Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Laurels Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > The Laurels Holiday Park Reviews

The Laurels Holiday Park
Padstow Road
Whitecross
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 7JQ
Tel: 01208 813341  or  07957 154578
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bosoha 4 reviews from this member

 Had a great week at this site, it is small and friendly. The staff are more than helpful, helped us onto the pitch and offered to assist in erecting the awning. My wife is disabled but no disabled toilet on site, this was not a problem to the wardens who made a step for her to get in the shower room, nothing too much trouble for them.

The shower block is good with all facilities needed, and wi-fi easy to pick up from our pitch.

We will return and recommend without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kernowman 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two day break at this lovely campsite. It is situated just off the A39 and is very easy to find and access.

The wardens gave us a very friendly welcome on arrival and showed us to our pitch. There is a blackboard at the reception with your name and allocated pitch number which is a useful touch. The pitches are well maintained with hedges between them to assist with privacy.

The standard pitches are a reasonable size if, like us, you do not have a full awning. However it did look a bit cramped for the people who did. In these circumstances it may be advisable to book one of the larger pitches. All the 'Gold' pitches have electric hook-up and none are very far from the drinking water supply or waste water disposal.

The facilities block is clean and functional and there are shower facilities available at no extra cost. There is also a laundry room which doubles up as a 'tourist information' room with lots of brochures for local attractions. Outside the facilities block are some concrete slabs to borrow to sit your disposable barbecue on.

There is also a well equipped play area for the children, which has swings, a climbing frame, trampoline, ball games area and a boat to play in. Our son particularly liked the trampoline.

The site is well situated for visiting North Cornwall and is close to both Wadebridge and Padstow. There is a Tesco supermarket about two miles away on the outskirts of Wadebridge and also a Co-Operative and Lidl supermarket in the centre of the town.

For those wanting to ride the Camel Trail, a bicycle route along the old railway line from Bodmin to Padstow, with a branch to Wenfordbridge, there are several bike hire outlets in Wadebridge, some offering free parking for customers. If you ride towards Bodmin look out for the Trail side café about half way which offers vey good tea and cakes, or cream teas and lunches in a pretty garden.

All in all, this is a very friendly and welcoming site. We would certainly return again for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SurreyCamp 2 reviews from this member

 We [2 adults and 2 children] stayed at The Laurels for 4 nights in early August. On arrival there is a blackboard with your pitch letter on it and we were greeted by a lovely warden who put our tent up for us!

The site itself is wonderfully kept. The children loved the play area. The facilities block was spotless with hot water aplenty. The washing up area was in a small room which had tourist information for the area as well as books and magazines to borrow. There were fridges and freezers for guest's use as well as a coin operated washer and dryer. Outside there were airers for towels and washing as well as a wetsuit tank and further sinks.

I loved staying here, it was conveniently located for exploring and we would return without hesitation. It was very good value for money. The only negative was some road noise but this was soon sorted with a pair of earplugs. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Orian 7 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 4 night stay. Picked this site from good reviews and near bus stop. Excellent. Beautiful pitches, very well maintained. Staff/owners very very helpful, nothing to much trouble. Toilet showers immaculate. Hourly bus service to Wadebridge and Padstow from stop outside gate. Also bus stop round corner to Newquay and Bude. Have recommended it to my sons family with caravan. Best site so far this year. Have already stayed on 6 others. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickcb 10 reviews from this member

 I'll add a rider to my below review.

We left the van on the site for two weeks and then returned.

Unfortunately it was raining, immediately the site managers were around asking if we would like any help with the awning and offering any help they could including duck boards which they would supply. This site is very special because it is central enough to visit the whole of Cornwall. So impressed were we that we have left the van there in storage which costs approx £1. 00 a night. All with great security. Not only that, but the Wardens will get their tractor and store it for you AND put it back on your chosen pitch ready for your arrival.

Now that is what I call service!

