Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Laurels Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > The Laurels Holiday Park Reviews

The Laurels Holiday Park
Padstow Road
Whitecross
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 7JQ
Tel: 01208 813341  or  07957 154578
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MARKO666 2 reviews from this member

 Our first caravan holiday, previously campers but getting old and feeling the cold!

We chose this site after reading reviews and looking at the website and must say it was exactly as reviewed/described.

Yes, it is blighted by road noise during the day and early evening but what do you expect, it is right next to the A39 which anyone looking at the web site can see. This does have its advantages as it is so easy to get out and about from, go left on the A39 for Wadebridge and beyond, go right on the A39 for Newquay and beyond, Easy!

We were greeted on arrival by the site wardens and taken round to our pitch and were asked if we wanted it mown before we pitched! Good Eh! We respectfully declined as the pitch looked good and we didn't want to push our luck! The wardens went on to explain where everything was, which is nice to get the personal touch rather than a site plan with a cross on it thrust in your hand.

This set the tone for the rest of our stay, the site staff were cheerful and very easy to get on with, they all seemed to take pride in the site and rightly so as it was immaculate.

The toilets and showers were very clean and presentable, they are cleaned daily at designated times (which you could set your watch by!)These were busy in the morning but had loads of HOT water, maybe too hot for children? Our one had one shower during our stay, with a bit of coercion and a cattle prod!

The dog walk area was long and thin but how much space does a dog need to do a scooby doo!

The play area is divided into a ball game area and climbing frame/trampoline area, which seemed to be well used, these are locked off when the site lights go on as to reduce evening/ night time noise.

On one day we seemed to get the whole country's allocated rainfall in 4 hours, which caused one tent to implode with the weight of accumulated water, yet again, the site wardens jumped into action, draining away the water and repairing(temporarily)a broken tent pole, also trying to contact the family concerned. They also checked out other units and supplied plastic stepping blocks for access to tents if needed, but the water soon drained away when the rain stopped.

The site does not have a shop but Tesco is a 2 minute drive away as well as a Shell garage that does gas bottle exchanges.

All in all this is a brilliant site with fantastic staff who I feel should be commended for their effort and commitment in keeping this site in pristine condition. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheSmiths99 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 5 nights during the summer holidays with children aged 5 and 7.

Location is very good - only a couple of minutes from Wadebridge, and not much more from Padstow. Loads of good beaches within 15-20 mins in either direction. We also cycled the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow (5 miles of completely flat, and completely off road, cycle track - so ideal for kids - and ends right by Rick Stein's fish and chips !)

The site itself was well maintained with little shrubs between the pitches. The pitches themselves were lovely and flat, although some were on the small side. We paid for an extra large pitch as our tent is quite big, and we were glad we did, as we had a huge pitch. We had lots of rain (as usual in August) and the site drained very well without getting muddy or boggy at all.

The site's facilities weren't the most modern we've seen, but were perfectly adequate and satisfactory - plenty of hot water at all times of day etc. The site is quite small so there is no shop, but Tesco in Wadebridge is only a couple of minutes drive away.

The site has a good little play park with a space for ball games, plus climbing frame, swings, large trampoline and an old boat to climb on.

The site is adjacent to the main road, so there is some road noise, although our pitch was on the side of the site which was away from the road so it certainly wasn't a problem for us (the traffic was much quieter than the rain on the roof ! and at night there was very little or no traffic anyway).

All in all a good site, and one which we would certainly consider returning to in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hammers1 4 reviews from this member

 The Laurels is well located for visiting the area - Padstow, Port Isaac, Tintagel, Boscastle etc all within easy reach. Campsite is very pretty and well kept though the pitch was very small for our twin axle. The car was parked in front of the caravan which meant our view was blocked. Luckily we didn't have the awning or there would have been no room at all to sit outside. There was road noise as previously stated in other reviews, particularly during rush hour & we were also woken up by it quite early. However, I have to say, you do get used to it and cease to take notice.

Wadebridge is nearby and also a large Tesco for necessities. All things considered, we had a thoroughly enjoyable week 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Minnie22 3 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here at The Laurels, site managers were very friendly and even helped our friends with their trailer tent erection. We took our dingy with us, just to the right out of site and then right again down narrow lane we were able to park by camel trail and launch it in the estuary, which kids loved.

Situation of site, is right off the road, which at night times can be noisy if your pitched back onto it. Small play area, my children aged 8 and 12 yrs, got bored after a few visits! Shower facilities and washing up areas were clean and okay.

Location is great for visiting places, wadebridge, padstow etc.

Only Downside: The site wasn't a large one, pitches were nice and hedges gave us privacy but found it annoying parking car by pitch, as there are no other available parking spaces and gravel driveways were just by the pitches, which only meant whilst sitting in awning your looking at your car! Also noise of traffic but you get used to it after awhile. No Shop.

Sister site: Lanyon Holiday Park, Redruth is also lovely, bigger, more amenities and ideally situated for visiting areas. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrissie x 1 review from this member

 We were due to stay at the Laurels for 5 nights but extended for 2 more as it was fantastic.

The site is small but very well kept with immaculate amenities.

We had a 4 man tent with a day tent and an electic hook up. Oh and two cars to transport it all in!

There is a wetsuit drying and washing area, an indoor and outdoor washing up area. Two showers 4 sinks and 4 toilets in both the male and female washrooms. The showers are large enough to assist showering two children. There is also laundry facilities.

The play park has several things for the children to play on.

The pitches are large with lovely shrubs to provide privacy.

The surrounding area was full of places to visit. There are also several good surfing beaches nearby. Wadebridge is only 5minutes down the road and is full of bike hire shops so that you can cycle down the Camel trail into Padstow.

The staff were fantastic. Andy and Kris were there to great us even though our names were on the board with our pitch number. They were always tendering the many flower boarders and then in the evening they would stroll around and see that everything was ok.

The site doesn't have a shop but Tesco is only 5 minutes down the road.

We shall definitely be returning to this site next year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goldwing 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the laurels for five nights and was greeted as friends from the time we arrived until the day we left, they made our stay very enjoyable.

The site is very clean and pretty all due to there hard work ! the site is close to many places of interest and beauty and would recommend it to friends and family.

Andy and chris also helped us move our tent after the first night to a better plot it was a sight to be seen. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sara57 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site 18-23rd August and probably got the best weather we could have hoped for, not too hot, very little rain but a bit windy some nights. Despite the rain of previous weeks the site was very good. Very nicely laid out with night lighting,pathways, pots of flowers, clear instructions on the use of everything.

Good children's play area and dog convenience area. The laundry was clean and tidy and so were the toilet/shower blocks. The only drawback is that the site would benefit from more showers. Having said that, the site was full and we only had to queue once for showers but then we are early risers.

Although there is a fair bit of traffic on the nearby main road, it dies off after early evening and it didn't keep us awake at all.

The location is great for touring and the nearby tesco was a great facility. We enjoyed meals at The Rock Inn,(in Rock), very reasonable and good service but also had meals in Port Isaac where service was a bit slow.

It has been said in a previous review that there are too many rules but there were just the normal H&S and common courtesy rules which made it a really pleasant stay for everybody - great for families! Ray was very helpful without being intrusive.

We will certainly go back, the pitch size was generous, everything was clean and tidy and it was exceptionally good value for money. Thanks Ray! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Follyview 13 reviews from this member

 This site is small, very well maintained and pretty with shrubs and flowers marking boundaries. The showers are hot and very clean but we did have to queue on a couple of occasions as there are only two of them - it was best to go very early or after 9.30 a.M.

Although we don't have children ourselves, the children's playground looked very good and seemed quite generous in size. The dog walk is very small and narrow and is really more of an area to allow the dog to toilet and walk up and down.

When we booked this site we were a bit concerned about mixed reviews on road noise and, in fact, we found it too much. Unfortunately the screen of conifers that were in place between road and site had had most of their leaves removed so there was no buffer and you could see the traffic as well as hear it. The road noise started at 6.30 a.M., so couldn't all be blamed on holiday traffic, and continued until bedtime. As we were in the row of pitches nearest the road, we asked to be moved after the first night and this was done without any fuss. Our second pitch was better but the noise was still present all the time.

The attractive gravel paths are difficult to negotiate with thin soled shoes and the wardens have marked off part of the grass at the side for people to walk on.

Nearby is Padstow, Port Isaac, Wadebridge with lovely shops and Tintagel and we also visited St Ives and went across to Lostwithiel. Bodmin is within easy reach and Tesco is only about two miles away. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolbay 11 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a very pleasant 5 days on this delightful and pretty site, pitches have shrubs separating them, EHU was close and a modern unit. The site is very well kept and after last years' flooding new gravel paths have been put down and drainage added to stop it happening again.
The toilets were spotless and as not all pitches were occupied as not a busy time of year there were times when we were the only ones using the facilities, four toilets and two showers in each male / female blocks, so it was like having your own bathroom. The showers were hot and spacious and clothes did not get wet. I liked the fact that there was a mop and bucket of soapy water to use to mop out the shower after use. The dish wash area and laundry are inside and there were two large clothes handwash sinks under cover outside. I noticed that there was a special outside covered area to dry wet suits etc which I would think would be very helpful to surfers.

As it was a small site all the services etc were nearby and the kiddies play area looked nice and safe. There was a trampoline with net sides which I'm sure kids of all ages would like.

Site is easy to find and access is just a few yards off the A39 around 6 miles from Padstow but being on the Atlantic highway gave easy access to Bude, Tintagel, Crackington Haven, Port Issac to name a few. And we did all of them. All fantastic places to visit. Ray was very friendly and gave us pamphlets on activities in Cornwall and there were no problems for him to sort out. There is some noise from the road but not enough to be much of a nuisance unless you are a very light sleeper.

Pitches for caravans without awnings were quite compact but enough to get car and caravan side by side and BBQ and there are slabs available for BBQs which are used on the ground. The other pitches for caravan and awning or for large tents were quite spacious. Would definitely stay there again. The only thing I would have liked to have was a small shop area for milk, papers and bread. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevanc 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site, with our four children. The weather was dreadful which had turned much of the site into a bog, which the managers were trying their best to deal with. The loos were clean and the water was hot although 2 showers are not enough for the number of pitches, so long queues for a wash.

The downside was having children with us! Our car engine was still running as the warden had his head inside the vehicle laying down the rules for the boys. Now I'm all for a few groundrules, but insisting that the boys threw nothing, 'not even a paper aeroplane' outside of the play area the moment they arrived wasn't the most friendly welcome. The nearby road is also noisy so if you're looking for peace and quiet, this is probably not the place. Nice area though and I'm sure the welcome would have been better if the staff hadn't been washed out for the whole season. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Laurels Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Laurels Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Laurels Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


883 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement