Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul > Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Llwynhelyg
Cross Inn
Llandysul
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA44 6LW
Tel: 01545 560029
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 19/03/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolynjw 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our Easter weekend at this site. Everything was really clean and the site was a joy. The one comment my husband and I had was that it should be noted that rock pegs would come in handy. Luckily, we always carry our rock pegs with us. And the 'sloping field' really isn't as bad as we originally thought it would be. However, it wasn't within walking distance of the beach, and the lane leading to the site may be an issue with people towing. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TeamBavers 4 reviews from this member

 This is a beautifully maintained site about 3 miles from New Quay.

Lovely and peaceful, and over a Bank Holiday weekend was not overly busy. Another plus point, the sites nearer the sea were crammed tight! The toilets were always clean and tidy and showers hot.

We visited The Crown, just down the road one night, the food was good and the staff friendly.

The downside is that there was not much for us to do in the area surrounding the campsite, we ended up driving miles to attractions. I would come back again for a long weekend, but not for a week. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DaveP65 10 reviews from this member

 Visited for 10 days in July. Found it to be a very neat and tidy camp. Shop sold basics - milk, eggs etc. Very well placed for New Quay, 3 miles, where if you are lucky you can see bottle nose dolphins in the bay. Toilets clean and tidy but as with a lot of C&CC sites are in need of refurbishment. Push button showers a bit of a pain but you get used to them. There seemed to be a predominance of caravans but hey, you can't have everything. Some pitches slightly sloping but didn't cause any real problems. Will certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Longstack 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site twice this year and we will be back again. The site is very well kept with Spotless toilets and very friendly staff. If you are into hiking this is the place to stay. There is a great footpath that runs at the back of the campsite through a beautiful valley to the sea at Cwmtydu. There are footpaths every where in this Area so if you are a walker get here. The bus also passes about 15min walk from the campsite so you can catch the Bus to Newquay or out to different places to walk the Ceredigain Coast path.

We will be Back again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr_jibbles 15 reviews from this member

 Excellent location! We really enjoyed exploring this stunning area. Fantastic beaches! Visited Castell Henllys & the Welsh Wildlife Centre on rainy days, both very good.

Site easy to find, only a short stretch of narrow road on final approach to the site. Very well maintained site, great views from many of the pitches.

It was very windy while we were there, so remember plenty of pegs and storm straps! Needed our blocks as the field we were in was sloping. The views were definitely worth the flapping awning!

Small play area which our children loved.

Having read previous reviews we were disappointed by the toilet/shower block. Don't mind older facilities but these are in need of some TLC (simple things like checking toilet door locks work, replacing broken hooks-silly little things I know but attention to detail makes the difference between ok and great). Could have been cleaner too. Closed from 11 - 12. 30 daily so would expect them to be spotless. Wardens were professional on arrival but not the usual friendliness we have enjoyed throughout our stays at other 'friendly club' sites.

We did have a great week staying in this beautiful area, just think that with a little TLC the facilities block could match the care taken over the rest of the grounds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cuban-night 6 reviews from this member

 One of the worst caravan and camping club sites that I have stayed on and I would not recommend unless you are used to visiting basic sites in the middle of nowhere however it's not all bad.

POSITIVES

* Nice clean site most pitches are level or on a slight slope. I didn't see any that were on huge slopes which was a concern after reading 'most pitches are sloping' in the caravan club book.

* Bathrooms kept clean and warm, spacious showers.

* Good children's play area although not suitable for older children ( my son is 10 and it wasn't suitable for him)

* staff helpful

* we requested a pitch close to the bathrooms due to taking my mother in law and we did get that which was fantastic.

NEGATIVES

* LOCAL AREA - the campsite is in the middle of nowhere and cardigan bay name is very misleading as its not close by. I was also led to believe by descriptions that it was close to beaches or at least a coastal path do not be fooled by this. Every thing local unless your an active walker will need you to get in your vehicle to access. My husband and son took bikes as they usually disappear for a couple of hours to find things but failed to find anything and were back within an hour. We usually like to be near something so we don't have to take the camper out everyday but we had to drive everywhere and I found nothing local that I can say was worth a 2nd visit. We went to New quay which is not dog friendly so moved on and did not stay. We also visited aberystwyth which was a very run down seaside resort which again not dog friendly as dogs not allowed on the beach. Only thing I would recommend was fish and chips opposite the pier they were delicious.

* THE CAMPSITE - poor organisation on arrival no real information given when checking in as to where bins, facilities etc are.

* shop is only open for a few hours a day so if you have a late start due to getting held up in showers and need something for breakfast you may miss out.

* people were constantly cutting through our pitch to get to the bathrooms even when we were packing away they were walking over our ground sheets that were drying in the sun on our pitch.

* pitch (hardstanding) was smaller than others we had stayed on and did not quite fit our van and awning on.

* bathrooms very dated but this was not an issue for me. My main issue was the showers as there are not enough for a site of this size. I normally shower in the evening to avoid the rush in the morning but it didn't seem to matter what time I went I was always having to wait in line for a shower to come free. On the last day as I woke up before 7 I decided to take my chance and shower before the rest of the family awoke to find that I still had to q for 15 mins.

* This is the first campsite that I have been on where the bins are not placed around the site so getting rid of rubbish was a pain as it was over the opposite side to us. If you want rubbish to be disposed of correctly give us bins.

* not enough dog waste bins around the site I only saw 1 by the entrance. When will campsites realise that dogs won't wait until they are on a designated area to do their business so why not have a few dotted around the site.

I have tried to give as much information as possible but we really were disappointed as expected better from a caravan and camping club site. It was a nice site with good views but its not for us and we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulmold 76 reviews from this member

 A very clean well maintained site, well up to usual C&CC standards. Toilet block very clean but has automatic lighting which unless there is constant traffic, switches off while you are in a cubicle.

Very welcoming site managers. After the heavy rains of the previous couple of months, grass pitches were mostly unused so we had a very level hard-standing. Most appeared to be level so can't really understand the 'most pitches are sloping so chocks will be required' comment in the sites book.

Surprisingly quiet when we were there, no children to be seen and even at the weekend only 2 or 3 new units arrived, site appeared to be only a quarter full.

Quite a distance from Cardigan itself, nearest town being NewQuay where we spent a pleasant afternoon dolphin watching in the bay. Boat trips will take you out to see dolphins and seals.

Pub at end of lane in village appeared to have extensive menu at reasonable prices although we didn't try it ourselves. Very good local village store 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Veema 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an enjoyable, if somewhat blowy, week at this site.

We arrived a couple of days after the site had opened and were greeted by a friendly and helpful couple, we were given the choice of pitches and ended up with a lovely big grassy pitch with EHU.

The site was well maintained, grass freshly mown, no muddy patches etc. There is a small shop selling basic provisions and you can order a newspaper. There is a small play area with swings and a slide and an area set aside in an adjoining field for ball games.

However, this is the first Camping & Caravanning Club site we have been on and I have to say the toilet / shower facilities are the worst I have come across. Granted they were very clean, but they were very dated and devoid of any heating and little light. They were absolutely freezing.

The showers themselves were lovely and warm with good pressure, but the minute you stepped out of them, it was so cold. There is absolutely no way I could have showered our 5 year old daughter in there as she would have been frozen.

To say that camping is supposed to be a family friendly holiday, I have yet to come across a site with child friendly showering facilities. Fixed head, fixed temperature showers are no good for children.

In fairness, the site manager did say we could use the disabled facilities to shower her, which had a variable temperature shower, but even so, she would still have been very cold when she came out.

It is a shame really, as if the facilities were a bit more modern or even just heated, we'd have had a far more pleasant stay. As it is, I doubt we will return.

The surrounding area is lovely, with plenty to see and do, even when the weather isn't the best. I would recommend Peapod Pots, were we spent a fun afternoon painting mugs. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

 Booked for 3 nights on hardstanding + EHU but extended for another 2. The site was pretty empty so I was allowed to choose a pitch and went for one about 3/4 of the way around the 1-way road, overlooking the farmland to the west. A good view but exposed, which proved to be a problem the following morning when strong winds almost took my utility tent away!

The reception and shower/toilet blocks seemed pretty old, with the former stocking snacks and drinks while the latter (for the gents) contained a few showers, a few toilet cubicles and a few washbasin cubicles.

It was also pretty cold due partly to the skylights being open and wind blowing through some holes in the shower wall. The same block also contained a laundry room, internal / external dishwashing areas and a CDP - it was centrally placed and no more than a couple of minutes walk from the outer grass pitches. The site is on a hill with reception at the bottom.

TV/radio reception was fair, mobile (O2) and 3G ('3') were good. The 2 wardens were friendly and helpful.

Cross Inn is about a 10 minute walk away - the roads to the site are narrow so care is needed - where I found a post office, general store (closed Wednesday afternoon), fruit/veg shop and a pub (which was only serving food evenings on weekdays).

New Quay is less than 10 minutes driving away with a large car park on the hill as you enter the town (with recycling facilities) and another near the sea front. Being a Wednesday afternoon in April when I visited it was very quiet with not much open but it was nice to walk along the beach and enjoy the views.

Cardigan is about a 30 minute drive down the coast with a good selection of shops and the picturesque Mwnt nearby (reachable via more narrow twisty roads). Llwynhelyg farm shop on the way had a good selection of local produce. The Llanerchaeron estate (NT) near Aberaeron proved a welcome escape from the rain.

For 20p at reception I picked up a map with a trail from the site to the coast and onto Cwmtudu, crossing farmland and woodland (with waterfalls) on the way down. The coastal views were stunning. After eating my packed lunch it was time to head back but I took a diversion to use the lanes for the return journey which resulted in me discovering the church near Cwm Silio. A really enjoyable (and tiring) 4 hours and the best part of my trip.

With so many places missed due to a lack of time I will definitely be returning and using the site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 612 reviews from this member

 The site is situated about 3/4 mile outside the village of Cross Inn - a nice walk in about 20 minutes.

We found the facilities to be good if a little dated, but always spotlessly clean. Limited hard standings availale as most pitches are on grass.

No markings on where pitches are which is ok when quiet - some people seemed to pitch fairly close to other vans which is odd when its so quiet.

Overall the site was kept beautifully. Also from our view majority of dog owners kept dogs on leads - only exception was wardens dog who was allowed to roam and not kept on a lead.

This is a lovely site, only 3 miles from New Quay and well worth the walk down (and the bus back!) 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llandysul      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement