Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West End Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Weston Super Mare > West End Farm Caravan Park Reviews

West End Farm Caravan Park
Locking
Weston Super Mare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS24 8RH
Tel: 01934 822529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 60 Reviews
                7/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ginggang 1 review from this member

 Stayed Monday - Friday August 2009. Families and couples only.

We knew from a phone call to West End farm they had availability for a large tent and an electrical hookup. The website does not do the site justice. Probably the nicest site we have stayed at in the West country. There are separate areas for hard standing with caravans etc and a massive field for tents. Electrical hookup's are on the hedgerow along side the hardstanding area. The site provides a large pole that enables you to pass cables through the hedge which was very useful rather than throwing the cable over the 10 ft high hedges. We arrived mid August and there were 3 other tents in a really large field and we were about 150 metres from our nearest neighbour.The field was flat but one end lies at the end of a valley that goes out to sea so it was quite windy at times.

The site is shared with a Caravanning and Camping Club site which has better shower / toilet facilities and a small shop. You enter the via the same entrance but the road branches off to the different sites.

There are two indoor dish washing sinks and a washing machine / dryer set up.

The toilet and shower facilities were good. Always tidy and clean. Showers were free and I really can't fault them. 2 Showers and 4 sink units. Not top of the range but did their jobs. I never had to wait for a shower the whole time we stayed. Bear in mind this was August so I can't figure out why the place was empty. Come the Friday there was about 10 tents but still very quiet.

Location wise it's pretty good. In Locking which is about 20 minutes out of Weston. It's right next to the helicopter museum which during the summer operates helicopter experience flights for about 40 an adult and 35 for children for a 15 minute flight. Morrissons is a 10 minute drive away as there is no shop on site. I didn't notice a lot of Pubs nearby so might not suit everyone.

Overall we thought it was an excellent site that provided a relax camping experience, good basic washing facilities. Could not get our heads round how packed all the other sites were when we found West End to be devoid of campers. Caravans and Touring pitches were nearly all occupied.

Only negative we could find was there was no baby bathing facilities. We popped our little one in the laundry sink. Struck us as odd that as being promoted as family and couples they would have that sorted. Would go back again though. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campervangirl 3 reviews from this member

 Site is well maintained with clean facilities. Pitches are reasonably spacious but if you're at the bottom of the field it's a bit of a trek to the block in the dark of night. Staff were friendly and helpful and always close at hand. Large playing field for children but the playground a complete waste of space - no swings on the frame and a slide that isn't very slippy!
Only two washing up sinks so always a queue. Fantastic cycle routes to get around the local area - hardly needed to touch a road. Would recommend Court Farm in Banwell as a lovely family day out. Children got to feed sheep and have a tractor ride - fantastic fun day. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a 5 night stay here and enjoyed it

The toilets were always clean and the showers even if there are only 2 in the ladies and 2 in the gents, i never had to wait

We stayed on the large field and the only time it was fairly busy was the weekend and I expected that during the week it was nice and quiet just how we like it

Only a short drive to Weston itself, there are plenty of supermarkets a short drive away and all the usual attractions that Somerset has are easy to get to

It looks a bit strange when you drive up to the campsite as they are doing work in the area but once you get past that it is all in all a good site

We enjoyed it anyway 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tallboy95 2 reviews from this member

 Approached via grim looking light industrial estate but upon arrival the surroundings improve a lot. Friendly, helpful welcome. A sloping site where chocks & levellers are likely to be needed. Pitches at the foot of the slope have a tendency to get boggy. Flat pitches after hill levels out at the bottom of the site (next to drainage ditch / stream) drain very well and no problems (but very few of these with EHU). Upside of sloping site is magnificent sunsets viewed from top of the site.

Showers are adequate & clean but with not enough space if taking small children in with you. They probably need a revamp soon if they are to keep up with the very good facilities being offered at many other sites.

Weston area is very well served with cycling lanes and you can cycle from the camp to centre of town (approx. 3 miles) & Morrisons (approx. 1.5 miles) almost entirely off road, so safe for children. Cycling map of Weston area is on the wall of the information room and is also available free of charge from Tourist Info in Weston next to the big wheel.

Not a great site for children as the play area (which belongs to the neighbouring site) has been dismantled leaving only a slide. Site itself is too small for anything energetic / noisy as it will soon annoy others. However, separate field is provided for ball games and kite flying (great site for kites!)

This site is used as a stop over for people on their way to/from the west country so high turnover. Children staying longer may be disappointed as potential playmates come and go at a high rate! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rouses 7 reviews from this member

 We used this site for a short stay on the way to Cornwall. With it being a C&CC site we expected more.

There is a real slope on some of the pitches, and although the wardens were friendly, the site lacked the quality that you'd expect from C&CC.

The main issues were the slope, the lack of playground facilities for the kids (there was a playground that looked like it had been vandalised), the location wasn't bad although the drive through a deserted industrial park was a bit of a put off.

For a park just outside a fairly respectable seaside town, we were left feeling a little disappointed.

However it wasn't all bad. The showers were nice and hot, and the toilets were clean. People on the site were very friendly and even though it rained the pitches stayed well drained. At night the view over Weston was fab, and being on a hill the kite flew really well.

Morrisons not far ,and the farm shop on site sold very nice eggs.

If you were here for a week with kids then you'll need to bring along the telly, but if a long weekend near the sea is your thing then I'd recommend as a short stay site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robintheleper 1 review from this member

 A good Camping and Caravan club site.

The pitches aren't level so take some chocks, there are some housebricks on the site to help level the caravan.

Toilets and showers were adequate, did the job and very secure(A code is needed for the toilet and shower block).

There are plenty of supermarkets in the area Morrisons ,Asda, Aldi and Sainsburys.

There is a B&Q very close to the site should you need anything.

I did notice there were plenty of pubs in the area. Quite a few offered 2 meals for 10 or similar offers.

I would use this site again.

I wished the weather was a lot better for us.

The positives were that we met a nice couple who helped us put up our awning and offered us some of their vast knowledge. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheJDMBA 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here (2 walkers with tent, no vehicle) in the large field (non- CC club members). Gave us a discounted price (12 pounds) because no vehicle.
About 20 minute walk from Weston Milton train station which is one stop (3 minute ride) away from Weston Super Mare. The field where we stayed in was huge and not very busy at all (not sure why the comments mention that there's cramped space - they might be referring to the vehicular sections) - there would have been plenty of space even with 100 tents.
The showers and dish cleaning area were clean and close to the field. Tesco express (open til 11 even on Sunday) was conveniently close and site was very quiet in the evening.
Reception was not around when we arrived but there's a caravan next to it with someone who helps out and we ended up paying later on. Very pleased with this site and nice to be a bit away from Weston Super Mare without the crowds but still fairly convenient.
If walking from Weston Milton, not picturesque or convenient (some walking paths but also some busy roads ) but the walk wasn't too far. Very pleasant site for a quiet, relaxing weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RKirby 3 reviews from this member

 We like this site and have been a couple of times now. The location is good if you want to be a little distance away from the main tourist area, it's a reasonably easy cycle ride into Weston.

Site is flat and large and, if it isn't too busy the large field is excellent for kids to play in.

Toilet and shower facilities are good and clean. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nosha 34 reviews from this member

 This would have been our second C&CC site. But I didn't read the book properly! This is one of the few sites that close on 1st Oct not 31st!

A chap came over from the other campsite opposite and said if we were members they would put us up at the same discounted price (a very nice offer), and looked a lot more level.

However we thought it was a long way out of Weston so didn't stop. Very easy to find, right next to the helicopter museum, but a drive through a grotty industrial estate, however both sites looked well looked after. Large Morrisons with cafe and fuel not far away. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markjo90 6 reviews from this member

 I wonderd why this site was not fully booked like most of the camping and caravan sites over the Bank Holiday weekend. Well I found the answer when we arrived. Very very small site. If you have kids dont since when full there is hardly anywhere for them to play with out a ball hitting a tent or caravan. No play area.

The toilets clean but only four in the gents. With one lock not working. Very suprised at the standard of this site since its a campaing and caravan club. If desperate go here if not plenty of much nicer places to pitch on. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West End Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West End Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is West End Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weston Super Mare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement