Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Mid March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Polarskates 1 review from this member

 My partner and I stayed at this site for 3 nights the first week of August (we were due to stay longer). On arrival we found the site quiet with plenty of places to choose from. The top field we chose had excellent views of the nearby hills although after a day or so we realised this part of the site is very windy all of the time due to its location in the valley. There is also quite a bit of noise from the main road into Keswick which can be heard at all times of the day and night. Other parts of the site may not have this problem though.

The facilities are reasonable, my partner found the Womens toilets and showers clean but unfortunately I couldn't say the same for the Mens, on more than one occasion I had to try 3 different toilets before I found one clean enough to use. One complaint we both had, were the shower timer buttons, which lasted about 4-5 secs before a another press is required. Soap, press, wash, press, rinse, press etc Never had a problem with overcrowding though.

Prior to the weekend the site had been peaceful and relaxed but on retuning Friday evening we found the whole of Liverpool and Newcastle had arrived for their Hols. The tents were packed in and just feet away from each other. Nearly all the arrivals were families (it is a family site after all). Unfortunately the no noise after 10.30pm rule was totally ignored, as was the rule for not bringing cars into the camping fields after 10.00pm. We even had a family arriving on site at 10.45 and putting up their tent feet away, headlights on, doors slamming, children running riot. The site never became quiet until about 1am. The owners were not to be seen and none of the rules enforced. Woken the next morning at 6am by campers driving their cars to the toilet block because it was spitting with rain, its a 90sec walk! Decided to leave early that morning, owners refunded our money and apologised 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hugzee 2 reviews from this member

 What a find. Wonderful site visited with a few friends. Most of us camped but one section of the party (with kids) elected to rent a pod, which was wonderful if you don't want to arrive and go through the hassle of putting up your tent.

Facilities were great, free showers plenty hot enough. The only criticism was no soap for hand washing in the loos.

Although I don't have kids, as I said part of our group did and they loved the playground, plenty to keep them occupied.

Will definitely be going back next time I'm visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Purplesheila 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Gill Head Farm after a fantastic stay in a Camping Pod. We are usual run of the mill family campers with large tent and gear etc. However we decided to book a camping pod as our children were away at a Cub camp. We decided to book a Pod as we realised that we would be arriving late after dropping the kids off and expected to arrive at the campsite after 8pm and didnít want to start erecting our large family tent for just the two of us.

I must say that I think that the Camping Pods are the way forward. At £30 per night which includes electric, lamp and a heater (for cooler occasions) and two very thick and comfortable mattresses a family of two adults and two young children could easily fit in with additional beds. We enjoyed the fact that as soon as we arrived all we had to do was add our minimal camping gear and immediately go out for tea.

The main shower block was clean and had a mop to use after a shower so the next person could go in to a clean dry cubical. Showers were hot, and there was two washing up sinks for campers to use. There was also a large family wash room/ shower area.

I didnít use the additional toileting area but this also had a washing up area and a campers kitchen. Noise was kept to a minimum will all campers going quiet at 11pm.

The children also had a park to play at however I did notice that the trampoline did not have a surround. As a childcare service owner I feel that the risk is too high of an accident happening. If I was the owners campsite I would be checking my Personal Liability in the event of an accident, I know my childcare insurance will not cover accidents of this nature without proper safety measures. This includes not having a surround on a trampoline.

We hope to return soon with family and friends! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Franbw 2 reviews from this member

 I have been camping at this site for many years and watched it grow from a small centre camping field,to a additional three fields.

The centre of the the site gives you hard standings and tents, with a log cabin, microwave and television and the benefit of having your meals undercover. There is also a washing machine and washing up area.It has a nice play area for the children which includes two trampolines.

At the entrance to the site there are well kept toilets and showers and a further two showers down towards the static home areas.

A small shop provides ;milk,tea and sugar,eggs and so on,and a wonderful friendly reception.

There is a second field that I like using that gives your that little added distance away from the play area that we sometimes love ;and for them that know the site but have not seen the improvements;there are hook up points right around this big field now that can also be used if you use the third field as a overflow.

Now,with a little more news;at the bottom of the big field you have a fenced of area near the bungalow,that provides you with 7 pods and hookups ( 2 person and 4 person), brilliant.

This camp site also has the advantage of some wonderful walks, from Blencathra onwards and is within easy reach of Penrith and Keswick,and even the Troutbeck Inn some 600 metres up the road.

Now if this doesn't make your day you can also enquire about short farmhouse breaks or the renting of the bungalow.

Too sum up this site in my eyes is just what everyone would need;but you, your family, need too see it and and go on from there. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Thrifty0780 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site clean, well maintained, play area for kids to enjoy. Great facilities always clean and tidy fantastic peaceful site for families to enjoy site owners very welcoming we will definitely go back again.

Being a working farm there are obviously animals around to see and at this time of year was particularly good to visit because it is lambing season and you are welcome to see the animals if you wish. All round we had an excellent stay 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lowlandgirl 1 review from this member

 Lovely position with great views of Blencathra and clean facilities. Stayed with our two children and 2 dogs.We had a nice couple of days here, only marred by the fact that the no noise after 10.30 rule was not enforced. At 11am kids were playing football around our tent when we were trying to get to sleep and at 1am a group of lads were busy putting up a tent, playfighting and being generally very noisy. The owners could do with patrolling the site to ensure that people observe the rules so that everyone has a good stay. Perhaps if go again will enquire first if there are any groups staying. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quartz 9 reviews from this member

 Good facilities here - the toilet block was extremely clean and well maintained. There is a covered area with seating, TV, microwave and is suitable for cooking. There is a small childrenís playground, complete with trampoline. Breakfast rolls are available if ordered the previous evening. The owners knew nothing about a plunge pool (see previous post). Noise from the main road was okay. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happywonderer 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting for this site. We saw deer on the edge of the site. Entrance from road good. Owners were not very obliging. We were the only ones on arrival at the site, and as we had been allocated a small pitch with not enough room to put up our average size awning. We had booked over the phone and followed up by booking form and deposit for a hardstanding pitch with electric hook up and awning space. We suggested an alternative pitch, but were told we could not have that one and given a slightly bigger one which was on a slope down to the back and hard to level, the jockey wheel was at it`s lowest. On going to the toilet block we found these to be dirty, with toilet paper on the floor and wash basins dirty. As we were the only ones on site it was obvious these were not cleaned regularly. The washing up area was also in need of a good clean. A small campervan arrived and was allocated a huge pitch, who also was not happy with the cleanliness of the facilities. We went for a walk and on return found that several tents had pitched in the caravan area. Tents were to be in a separate field. If this site gets it`s act together it could be really nice, it has the space and the views, also easy access of major roads and motorway. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Conway campers 13 reviews from this member

 This was our first site in our Folding camper in which we found by luck over the spring bank holiday, as the campsite we was going to was fully booked.

It was a lovely campsite and the people at reception were very friendly. The toilet blocks were kept clean and the showers were at a lovely temperature. The campsite had a play area for the kids, which looked like it was enjoyed by the kids.

It was about a 10 min drive into keswick, which is a lovely town with a market on when we were there. It also had a few tourist attractions there as well. We also visited a place called Rheged in penrith, which was a weird but wonderful little place that was under the ground of sorts, it had a few shops there and a visitors center. This was about 10 mins away from site as well. Http://www.Rheged.Com/

The main road between keswick and penrith had some pubs on it, which, depending which way you go from the campsite, can be found within a 5 min drive.

All in all, we found it to be a pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annaseddon 1 review from this member

 I've just come back from a camping weekend with 15 friends and found this campsite to be fantastic. I booked over the phone and the owners told me we could have use of a small field, just for us. When we arrived in the Friday evening the rain was pouring down but this did not detract from the amazing site and our very own viw of a beautiful waterfall.
As a group, this site was perfect. A little away from the static caravans and the toilet block, but we did not have to worry about keeping other campers awake. Sunday morning saw the whole group swimming the the plunge pool (very chilly but refreashing) and jumping down the waterfall! If you're looking for a site which will take a group of adults. This is the place to go! 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement