Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Laurels Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > The Laurels Holiday Park Reviews

The Laurels Holiday Park
Padstow Road
Whitecross
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 7JQ
Tel: 01208 813341  or  07957 154578
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 41 to 48                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Reviewer: Buffy69 1 review from this member

 August 2005
I visited this site recently with my family and really enjoyed staying here. The owners are friendly and helpful, the facilities were always clean and stocked up. The childrens play area is a great meeting place for the kids to get to know each other. I would happily go back to this site if I visit the area again. 


Reviewer: Jane64 1 review from this member

 July 2005
We camped on the site for 4 nights and I can honestly say it is one of the best kept sites that I have visited in a long time. The owner was so friendly she even offered to lend us her OS Map of the area until we went shopping the next day.
The shower area and washing up facilities are outstanding.
Another visit is definitely on the cards. 


Reviewer: Sengau 1 review from this member

 July 2005
We have just spent a great week at this site and we too choose to go here by reading the reviews. The site is a tribute to all the hard work Anita and Allen put in. The facilities were excellent with plenty to do for our six yr old son, and as stated early the hot water was in abundance with a clean toilet block.

A note of caution we arrived with our Sunn Camp tourist 12 and could not fit on the pitch allocated to us, but Allen accommodated us elsewhere. So if your tent in larger than 6m by 7m then ask for pitches 3 or 6 when booking.

The site is on the A39, which in our opinion is a plus, this enables you to reach many places without going up and down too many narrow roads with a big car. We can recommend the Quarryman Arms for food but you may need to book, also the Borough Arms on the road to Bodmin.

We found the perfect beach for rock pools called Boobys Bay a little bit of a walk with all the beach gear but we had the best 2 days catching so many different things and all the family became six yr olds again.

We would like to once again say a very big thank you to Anita and Allen Nicholson for providing a wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Richmatthews 1 review from this member

 Without doubt one of the cleanest and most peaceful campsites I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.
I completely agree with the reviews posted here already so I won't repeat any of those points.
We went there specifically to take the bikes out on the Camel trail and thought we'd be brave by departing from the campsite on the bikes rather than take the car down to Wadebridge itself. A lovely ride out, but there is a very steep hill going down to the trail which is almost 2 miles long, so be prepared for a hard slog back if you do so. We also got caught in a heavy shower on the way back just to add to the joy, but the promise of a nice hot shower at the end of it made it all completely enjoyable.
Going towards the end of June as we did, we were expecting it to be very busy, with lots of noisy kids and queuing for the showers but were very pleasantly surprised to find no such thing. The play area is tucked away neatly in the corner of the field, and even though there are only two showers, we never experienced any queues.
If I had to make any criticism at all it would be that the site is very close to the busy A39 so you do get a lot of traffic noise, so the best pitches are on the far side of the field away from the road.
We will be returning though. Highly recommended. 


Reviewer: StenAnji 1 review from this member

 May 2005
We decided on this site from reviews here. I have to say it was lovely. The weather did help, seems that we had the best May weather for a while. The site is quiet and well set out with plenty of space on each pitch (although we didn't pitch terribly efficiently and the people next to us with the Diablo 600 did struggle, ring and check the pitch size.)there are some nice established shrubs between each pitch and you felt well sheltered.

The facilities were very good. I've never had so much hot water and the freezer and fridge space was really useful. There were never any queues for the showers, but I imagine there might be in the height of the school holidays. The road really wasn't a problem, you hardly noticed it, the dawn chorus was more of a nuisance!! We don't have children, but they would be well catered for here, lots of space to charge around in and the play area seemed adequate. There was even a dog walking area, which people used all the time.

The local area is great, but to cycle anywhere you need a car! Only if you're a wimp! The site is a at the top of a hill and whilst it may make some happy, those of us with low fitness levels don't relish the thought of a 6 mile ride to Padstow! The return journey was less appealing. The Camel trail is beautiful and well worth a day spent there,it's flat and easy going and doesn't seem like 5 and 3/4 miles. Take plenty of water and enjoy the views. A great site that's centrally placed. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Misterdj 1 review from this member

 August 2004
This was our first ever camping trip and it was a good experience because of the quality of this site. Obviously I have nothing to compare it with but I'll list what I thought were the plus points and I am sure they will be the type of thing everyone else is interested in.
(i)Very tidy, clean site.
(ii)Great that each pitch is segregated by high shrubs and/or fencing
(iii)Showers are free, hot, clean and never had to queue
(iv) very peaceful and quiet - although some might find traffic noise from A39 loud - but you get used to it from first day
(v)there is a fridge and freezer for everyone to use(vi)washing up area is very useful
(vii)chemical disposal point is very handy
(viii)good array of leaflets on local attractions etc
(ix)There is a big Tesco 2 mins drive away.

If you are looking for entertainment on site, then this isnt the place for you, but if you want somewhere hassle free, and well run, to stay I would highly recommend the Laurels 


Reviewer: cwelch 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
A really nice friendly little site, with helpful owners. We were disappointed we could only stay a few days, and will return.

The shower block was cleaned early each morning. The shower cubicles were larger than those found on many other camp sites. The showers were free and quite powerful. Just be careful with the taps in the basins - you can easily wash your legs and feet at the same time as your hands as the pressure is quite strong!

The shrubs between each pitch gives a little privacy and help with the feeling that the owners take care of their site and your visit.

As per the previous comment, the ownly downside is the A39, but whilst you could hear it, it was not overly intrusive. 


Reviewer: Berris 1 review from this member

 June 2004
A well presented and laid out touring park. The site is small in comparison to most, a single level field with well laid out pitches. The site had all the facilities that you would expect and they were exceptionlly clean and well maintained(there was even a communual fridge & freezer,this was a first for me). Our 3 children all enjoyed the play area.... especially the trampoline. In all this was a lovely well presented campsite and we enjoyed are stay immensly. The only slight drawback was having the main road so close, however coming from a small Devon village this was probably more noticeable to us than it would be for most. We will certainly be returning to explore more of this beautiful area of Cornwall. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 48     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Laurels Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Laurels Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Laurels Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement