Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Newport > Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Tredegar Park
Coedkernew, Newport
Newport
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP10 8TW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/01 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 Tredegar House & Park are lovely during the hours of daylight. The lake with the ducks on it, lovely places for the dogs to sniff & run and a dog friendly cafe. But after dark on a Saturday we were less than amused by the sound of guns being fired in the Park. We even tried ringing the police (the non emergency number) but after 40 mins gave up. We found out later that from some local friends that the gunfire isn't unusual! The wardens didn't seem to think it was a problem. Made me really glad I'm a country girl!

That, in combination with the unending traffic noise, really spoilt our visit. Luckily it was only an overnight stop, and I really wouldn't go there for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 It is so easy when leaving a review, when you are relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere of a campsite and its surroundings to forget all the hard work that is going on in the background to make your stay pleasurable.

When we arrived, and for the next two days the weather was not the greatest. Having said that, through the windows the wardens and their good lady (wives, partners, have to be careful now)were out emptying the rubbish/recycle bins, cleaning the amenities block as well as catering for the never ending stream of arrivees and departees.

If they noticed you in the window, a cheery wave, first class service all round (Caravan Club take note). The one lady warden came to see our cat (yes fellas, I take the wife's cat along).

Highly recommend this site for it's staff and location.

Now the ratings, amenities, spotless, road noise, gentle hum from the M4, shops, local Post Office cum shop (find the shortcut) Asda up the road, good one too, stocked everything.

Did we like it?, booked an extra night.

Thank you to the staff at Tredegar House for a pleasurable stay, you made up for the weather.

As a footnote, if you are a budding Jamie Oliver, herbs grown by reception, by the wardens are there to take (spot on, and thank you) 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasonjarrow 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Tredegar and what a lovely site it is. Not only is it with the grounds of the lovely Tredegar house and country park but it is also such a nicely laid out site although the pitches are flat the site itself isn't flat which makes it far more attractive. It's a lovely peaceful site and of the usual great clean and tidy standard of a club site. I would say had the kids been with us the play area being outside of the actual site would be a slight negative point and I don't know if it was just me but need a fairly heavyweight hammer to get pegs into the hard standing for putting up the awning. That said great access to the country park for walking the dogs and once the gates to the park close because your inside you have the park to yourselves would definitely recommend this site and there are some great places nearby to visit 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

 Delighted to have a second visit to this lovely site, we had a lovely weekend during a Folk festival at Tredegar house. My wife a great time visiting the vast house herself and came back loaded with wooden carving from the in house workshops within the grounds.

My 15 year old Border terrier and I had a great time in the grounds exploring the park land walks, couple of duck ponds with plenty of wildlife and birds.

Site itself is up to the clubs usual high standard and always spotless, usual washing machine and pan wash, some of the pitches have been recovered with what looks like crushed rumble and is really sharp under foot, prefer the washed 20mm gravel

Small parade of shops near the site with daily papers etc, also a large superstore approx a mile away.

Very handy to the motorway and worth another visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Karavanner 14 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, with all the usual high quality facilities that you would expect from the Caravan Club. However, what sets this site apart is the fantastic location. It is literally minutes from the M4, but in the grounds of a beautiful country park. The park itself is stunning, dog and child friendly! The house is well worth a look, and even better if you are a National Trust member and can get in free!

You can cycle on flat trails from the site, and there is a huge Asda a short walk/cycle away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 606 reviews from this member

 Beautifully maintained campsite as you would expect from CC.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly, they keep the facilities block clean at all times and the pitches were well looked after.

The gates are locked at 6pm to the National Trust park, you are given a key for access, the site barrier is also locked and there is an electronic tag.

We pitched down by the lake near to reception, no issue with road noise, we could hear it during the day but by early evening nothing that was a problem.

The entrance through the park is stunning, worth the stop just for the walks. Many complain about CC high prices but we paid under 13 per night for 2 nights, including electric and showers - bargain for a beautiful site.

Its a fair hop into Newport if walking but buses run from a stop 20 minutes walk from the site. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 82 reviews from this member

 We'd been put off this site for a few years, by friends who'd visited and said they'd felt uncomfortable there because of notices warning of theft from vehicles etc. Needing to take a break on the way to Somerset though, we decided to book in, and what a pleasant surprise we had. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the site (apart from the ever-present M4 traffic noise) and really took to the place. We had a leisurely wander around the park estate and had a nice chat with the lady in the woodworking studio in the old barns. Sadly we were just too late to try the tearoom but we will definitely be back for a longer stay to make the most of the nearby cycle routes to the transporter bridge, shops and canals. Oh yes, nearly forgot. The receptionists were really pleasant too! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjlj95 27 reviews from this member

 As 6th time visitors it seemed high time a review was left ! We adore this site. It is so easy to get to access being so close to the M4 ( we don't even notice the hum of the traffic, but if you are prone to noise intolerance of this kind, maybe go elsewhere ) The wardens are always friendly and welcoming, the site and it's pretty landscaping always looks immaculate and the toilet block and all facilities are always in pristine condition. The Caravan Club Wifi here is good enough to pick up e mails and do a bit of browsing, but is not up to streaming or downloading on the whole. It's a perfect site for dogs as they have for their back garden all the grounds of Tredegar House, so no need to leave the site to exercise them. All the usual supermarkets and shops are within easy reach, there is a chip shop and an Asda store within 10 minutes walk and a very good Vet Surgery at the local Pets at Home Store. Can't wait to get back there, hopefully in a few weeks time as it is a wonderful spot whatever the season or weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Duckies 41 reviews from this member

 What a entrance to the caravan club site. You drive through the grounds of the country park to get to the site. We pitched up on a level hardstanding pitch. The site is well kept clean and tidy. Wardens friendly and helpful. Asda a few minutes walk away. Toilet block and facilities clean and tidy. The country park and house grounds are excellent for walking the dog. The house sells lovely cakes in the cafe. There is some road noise and noise from the m4 but not to intrusive. We stayed here as oldest daughter loved Cardiff and wanted to take me there. Only downside was we had a lot of rain whilst we were there. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: OVGN 1 review from this member

 Excellent location and facilities all well maintained.

A special mention to the staff who really put themselves out to accommodate us following a bookings fiasco elsewhere, they persevered where others would have given us a 'computer says No' response.

The site is located in the grounds of the Tredegar House park so excellent for kids and dogs.

Main road is close so there is some noise but not enough to disturb as there is a substantial wall separating.

Local superstore and pub are excellent, public transport access to Cardiff by bus is good but takes nearly an hour each way in any sort of traffic.

One issue was with some dog mess we found on our pitch and the one adjacent but that isn't the fault of the camp but of the animal owners.

Would certainly recommend and would return 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4326 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement