Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West End Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Weston Super Mare > West End Farm Caravan Park Reviews

West End Farm Caravan Park
Locking
Weston Super Mare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS24 8RH
Tel: 01934 822529
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 59 Reviews
                7/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ivywills 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived and was welcomed by warden. Even though the England Rugby match had just started.

Good directions to site.

Very helpful, took us to pitch, explained where showers, toilets & laundry room was. Even plugged in hookup for us.

Clean site in lovely surroundings.

Handy for Western Super Mare or a stop off on the way home from Cornwall.

Will use site again 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Benczuk 2 reviews from this member

 WARNING: Entrance to site has six 10 inch high, four feet long full width speed bumps which are unnecessary. Our caravan (which was sitting level on the car) still ground out on them after removing the jockey wheel!

Location is a little dodgy; on an industrial estate right next to a trailer park. Site has a lot of security including locked gates and height restriction barriers after 6PM which didn't exactly reassure me!

Facilities are clean, site is well maintained and it is nice and close to M5 for an overnight stop. But wont be using again because of those speed humps! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

 I am a member of the C&CC which is just as well as this site is 'Members Only'

It is situated in the back of beyond and is approached through grim light industrial area.

There is an excellent dog walk that has secure fencing all the way around it. It is a shame that dog owners can't be bothered to clear up after their dogs

The showers and WCs were up to the usual Club standards; so no complaints there.

I am not entirely sure why the showers/WCs need to have a code entry lock but no doubt there are good reasons.

Customer service? Now that's a good question. We were not made to feel very welcome and thought that it was just because it was late in the day or whatever. It was only after some remarks made by other campers over the washing up that we realised that we were not the only ones who had had a bad reception to the site.

I feel that the price charged for this site is far too much per night. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alfieboy3 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights on this site on our way to Devon (min 2 nights stay is required). We wanted to set off early to try to avoid the holiday traffic on the M5. Arriving at the site at 11.15 and seeing plenty of free pitches, we were sure the warden would allow us to pitch up 45 mins early. But no. This is a Camping and Caravan Club site and the rules clearly state that pitches are available from 12pm. At 12.01 we were relieved to see the warden approaching. A pitch we thought. But it wasnt to be. Not until the grass on our pitch (and all of the others) had been cut first. Now we understand rules are rules, but a simple explanation would have sufficed. As would a bit of common sense and politeness.

The site itself had lovely views, but no walks around the area except the adjacent campsite and was fairly small. As previous reviews have stated, there is no play area only a slide belonging to the campsite next to it. Ball games are strictly not allowed on the site even with adult supervision. There is a sloping field next to the site for ball games however.

Weston Super Mare was fun and cheerful there were lots of improvements being made to the pavements and the pier was not yet open. In a few months when the work has finished it will be lovely.

One other thing to bear in mind is the 4 very high speed bumps when approaching the site. We drove very slowly, but still scraped the bottom of the caravan. Needless to say, we wont be returning. Im sure there must be lots of other sites off the M5 that are a lot more welcoming and cheaper! We will just have to keep searching! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Likestocamp 1 review from this member

 Visited for 2 nights end of July. The camping field was lovely; quiet and peaceful. However the toilets and showers were, in our opinion, awful. Only 2 showers in the ladies block. Queues both mornings. Neither sinks or toilets were very clean. This was at about 8.30 in the morning and the same at 10.30 in the evening. The area for caravans looked very nice and well maintained. The site would be lovely if the toilet and shower facilities were improved. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gingerbreadman 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for ten days in total and found site busy but yet very quiet. Clean and well maintained toilet & shower block. Childrens park could do with updating as swings missing and only one slide to play on.

Wardens friendly and helpful, pitches are spacious & height barrier in use to stop caravans leaving during night hours. Watch out for the six oddly spaced speed bumps on the entrance, especially if you have a long caravan as it can ground on the nose if you approach them to quick.

On doorstep to Weston-Super-Mare and local highstreet supermarkets nearby, we always try to stop off in the Bucket & Spade pub about 5 minutes away ( Great Food ! ) 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BRENTY 6 reviews from this member

 On booking this site you need to be aware that it is divided into 2 halves, one half belonging to the camping and caravan club the other privately owned,this review is of the privately owned site.

On arrival the warden was friendly and helpful and directed us to our hardstanding pitch which had electric hookup, own water supply and waste drainage which was a very pleasant surprise as we were not charged extra for this.

The bad points however were as follows,the pitch was not level,and the electric hookup post was very old looking also the pitch was very narrow,we had booked this site expressly as it advertised having a children's play area what greeted us was no such thing, just one slide and metal stands where the swings were supposed to be a total disgrace and huge disappointment to our daughter

The toilets were clean with soap dispensers we did not use showers,they looked very old but clean.

Dog exercise field on site with bin.

We will probably not use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emandnick 6 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights at the site over the bank holiday weekend. We had a wonderful time and it was extremely quiet and relaxing. We camped in the large camping field and there was plenty of space. Huge grassy area in the middle of the field for the children to play on. There were some electric hook ups but we didn't use one.

Very friendly owners and site is well protected by gates that need to be opened and shut on entry / exit.

Toilet/shower block and wash up areas are all clean and well maintained. Never had to queue for toilets and only had to queue for about 5 minutes for one of the 2 showers, not bad considering it was a bank holiday!

Retail park with Morrisons and other shops only a few minutes drive away. Very easy to get to and find and then only a short drive into Weston.

Will definitely be going back when returning to the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Callmechar 8 reviews from this member

 We arrived to meet the warden, and we were shown to our pitch. Had to put the EHU lead through the bushes to connect it. Pitches aren't laid out, so we were told to go near the bushes. The people next to us pitched about half a meter away which was a little annoying. Site itself was ok. No shop. The pitch was fairly flat, toilets cleaned regularly. Overall nice site - nice area. Not much to do for kids, no park. Would have enjoyed our holiday more if we hadn't got stuck on motorway for 6 hours on way back to site from Weston Super Mare. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ginggang 1 review from this member

 Stayed Monday - Friday August 2009. Families and couples only.

We knew from a phone call to West End farm they had availability for a large tent and an electrical hookup. The website does not do the site justice. Probably the nicest site we have stayed at in the West country. There are separate areas for hard standing with caravans etc and a massive field for tents. Electrical hookup's are on the hedgerow along side the hardstanding area. The site provides a large pole that enables you to pass cables through the hedge which was very useful rather than throwing the cable over the 10 ft high hedges. We arrived mid August and there were 3 other tents in a really large field and we were about 150 metres from our nearest neighbour.The field was flat but one end lies at the end of a valley that goes out to sea so it was quite windy at times.

The site is shared with a Caravanning and Camping Club site which has better shower / toilet facilities and a small shop. You enter the via the same entrance but the road branches off to the different sites.

There are two indoor dish washing sinks and a washing machine / dryer set up.

The toilet and shower facilities were good. Always tidy and clean. Showers were free and I really can't fault them. 2 Showers and 4 sink units. Not top of the range but did their jobs. I never had to wait for a shower the whole time we stayed. Bear in mind this was August so I can't figure out why the place was empty. Come the Friday there was about 10 tents but still very quiet.

Location wise it's pretty good. In Locking which is about 20 minutes out of Weston. It's right next to the helicopter museum which during the summer operates helicopter experience flights for about 40 an adult and 35 for children for a 15 minute flight. Morrissons is a 10 minute drive away as there is no shop on site. I didn't notice a lot of Pubs nearby so might not suit everyone.

Overall we thought it was an excellent site that provided a relax camping experience, good basic washing facilities. Could not get our heads round how packed all the other sites were when we found West End to be devoid of campers. Caravans and Touring pitches were nearly all occupied.

Only negative we could find was there was no baby bathing facilities. We popped our little one in the laundry sink. Struck us as odd that as being promoted as family and couples they would have that sorted. Would go back again though. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West End Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West End Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is West End Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weston Super Mare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement