Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Newport > Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Tredegar Park
Coedkernew, Newport
Newport
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP10 8TW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/01/2022 to 01/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 92 reviews from this member

 Very friendly welcome at reception. Usual find a pitch and let us know the number for the access codes etc. Usual club standards of showers etc. We had a brief walk around the craft units and bookshop saving the house for the next day.

In the morning walked through the grounds to find Asda for supplies. You pass a Nisa shop and a fish and chip shop (they are shown on the site map given to you) but goodness knows how they survive as there are no signs from the car park to them. Don't know the opening times of the chip shop but could be very useful to campers.

In the afternoon we went around the house, very informative and knowledgeable staff. For some reason the NT shop remains closed. The cafe is not the most enticing NT cafe I've seen, serving drinks in disposable cups and wooden knives and forks to eat your cake and food.

There is quite a lot of traffic noise during day but not noticeable at night when you're in your van. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 92 reviews from this member

 Very friendly welcome at reception. Usual find a pitch and let us know the number for the access codes etc. Usual club standards of showers etc. We had a brief walk around the craft units and bookshop saving the house for the next day.

In the morning walked through the grounds to find Asda for supplies. You pass a Nisa shop and a fish and chip shop (they are shown on the site map given to you) but goodness knows how they survive as there are no signs from the car park to them. Don't know the opening times of the chip shop but could be very useful to campers.

In the afternoon we went around the house, very informative and knowledgeable staff. For some reason the NT shop remains closed. The cafe is not the most enticing NT cafe I've seen, serving drinks in disposable cups and wooden knives and forks to eat your cake and food.

There is quite a lot of traffic noise during day but not noticeable at night when you're in your van. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 107 reviews from this member

 Rather than rush back home to continue the decorating, we booked into Tredegar House as we were passing on our way back from Bristol.

We had a wonderful welcome from Tracey and soon settled in on one of the service pitches, as that was all that was available. After a quick lunch, my wife managed a short tour of Tredegar House, whilst I browsed the secondhand books in one of the units.

For our full day, we cycled to Newport, passing the iconic Transporter Bridge, before crossing the Usk further upstream, heading for the Newport Levels. Once past the industrial development, it was a pleasant ride along tracks and country lanes. We explored all of the dead-end roads down to the Severn Estuary and stopped outside the delightful church in Redwick for our picnic lunch.

We returned to Newport on route 4 and diverted on route 47 to Fourteen Locks visitor centre.

In all our years of cycling along canal paths, we've never come across anything so steep as the incline to get there. It was worth it though, as it was a lovely ride, even for the short section immediately alongside the hard shoulder of the M4.

Thankfully, we negotiated the seven sets of traffic lights on the main roundabout before returning to the site after an adventurous 36 miles, and were mighty glad of the hot showers before cooking our tea.

The site's a great stop-off point and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nikko136 53 reviews from this member

 Tredegar House review

Maybe we didnít have a good start here which affected our feelings about our stay. A police car stood on the Ďwait here to be attended toí spot so I had to ignore that sign and go to the office.

Despite having both our names and contact details from the booking we had to complete their track and trace form then had the rules and regulations recited. The police were there because there had been a spate of e-bike thefts from campersí pitches.

The site was quite full so self-selection didnít leave much choice. We were immediately next to the A48 dual carriageway and only about 300 metres from the M4, meaning traffic noise of varying degrees day and night.

There are roundabouts, traffic lights and junctions nearby, so the noise of accelerating bikes and straight-through car exhausts was extreme, with ambulance sirens adding to the racket. Maybe pitches a little further downhill from the A48 are a little better but the site is not big so it canít make much difference.

Dogs are allowed but we were told under no circumstances were they allowed to wee or poo on-site. We can understand the no-poo rule but itís very difficult to stop a dog from weeing en route to the park area first thing in the morning.

Once in the parkland around Tredegar House it was fine, with interesting walks around the woodland and ponds.

We didnít use the facilities block as we can be independent for several days. Our stay was to meet up with relatives living nearby so convenience was the reason for our choice but next time we go to the Newport area we will seek a campsite further away. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 83 reviews from this member

 So we did return, and although the site was much busier this time, the grass pitch we had was flat and spacious, the pitches were well-spaced, everything was maintained up to the usual Club standards and the staff were cheery and helpful.

Despite being almost full the site was quiet and calm and the dogs greatly appreciated the direct access to the country park.

We decided against visiting Newport itself, given the current situation, but had a pleasant walk from the 14 Locks Canal Centre a short drive away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 83 reviews from this member

 This site has a great situation on the edge of the Tredegar House grounds and Country Park (National Trust), which you drive through to reach the campsite. Outside park opening hours there is a locked gate for which you are given a key at check-in. Access from the motorway was mostly straightforward, following David Klyne's directions below and checking on Google Earth in advance how to navigate the major roundabout.

