Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul > Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Llwynhelyg
Cross Inn
Llandysul
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA44 6LW
Tel: 01545 560029
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/03 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveP65 10 reviews from this member

Visited for 10 days in July. Found it to be a very neat and tidy camp. Shop sold basics - milk, eggs etc. Very well placed for New Quay, 3 miles, where if you are lucky you can see bottle nose dolphins in the bay. Toilets clean and tidy but as with a lot of C&CC sites are in need of refurbishment. Push button showers a bit of a pain but you get used to them. There seemed to be a predominance of caravans but hey, you can't have everything. Some pitches slightly sloping but didn't cause any real problems. Will certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Longstack 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this site twice this year and we will be back again. The site is very well kept with Spotless toilets and very friendly staff. If you are into hiking this is the place to stay. There is a great footpath that runs at the back of the campsite through a beautiful valley to the sea at Cwmtydu. There are footpaths every where in this Area so if you are a walker get here. The bus also passes about 15min walk from the campsite so you can catch the Bus to Newquay or out to different places to walk the Ceredigain Coast path.

We will be Back again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr_jibbles 15 reviews from this member

Excellent location! We really enjoyed exploring this stunning area. Fantastic beaches! Visited Castell Henllys & the Welsh Wildlife Centre on rainy days, both very good.

Site easy to find, only a short stretch of narrow road on final approach to the site. Very well maintained site, great views from many of the pitches.

It was very windy while we were there, so remember plenty of pegs and storm straps! Needed our blocks as the field we were in was sloping. The views were definitely worth the flapping awning!

Small play area which our children loved.

Having read previous reviews we were disappointed by the toilet/shower block. Don't mind older facilities but these are in need of some TLC (simple things like checking toilet door locks work, replacing broken hooks-silly little things I know but attention to detail makes the difference between ok and great). Could have been cleaner too. Closed from 11 - 12. 30 daily so would expect them to be spotless. Wardens were professional on arrival but not the usual friendliness we have enjoyed throughout our stays at other 'friendly club' sites.

We did have a great week staying in this beautiful area, just think that with a little TLC the facilities block could match the care taken over the rest of the grounds.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cuban-night 6 reviews from this member

One of the worst caravan and camping club sites that I have stayed on and I would not recommend unless you are used to visiting basic sites in the middle of nowhere however it's not all bad.

POSITIVES

* Nice clean site most pitches are level or on a slight slope. I didn't see any that were on huge slopes which was a concern after reading 'most pitches are sloping' in the caravan club book.

* Bathrooms kept clean and warm, spacious showers.

* Good children's play area although not suitable for older children ( my son is 10 and it wasn't suitable for him)

* staff helpful

* we requested a pitch close to the bathrooms due to taking my mother in law and we did get that which was fantastic.

NEGATIVES

* LOCAL AREA - the campsite is in the middle of nowhere and cardigan bay name is very misleading as its not close by. I was also led to believe by descriptions that it was close to beaches or at least a coastal path do not be fooled by this. Every thing local unless your an active walker will need you to get in your vehicle to access. My husband and son took bikes as they usually disappear for a couple of hours to find things but failed to find anything and were back within an hour. We usually like to be near something so we don't have to take the camper out everyday but we had to drive everywhere and I found nothing local that I can say was worth a 2nd visit. We went to New quay which is not dog friendly so moved on and did not stay. We also visited aberystwyth which was a very run down seaside resort which again not dog friendly as dogs not allowed on the beach. Only thing I would recommend was fish and chips opposite the pier they were delicious.

* THE CAMPSITE - poor organisation on arrival no real information given when checking in as to where bins, facilities etc are.

* shop is only open for a few hours a day so if you have a late start due to getting held up in showers and need something for breakfast you may miss out.

* people were constantly cutting through our pitch to get to the bathrooms even when we were packing away they were walking over our ground sheets that were drying in the sun on our pitch.

