Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gill Head Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Gill Head Farm Reviews

Gill Head Farm
Troutbeck
(lake District)
Keswick, Ullswater
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0ST
Tel: 017687 79953
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Mid March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Y4554r 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner decided to go camping for the first time with our 3yr old son and 11yr old daughter and her two friends. We stayed 3 nights over the weekend, there were quite a lot of people there. Anyway we found a nice spot, the grass was nice and thick to cushion the tent, it was perfect. The kids saw the play area on our way in so there they went all day.

The site had all the facilities, clean toilets every time, hot showers, washing machine, and dryer. A large log cabin for everyone to use which had fridge, freezer, colour t. V, microwave, kettle and it had electric sockets which we used to charge or mobiles and kids DS consoles.

Morrisons Shopping centre was 10 mins away leaflets for nearby attractions in the cabin which we will be going to next time we come. It was fantastic we loved it, the kids loved it even more. We took them to Keswick to the lake and the markets, it was great. It rained most of the time we were there, but we had great peaceful nights. We will definitely be returning with friends and family. Te owners we only saw once, then until we left, which we weren't bothered about. What a great place you guys have see you again soon 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daz76 2 reviews from this member

 When we showed up on the Saturday it was jam packed, however lots left on the Sunday and it was nice and quite for the five days we stayed, good toilet and shower block although not as modern as some sites we have been to.

Bit of a drive to get anywhere, Keswick and Penrith around nine miles either way, we did go to Keswick for supplies and a couple of meals, beautiful town, also good swimming complex for the kids there if weather is bad.

Ullswater isn't too far a drive either, we had the inflatable kayak with us and really enjoyed going out on Ullswater, so peaceful with amazing scenery.

The only place to walk to for a meal is the Troutbeck Inn, we went once, and the food was great, couldn't afford to eat there too often though! We also had bikes with us, but not too many places to go with a child seat on the back of mine, would be good for serious cyclists though looking for a workout, plenty of hilly roads etc.

All in all, a nice site to relax at, although as I said, we were lucky we had a quite week.

One issue I had was I found there to be quite a dry reception when we arrived, I only went to the shop on one other occasion to ask where the closest supermarkets were and felt I got the same reception, as if I was being a burden or something.

However the man patrolling the site was nice helping us choose a spot when we drove up to the field, and letting us know where the electric hook up was.

Enjoyed our stay but would try another site next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colin Clubman 1 review from this member

 Touring Caravan and stayed 3 nights. Ideally situated site just off main road, and easily located. Despite being close to road we didn't hear any traffic noise at all.

Good access to Keswick and surrounding areas. We cycled from Threlkeld (less than 5 minutes from site) into Keswick which was a pleasant ride.

Site is well maintained and plenty of room on both tent and caravan pitches.

Enjoyed stay and will definitely be returning in the future.

Only gripe would be the water pressure and temperature to the showers, but this wouldn't deter us to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caddonav 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Gill Head in our tent and found the new electric pitches in the top field to be a real bonus. These pitches have some fantastic views across to Skiddaw and Blencathra.

The facilities are great and offer both indoor cooking and BBQ options as well as the usual immaculate showers and wash up areas.

We've stayed here on a number of occasions both under canvas and with our tourer and the only issue we've encountered is the road noise from the A66.

All in all a really friendly site with great staff and atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zenobia6 4 reviews from this member

 This site is aimed for walkers and bikers. My Boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend here, we found it to be ok.

I found the owner to be friendly enough.

There was noise at this sight however we didn't find it to be a massive issue its purley because the sight was packed out.

The pitch was good, with superb views of the mountains, and close to the shower and toilet block. The toilets ans showers was good. The toilets were very clean every time I used them full of soap and hot water and hand dryer. The showers did only last a short time (4 seconds is an exaggeration, I counted 25-30 seconds) but this is to stop people wasting the water.

The campsite is totally in the middle of nowhere, there is nothing around and nothing to walk to, people walking were out all day (not for us).

Not sure if we would return to this campsite purely on location, but for people who want this its the perfect site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Helenj112 1 review from this member

 We stayed in a family pod for the first time this weekend, after having previously camped in our tent here. The pods were great, spotlessly clean and spacious, in a quiet setting. We'll definitely be using them again because it was hassle free and took minimal effort on our part.

The toilet and shower blocks particularly, are very clean, as were the dish washing areas and laundry room. Despite being quite close to the A66, road noise is minimal and the site is ideally placed between Penrith, Keswick, and only a slightly longer, but beautiful drive to Ullswater and Windermere.

We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the small but well stocked shop a lifesaver. Would definitely recommend this site to both families, and couples on their own, and we enjoyed lots of dog walking around the farm land, particularly over the railway bridge to the beautiful river. Will be returning again soon I imagine ! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairfieldwolf 2 reviews from this member

 Had read the reviews both positive and negative and decided to book.

Wont be returning stayed 3 nights - Thursday night excellent very quiet when we returned Friday tea time, a few more tents, and on the very top field a group of lads. They stayed up until the early hours of the morning, drinking and laughing, they kept us awake. Saturday night they didn't stay on the site instead they went to the pub and returned after 1am again they were not quiet and once they got back to their tents continued their conversations until after 3am.

Could be a good site if the owners enforced the rule of minimum noise after 10pm.

I would also agree with an earlier reviewee the owners weren't very welcoming.

Facilities ok but have seen better, the showers were ridiculous only lasting 4-5 secs. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claireabow 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site shame about the unfriendly welcome at reception. Other campers seemed happy to keep going back as the site is a nice site but it has put me off. Toilet block could do with a little maintenance, broken loo seats but very clean. Kids enjoyed playground and seeing farm animals. Farmer a nice chap, let kids help out but shame you have to be quiet after 10pm and not able to sit outside your caravan when its still light in May and June. Could do with a better shop, facilities as nearest towns with shops is about 9 miles both ways on A66 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernieboo15 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed b/hol weekend, 2 adults and 3 kids in a tent, mum and dad in the B&B and sister and partner in a pod ! The weather could have been better (rain, rain and more rain with a little sun) but we thought the facilities were great.

The undercover bbq area was a real bonus and created a great atmosphere - there is an indoor area with tables and chairs to eat inside if you prefer - watched the footy on the telly and a microwave and kettle provided also made bbq easy.

Toilets and showers were clean and water could have been hotter and showers a bit more forceful but they were decent. The shop sold basics, the owners were very helpful and friendly. The B&B was lovely and food great (they did a nice takeaway brekky as well).

My sis in the pod said it was cosy and fabulous views. The kids play area was great and kept my 3 entertained (age 12, 10 and 5). The views are fabulous. You can hear noise from the main road but the rain and wind were louder !

The horse and farrier pub in threlkeld just down the road do a fantastic Sunday lunch. Other campers were very quiet on a night time - but that could have been due to the rain. We camped on the field where the kids play area was and it was much more sheltered fom the wind than the main field.

Would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gempinkfairy 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite last year and this year returning, we really love staying in the far back little field very private near a river and surrounded by trees that give you lovely cover from rain and wind.

Been to Troutbeck pub nearby, barman was friendly but pub lacked bit of ooomph! no other nearby pubs which is a shame.

Toilet blocks were ok, apart from no soap in the mini toilet block and no handtowel or dryer at all. Hope this improves.

We found the reception staff not to be very welcoming, and ignored my boyfriend when he went to get a drink from mini 'shop'

We also had booked whole back field months ago as there was a few off us and a dog and then found they had let someone else camp on there so spoiled it a bit for us as we had to watch our music and times we had to quieten down.

Other than that was all ok, but think we shall try few other campsites instead next year. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gill Head Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gill Head Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gill Head Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement