Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Newport > Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Tredegar Park
Coedkernew, Newport
Newport
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP10 8TW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/01 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harleymlb 15 reviews from this member

 Easily located just off the M4 junction 28. Suggest you follow the 'Brown' Signs to Tredegar Park and look for the Caravan Sign. For some reason my Garmin Sat Nav with pre-loaded caravan sites is not accurate with the entrance to this site!

In the grounds of a National Trust Property with extensive grounds.

Informative friendly welcome from the assistant warden and we were allocated a fully serviced pitch as requested.

The caravan club site is within the NT grounds so the external and in-roads are wide and tarmacked. The site itself has a terraced layout but pitches are flat and level.

The usual regimented rules apply but as there are no real views to see it did not matter which way we parked our caravan.

Toilet and shower facilities are excellent with the usual 'piped' music and hairdryers in ladies and gents.

TV Reception was excellent from our caravan ariel and there is nothing really to complain about at all. If there is one thing you can hear the gentle hum from the M4 dependant on which way the wind blows.

A large Asda supermarket is within walking distance but about 2 minutes in the car. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahandmatt 30 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site while visiting family nearby and it made a very pleasant base. We had a friendly greeting from the warden and chose a pitch not far from the shower block. It was lovely to go into a heated building as the weather had turned a bit chilly. Everywhere spotless, as usual on CC sites. The setting is beautiful in the middle of a huge park with excellent walks from your doorstep. The only downside is the road noise but you don't hear it in the caravan so it didn't keep us awake.

Will definitely come back here. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Namarie 1 review from this member

 Closest site to home for test pitching and close friends were trying out their new to them caravan, so off we went.

If you are a tin tenter (this is a caravan club site) its lovely, close children's playground, basically on the grounds to Tredegar House for NT members. Facilities are clean and well cared for, mam and baby bathroom a particular hit with my then 9 month old daughter.

Can't really fault it for Caravans.

Tents on the other hand, it almost felt as if we were an inconvenience. Pitches small, don't think you would manage a Monty 6 on one for example. No ehu, and stuck at the far end of the site furthest away from the amenities.

Caravanning friends have gone back several times for overnighters to test out various bits of van kit. I know Caravan club sites don't have to allow tents but those that do could try to be a little less 'them and us' about it. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set in the grounds of Tredegar Country Park.

Large pitches with a choice of hardstanding or grass, some in small sections.

One toilet/shower block with coded door, spotless at all times. Undercover washing up area and recycling also available.

No dog walk on site but acres available in the country park. Lovely walks around the park, lake and Tredegar House (now National Trust).

Local/convenience store on the edge of the park or a large Asda (24 hours) within 5/10 minute wander.

Constant road noise from M4 but you learn to ignore it, didn't hear it overnight.

Will definitely use as a stop over again when we're next in Wales. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Siloans 16 reviews from this member

 Finding the site was very straight forward very close links to the motorway and A roads.

On arrival I was looking for the wonderful greeting that others have mentioned but we only got the standard jobs worth T&C still it is high season and maybe they are having lots to do.

Super pitch and fantastic toilets and showers all in all a very high standard is kept here

There is so much to see and do in the area our highlight will be the main house national trust

Big pit coal mine 45 mins drive but well worth it free day out and ragland castle

The location of the site will take some bettering it sits in the grounds of the house.

You have a running track lakes and so much grass

There is a large play area for the kids

The ice creams on site are very expensive

We liked the site so much we have booked another visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 35 reviews from this member

 Not a lot wrong with this site, it's just what you'd expect from the Caravan Club. The shower block was warm, spacious and clean. The only slight criticism, is that the shaving mirrors were (out of necessity) on the side wall of each cubicle, which meant you dripped water onto the floor. But maybe I'm just getting picky in mi old age!

Wardens were very friendly and helpful and even gave us a hand when we couldn't unhitch the van. Don't know if it was because of the recent dry weather, but the hardstandings were just that. It took real effort to get the awning pegs in and now we have several bent pegs as a result.

Set in the grounds of Tredegar House, which has fantastic walks around it and it's own TARDIS! We didn't get the chance to go inside the house, but were told it's worth popping in if you can.

ASDA is only a mile away for all your shopping and the city's of Newport and Cardiff are a short bus/car ride. There is some noise from the nearby roads, but we live on a main road at home so didn't really notice it.

The kids play area is just outside the entrance to the site and as such is used by visitors to the house. Our boys certainly had no complaints about it.

For anyone thinking of a trip to South Wales, this site is well worth consideration 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Justinchristiaans 2 reviews from this member

 This is the first caravan club site we have ever stayed at and it was absolutely marvellous!

The wardens we are fantastic. Very very friendly and helpful and couldnít do more to make us feel welcome.

The toilet block was consistently clean and no less than immaculate at the worst of times.

The pitches are all fairly level and very well maintained.

The only negative point I could make about this site is that there are only 2 sinks on the site for washing up so sometimes at busy periods you have to wait. Most of the pitches are also hard standing so you need rock pegs if you have an awning.

But all things considered this is a fantastic site and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Thank you very much! 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikeyd 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here January 2010 this is a Caravan Club Site the showers are very clean and warm, with spacious tiered pitches or along one of the level rows.

The WI-FI on site has a good signal but seemed a tad expensive.

As other reviews stated the campsite is in the grounds of Tredegar house with fabulous walks around the grounds and lake.

A few minutes drive from the M4 and close to a choice of supermarkets. Although close to a busy road, we found this to be a peaceful site and very easy access from the M4 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: James08 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Tredegar House Caravan Club Site for a stopover and found the site and facilities to be excellent. The site is approached through the ground of Tredegar House and the gates are closed at dusk but once paid and pitched you are given a fob for the barrier and a key for the gate. Although close to the M4 road noise isnít a big problem. Most pitches are hardstanding and there are a few super pitches which have water & waste on the pitch. There is also a small camping area. The toilet block is centrally located to most pitches. As the site is located within the park itís great for dog walking. Unfortunately the house was closed during our visit.

We would definitely use the site again and would recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babzianne1 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a long weekend but would love to have stayed longer.

Site is in the grounds of a country park - Tredegar House closed while we were there but various events throughout the year. There is a post office/small supermarket just 5 minutes walk through the grounds with 24 Hour ASDA just a little further.

If you have children there is no play area on site - but a play area and acres of space for ball games are right outside the site entrance. Beautiful grounds for walking or cycling.

Wardens very friendly. Pitches are HUGE! Toilet block spotless - hot water - no queues.

Yes, there was some traffic noise - but not too intrusive or any worse than other sites I have stayed on.

Overall, the perfect base if you want to visit the Newport/Cardiff area.

Would definitely go back if there weren't so many other places I would like to visit! 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement