twice a day and sanitizers all around, it felt very covid safe,

The pitches are on a slope so you will need blocks on most of them and they could do with being a little wider as the car needs to go on.

The grass if you have a awning up the grass area ended up very wet also some of them are only wide enough for just your van or motorhome. Close to all areas of northern lakes from A66.

Big negative the grass area in centre of caravan pitches is heaving with tents at weekend making it feel very hemmed in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Becsja 1 review from this member

 Lovely family friendly campsite with stunning scenery surrounding. Kids loved the play area and trampoline. There is a stream nearby the kids can paddle in.

The owners had thought of everything freezers outside to put your cool packs in, sinks for washing up, dust pan and brushes should you need them etc.

There a pub 10 minutes walk (with little legs) down a country road. Ullswater lake and Aira force waterfall fall is 10 minutes drive. Showers were open (although the women’s was a little in the hot side for kids).

There is a great farm shop 2 minutes away in the main road selling fresh veg and has a meat counter.

We would definitely recommend this campsite 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miriam 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with easy access to A66 and Keswick or Ullswater.

Good, clean facilities.

Beautiful views of the fells around.

Would definitely stay there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cjeager 13 reviews from this member

 Maybe it's me but every time I go near anything remotely lake-like it seems to pour with rain. Same again this year though not as bad as last year.

Check-in was easy. I selected an electric pitch in the caravan field, which was good. Close to all amenities and a bit quieter (apart from the kiddies playground) than the tent field because half the seasonal vans seemed to be empty. The weather was iffy - drizzle and fog and then sunny days as well. There's lots to do locally so no worries. Round of Buttermere in the rain, Keswick, Carlisle etc.

The pitches are surprisingly flat considering the location. I managed to sleep without rolling down a slope. Always a plus. Reception always helpful and seemed to be always open which was also a plus.

The petrol station up on the A66 roundabout at Rheged sells great food (a bit pricy though) and breakfast baps and proper coffee which was ideal for the early start I planned on my way home. Having it start to rain just as I was packing up rather slowed things down but saved me trying to pack the tent away properly.

It's a good location on a main road so easy to get to and from. The pub down the road serves decent food and drink and is within 15 minutes stroll.

Turning right onto the A66 can be a bit of a pain but patience is a virtue and there will, eventually, be a break in the traffic but it's probably easier with a bit of oomph. I wouldn't want to be towing anything large.

That said it's a great place and I am planning another visit in 2019. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellevueace 8 reviews from this member

 I booked a couple of nights camping at Gill Head, the site is in a beautiful location with stunning views.

The check in was very fast and the girl on reception very friendly. You can pitch up where you want, there are no marked pitches so you can be rather close to your neighbour.

There is a sign indicating quiet times from 22:00 to 08:00 most people adhere to this but I had people in two pods behind me with shouting kids and the radio on till gone midnight, that's not the fault of the site just inconsiderate people, having said that the close proximity of pitches does make it hard not to hear the slightest noise from adjoining pitches.

The washing up area is very clean and has everything you need, of the two sinks only one had hot water. The toilet block was very clean and modern.

The grass was long and could have done with cutting, the site is a bit isolated but there is a pub about a 15 minute walk away.

The A66 is very close but there is no problem as regards to traffic noise, if you don't fancy cooking breakfast it can be pre ordered the night before for collection. Fish and Chips available Tuesday and Friday.

Would be better in quieter times ie out of school holidays. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weeks316 1 review from this member

 We stayed 2 nights at Gillhead farm site and would highly recommend this site.

We received a warm friendly welcome and this set the tone for a very nice stay.

The site was busy but there was still plenty of spaces available. We were told that we should go to the back field which would give us a great view of the hills and scenery. The views were in deed lovely, and we really enjoyed our fire as the sun went down.

The site is well managed and the facilities are first class. The toilets are cleaned regularly and the water is hot.

There is a large kids play area, and a tv room with couches and more toilets next door.

We actually had car trouble one morning and the manager was really helpful, and actually drove us into the near by village.

I will definitely visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Baby2017 1 review from this member

 After booking with woucher for glamping pod 2 weeks previous it was a fantastic last minute find. The camping pods are jus great roomy and stil have that camping feel. Mattresses supplied were very comfy. The whole campsite was fantastic. Layout great staff great animals wandering around. Access to other areas within easy reach.

Its that great going again in July 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement