Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm > Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 10/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 61 Reviews
                8/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: P LONNEN 1 review from this member

 Really nice large site with different sections available. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Lots of toilet facilities available so even if not on main site next to main toilet block, there are additional facilities around the site, all the facilities were good and clean.

Good children's play area and lots of open space for them to play. We prefer a quieter site normally but due to different sections we weren't really disturbed by the children and it was a busy weekend.

Site is a little off the beaten track (middle of countryside) so nice and quiet surroundings although it is on a working farm so expect some animal noises.

Unfortunately the pub nearby seemed to be closed most of the time but there are plenty of supermarkets within a short drive.

Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TomCarney 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite. The views are spectacular, with the furthest field facing directly to Blencathra. The shower and toilet facilities are really first rate. At peak times of day there is occasionally a short wait for a shower cubicle, but mostly there are enough for everyone.

The staff (owners?) are friendly and helpful, and won't bother you once you're checked in. There are no specific marked out pitches but there is lots of space to pitch your tent and not too many tents crammed in, giving a nice feeling of space.

Cars are not permitted to be parked on the grass where you pitch your tent, but there is ample parking very close by - usually no more than 20 or 30 metres.

The only significant drawback is the relatively close proximity of the A66. This obviously makes it easy to access the site, and to access the rest of the lakes from the campsite, but there can be traffic noise all through the night. This is not loud, riotous noise that will stop you from sleeping, but it can be enough to break that lovely feeling of absolute peace and isolation that you can get on some more remote sights.

The other slightly annoying thing is the rule that only logs bought from the farm shop can be burned on the site. I have no objection to this in principle, but the shop is not always staffed.

If you arrive back late one night, or have not planned your evenings in sufficient detail, or if they run out of logs at the shop, then you just don't get to have a campfire. For me, a campfire is an essential part of the experience. I'm sorry to say that by our second night we had just bought a store of firewood from a petrol station in Keswick.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gill Head Farm and would recommend, either to families looking for a relaxing break, or walkers looking for a base. It is a very nice spot! 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Day-vid 1 review from this member

 Perfect…. I arrived midday, reception was shut but a mobile number was available to call as “they were strimming the grass” really easy & relaxed attitude.

I chose my spot and set up with the most stunning views.

The facilities are clean and not too busy. The usual D of E wanderers and a few other tents pitched.

The site is well maintained and very very very quiet.

Perfect for someone wanting to get away and enjoy the views and some peace!

Highly recommended and I will be booking to come back in a few weeks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Craig9173 7 reviews from this member

 I turned up late and left early. It was really easy to find a pitch.

Pressed the bell at reception and I was soon sorted out.

Facilities clean and plentiful.

I like the park on the gravel pitch on the grass approach. Very handy not far off the A66.

A really tidy and well looked after site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dogshome 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from a five day stay at this site with our family, two caravans and one motorhome and thoroughly enjoyed. The toilets and showers seem fairly new of have been kept immaculately.

Very pleasant to use. The pitches or at least ours were narrow buit deep. Caravan and awning take up most of the width of the pitch but plenty of space for vehicle in front.

The majority of the twenty plus pitches appear to be occupied by seasonal pitches. Downside there was a lack of atmosphere, the upside is that the caravan and motorhome field remained very peaceful even over the weekend.

The site is very accessible less than half a mile from the A66 and probably 15 minutes from the M6.

The north fells including Blencathra for the backdrop to the site and

I would recommend taking a drive into the Caldbeck region for a totally different perspective on this area. Aira force and great walks and Ullswater 20 minutes south.

Keswick 15 minutes west is all very handy. Must mention the terrific farm shop half a mile away from where we spent far more than we met on terrific meat and food.

Only a couple of minor gripes. Our introduction when booking in was so brief that we weren't made aware of several features including a great walk for our dogs along an old train track.

Secondly, the area for bins, CDP and wastewater were pretty messy making any use of them less than pleasant.

Can thoroughly recommend the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vicksey 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite on a working farm.

Enjoyed our stay facilities were immaculate and I love all the little touches that have been put to go that little bit extra.

Communal sheltered area is a fab idea especially for those in tents on those really bad days.

Not far from keswick so handy for a quick shop.

Will definitely be using this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mcewan 1 review from this member

 Noise carry over from A66, sounded quite close, know that this can't be helped as it is a main route into the lakes.

Showers where hot, toilet block clean.

Good idea to have microwaves 2x for use saves on carrying fuel etc for cooking.

Asked at shop for eggs to be told there wasn't any. When travelling by bike this can cut down on carrying foodstuffs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pondie78 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay here.

Lovely quiet site with excellent clean facilities and kids play area.

Well situated for access to Northern fells and lakes 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ailsab 2 reviews from this member

 Gill Head Farm is a site we will stay at again. This was our second visit and there is much to like about it.

Caravans and campers are separated on their own pitches, well apart from each other, the communal facilities are clean, the showers are free,

Access to the site is straight forward and on leaving, when we met other vehicles on the access road, they reversed to let us get past. Very helpful, as reversing with a caravan is not my greatest skill.

The children's facilities, the caged trampoline and the large grassed area, were being used up to about 10pm, and the site was quiet at night.

A very positive experience, despite the awful Cumbrian weather on this occasion. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location about 20 mins drive from Keswick with gorgeous views towards Blencathra.

Facilities were spotless, social distancing encouraged with hot showers available.

The main camping field was on a slope with some EHU points available. These were not ‘uniformed’ pitches and you could pitch where you wanted to/where your lead would reach. The grass was quite long and the field was really boggy everywhere (which probably explains the long grass as it would have been very difficult to keep on top of with the ground being saturated).

Super child friendly with trampolines and a small play area provided.

I did feel the site was expensive.

There were hens and peacocks wandering freely keeping us regularly entertained!

Despite the waterlogged and expensive pitches we would recommend. 
via mobile


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


26765 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement