Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West End Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Weston Super Mare > West End Farm Caravan Park Reviews

West End Farm Caravan Park
Locking
Weston Super Mare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS24 8RH
Tel: 01934 822529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 59 Reviews
                7/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnandann 12 reviews from this member

 We visited Weston super mare for 3 nights in late July. Prior to setting of on our holiday the c and c club phoned us to make us aware of an issue with noise from heavy machinery working on the area adjacent to the site. We phoned the site site and asked about the noise. They said the work was on a 500 acre site and it would be very unlikely that the machinery would cause more than a distant nuisance. We were given the opportunity to cancel or rebook another site. As this was the last three nights of our tour we took the assurances given regarding this issue at face value and kept our booking.

Because we had bought a new awning for the trip we asked for a pitch that would allow us to use it. (we found out at Treggurian that our awning was too big for c and c pitches by about 30 cms!).

They put us on a pitch alongside a large hedge with the workings on the other side. As they said the work started at 7. 30 in the morning and went on until around 6. 30 at night. What they did not say was that virtually all of the site was being worked, and that pumps would be running all night. The dust from the site was terrible and with the first nights pump being joined by an even noisier one on the second night, we had had enough. We moved to the top of the site for our last night.

A couple who came on our last day went home after one night, they had booked three !

As a site Weston disappointed, not withstanding the works on which they have no control the site is basically a field leased from a commercial site next door. It has no motorhome service point, the poorest toilet facilities of any site we have ever visited (10 in total). It is accessed through a locked height restrictor that services the commercial site. It is very slopey with little in the way of scenic value. Only 10 amp. Hook ups

On a positive note the wardens are efficient and friendly, it has a decent bus service nearby to Weston. A well fenced dog exercise area, (although some people preferred to use the children's play field alongside ?)

We would not go back to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobobs 9 reviews from this member

 What can I say - a fantastic site and a credit to its owners and wardens.

Arrived in the morning as previously agreed and shown 2 pitches to choose from both with a concrete base for the caravan (a first for us). Great as caravan was level across its axle without the need for ramps. Great sized pitch with gravel hardstanding for the awning and parking the car. Plenty of grass between pitches. TV reception good as used roof aerial. Toilet/shower block although a little outdated was clean and even though only 2 showers we never had to wait although this may by an issue in high season. Washing machine out of use during our stay but provided with directions to a laundrette. Good sinks with hot water for washing BBQ trays. Great dog walking field where dogs could be let off the lead. 5 speed ramps on the road by the site but not an issue if taken slowly. Great location for Weston Super Mare (10 mins), Cheddar Gorge etc and all the main supermarkets within a 5 min drive. Lots to do in Weston with great prom and plenty of bars and restaurants although the pier does not allow dogs. Site was well lit at night and wardens very helpful and stopped for chats to see if things were OK. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again or recommending it to people. A gem of a site & value for money/location. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NannaB 41 reviews from this member

 Booked via email on the Saturday for the Monday and were able to get in. Phoned and spoke to the owner to check all ok on the Sunday. Very nice chatty man. Sited us just by the gate near facilities which was good because I am disabled. The cost to us as OAP's was £16. 50 per night on grass with EHU.

Nice welcome by him and the other owner. Lovely flattish site, quite full. Has a couple of fields for seasonal pitches and seemed most people knew each other. Not sure about the men's toilets but ladies had 10 loo's though only four were bring used. Two had not in use notices on them and the others were locked but don't know why. Row of sinks with push buttons, liquid soap and hand drier. Two showers with push buttons but no curtain and drying area very small and would get wet during a shower which has push buttons. Two clothes pegs on door. I used the loos but they vary in width, couple are very narrow. Didn't use the showers. No facilities for disabled. You cannot get a wheelchair into the toilets as there is a step and the shower is far too small.

Haven't been to Weston in about 9 years when we stayed in the C&CC site next door but as that is very hilly it was not good for me.