All of this done with such charm and bonhomie.

Really can't fault this site.

Not having children I can' t really comment on the playground but I have given a rating of 10 because the play area looked so inviting I wanted to have a go on some of the playthings myself. Especially the boat.

There is WiFi and it's free, however you will need to be outside the reception office. There are plans afoot to activate the whole site, but not yet.

Another nice point, especially if you are in a tent, there are fridges and freezers in the laundry room and buying local produce to take home is a doddle 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickcb 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site to visit the Padstow Mayday celebrations.

It wasn't that busy as I would have expected considering that 35 thousand people were expected visit Padstow.

The site has such easy access but could be easily missed.

Just past the show ground expect to turn right and having turned right it's an immediate turn right again. And you have arrived. A really nice touch is a blackboard at the entrance which will have your name on it and telling you where you are allocated. However a warden will almost always come out and greet you.

First to note, there is no shop, and neither should there be as there is a Tesco store at the roundabout you probably passed on your way in, and sells everything including camping/ caravanning stuff that you might have forgotten.

Now for the facilities. The pitches are flat, well maybe a little slope but nothing a caravaner couldn't cope with, I mean inches on the spirit level, nothing.

The toilet block is spotless although by modern standards a little dated, but copious amounts of hot water and the same applies to the washing areas as well. There are several freezers which you can use as long as your name is displayed

On the contents also lots of brochures for Cornish info.

Now for the good stuff.

The managers and Wardens are magnificent, them being campers and caravanners themselves, nothing is too much trouble for them they understand your needs. On one particular evening the manager came up and said ' we're having a barbecue tonight' I heard one tent say ' what should we bring?' Reply? Nothing just yourselves!

All in all a superb place to stay. On the down side? There's no pub close by

Ten out of ten in my book 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MAURFROG 1 review from this member

 Excellent site first time campers in a tent and couldn't of picked a better place to go. Staff went out of their way to help. Clean tidy, wonderful hot showers, park for the children. Nothing too much trouble for the staff, gave us boards to put outside our tent because the rain was bad and the mud was getting quite deep. They even gave us towels because the tent leaked in. Above and beyond.

Fridge and freezer available in the wash room with a coin operated washing machine and dryer this was an excellent facility due to having two youngsters with us.

Will definitely return next year helped to make my first time in a tent an enjoyable one.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John + maggie 4 reviews from this member

 Weather was typically UK Summer ! Torrential rain( in between sunny skies, ) but pitches drained quickly so no hardship really. Site very quiet although next to the main road so some road traffic noise, ( didn't bother us ).

Showers and toilets clean and well maintained, Wardens very helpful without being intrusive. It was nice to see wardens walking about just in case you wanted to ask some thing.

We would definitely recommend for a quiet time, but knowing that you could just get in your car and drive to any busy area that you wanted to visit. It was a peaceful area to come back to. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesAllen 1 review from this member

 We Stayed one night on our bike ride from lands end to John o’Groats at The Laurel holiday park and it has to be one of the best kept campsites in the uk.

The showers were excellent and very welcome after a long day in the saddle. The facilities were fantastic enabling us to dry all our kit.

Thoroughly recommend for an overnight or for a longer stay great location.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spraws78 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the laurels with our 2 children aged 10 and 8.

The site is fantastic, the management extremely helpful and welcoming. The play area is perfect and kept the kids amused for hours!

The toilets and showers are always clean and free hot water was an added bonus.

Laundry facilities at reasonable cost and ironing board and iron available.

We had requested a large pitch for our new tent, on arrival the pitch was not big enough, the management quickly found us a more appropriate spot and even lent us a hook up extension as ours wasn't quite long enough to stretch to the available socket.

We had some poor weather and they were always around to check everything was ok and even helped fix another tent that was damaged before the owners returned!

There is some traffic noise, but a small price to pay - we would have happily stayed for the whole season! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Laurels Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Laurels Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Laurels Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement