Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gill Head Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Mid March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cjeager 12 reviews from this member

Maybe it's me but every time I go near anything remotely lake-like it seems to pour with rain. Same again this year though not as bad as last year.

Check-in was easy. I selected an electric pitch in the caravan field, which was good. Close to all amenities and a bit quieter (apart from the kiddies playground) than the tent field because half the seasonal vans seemed to be empty. The weather was iffy - drizzle and fog and then sunny days as well. There's lots to do locally so no worries. Round of Buttermere in the rain, Keswick, Carlisle etc.

The pitches are surprisingly flat considering the location. I managed to sleep without rolling down a slope. Always a plus. Reception always helpful and seemed to be always open which was also a plus.

The petrol station up on the A66 roundabout at Rheged sells great food (a bit pricy though) and breakfast baps and proper coffee which was ideal for the early start I planned on my way home. Having it start to rain just as I was packing up rather slowed things down but saved me trying to pack the tent away properly.

It's a good location on a main road so easy to get to and from. The pub down the road serves decent food and drink and is within 15 minutes stroll.

Turning right onto the A66 can be a bit of a pain but patience is a virtue and there will, eventually, be a break in the traffic but it's probably easier with a bit of oomph. I wouldn't want to be towing anything large.

That said it's a great place and I am planning another visit in 2019.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bellevueace 8 reviews from this member

I booked a couple of nights camping at Gill Head, the site is in a beautiful location with stunning views. The check in was very fast and the girl on reception very friendly. You can pitch up where you want, there are no marked pitches so you can be rather close to your neighbour. There is a sign indicating quiet times from 22:00 to 08:00 most people adhere to this but I had people in two pods behind me with shouting kids and the radio on till gone midnight, that's not the fault of the site just inconsiderate people, having said that the close proximity of pitches does make it hard not to hear the slightest noise from adjoining pitches. The washing up area is very clean and has everything you need, of the two sinks only one had hot water. The toilet block was very clean and modern. The grass was long and could have done with cutting, the site is a bit isolated but there is a pub about a 15 minute walk away. The A66 is very close but there is no problem as regards to traffic noise, if you don't fancy cooking breakfast it can be pre ordered the night before for collection. Fish and Chips available Tuesday and Friday. Would be better in quieter times ie out of school holidays.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weeks316 1 review from this member

We stayed 2 nights at Gillhead farm site and would highly recommend this site.

We received a warm friendly welcome and this set the tone for a very nice stay.

The site was busy but there was still plenty of spaces available. We were told that we should go to the back field which would give us a great view of the hills and scenery. The views were in deed lovely, and we really enjoyed our fire as the sun went down.

The site is well managed and the facilities are first class. The toilets are cleaned regularly and the water is hot.

There is a large kids play area, and a tv room with couches and more toilets next door.

We actually had car trouble one morning and the manager was really helpful, and actually drove us into the near by village.

I will definitely visit again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Baby2017 1 review from this member

After booking with woucher for glamping pod 2 weeks previous it was a fantastic last minute find. The camping pods are jus great roomy and stil have that camping feel. Mattresses supplied were very comfy. The whole campsite was fantastic. Layout great staff great animals wandering around. Access to other areas within easy reach.

Its that great going again in July

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cjeager 12 reviews from this member

I have no idea how they manage to keep the toilets, showers and communal areas clean and supplied - but they did! Just back from a very soggy/muddy four days at Gill Head. After what seems to have been two weeks of almost continuous rain the whole site was very, very wet. Parking was only allowed on hard standings and in designated parking places - not by your tent. This was an attempt to stop getting the ground churned up. It worked out OK though some of the parking was a bit tight. Choice of pitch left to individual preference, which in my case meant least boggy since I hadn't booked an electric pitch and could choose.

The play area was extremely popular, even in the rain. Kids on there until dark every night I was there. As I said, showers and toilets were clean, the occasional bit of grass or mud got tracked in but was swiftly dealt with. The communal area was warm and comfortable with decent wifi. Good facilities all round really.

Location was excellent. Very easy to find. About equally distant from Keswick and Penrith, close to the A66. There was some traffic noise but not a lot, it was easy to ignore. I had planned to do a bit of walking but apart from a low level walk round Derwent Water (a word of advice, go round with the lake to your left - you get the boring bit over at the start when you are fresh not at the end when it's an almighty drag) was foiled by the weather - I quite like to be able to see where I am going.

Keswick is a nice town with lots of independent shops half of them seem to be outdoors ones so if you forget anything you'll find it there. Dozens of places within an easy drive for low level and indoor activities if the weather isn't great. The 'Puzzling Place' in Keswick was fascinating (though some people feel a bit nauseated by some exhibits) and seemed to keep kids and adults entertained. Obviously the weather dictates activity. There are loads of places offering outdoor activities and even an ice climbing wall.

I am told the breakfast buns and fish and chips are good. Lots of people hired fire pits from the site shop. They have milk in 'proper' old-fashioned glass bottles!

Despite the boggy/soggy site it was good. I am already planning another visit next year - hopefully in better/less wet weather.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 77 reviews from this member

We had booked this Site via their website a couple of days before arriving. In the event, the caravan/motorhome section had plenty of spaces and there were still gaps in the camping field, even with DoE parties passing through. We were told to choose our own space on arrival and found call the hard standings to have plenty of room. Views are a bit limited by the surrounding trees but this Site is well located for getting out and about. We climbed Blencathra, with thanks to the owners for lending a map, and used the local bus which stops about a mile away on the A66 and runs from Penrith to the coast via Keswick.

Facilities are very good, plenty of showers, washbasins and dishwashing areas as well as a communal area. With a full on play area, including trampolines, this would also be a great place for children. Wifi signal, free, was good too.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CrazyDogLady 2 reviews from this member

Just got home from four beautiful days at Gill Head Farm. The site is easy to find from the motorway and well signposted; even for novice towers like us! As you drive up it is clear where to go depending if you're in a tent or van and there is space to park close to reception. I paid with a delightful young gentleman who was very charming. The site owners are lovely and very helpful without being overbearing; as it is a working farm they aren't always immediately available but seem to be on site pretty much constantly and there is a contact telephone number in case of difficulties.

I had called earlier in the day and was told to go straight up to the caravan field, as we went out of season there was ample space to choose from. The pitches in the caravan field were predominantly hard standing with a couple of grass pitches. All had hook up and some had water points as well, although we didn't pick one of those. There is a large children's play structure with swings, slides, climbing wall bit etc and a couple of trampolines. These are next to a large communal area for campers to eat and hang out in, with an undercover barbecue area and some washing up facilities. We didn't use the hang out room but the washing up sinks have very hot water and good pressure. There is a toilet block with two toilet cubicles and three showers, plus a large cubicle with toilet, sink and shower in the ladies; I'm told the gents had two toilet cubicles, one urinal & four shower cubicles. Again, water is hot and good pressure, the button is a little short time-wise to me but it might be because I was enjoying it ☺

Our only very minor niggle was that the lighting over the chemical disposal wasn't great, which made an unforeseen toilet emptying trip in the dark a little more risky than we'd like, but as long as you're more sensible than we are and empty in daylight hours it's all good!

All in all a top class site that we are already planning a return trip to! If you go make sure you ask for directions to the hidden field, it is well worth the short walk, and say hi to Tigger the dog!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Whistling jean 10 reviews from this member

We came with our daughter and family, who were in a tent. We were greeted in a very friendly manner and assisted to find a dry pitch for them adjacent to a hard standing in the caravan field. We were delighted with the facilities, particularly the splendid trampolines which our grandchildren aged 2 to 10 all enjoyed. The playground was a great focus for them. They made new friends and had a great time. The log cabin has good wifi and we were glad to retreat there on a morning of poor weather. The facilities were kept very clean and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere. Electric hook up was 1, a real bargain. A site well worth returning to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hayleyd67 1 review from this member

This is our second year using this camp site, and again we were not disappointed. This time we came mob handed, 5 adults, 4 teenagers and 2 dogs, all in 3 tents. We stayed in the bottom field which is very close to the waterfall and pool which the younger of our our group thoroughly enjoyed swimming in. The facilities are top notch, clean showers etc and hot water. The patrons were very helpful, providing breakfast buns on request and special fish and chip nights twice a week. The campsite is close to Keswick which offers unlimited options for eating out and entertainment, but it is also close to major roads to make access to other parts of the Lakes easy. Highly recommend camping in this area at this campsite. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitwaller79 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site with 2 under 5s over bank holiday weekend.

Site nicely set up with a small shop at reception. Friendly welcome on arrival and advised on local area and site.

Facilities were clean and well maintained.

Play area very good for kids 3 years up with swings, slides, climbing frames and 2 trampolines. One bad point is lack of baby swing.

Wifi signal is good and strong around the facilities but dropped to no signal about 30 foot away.

Best thing about this site though has to be the access being about a mile from the a66 but there is a bit of road noise to put up with.

All in all a decent site and one id use again.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!