Weston has improved a lot since we last came. Many, many eating places, usual shops and a lovely promenade. Costs £1 to go on the pier so we didn't go on it. Seems you have to pay for everything. Toilets are 20p for everyone including disabled which is not on as I have never paid before anywhere as I have a Radar key which I had to buy. Cheapest parking is £1 an hour which again I don't usually have to pay for but if you have a Blue Badge you pay but get an extra hour free. Parking on double yellow lines is not common here and very hard to find. They have painted yellow stripes on the pavement to prevent this.

The site is only a couple of miles away from Weston and there are loads of shops and eateries like Frankie & Bennies, McDonalds, KFC, Morisons, Asda, Waitrose, Tesco. Near Morrisons there is a place to eat and in town a nice looking Wetherspoons, B&M, Dunelm etc with easy parking.

The site is central to Wells, Cheddar, Burnham on Sea, Bath, Bristol and Glastonbury where we are going today.

The weather has also been very good.

We would use this site again if we were in the area.

Only scored child friendliness a one as I have no idea if there are any facilities for them as we saw none and no children about and there is no other option for this. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NannaB 41 reviews from this member

 Booked via email on the Saturday for the Monday and were able to get in. Phoned and spoke to the owner to check all ok on the Sunday. Very nice chatty man. Sited us just by the gate near facilities which was good because I am disabled. The cost to us as OAP's was £16. 50 per night on grass with EHU.

Nice welcome by him and the other owner. Lovely flattish site, quite full. Has a couple of fields for seasonal pitches and seemed most people knew each other. Not sure about the men's toilets but ladies had 10 loo's though only four were bring used. Two had not in use notices on them and the others were locked but don't know why. Row of sinks with push buttons, liquid soap and hand drier. Two showers with push buttons but no curtain and drying area very small and would get wet during a shower which has push buttons. Two clothes pegs on door. I used the loos but they vary in width, couple are very narrow. Didn't use the showers. No facilities for disabled. You cannot get a wheelchair into the toilets as there is a step and the shower is far too small.

Haven't been to Weston in about 9 years when we stayed in the C&CC site next door but as that is very hilly it was not good for me.

Weston has improved a lot since we last came. Many, many eating places, usual shops and a lovely promenade. Costs £1 to go on the pier so we didn't go on it. Seems you have to pay for everything. Toilets are 20p for everyone including disabled which is not on as I have never paid before anywhere as I have a Radar key which I had to buy. Cheapest parking is £1 an hour which again I don't usually have to pay for but if you have a Blue Badge you pay but get an extra hour free. Parking on double yellow lines is not common here and very hard to find. They have painted yellow stripes on the pavement to prevent this.

The site is only a couple of miles away from Weston and there are loads of shops and eateries like Frankie & Bennies, McDonalds, KFC, Morisons, Asda, Waitrose, Tesco. Near Morrisons there is a place to eat and in town a nice looking Wetherspoons, B&M, Dunelm etc with easy parking.

The site is central to Wells, Cheddar, Burnham on Sea, Bath, Bristol and Glastonbury where we are going today.

The weather has also been very good.

We would use this site again if we were in the area.

Only scored child friendliness a one as I have no idea if there are any facilities for them as we saw none and no children about and there is no other option for this. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Debhill 28 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site having spent a week there.

Starting with the positives -

The location is good for getting out and about.

The site is not too large.

The wardens are very pleasant and helpful.

The facilities are kept very clean.

A fish and chip van called the Snack Box, comes on a Friday and they are lush.

Good views from the top of the site.

It is pretty quiet.

Some large hard standing pitches.

6m rule is stuck too.

Now the negatives -

The facilities are dated. My husband told me there was a broken sink in the men's.

Some pitches were very sloping. Having said that, quite a few tents were pitched on quite steep slopes!There were not too many places where a tent could pitch on the level. On the whole, the flattest grass was taken by caravans.

Depending on the wind direction, there could be a lot of road noise.

Due to the positioning of the EHUs, a lot of people had to use extension leads. This also meant people frequently had to drive over other's leads. On one occasion we came back to find ours had been dragged along. Luckily it had not been pulled out. This was compounded by the fact that campers habitually drove forward from their unit across the pitch in front to get off the grass, rather than along their pitch line.

Would we go back? No.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carlsberg 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, in a extremely convenient place, only about two miles off the M5, don t be alarmed by the approach which is past an old industrial site. All facilities very clean and well kept, although the toilet block could do with some updating. A warm welcome from very helpful people. From this site Weston is very accessible as is Bristol and the rest of North Somerset

Will be staying there again in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: BAREFOOT PIZZA 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site last Sunday and will be coming every Sunday between 4. 30 and 7. 30 to cook stone-baked pizzas from our wood-fired oven mounted onto a converted Piaggio micro van.

We were really impressed with this lovely site which is very picturesque, tucked away down a lane with plenty of space and views of the wooded hills leading to the sea front.

Everything looks spotlessly clean and very well run by the helpful Managers. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tashtj 1 review from this member

 So my first time camping and I loved it. This campsite was fab. Ok so there's no shop or club bar but there are shops about 5 minutes away, asda, morrisons, aldi, n loads more there. Take always close by as well, KFC, makkies, Pizza Hut. , Weston front is about 10mintues in the car but if you get taxi it's only £10 for 4 people. The toilets are clean and showers got and clean. Campsite itself is big and not crowed. Staff helpful nothing I could fault really. And normally people say there return but we are 100% this weekend and can't wait! Hope this helps 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susiex 3 reviews from this member

 My daughter and I stayed two nights this last weekend. It was a last minute trip, and I was told a lot of the sites were full. When I phoned West End Farm though, they had room for a tent with a hookup. I told the lady we would be late arriving, and she assured me that would be no problem.

It's true about the industrial area you drive through-does look odd, and they are also doing roadworks on the main road, but we managed to negotiate these, and found our way easily. Please don't let this put you off, as, once in the site, you cannot see any of this.

On arrival, the lady warden (I can't remember her name, although it was her first day in the job!) came straight over to the office. We realised we hadn't any change, but they take cards-all good. The price was £18pn for pitch with hookup, which we thought very reasonable. We had a very friendly welcome, and she also showed us to our pitch, on the large camping field. No sooner had we got everything out the car, and were starting to set up, than two gentlemen came over and asked if we needed help, and set up our hookup for us. We were told if help was needed any time, day or night, we were to ask.

Gorgeous site, and quiet, save for distant traffic noise. Very friendly too. Showers were not very good-only 2, fixed heads, and fixed temperature too, which, when you want a cool shower on a scorching day, is not good-I ended up hotter, and sweatier than when I went in! Toilets and sinks were clean though.

I would definitely use this site again though. Good value, and warm welcome-even late at night! Only about 20 mins to Weston beach, supermarkets about 5 mins away.

Overall 9 out 10, only because of the showers.

Don't confuse this private site with the Caravan Club site next door 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ajbibs 17 reviews from this member

 Spent a couple of nights at this site whilst on the way down to Cornwall. The site itself is located on the outskirts of Minehead and you need to drive along the side of an industrial park (the old airfield) to get there, which can look a bit off putting. Without a car, there is a bus stop approx 10mins walk from the site where you can catch the bus into Weston-Super-Mare itself.

With regard to the actual site, the wardens are friendly and helpful and provided us with a bus timetable so we could get into town without having to move the van. There was a slight problem with our pitch in so far as we couldnít put up the awning and keep to the required minimum space between units but this was soon sorted and we were allocated another pitch. The toilet block is kept up to the expected standards although the individual shower cubicles are a bit on the small size. A note for motorhomers, there is no drive over waste point for emptying your grey waste so make sure you take a bucket.

Weston-Super-Mare itself is worth a visit but is just another seaside town at the end of the day. If you do go; make sure you try out the go-kart track on the pier!

The site is ideal as a stop off when travelling the M5 and is located within minutes of J21 however, canít say that Iíd necessary stay here again but thatís more to do with its location and the industrial estate than the site itself. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West End Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West End Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is West End Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weston Super Mare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement