Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul > Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Cardigan Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Llwynhelyg
Cross Inn
Llandysul
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA44 6LW
Tel: 01545 560029
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/03 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dutchie 1 review from this member

Great site, very friendly and helpful staff. As overseas visitors with the International Camping Carnet we were regarded as full members of the C&C Club, so no extra charge and age concession rate.

New Quay is a lovely town, nice pubs. Cardigan is a bit further away but offers everything one might need. Beautiful surroundings, we walked parts of the Pembrokeshire Coastal path, which was just great. We hope to be back in September and do the Ceredigion Coast Path. We've planned a fortnight in the UK which is absolutely too short for this great country. So we'll just have to come again and again and again .

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Matt1000_3 4 reviews from this member

Although it rained for most of our stay here I can't really fault this site. (Well I can but they're not really faults, see below). It is a lovely setting with most pitches having views over rolling welsh hills.

The staff were extremely friendly, the Essex chap had the rare skill of being able to direct you to your pitch in no uncertain terms but with no hint of being a 'jobs worth' - this is a rare talent.

The shop was useful and the pitches were not cramped.

This site is in a lovely location; New Quay is 3 miles away and is a lovely seaside with two sandy beaches,some charming pubs and good parking.

Excellent showers (apart from the one with a 15sec timer!). Only one washing machine and tumble dryer but you can't have everything.

The childrens play area is very basic (swing/slide).

Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fifijames224 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, would highly recommend it. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Facilities were very clean.

Mwnt is definitely worth a visit especially as you maybe lucky enough to see the dolphins. Also worth a visit is Cwm tydu beach, it is where the seals have their pups and we were very lucky to actually see a seal pup on the beach and the mother in the sea.

New Quay is a lovely quaint little sea side village. There are two lovely fish and chip shops in New Quay which are both reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PreeceFamily 33 reviews from this member

A really really nice C&CC site.

We were told 'go where you like just be careful it's wet in places' - but no problems on our pitch at all. The two wardens are really nice - time to stop and chat and also, unlike some places, have time to chat with the kids.

We were among 6 units on the site when we stayed so pretty much had the facilities to ourselves and they are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the site.

The site isn't on the main road - a short walk to the shops where the Post Office is great - really good staff and the local supermarket has 'acceptable' prices. Buses are frequent (both on and off timetables!) down to New Quay and into Aberystwyth, etc. The site is also a 30 min walk downhill into New Quay too.

Overall a site worth sneaking back to in a really nice area.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zozzer 21 reviews from this member

We booked for four nights during the first week of the season leading up to Easter. This was our first visit to a C&CC site and we were impressed. We recieved a hearty welcome from the wardens and were told to take our pick of the five handstanding pitches that were available. Our pitch was level with good drainage as we soon found out with the overnight heavy rains. The vast majority of the sight is on a slope and the shower and toilet block is positioned near the top of the slope. This gave me a bit of a problem with my breathing and I had to stop three times to catch my breathe before reaching the toilets. Ideally the club may like give some thought to the possibility of having a couple of hardstanding pitches close to the toilet / shower block at the top of the slope for disabled campers. Having said that, when you finally make it up the slope, the facilitise are excellent, for both able bodied and disabled alike. Travelling away from the campsite, the village of Cross Inn is about a mile down a very narrow and winding lane. New Quay is approx 2 miles and you may be lucky and see the dolphins in the bay. Further a field, we partically loved the Salmon Falls at Cenarth and Teifi Narrow Gauge Railway at Henllan followed by Fishgaurd and Strumbles Head lighthouse. The site is without doubt a very good base for touring Ceredigion, Northern Carmarthenshire and Northern Pembrokeshire

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Powellj3 2 reviews from this member

A pleasant gently sloping site.  My first visit to a CCC site was Rhandir-Mwyn this wasn't to their standards as the shower block was older with some signs of wear and tear - e.g. Holes where fixtures had been re-positioned several times - in fact this time they had had to call a plumber because the men's showers could only manage a trickle.  But there were all the facilities you would expect of a club site: service points, play area, laundry, clothes drying, wash-up areas, some camping supplies and visiting shop.  Again not including entertainment or pub as these sites are quiet and peaceful.   Also one of the women in our party was harried out of the toilet block after a shower, whilst trying to finish dressing because the warden wanted to clean the block.  However that said it was still better than any commercial site I've used.  The site wasn't over busy on account of the weather, with a selection of all sorts of units and everybody pleasant and polite - chatting whilst using the dish washing facilities and exchanging the time of day.  The area of course is stunning, New Quay has a good selection of eateries and watering holes.  There is a pub closer to the site but it didn't look too clever and we didn't visit it.  The area is perfect for families who want the beach but equally ideal for those wanting the scenery of mid Wales (just) with Devil's Bridge a must.  Couple that with the steam train and towns with interesting small shops and I can't think of anybody who could be left out.  I'll go again.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G,Winger 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week, in middle of June.
Site was only a quarter full and being a member using the age concession and a couple of five quid vouchers we tore out of some camp site guides. The whole week only cost us just over 30 quid on an electric pitch!.
As said below a very nice site, surrounded by cow and sheep fields, some of which there are footpaths through to beaches etc. Maps are available from reception.
Local shop in Cross inn sells everything you should need.
Spotted buzzards circling over fields.
Showers on site are push button with only a 10 second time delay.
Some of the nearby beaches have a private car park as we found out, during the week the charge was only a pound all day but that tripled at the weekend, although council parking is only about £!.50 all day. 
 

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pavcat 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, everything you need for a relaxing break - peaceful site, space, lovely views, beautiful coastal and inland scenery. The wardens were super - friendly and helpful with a smile. Everything you need for imaginative children not wanting ready made entertainment - large games field, small play park, nearby beaches with seal and dolphin spotting. For older people good restaurants and pubs nearby - child friendly with 'proper food' included in their children's menu. Also for fish lovers a visit to the Fish on the Quay at Aberairon is a must with the freshly cooked crab while you wait eating a honey ice from the shop next door. Pick up a leaflet in the Tourist Information centre in New quay about all the local food outlets, including Organic farms. Nearby New quay is lovely to wander around following Dylan Thomas' Under Milk Wood trail or buying all sorts of things in the Pound Shop - great for kids to spend pocket money in.
We like the site so much we booked for a whole week at Spring Bank as soon as we returned home. 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne g 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip and we were delighted with this site, we were welcomed on arrival and shown to our pitch personally, on learning that I was disabled we were given a pitch near to the toilet / shower block.
This site was quiet, peaceful and beautifully laid out with plenty of room on each pitch, regular inspections were made by the staff to make sure that all was ok, There was a seperate field for children to play ball games and also a small play park, our grandchildren spent a lot of time there and were very happy on this site. 
The toilets and showers were always immaculate with plenty of very hot water and a hair dryer, also private washing facilities were available. Although there was no evening entertainment we had everything that we needed and I wish we could have stayed longer than the 4 nights booked. I hope to return before too long and would wholeheartedly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Not in a box 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful site! Very helpful welcoming staff. We were helped to set up, and having an 8 month old we appreciated it. Lovely and clean areas with good distances beween units. Free red hot showers is fantastic. Toilets were always clean (shut around lunch 1.5hrs) disabled can be used during this time. Local beaches are brill, not busy even in peak times. Great rock pools for kids our 8 year old girl loved them! New Quay beach is great and we did see dolphins, although briefly. Honey farm worth a visit. Butterfly house is interesting but a smaller place than you may expect. There is a great big beach at Newport on the Fishguard road worth a trip, look for brown beach signs on narrow bit of road. An evening drive onto the beach to go crabbing was lovely.

Site and area very relaxed and quiet away from the bussle of a 'tourist' area. Will definitely go back!

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Llandysul      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019