We were fortunate to see the site at its best in the spring sunshine and found a pitch backing onto the (empty) tent area and the lake and open parkland beyond that. Once pitched up we were aware of some road noise but did not find this intrusive and enjoyed a peaceful overnight stay. Unfortunately on this occasion we did not have time to wander the Tredegar House grounds, but they looked very inviting, offering plenty of open space.

The Asda just down the road was very convenient for fuel and we also walked there along a good footpath to get a few provisions, which took 20 minutes or so (and we don't rush!).

Although on this occasion we were just passing through, we enjoyed our brief stay and intend to return to use the site as a base for visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hevian54 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site well laid out very clean facilities, level pitches with small stones on hardstanding.

Easy access to Tedegar house and grounds with good dog walking.

Very pleasant wardens. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georget64 41 reviews from this member

 We found this a fantastic site, with excellent facilities and customer service. TV was a bit hit and miss, and our WIFI was also not so great. You do hear road noise from the A48M, but it did not spoil it for us. Because of the longish walk to a bus, we used the motorhome to drive to Cardiff East Park and Ride.

This has a huge car park, with plenty of room for motorhomes in a large area with no kerbs. The bus into Cardiff runs about every 15 minutes, and costs £5 for a group return ticket (A group is a minimum of 2 adults).

At present the junction from the A48M is being re- modelled and we found it a nightmare, going wrong twice. Beware of relying on the Sat nav, but follow the brown signs for Tredegar House (unfortunately not at every roundabout).

We shall certainly use the site again on visits to South Wales. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teeekay 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Yes previous reviews do identify road noise as an issue, but we found it wasn't the general background noise which was the issue but the idiots on motorbikes treating the getaway from the nearby traffic lights as the start of the Welsh motor GP!(mostly at the weekend)

In fact the 15 ft high boundary wall and big trees absorbed a lot of the noise. The location has to be the main selling point with the beautiful house and gardens and the acres of parkland free to roam in. Our dog thought he had died and gone to heaven!

The facilities block are a bit tired but very clean. Apparently come October a new block and other changes are planned. TV signal is a bit hit and miss since the large trees interfere with reception.

We found the WiFi reception just acceptable and hope the club will upgrade it from a bronze grade to gold. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 246 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Leave M4 at junction 28. If coming from the east on the slip road continue to roundabout, donít take filter lane to left. At roundabout take A48 which veers off to the left and is signed for Tredegar House.

At next roundabout take the first left into Pencarn Way. At next roundabout take first left and follow signs to Tredegar House, once on the estate follow signs to campsite.

Tredegar House CMC site is located in the grounds of the Grade 1 listed House of the same name. It is about two miles from Newport and about seven miles from Cardiff, please see below for details of how to access these two places. The site is open all year and accepts non-members and tent campers.

The site is terraced and has many lovely mature trees. Those wanting to receive satellite TV will have to select their pitch carefully. The site has 79 pitches, 64 on hardstandings and further four serviced pitches also on hardstanding. There are 11 grass pitches plus 6 tent pitches. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps.

They use CEE17 blue connectors which twist and lock in the electric bollard. There is one toilet block which is of the usual Club standards. Included in the building are a small laundry and an enclosed dishwash area with two sinks. There are two water and waste water points plus the motorhome service point next to the toilet block, this still requires heavy metal covers to be removed.

Chemical toilet disposal is available at all three service points. There are no play facilities for children on site but these are available in the adjacent park. The site does have WiFi but during our stay I found the signal pretty dire and that was with a WiFi booster aerial.

This site is in fairly close proximity to the M4 motorway so there is always a hum of traffic noise which some may find annoying although personally we got used to it after a while. Reception sells a few essentials and next door is an information room with details of local places to visit.

Whether you find this site a convenient place to stay will depend on what you plan to do during your stay and whether you wish to use public transport. There is a half hourly bus service to Cardiff which takes about forty minutes. However this is a fair walk away of about a mile and might not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. The alternative is to take a taxi into Newport and then take the train to Cardiff.

It is a shame that the Club and the National Trust canít come to an agreement to provide a shorter route to the bus stop. For shopping there is a large Asda about a mile from the site which also does fuel. There is a small convenience store not far from the House entrance which is a bit nearer.

There is also a fish and chip shop here as well. Access to Tredegar Country Park is free and there is a nice walk around the lake. Next to the House (entrance fee) there are some craft shops and a nice cafť. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement