Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Laurels Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > The Laurels Holiday Park Reviews

The Laurels Holiday Park
Padstow Road
Whitecross
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 7JQ
Tel: 01208 813341  or  07957 154578
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sternschnuppe 1 review from this member

 Wir waren nur zwei Nächte auf diesem Campingplatz, aber unser Aufenthalt war spitze!

Da es im Sommer recht busy ist auf Campingplätzen in Cornwall hätten wir eigentlich für die zweite Nacht umziehen müssen. Wurde aber anders gelöst und so war das auch kein Problem mehr.

Die sanitären Anlagen sind spitze und sehr sauber und sie kosten nichts extra, das lästige Münzenkaufen entfällt. Wir mussten eigentlich nie anstehen und was zur Verfügung stand war ausreichend. Campingplatz war aber aufgrund des sehr regnerischen Wetters nicht ausgebucht. Der Spielplatz ist super, alles sicher abgegrenzt, so dass man seine Kleinen gut im Auge behalten kann.

Als sich der Weg aufgrund des Regens in eine einzige matschige Angelegenheit verwandelte wurde aufgeschottert! Super!

Unser Platz war sehr gut, ausreichend groß.

Ray war außerdem sehr hilfsbereit.

Wir würden definitv wiederkommen! Das einzig negative war die vielbefahrene Straße und entsprechnder Geräuschpegel bis spät nachts und ab früh morgens.

**************************************

We were only two nights on this camping, but our stay was pointed!

Since the summer is quite busy on campsites in Cornwall, we would actually for the second night move. But otherwise has been resolved and so was no longer a problem.

The sanitary facilities are excellent and very clean and they do not cost anything extra, the annoying coins Buy deleted. We had never actually made and what was available was sufficient. Camping, however, was due to the rainy weather is not very fully booked. The playground is super, everything safely deferred, so that has kids well in mind.

As the road because of rain in a single muddy matter was turned aufgeschottert! Super!

Our place was very good, sufficiently large.

Ray was also very helpful.

We would definitely come back! The only negative was the Street and noise until late at night and from early morning. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julieann2039 1 review from this member

 I have just returned home from a weekend at the Laurels Holiday Park. Arrived on Saturday earlier than planned, it was not a problem and my friend and I were shown to our pitch. After several hours of battling in the wind and rain we were set up for the night.! What a night! Ray had said that my friend and I had done a good job of putting our tent up under such conditions. He said that in the time he had been at the park he could tell a few stories of how people fall out putting up tents.

I had been to the camp site over 3 years ago, and returned this year with my friend as I liked it so much previously. The camp site is very well maintained, very friendly, and Ray was very helpful and willing to let my friend and I move to another pitch if we had wanted to. The only reason we thought about moving was to be more sheltered by the hedge as the weather was so bad on Saturday night. We stayed put, and it paid off.
My friend is very impressed with the camp and will return again next year. Her main concern was that her dog was happy and comfortable and catered for. Everywhere on the camp site is so clean and so maintained to a very high standard. I love the idea of piped music in the shower block, it makes showering etc. More relaxing and less inhibiting. Every need is catered for at this camp site down to slabs for using disposable Barbeques.

What I love about this campsite is it's so peaceful and laid back, help is there if you need it - you only have to ask!

I can't understand in a previous review by some one that they found it too regimented. All I can say is, without rules people abuse amenities and the area, the rules and regulations are there to protect the enjoyment and safety of all campers. I guess some people don't have any structure or rules in their lives and that's why they have unruly children!

I am returning this coming weekend for another 5 days, my friend is staying there with her dog, and I shall join her on Saturday.

I would have no hesitation recommending The Laurels, it's peaceful and a little bit of heaven. Well done Ray and Edna and thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anne D 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights although had booked for 4 but weather was so bad we regrettably had to leave although the rain did make it atmospheric. Great campsite - clean and well managedby Ray and Edna. Pitch given with parking was huge. Our car broke down so we had to have parking space for a hire car and they were extremely helpful. Edna even went on the Internet to find out about the Museum of Witchcraft in Boscombe because there wasn't any information on it at the site.

Toilets and showers very clean and had no problem with queuing but then we are late(ish) risers. No queue for dryer or ironing board and plenty of dish washing facilities.

Great facilities for children with well stocked play area. Children dashing around on bikes between camps and cars were a nuisance but Ray did his best to supervise them since any supervision seemed lacking from the parents.

Would definitely go back and would recommend it highly. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kamper1 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite has everything it claims except that the facilities were planned and worked for the 30 spaces that were available in 2005.  Now there are 45 spaces and some of these are small and the description compact should now read cramped.  A deep sleeper I find noise usually does not disturb my sleep, but the closeness of the next tent meant sharing the snores of our neighbour and the heavy traffic on the adjacent road woke me up at 6.30 every morning. Until changeover day, there was little room in the fridge for even a bottle of milk, washing up sinks and machines were always in use and to get a shower a 7 a.M. Visit ensured no queues!
 
I agree with the reviewer who felt inhibited by the rules.  Apart from an A4 sheet handed to us on arrival, there were large signs on every appliance, on the playground and over the walls of the shower and toilet block.  The manager kept a watchful eye on all and regularly patrolled the site which may have been comforting for some, but created an rather tense atmosphere.
 
Having a Tesco store close by was useful as little could be stored and the site is close to the coast with Padstow, St Merryn and many other delightful beaches nearby.  Within a mile is Wadebridge with access to the Camel Trail and a forty-five minute drive took us as far as Eden. 
 
I feel sure that with a smaller number of spaces this would be a very nice site but will definitely not be returning and would not recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ExiledWool 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a week stay at The Laurels. Thought the site was extremely clean, good size pitch, great showers, really quiet (apart from the busy road close by) and would definitely recommend to others. Ray and Edna really friendly & helpful. Thanks for a great stay! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lines 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at The Laurels and can say we have had a fantastic time. The site is small and quiet just what we were looking for. The site managers were VERY helpful and always friendly. They welcomed us on our arrival and showed us to our pitch. The play area kept our 2 boys amused for hours and they enjoyed the ability to ride their bikes around the immaculately kept grounds. The site is well positioned for all the local and not so local attractions around Cornwall. The medium size Tesco store is only 2 mins drive away and the town of Wadebridge is only another 2 or 3 mins on from that. We will definitely be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronnie9 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this campsite based on the good reviews found on the website, plus the fact that all our other choices were already booked way in advance! It was pretty much as described by other reviewers but it definitely isn't for everyone.

We received a set of rules as soon as we arrived and weren't allowed to leave the office until we'd read the other rules posted in the site office. In fact, everywhere we went there seemed to be another sign telling us what to do. The Site manager was friendly but very vigilant, patrolling the site twice a day and making comments on what people were doing or not doing.

The facilities are good but the overall atmosphere is very restrained - not at all like most of the campsites we stay in regularly. I thought the piped classical music was a nice but slightly pretentious touch! Although there is a washing machine/dryer the reality is that you will probably not get to use them as there were long queues at all times and fridge/freezer was full to overflowing. My ice packs were simply removed to make way for other stuff! However, the showers were excellent and very clean but we had to queue every time.

We received a set of rules as soon as we arrived and weren't allowed to leave the office until we'd read a sign posted in the site office. In fact, everywhere we went there seemed to be another sign telling us what to do. The Site manager was very vigilant, patrolling the site twice a day and making comments on what people were doing or not doing.

The pitches were clearly marked with painted white lines. We seemed to have the worst pitch as it was the only one with no surrounding shrubs and as there is no central area (only narrow pathways between rows of pitches) we spent the whole week with people taking shortcuts across our pitch between the tent and car and with one particularly annoying person who insisted on playing cricket with his kids everyday just feet from our tent and hitting the ball constantly into the tent, our barbecue, dinner, and even my husbands head!

It was the most unrelaxing site I've ever stayed on and though it is pretty in a very twee, middle aged kind of way, it really is a campsite for people who don't actually like camping. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elainec 1 review from this member

 We returned to the Laurels this year after spending a wonderful two weeks relaxing holiday there last year. The campsite had been sold on to someone else as the previous owners had retired. Unfortunately the campsite had changed. Instead of the 30 pitches that there had been previously the capacity had been increased by another 15 pitches. More if the managers chose to let extra campers stay on a caravan storage place. The toilet and shower facilities were still very clean however for the amount of new pitches, 2 male and 2 female showers and 4 of each toilets are inadequate to cope with the extra demand on them. Also the fridge and freezer service which was adequate for the sites previous 30 pitches was stretched beyond its capacity which meant that ice packs were never frozen. The new owners had put in place site wardens who were very unhelpful and unapproachable. It was mentioned when the ice pack problem was raised with the managers that this facility may be done away with next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike bond 11 reviews from this member

 We spent the second of our 2 weeks here. It is a lovely site, beautifully maintained with large, well laid out pitches. The toilet block is immaculate however this is far too small for 30 pitches in peak season. There is a main road along one side of the site but I think most people become immune to it after a while and its not excessive. The play area is small (if your kids are older - mine are 12 and 9) and there is an area set aside for dog walking (about the same as is allotted for the kids play area). It is an ideal location to explore northern Cornwall, especially Padstow. (If you can't afford a full blowout at Rick Stein's restaurant he has a chippy by the quay and its very nice - but busy). If you go to Padstow use the park and ride - its well worth it. Tesco's is a couple of minutes down the road by car from the site. I consider my family as considerate campers but unfortunately we found the management's attitude to children 'overzealous'. Personally I would not return but would recommend it to people with younger families/no kids. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mdebbs 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first 'real' camping outing as a family. What a find! We couldn't believe how lucky we were to find such a fantastic site at the height of the season, and at such short notice. The amenities were of a very high standard, particularly the shower block. Thanks to Ray and Edna for their welcome and hospitality.
A good central location to visit many North Cornish beaches. Padstow after 6 o'clock is magical. Cycling the Camel Trail is a must, as well as body boarding at Polzeath. This cam site would suite all! Back next year! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Laurels Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Laurels Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Laurels Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5731 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement