Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Newport > Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Tredegar Park
Coedkernew, Newport
Newport
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP10 8TW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/01 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georget64 33 reviews from this member

We found this a fantastic site, with excellent facilities and customer service. TV was a bit hit and miss, and our WIFI was also not so great. You do hear road noise from the A48M, but it did not spoil it for us. Because of the longish walk to a bus, we used the motorhome to drive to Cardiff East Park and Ride. This has a huge car park, with plenty of room for motorhomes in a large area with no kerbs. The bus into Cardiff runs about every 15 minutes, and costs £5 for a group return ticket (A group is a minimum of 2 adults).

At present the junction from the A48M is being re- modelled and we found it a nightmare, going wrong twice. Beware of relying on the Sat nav, but follow the brown signs for Tredegar House (unfortunately not at every roundabout).

We shall certainly use the site again on visits to South Wales.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teeekay 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Yes previous reviews do identify road noise as an issue, but we found it wasn't the general background noise which was the issue but the idiots on motorbikes treating the getaway from the nearby traffic lights as the start of the Welsh motor GP!(mostly at the weekend) In fact the 15 ft high boundary wall and big trees absorbed a lot of the noise. The location has to be the main selling point with the beautiful house and gardens and the acres of parkland free to roam in. Our dog thought he had died and gone to heaven! The facilities block are a bit tired but very clean. Apparently come October a new block and other changes are planned. TV signal is a bit hit and miss since the large trees interfere with reception. We found the WiFi reception just acceptable and hope the club will upgrade it from a bronze grade to gold.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave M4 at junction 28. If coming from the east on the slip road continue to roundabout, donít take filter lane to left. At roundabout take A48 which veers off to the left and is signed for Tredegar House. At next roundabout take the first left into Pencarn Way. At next roundabout take first left and follow signs to Tredegar House, once on the estate follow signs to campsite.

Tredegar House CMC site is located in the grounds of the Grade 1 listed House of the same name. It is about two miles from Newport and about seven miles from Cardiff, please see below for details of how to access these two places. The site is open all year and accepts non-members and tent campers. The site is terraced and has many lovely mature trees. Those wanting to receive satellite TV will have to select their pitch carefully. The site has 79 pitches, 64 on hardstandings and further four serviced pitches also on hardstanding. There are 11 grass pitches plus 6 tent pitches. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps. They use CEE17 blue connectors which twist and lock in the electric bollard. There is one toilet block which is of the usual Club standards. Included in the building are a small laundry and an enclosed dishwash area with two sinks. There are two water and waste water points plus the motorhome service point next to the toilet block, this still requires heavy metal covers to be removed. Chemical toilet disposal is available at all three service points. There are no play facilities for children on site but these are available in the adjacent park. The site does have WiFi but during our stay I found the signal pretty dire and that was with a WiFi booster aerial. This site is in fairly close proximity to the M4 motorway so there is always a hum of traffic noise which some may find annoying although personally we got used to it after a while. Reception sells a few essentials and next door is an information room with details of local places to visit.

Whether you find this site a convenient place to stay will depend on what you plan to do during your stay and whether you wish to use public transport. There is a half hourly bus service to Cardiff which takes about forty minutes. However this is a fair walk away of about a mile and might not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. The alternative is to take a taxi into Newport and then take the train to Cardiff. It is a shame that the Club and the National Trust canít come to an agreement to provide a shorter route to the bus stop. For shopping there is a large Asda about a mile from the site which also does fuel. There is a small convenience store not far from the House entrance which is a bit nearer. There is also a fish and chip shop here as well. Access to Tredegar Country Park is free and there is a nice walk around the lake. Next to the House (entrance fee) there are some craft shops and a nice cafť.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 32 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night visiting family in the area. The site is easy to find, just a mile from the M4 - this does however mean that there is some traffic noise from the motorway and adjoining roads.

The site is literally within the grounds of the house, the dogs thoroughly enjoyed the vast amounts of space to run around in, and as it was mid week the grounds were not overcrowded.

Facilities were of usual caravan club standard, always clean and warm. As the cleaning times were 10. 45 this did mean that there was a queue for the showers in the morning.

Ordered a takeaway from the local Indian takeaway and arranged for delivery - unfortunately the driver had no idea where the site was and several phone conversations later the food was cold by the time it finally arrived - we probably should have walked and collected it ourself !

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rbedwards 11 reviews from this member

Booked the site for 6 nights as we're visiting out daughter, husband and 3 week old grandson in Caerleon. Location looked very convenient. Site is lovely, settled into the NT park. Warm welcome and easy access to pitches.

Unfortunately when we started to pitch our awning we discovered that the hard standings are so badly compacted it's almost impossible to drive in the tent pegs. I use hardened steel pegs with a 2 1/2lb club hammer. The result: bent pegs with the points broken off. Managed to secure enough fixings in the end although most pegs left 4 to 5 inches out of the ground. If we'd had high winds I'm not sure they'd have held.

Second problem is the horrendous road noise from the elevated M4 and the adjacent A48. Rush hour in the morning was not enjoyable.

A nice site marred by the location and hard standings. Moved on after 2 nights.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwmcarn34 11 reviews from this member

Arrived at Tredegar house nice welcome. Had hard standing pitch but when we when to put awning up we found it was concrete under the gravel so couldn't get awning pegs in. All hard standings were concrete. Went back to reception they said yes the pitches are too hard to get pegs, in why didn't they tell us that before we set up. It seems to me caravan club are only interested in taking money not customers enjoyment.

We did change to a grass pitch

Paid for wifi but couldn't get connected, had trouble getting a TV signal with satellite dish as there was a giant wall behind our pitch

The toilets and showers were really good and the staff friendly

But won't be going back there

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonestherep 1 review from this member

1st visit in our 1st motorhome.

Excellent site with great facilities and excellently maintained.

Exceeded all expectations

The wardens were really helpful

There is a nice pub just under a mile away and access to local supermarket for both supplies and fuel

Tredegar House is well worth a visit if you're happy to pay the £9. 20 entrance fee!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

Tredegar House & Park are lovely during the hours of daylight. The lake with the ducks on it, lovely places for the dogs to sniff & run and a dog friendly cafe. But after dark on a Saturday we were less than amused by the sound of guns being fired in the Park. We even tried ringing the police (the non emergency number) but after 40 mins gave up. We found out later that from some local friends that the gunfire isn't unusual! The wardens didn't seem to think it was a problem. Made me really glad I'm a country girl!

That, in combination with the unending traffic noise, really spoilt our visit. Luckily it was only an overnight stop, and I really wouldn't go there for a holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

It is so easy when leaving a review, when you are relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere of a campsite and its surroundings to forget all the hard work that is going on in the background to make your stay pleasurable.

When we arrived, and for the next two days the weather was not the greatest. Having said that, through the windows the wardens and their good lady (wives, partners, have to be careful now)were out emptying the rubbish/recycle bins, cleaning the amenities block as well as catering for the never ending stream of arrivees and departees.

If they noticed you in the window, a cheery wave, first class service all round (Caravan Club take note). The one lady warden came to see our cat (yes fellas, I take the wife's cat along).

Highly recommend this site for it's staff and location.

Now the ratings, amenities, spotless, road noise, gentle hum from the M4, shops, local Post Office cum shop (find the shortcut) Asda up the road, good one too, stocked everything.

Did we like it?, booked an extra night.

Thank you to the staff at Tredegar House for a pleasurable stay, you made up for the weather.

As a footnote, if you are a budding Jamie Oliver, herbs grown by reception, by the wardens are there to take (spot on, and thank you)

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasonjarrow 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Tredegar and what a lovely site it is. Not only is it with the grounds of the lovely Tredegar house and country park but it is also such a nicely laid out site although the pitches are flat the site itself isn't flat which makes it far more attractive. It's a lovely peaceful site and of the usual great clean and tidy standard of a club site. I would say had the kids been with us the play area being outside of the actual site would be a slight negative point and I don't know if it was just me but need a fairly heavyweight hammer to get pegs into the hard standing for putting up the awning. That said great access to the country park for walking the dogs and once the gates to the park close because your inside you have the park to yourselves would definitely recommend this site and there are some great places nearby to visit

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3236 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019