* pitch (hardstanding) was smaller than others we had stayed on and did not quite fit our van and awning on.

* bathrooms very dated but this was not an issue for me. My main issue was the showers as there are not enough for a site of this size. I normally shower in the evening to avoid the rush in the morning but it didn't seem to matter what time I went I was always having to wait in line for a shower to come free. On the last day as I woke up before 7 I decided to take my chance and shower before the rest of the family awoke to find that I still had to q for 15 mins.

* This is the first campsite that I have been on where the bins are not placed around the site so getting rid of rubbish was a pain as it was over the opposite side to us. If you want rubbish to be disposed of correctly give us bins.

* not enough dog waste bins around the site I only saw 1 by the entrance. When will campsites realise that dogs won't wait until they are on a designated area to do their business so why not have a few dotted around the site.

I have tried to give as much information as possible but we really were disappointed as expected better from a caravan and camping club site. It was a nice site with good views but its not for us and we won't be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmold 49 reviews from this member

A very clean well maintained site, well up to usual C&CC standards. Toilet block very clean but has automatic lighting which unless there is constant traffic, switches off while you are in a cubicle.

Very welcoming site managers. After the heavy rains of the previous couple of months, grass pitches were mostly unused so we had a very level hard-standing. Most appeared to be level so can't really understand the 'most pitches are sloping so chocks will be required' comment in the sites book.

Surprisingly quiet when we were there, no children to be seen and even at the weekend only 2 or 3 new units arrived, site appeared to be only a quarter full.

Quite a distance from Cardigan itself, nearest town being NewQuay where we spent a pleasant afternoon dolphin watching in the bay. Boat trips will take you out to see dolphins and seals.

Pub at end of lane in village appeared to have extensive menu at reasonable prices although we didn't try it ourselves. Very good local village store

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Veema 12 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an enjoyable, if somewhat blowy, week at this site.

We arrived a couple of days after the site had opened and were greeted by a friendly and helpful couple, we were given the choice of pitches and ended up with a lovely big grassy pitch with EHU.

The site was well maintained, grass freshly mown, no muddy patches etc. There is a small shop selling basic provisions and you can order a newspaper. There is a small play area with swings and a slide and an area set aside in an adjoining field for ball games.

However, this is the first Camping & Caravanning Club site we have been on and I have to say the toilet / shower facilities are the worst I have come across. Granted they were very clean, but they were very dated and devoid of any heating and little light. They were absolutely freezing.

The showers themselves were lovely and warm with good pressure, but the minute you stepped out of them, it was so cold. There is absolutely no way I could have showered our 5 year old daughter in there as she would have been frozen.

To say that camping is supposed to be a family friendly holiday, I have yet to come across a site with child friendly showering facilities. Fixed head, fixed temperature showers are no good for children.

In fairness, the site manager did say we could use the disabled facilities to shower her, which had a variable temperature shower, but even so, she would still have been very cold when she came out.

It is a shame really, as if the facilities were a bit more modern or even just heated, we'd have had a far more pleasant stay. As it is, I doubt we will return.

The surrounding area is lovely, with plenty to see and do, even when the weather isn't the best. I would recommend Peapod Pots, were we spent a fun afternoon painting mugs.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

Booked for 3 nights on hardstanding + EHU but extended for another 2. The site was pretty empty so I was allowed to choose a pitch and went for one about 3/4 of the way around the 1-way road, overlooking the farmland to the west. A good view but exposed, which proved to be a problem the following morning when strong winds almost took my utility tent away!

The reception and shower/toilet blocks seemed pretty old, with the former stocking snacks and drinks while the latter (for the gents) contained a few showers, a few toilet cubicles and a few washbasin cubicles.

It was also pretty cold due partly to the skylights being open and wind blowing through some holes in the shower wall. The same block also contained a laundry room, internal / external dishwashing areas and a CDP - it was centrally placed and no more than a couple of minutes walk from the outer grass pitches. The site is on a hill with reception at the bottom.

TV/radio reception was fair, mobile (O2) and 3G ('3') were good. The 2 wardens were friendly and helpful.

Cross Inn is about a 10 minute walk away - the roads to the site are narrow so care is needed - where I found a post office, general store (closed Wednesday afternoon), fruit/veg shop and a pub (which was only serving food evenings on weekdays).

New Quay is less than 10 minutes driving away with a large car park on the hill as you enter the town (with recycling facilities) and another near the sea front. Being a Wednesday afternoon in April when I visited it was very quiet with not much open but it was nice to walk along the beach and enjoy the views.

Cardigan is about a 30 minute drive down the coast with a good selection of shops and the picturesque Mwnt nearby (reachable via more narrow twisty roads). Llwynhelyg farm shop on the way had a good selection of local produce. The Llanerchaeron estate (NT) near Aberaeron proved a welcome escape from the rain.

For 20p at reception I picked up a map with a trail from the site to the coast and onto Cwmtudu, crossing farmland and woodland (with waterfalls) on the way down. The coastal views were stunning. After eating my packed lunch it was time to head back but I took a diversion to use the lanes for the return journey which resulted in me discovering the church near Cwm Silio. A really enjoyable (and tiring) 4 hours and the best part of my trip.

With so many places missed due to a lack of time I will definitely be returning and using the site again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The site is situated about 3/4 mile outside the village of Cross Inn - a nice walk in about 20 minutes.

We found the facilities to be good if a little dated, but always spotlessly clean. Limited hard standings availale as most pitches are on grass.

No markings on where pitches are which is ok when quiet - some people seemed to pitch fairly close to other vans which is odd when its so quiet.

Overall the site was kept beautifully. Also from our view majority of dog owners kept dogs on leads - only exception was wardens dog who was allowed to roam and not kept on a lead.

This is a lovely site, only 3 miles from New Quay and well worth the walk down (and the bus back!)

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bargee 2 reviews from this member

We spent three days on this site at the beginning of July. What a beautiful site that is well looked after. There is lots of space on the different fields for caravans, motor homes, tents.

The wardens and their assistants are very welcoming and work together as a team so it's well organised, friendly and accommodating. The wardens never stop and work very hard to keep the site maintained and looking good. You must also meet the little black dog, called Jet he nearly talks to you.

The reception facilities are good, selling bread, tinned stuff and all essential emergency items.

There is a shower and toilet block that is closed for an hour each day from 11. 30am for a detailed cleaning programme and they are immaculate. Plenty of electric hook ups.

There is a laundry area with washers, dryers and ironing facilities and even a twirly gig for drying clothes in the fresh air. There are hair dryers in the toilet and shower areas. A washing up area. There is plenty of hot water, all facilities are in very good working order. Various water points around the field and waste water disposal.

Off site there is a village pub doing excellent food and everyone is friendly. There is a small shop and post office which is about a 15 minute walk from the site. We went to the local seaside village of New Quay, where the dolphins can be seen, lots of little seaside shops, a supermarket and restaurants and places to eat. The views are stunning and it is about ten minutes from the site by car. Well worth a visit!

All in all this site is one of the best caravan sites we have visited and we can certainly recommend it. We will return !

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen Mann 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend break in 2x small 2 man tents. Facilities were good if a little dated, but spotlessly clean, never saw anyone else use the toilet/shower facilities in the weekend we were there. Only bad point was it was very unsheltered we were behind the playpark, yes we got thunderstorms and high winds but it was very blustery up there when no storms around - it is pretty high up and the pitches do slope which may have been the cause.

I know the surrounding areas pretty well, have living most of my summers in my youth in the area, New Quay beach is probably one of the best around but does get packed during peak season and good weather - we did see several dolphins whilst away this time. Agree with another review Mwnt is beautiful and secluded although steep climb back up the hill from beach to car! another good place to visit is Poppit Sands - more space on the beach.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Llandysul      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019