Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Mid March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abooth1 1 review from this member

 We spent an excellent weekend at this site. There was a large group of us with a lot of children. The children thorughly enjoyed themselves on the trampolines. The facilities were really good and very well kept, however on the Sunday one of the dishwashing facilities ran out of hot water (due to high volume of use)but in true camping style we made a plan and boiled the kettle and used that hot water.

The only personal critism I would have is that I did not like the sound of the cars on the A66. I am not used to car noise when I sleep.

We would recommend this site to anyone. It is really close to the lakes and easily accessible. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smellsofroses 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Whit Bank Holiday weekend - 3 nights camping. It seemed the whole world had arrived in the Lake District and we hadn't booked a campsite! Every site we knew of or had stayed at before was full but we managed to get the last pitch at Gill Head.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The camp site was full to capacity - perhaps a bit too full! - but we still had enough room around the tent. Although there were so many people the showers etc never seemed too busy. Totally different experience to the previous reviewer - 5 washup sinks were never busy but 3 ladies showers meant a 5 min wait. I found the toilets etc clean and encountered the cleaner a few times during our stay but my hubbie said the men's weren't as clean.

Kids enjoyed the play area and I thought it was a good one - especially the trampolines! But be warned - this is definitely a family site as there were hundreds of (noisy) kids staying so if you don't like children don't stay here in the school hols!

Because it was so busy it was noisy at in the evening but by 1030 it was quieter and you had the odd shout / people walking past (talking loudly) to go to the loo but I think that comes with the territory. Also it is a farm so the sheep, lambs and cows like to make a bit of noise as does the A66, but this is more 'background noise'. I did see the owners ask one couple to turn their music down at about 9pm but no 10pm sweep as at some sites.

Overall a good site with great views and we would stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drbones 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for two nights, the Sunday and Monday of the August bank holiday weekend. This would not have been our first choice of site but as we could only travel over the bank holiday weekend and few sites were available we took it.

First, the good points. The site is very well located for exploring the Northern Lake District (Keswick, Ullswater etc.) as it is right on the A66 and only a short distance from the M6 if you are approaching from that direction. There is a pub within reasonable walking distance (15-20 mins) but if you want to eat there make sure you book as it gets booked up very quickly. The views across to Blencathra are stunning if you are lucky enough to get those pitches. If you have children, the site has great facilities for them with a large playground etc. Although it is not visible from all the camping fields so if you are particularly concerned about keeping an eye on the little-un's probably best to ask if there is space in the field that adjoins the playground. There is also a campers lodge area with microwave, TV etc. Which can be used if you require that sort of thing. It was packed every time we walked past. The staff were friendly and although not extensively stocked the small site shop catered for the basics (milk etc.)

Now, the not so good points. For the size of site and the type of campers (i.E. Families) it must attract there are simply not enough toilet and shower facilities and we did not find them particularly well maintained. It was the bank holiday weekend which must put extra pressure on facilities but surely that is also a reason to keep on top of things. One toilet in the ladies was permanently blocked the whole weekend and the (one and only!) urinal in the gents constantly overflowed and leaked. The toilets were in a right state all weekend and the showers not much better. The two washing up sinks (serving over 150 pitches) struggled to keep up with demand and there were always long queues for them.

The children's play area was very noisy and the 'after dark' curfew was not even remotely enforced. Children just appeared to roam the site at all hours of the day and night which is perhaps not directly down to the owners but why have a curfew if it is not enforced? We knew this was a family site when we chose it so perhaps we should have expected that but if you don't have children or are looking for peace and quiet, perhaps give this campsite a wide berth during the school holidays. We certainly would.
The site says that it has a 10pm noise curfew but this was not even remotely enforced on either night. 
In summary, a good site spoiled by limited and poorly maintained toilet facilities and a dubious admissions policy in addition to poorly enforced rules. If you have a large family or are a large party then this might be the site for you but unfortunately it wasn't the site for us and we moved on as soon as we could find as we could find a space elsewhere.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MagsWirral 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at this site. Toilets and shower area is lovely. Clean and dry. The kids really enjoyed the play area, especially the trampoline. Amazing view from the tent (even in the rain).
Quiet and peaceful - well it was until we got there.
There is a wooden hut which can be used which is very pretty. We made the kids smile when we forced them to watch Big Brother evictions in there whilst we manhandled the tent!
We found the Local pub a tad unfriendly but we only stayed for a few pints and a game of darts.
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Big al9 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home early from this site but this was because of the bad weather and forecast, so we lost three days.
Being on the hardstanding and grass for the awning we were on a slope and the rain just flooded the awning as we were using a breathable ground sheet this was frustrating. The site and amenities were very good, reception staff pleasant and helpful even the farm dog helped us eat some food while we were out one day. We caught him trying his luck the following day. The showers were always spotless and no doubt on a good sunny week the site would be great but beware of the slopey pitches 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Natgar 7 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a fabulous weekend at this site. It is in a great location just on the edge of the lakes surrounded by the stunning hills, the views from our tents were fantastic, (it might have looked a bit different in the rain but we had glorious sunshine!)
This is a great site that we would happily recommend, we went with our 2 children (8 & 3) and two other families with children of a similar age.The kids loved the playground especially the trampolines.
We had loads of room to pitch in the camping field however, although we had a flat pitch at the top of the hill, further down its on a real slope so I wouldn't fancy pitching down there. The toilets and showers were fine, showers were hot my only gripe was it had a push button so the water only stayed on for a very short time but that's really a minor complaint! they were clean which is the main thing. A lovely site we will return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nands 20 reviews from this member

 Great site. We stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We arrived early and managed to get a level pitch at the top of the field with fabulous views down the valley. The rest of the field was sloping a little but not enough to cause you too much of a problem. The toilet block was modern and well maintained with plenty of hot water. We didn't have to queue to use the facilities despite the site being busy. There are only 2 sinks for washing up which meant a wait at busy times. There is also a log cabin with kettle and microwaves for campers to use. There were tables and chairs inside and an undercover area for bbqs etc. This is a family site - the play area suited my 4 year old who enjoyed the trampoline and climbing frame. My toddler was a little young though. The site has small shop for milk and other essential supplies. Overall an excellent site that we will be returning to next time we visit the northern lake district. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbz 3 reviews from this member

 A LOVELY CAMPSITE. Spectacular views and clean toilets, a well stocked shop and helpful owners. We have 3 dogs and the owners were very helpful to us by letting us pitch in a further field where our dogs did not have to stay tied up - the only problem we had whilst there was one of the farm dogs came into our tent and had some of our food - but that was a small price to pay to have what we had. Playground for the kids too - I will come back to this one! 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Franbw 2 reviews from this member

 I use this site all year round and have for many years, I agree this is a great friendly site, nice place to be and great views. I will use it for many years to come. Being in its location gives you the chance to leave your transport behind and try out the local walks. The childrens play area has two trampolines included, and are in regular use. Nice washrooms,and washing and drying machines 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elephant 18 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, just off the A66 between Keswick and Penrith. Very well laid out, great children's play area, very generous pitches and nice facilities including a bonus log cabin complete with TV, microwave and Kettle for guests to use! TV was popular as we couldn't get a signal on ours!

Lovely people running the site, and cannot fault the layout or facilities.

Only slight downside was road noise from the A66, but that is a slight detractor and wouldn't stop us from staying again.

Gill Head is a working farm complete with cows, sheep and hens to gawp at! 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1373 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement